DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is in response to the amendment filed on 3/20/26. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HA et al. (Ha; US 20250329802 A1) in view Kurtz et al. (Kurtz; US 20220268850 A1), further in view of Schiffer et al. (Schiffer; US 20190379092 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ha discloses an electrochemical
an temperature is measured at a plurality of measurement points located on the surface of each secondary battery cell or module) corresponding to at least two of the two or more electrochemical cells using an temperature is measured at a plurality of measurement points located on the surface of each secondary battery cell or module);
an assessment circuit (including digital twin 100 of Fig 1), configured to:
determine the representations of respective temperature values (temperature distribution) and representations of respective reference temperature values ([0021] FIG. 4 illustrates comparison between temperature distribution according to prediction of heat generation of a battery by a digital twin device according to an embodiment of the disclosure and temperature distribution obtained through actual measurement with an infrared camera), wherein the representations of respective reference temperature values are determined based on expected temperature values of a reference cell arrangement configured similarly to the cell arrangement and under similar conditions as the cell arrangement ([0040] digital twin device 100 may generate a digital twin of the battery unit 20 to provide a simulation result of internal temperature distribution of the battery unit 20; [0041] digital twin is generated by identically modeling the battery unit 20); and
determine a parameter value corresponding to at least one of the cell arrangement or one or more of the respective ones of the at least two electrochemical cells using a result of the comparison ([0066] transmitting unit 130 may transmit, to the BMS 30, a virtual temperature value [parameter] at a virtual measurement point requested by the BMS 30. Here, the transmitting unit 130 may be provided with the internal temperature distribution of the entire battery unit 20 from the digital twin unit 120, and may thus provide all virtual temperature values at arbitrary virtual measurement points requested by the BMS 30. According to an embodiment, an influential point within each battery cell included in the battery unit 20 may be set in advance, and a virtual temperature value may be generated by designating the point as a virtual measurement point. Subsequently, the BMS 30 may reflect the received virtual temperature value at each virtual measurement point to adjust operating conditions for preventing an accident of the batteries and extending the lifespan of the batteries); but doesn’t specify EIS or comparing the temperature to a reference temperature.
In the same field of endeavor, Kurtz discloses a battery management system and method for performing a battery health parameter observation, in particular, cell impedance observation, with two redundant, independent and dissimilar lanes. Specifically, a cell impedance observation in a first one of the lanes is based on Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy, EIS. The other lane employs a different algorithm than EIS. In embodiments, a battery state observation is further performed independently by the two lanes, wherein again the first lane employs EIS and the other lane a different algorithm. On the basis of state and health observation, state of the battery system can be predicted.
Kurtz discloses the use of EIS to monitor batteries including temperatures (Abstract, [0027] determination by the first lane is based on EIS, [0057] state and health parameter observation algorithm, which is based on Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy (EIS). The EIS actively excites all individual cells with sinusoidal current of variable frequency and measures the voltage response of each cell. The ratio between output and input signal allows the computation of a (complex) system impedance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ha with Kurtz using EIS in order to allow for rapid characterization of the system and to ensure safe operation, as suggested by Kurtz ([0005]).
In the same field of endeavor, Schiffer discloses a method for validating a temperature sensor integrated into a battery system, by determining an internal resistance of at least one battery cell in thermal contact with the temperature sensor and determining a state of charge (SOC) of the at least one battery cell. And, determining a reference temperature from a lookup table (LUT) or a functional relationship connecting the internal resistance, the SOC, and a temperature of a reference battery cell. And, comparing the reference temperature with a temperature measurement of the temperature sensor to determine a difference therebetween.
Schiffer discloses comparing the representations of respective temperature values to representations of respective reference temperature values (Abstract, [0043]-[0044] In state 540, the at least one reference temperature is compared with at least one temperature measurement of the temperature sensor to determine a difference…controller 640 is further configured to compare the at least one reference temperature with at least one temperature measurement of the temperature sensor 620).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ha with Schiffer comparing temperature values in order to validate a temperature sensor integrated into the battery cell and ensure accurate results, as suggested by Schiffer ([0006]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ha discloses the assessment circuit is configured to take an action based on the determined parameter value ([0037] the BMS 30 may perform an operation of balancing the secondary batteries 21 in the battery unit 20, or may function to control an operation of the cooling unit 22 to maintain a constant temperature in the battery unit 20; [0066] BMS 30 may reflect the received virtual temperature value at each virtual measurement point to adjust operating conditions for preventing an accident of the batteries and extending the lifespan of the batteries).
Regarding Claims 3 and 17, Ha doesn’t disclose comparing differences in the temperatures or mapping them to a parameter value. Ha does use a comparison of temperatures to map a parameter value (Abstract, [0066]).
Schiffer discloses comparing the representations of respective temperature values to representations of respective reference temperature values includes to determine respective differences between the representation of respective temperature values and the representations of respective reference temperature values (Abstract); and to determine a parameter value includes to map the respective differences to a parameter value for the two or more electrochemical cells ([0043] temperature sensor can be validated based on whether the difference exceeds a preconfigured threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ha with Schiffer using differences with parameter values in order to validate a temperature sensor integrated into the battery cell and ensure accurate results, as suggested by Schiffer ([0006]).
Regarding Claim 14, Ha discloses comprising the cell arrangement (Abstract, Claim 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Ha discloses a method for determining a parameter value corresponding to a cell arrangement including two or more electrochemical cells (Abstract, Claim 2), the method comprising:
making an temperature is measured at a plurality of measurement points located on the surface of each secondary battery cell or module);
determining a representation of respective temperature values (temperature distribution) corresponding to the at least two of the two or more electrochemical cells using the respective illustrates comparison between temperature distribution according to prediction of heat generation of a battery by a digital twin device according to an embodiment of the disclosure and temperature distribution obtained through actual measurement with an infrared camera);
determining representations of respective reference temperature values based on expected temperature values of a reference cell arrangement configured similarly to the cell arrangement and under similar conditions as the cell arrangement ([0040] digital twin device 100 may generate a digital twin of the battery unit 20 to provide a simulation result of internal temperature distribution of the battery unit 20; [0041] digital twin is generated by identically modeling the battery unit 20);
determining the representations of respective temperature values and representations of respective reference temperature values ([0021] FIG. 4 illustrates comparison between temperature distribution according to prediction of heat generation of a battery by a digital twin device); and
determining a parameter value corresponding to at least one of the cell arrangement or one or more of the respective ones of the at least two electrochemical cells using a result of the comparison ([0066] transmitting unit 130 may transmit, to the BMS 30, a virtual temperature value [parameter] at a virtual measurement point requested by the BMS 30. Here, the transmitting unit 130 may be provided with the internal temperature distribution of the entire battery unit 20 from the digital twin unit 120, and may thus provide all virtual temperature values at arbitrary virtual measurement points requested by the BMS 30. According to an embodiment, an influential point within each battery cell included in the battery unit 20 may be set in advance, and a virtual temperature value may be generated by designating the point as a virtual measurement point. Subsequently, the BMS 30 may reflect the received virtual temperature value at each virtual measurement point to adjust operating conditions for preventing an accident of the batteries and extending the lifespan of the batteries) ; but doesn’t specify EIS or comparing the temperature to a reference temperature.
Kurtz discloses the use of EIS to monitor batteries including temperatures (Abstract, [0027] determination by the first lane is based on EIS, [0057] state and health parameter observation algorithm, which is based on Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy (EIS). The EIS actively excites all individual cells with sinusoidal current of variable frequency and measures the voltage response of each cell. The ratio between output and input signal allows the computation of a (complex) system impedance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ha with Kurtz using EIS in order to allow for rapid characterization of the system and to ensure safe operation, as suggested by Kurtz ([0005]).
Schiffer discloses comparing the representations of respective temperature values to representations of respective reference temperature values (Abstract, [0043]-[0044] In state 540, the at least one reference temperature is compared with at least one temperature measurement of the temperature sensor to determine a difference…controller 640 is further configured to compare the at least one reference temperature with at least one temperature measurement of the temperature sensor 620).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ha with Schiffer comparing temperature values in order to validate a temperature sensor integrated into the battery cell and ensure accurate results, as suggested by Schiffer ([0006]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha, Kurtz and Schiffer in view of BALLANTINE et al. (Ballantine; US 20190317151 A1).
3>Regarding Claim 4, Ha doesn’t teach a limit on at least one of a charging rate or a discharging rate of the cell arrangement is configured based on the parameter value of a least healthy cell.
In the same field of endeavor, Ballantine discloses an electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) may be used to measure the internal components of a battery or interfaces between connections inside a battery in order to determine a state of one or more subcomponents of the battery. EIS testing of the battery may be conducted using various test waveforms with different voltages, currents, and/or frequencies, to identify and/or predict battery subcomponent and/or interface failures.
Ballantine discloses a limit on at least one of a charging rate or a discharging rate of the cell arrangement is configured ([0037] adjusting a charging rate and/or a discharging rate to slow or limit further battery degradation, performing a maintenance cycle on one or more of the batteries) based on the parameter value of a least healthy cell ([0049] stored known signatures of impedance responses of the battery stack segments with known characteristics may be plots of the real and imaginary parts of the measured impedances of healthy battery stack segments).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ha and Schiffer with Ballantine using limits in order to enable improved charging of batteries based on analysis of electrochemical impedance spectroscopy, performed on a battery and compared with historical data of EIS testing on batteries as suggested by Ballantine ([0003]).
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha, Kurtz, Schiffer, Lee (US 20230030372), further in view of MONDEN et al. (Monden; US20240069106).
Regarding Claims 5 and 18, Ha discloses the EIS measurement system is configured to determine change in temperature values corresponding to changes in a temperature value of respective individual ones of the electrochemical cells (Abstract, Claim 2) AND uses discharge rate as a variable ([0059] a battery discharge rate (c-rate) and an external temperature may be input to the NTGK model), but doesn’t specify due to charging of the cell arrangement
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a method for estimating degradation of a battery for an electric vehicle by determining a current battery resistance increase rate by measuring an increase in resistance of the battery during charging of the battery, determining an initial battery resistance increase rate on the basis of a predetermined initial battery resistance increase rate map for indicating the battery resistance increase rate of the battery in a begin of life (BOL) state, and calculating current degradation of the battery on the basis of the current battery resistance increase rate and the initial battery resistance increase rate.
Lee discloses determining change in temperature values corresponding to changes in a temperature value of respective electrochemical cells due to charging of the cell arrangement for a specified length of time; and the change in temperature values determined are due at least in part to a resistance of the electrochemical cells ([0017] detecting charging power for charging the battery; determining whether the battery charging is performed during a specific time period; when the battery charging is performed during the specific time period, measuring a temperature of the battery; determining a current battery resistance increase rate by measuring resistance of the battery increased during the specific time period; determining a battery resistance increase rate in an initial state; calculating an incremental rate of the current battery resistance increase rate compared to the initial battery resistance increase rate; and calculating degradation of the battery by multiplying the incremental rate of the current battery resistance increase rate compared to the initial battery resistance increase rate by a degradation trend).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ha with Lee using charging temperatures in order to capable of accurately estimating battery degradation in a more simplified manner, as suggested by Lee ([0002]).
The combination doesn’t specify a given charge rate
In the same field of endeavor, Monden discloses a storage battery management device with an acquisition unit, a selection unit, an estimation unit, and a display control unit. The acquisition unit acquires a battery characteristic and an operation condition of a storage battery device. A display control unit displays the battery characteristic estimated by the estimation unit in a comparable state.
Monden discloses charging of the cell arrangement at a specified rate (Claim 13 the battery state includes one or all of a temperature, an applied voltage, an applied current, and a charging rate of the entire storage battery device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ha and Lee with Monden using charging rate in order to accurately predict a deterioration of a storage battery on the basis of conditions such as a temperature and a state of charge, as suggested by Monden ([0004]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha, Kurtz, Schiffer, in view of Pressman et al. (Pressman; US 20220289030 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Ha discloses the reference cell arrangement is a digital model of the cell arrangement (Abstract); the representations of respective reference temperature values are determined by running a simulation of the digital model (Abstract); and the digital model is configured to include at least one thermal property of the cell arrangement (Abstract), but doesn’t specify at least one thermal property of an environment in which the cell arrangement is installed.
In the same field of endeavor, Pressman discloses a method to determine thermal characteristics of an energy storage apparatus that supplies electric current to vehicular loads for powering and electrical characteristics of the energy storage apparatus or vehicular loads. The method determines whether operation of the energy storage apparatus indicates that the energy storage apparatus is unexpectedly heating or unexpectedly cooling and identifying a fault in the energy storage apparatus responsive to determining that the energy storage apparatus is unexpectedly heating or unexpectedly cooling.
Pressman discloses thermal property of an environment in which the cell arrangement is installed ([0036] sensors may measure one or more characteristics of the energy storage apparatus…thermal characteristic(s) may include a temperature of a cell (e.g., a cell temperature), a temperature of a coupling (e.g., a joint temperature); an ambient temperature of the air or environment around or inside the energy storage apparatus; a temperature of a heating or cooling medium).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bryngelsson with Pressman using ambient temperatures in order to improve safety by effectively monitoring operation of energy storage apparatuses to detect and respond to potential failures or needs for repair, inspection, replacement, as suggested by Pressman ([0002]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha, Kurtz, Schiffer, and Pressman, in view of BRYNGELSSON et al. (Bryngelsson; US 20170067967 A1).
7>Regarding Claim 8, Ha doesn’t specify the digital model is configured to model at least one of a new cell arrangement, a healthy cell arrangement, or the cell arrangement following a specified aging trajectory.
In the same field of endeavor, Bryngelsson discloses a method for determining the reliability of state of health parameter values for a battery including a plurality of battery cells, the method including the steps of receiving, for a state of health parameter, a plurality of measured parameter values for the battery, comparing the measured parameter values with at least one predetermined parameter criterion; and determining that the measured state of health parameter values are reliable if the state of health parameter values fulfil the at least one predetermined parameter criterion.
Bryngelsson discloses the digital model is configured to model at least one of a new cell arrangement ([0081] parameter value that is measured and used in calculating the aging of the battery needs to be compared to a reference parameter value when the battery was new), a healthy cell arrangement ([0081]), or the cell arrangement following a specified aging trajectory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ha and Pressman with Bryngelsson using a new cell model in order to assure that a reliable result of the calculation of the battery state of health is provided, as suggested by Bryngelsson ([0081]).
Regarding Claim 9, Ha teaches representations of respective reference temperature values are determined using the EIS measurement system (Abstract).
Bryngelsson teaches the reference cell arrangement is the cell arrangement before the cell arrangement has degraded due to use ([0081] parameter value that is measured and used in calculating the aging of the battery needs to be compared to a reference parameter value when the battery was new); and the representations of respective reference temperature values are determined using the EIS measurement system ([0071]).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha, Kurtz, Schiffer, in view of Christophersen et al. (Christophersen; US 20140358462 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Ha doesn’t teach the EIS measurement system is configured to determine a complex impedance value corresponding to individual ones of the at least two of the two or more electrochemical cells at a specified EIS frequency.
In the same field of endeavor, Christophersen discloses real-time battery impedance spectra are acquired by stimulating a battery or battery system with a signal generated as a sum of sine signals at related frequencies. An impedance measurement device can be used to interface between the battery system and a host computer for generating the signals. The impedance measurement device may be calibrated to adapt the response signal to more closely match other impedance measurement techniques.
Christophersen discloses an EIS measurement system is configured to determine a complex impedance value corresponding to individual ones of the at least two of the two or more electrochemical cells at a specified EIS frequency ([0050] Electrical Impedance Spectroscopy (EIS) measurements involve measuring a battery response to a known input signal, typically a sinusoid of known frequency. This input signal can be either a voltage signal or a current signal with the response measure being the complement (e.g., if the input signal is current then the response is voltage). Data processing then calculates the complex impedance of the battery at the input frequency. This process is generally performed at each desired frequency to create an array of the complex impedances).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bryngelsson with Christophersen using complex impedance in order to provide an accurate state-of-health estimation, as suggested by Christophersen ([0005]).
10>Regarding Claim 11, Christophersen discloses the EIS measurement system with a test current source, to provide a test current to the cell arrangement at the specified EIS frequency ([0093] battery 690 under test is excited with the SOS current); and voltage measurement circuitry, to measure a voltage across individual ones of the at least two of the two or more electrochemical cells at the specified EIS frequency ([0050] measurements involve measuring a battery response to a known input signal, typically a sinusoid of known frequency; [0093] voltage that appears at its terminals is the battery voltage plus the tiny voltage drop of the SOS current acting on the internal impedance of the battery 690. It is this SOS voltage drop that, when captured and processed, will yield the spectrum of the battery impedance).
11>Regarding Claim 12, Christophersen discloses the EIS measurement system is configured to determine the complex impedance value corresponding to the individual ones of the at least two of the two or more electrochemical cells using the measured voltage across, and a determined current through, the respective individual ones of the at least two of the two or more electrochemical cells ([0050] Electrical Impedance Spectroscopy (EIS) measurements involve measuring a battery response to a known input signal, typically a sinusoid of known frequency. This input signal can be either a voltage signal or a current signal with the response measure being the complement (e.g., if the input signal is current then the response is voltage). Data processing then calculates the complex impedance of the battery at the input frequency. This process is generally performed at each desired frequency to create an array of the complex impedances; [0093] voltage that appears at its terminals is the battery voltage plus the tiny voltage drop of the SOS current acting on the internal impedance of the battery 690. It is this SOS voltage drop that, when captured and processed, yields the spectrum battery impedance).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha, Kurtz, Schiffer, in view of Pressman.
Pressman discloses the cell arrangement is immersively cooled in a liquid coolant, wherein the cell arrangement is configured to allow the liquid coolant to flow between at least two of the electrochemical cells in the cell arrangement ([0041] battery cell and a liquid cooling medium of the thermal management system, a thermal resistance between a battery cell and at least one other battery cell, a temperature differential between internal components within a common housing that are powered by the energy storage apparatus, a temperature differential between shared components that are powered by common current from the energy storage apparatus, a thermal resistance between one or more of the cells and a liquid coolant).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha, Kurtz, Schiffer, in view of Bryngelsson.
Regarding Claim 15, Bryngelsson discloses the parameter value includes at least one of a state-of-health value (Abstract), a state-of-safety value, or a thermal health indicator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1-5 and 7-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made.
Conclusion
/MARK S RUSHING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689