DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 7/8/2026, with respect to specification objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 7/8/2026, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of claims 8 and 9 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 and 9, filed 7/8/2026, with respect to 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 5 and 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The arguments state that the newly added determination limitation regarding the server is not taught by the currently applied references. This deficiency is cured by the newly added reference of Sumio and an explanation of the Sumio reference is below.
Regarding the Sumio reference, this reference determines if paper types are in stock that can be set. When a user selects a paper type that can be printed but is not set, the workflow manager of the output device determines that the paper type can be output if the paper type is set in advance. This determination is based on determining the difference between paper already set within the cassette and the paper in stock that needs to be set before the printing process begins. This is taught in ¶ [28] and [178]-[180]. Based on determining the difference between already set paper and in stock paper that needs to be set in order to give the user an option to print multiple paper types, the system expands the paper output options to the user. Therefore, based on the above features of Sumio, the features of the above claim limitation are disclosed.
Thus, based on the above, features of the claims are disclosed below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: communication interface in claims 1 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyajima (US Pub 2021/0089246) in view of Higuchi (US Pub 2001/0029551) and Sumio (US Pub 2006/0290979).
Re claim 1: Miyajima discloses an information processing apparatus that causes a user to search for a target printer suitable to printing an image desired by the user from a plurality of printers connected to a network, comprising:
an information processing apparatus that receives search information from the user to search for the target printer and provides the user with printer information indicating the target printer (e.g. the user inputs search information regarding a sheet size, or tape size, into the operation terminal, which is taught in ¶ [45]. The mobile device receives printer information of printers that fit the search criteria, which is taught in ¶ [46] and [47].); and
[0040] The print head 205 is configured to perform, on the tape 203 conveyed by the conveyor device 209, printing based on print data received from the operation terminal 2.
[0044] <Screen Transition on Touch Panel>
[0045] The user operates appropriately the operation unit 14 and the like of the operation terminal 2, for example, thereby displaying a screen, on which a content of the medium information of the tape 203 as a search condition can be input, on the touch panel 17, as shown in FIG. 3A. In the example of FIG. 3A, a tape width input column 17P in which a tape width (width size) of the tape 203 can be input as an example of the medium information is displayed. For example, when the user wants to look for the tape 203 having a tape width 24 [mm], the user inputs “24” in the tape width input column 17P, as shown in FIG. 3B.
[0046] At this time, from each of the label printers 3A, 3B and 3C, the identification information of the label printer 3 and the medium information of the tape 203 provided in the mounted cartridge are broadcasted under control of the CPU of the control circuit 202. This processing corresponds to the broadcasting of the acquired medium information and identification information defined in the claims. The broadcasting is performed at predetermined intervals by Bluetooth Low Energy advertising in the Bluetooth communication, for example. In the operation terminal 2, the identification information of each of the label printers 3A, 3B and 3C and the corresponding medium information, which have been broadcasted, are received.
[0047] As described in the example of FIG. 3B, when the tape width 24 [mm] of the tape 203 is set as the search condition, information, Which matches the search condition, of the medium information acquired from each label printer 3 is displayed. FIG. 3C depicts an example where the cartridge having the tape 203 of 24 [mm] is mounted to all the label printers 3A, 3B and 3C. That is, in the screen of the touch panel 17 shown in FIG. 3C, a type column 17Q indicating a type of wireless communication with the label printer 3 (in the present example, “Wireless A”) and printer display columns 17A, 17B and 17C are displayed.
wherein the information processing apparatus includes
an input panel that inputs printing media type information indicating a type of printing media on which images are to be printed (e.g. a user operates the operation unit and enters a search condition for a sheet type on which an image is printed, which is taught in ¶ [40] and [45] above.);
a display that displays printer information indicating a printer (e.g. the operation unit in figure 3C shows various printers that pertain to the search condition on the display of the operation terminal, which is taught in ¶ [46], [47] above, [55] and [56].); and
[0055] Then, in step S20, the CPU 12 receives and acquires, via the communication control unit 15, the medium information of the tape 203 (the medium type information such as a width, a color, a material and the like of a tape and the information about a remaining amount of medium, as described above) of the cartridge tape 203 mounted to each label printer 3 together with the identification information of each label printer 3, which are broadcasted from each label printer 3. Step S20 corresponds to the acquiring of the acquisition result defined in the claims, and the processing that is executed in step S20 corresponds to the receiving of the received result. In the meantime, step S20 may also be executed before step S10.
[0056] Then, in step S30, the CPU 12 displays, on the touch panel 17, the medium information and the identification information (for example, a printer name) of each of the corresponding label printers 3 acquired in step S20 in an a manner corresponding to the matching condition set in step S10. In the example of FIGS. 3B and 3C, the medium information of the tape 203 that matches the tape width-24 [mm] as the matching condition and the identification information of the label printer 3 having the tape are limitedly displayed. Step S30 corresponds to the displaying of the display result defined in the claims.
a processor (e.g. CPU (12) in the operational terminal, which is taught in ¶ [55] above.) configured to
generate search information at least including the printing media type information input by the input panel (e.g. a search condition is generated based on the user entering the paper type on the operation terminal, which is taught in ¶ [45], [47] and [54] above.),
receive registration information including printer information indicating each of one or more of target printers satisfying a condition related to the type of printing media indicated by the printing media type information included in the search information, as a response to the sending of the generated search information (e.g. the CPU of the printers contain the printer information identifying the printer and the type of medium contained within the printer device, which is taught in ¶ [38]. The printer sends identification information registered within the printer, along with the medium information, to the operation terminal based on matching the search condition input at the operation terminal, which is taught in ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56] above.), and
[0038] At this time, a type and the like of the cartridge mounted to the cartridge holder 210 are detected by the cartridge sensor 212, and the corresponding information is acquired by the CPU of the control circuit 202. In the present example, the cartridge sensor 212 can also detect a remaining amount of the tape 203 in the cartridge by a well-known method. As a result, the CPU acquires the information from the cartridge sensor 212 to acquire medium information (including medium type information such as a material, a color, a width size and the like and information about a remaining amount of medium, for example) of the tape 203 accommodated in the cartridge mounted to the label printer 3. This processing corresponds to the acquiring of the medium information defined in the claims. In the meantime, instead of the cartridge holder 210, a tape roll holder to which the tape roll 204 itself can be directly detachably mounted may be provided. In this case, the medium information included in the tape roll 204 is detected by an appropriate well-known method and is then output to the CPU.
cause the display to display printer information indicating the target printer included in the received registration information (e.g. the display on the operation terminal displays printers acquired that are associated with the identification information stored within the printer that is sent to the operation terminal. This is taught in ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56] above.).
However, Miyajima fails to specifically teach the features of a server that is communicatively connected to the plurality of printers, acquires registration information output from each of the plurality of printers, and stores the acquired registration information, the registration information including first printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media set to each of the plurality of printers and second printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media stored in a facility where each of the plurality of printers is installed, as printing media which can be set in the plurality of printers, and
wherein the information processing apparatus includes
a communication interface that is communicatively connected to the server, and
receive, via the communication interface from the sever, registration information including printer information, and
wherein the server is configured to
determine, when the search information is received from the information processing apparatus, whether or not a printing medium of the type indicated by the printing medium type information included in the generated search information is stored in the facility as a printing medium which can be set in the plurality of printers, for each of the plurality of printers corresponding to the stored registration information, based on a difference between first printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media set to each of one or more sheet feeding cassettes of a printer and second printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media provided to customers as printing media that can be printed by the printer in a facility where the printer is located,
extract the registration information corresponding to one or more of the target printers that satisfy the condition related to the type of printing medium indicated by the printing medium type information included in the search information from the registration information of the plurality of printers by the determining whether or not a type of printing medium indicated by the printing medium type information included in the search information is stored, and
send the extracted registration information to the information processing apparatus.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Higuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Higuchi discloses a server that searches for printers on the network (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Higuchi discloses a server that is communicatively connected to the plurality of printers (e.g. the system contains a server that is connected to a plurality of printers, which is taught in ¶ [53]-[55].),
[0053] In FIG. 2, reference numeral 213 denotes a color printer (color LBP); 214 an MFP (Multi Function Peripheral; although it is a copy machine, it can be used also as a network color printer, a scanner, or a facsimile); and 215 a monochromatic printer.
[0054] Reference numeral 211 denotes a desktop PC (client). It is a PC (personal computer) which can execute a program of a network client. The desktop PC 211 is connected to a network 200 as a client mentioned above. As will be explained hereinlater, the desktop PC 211 has not only a function for issuing inquiry information regarding the device which satisfies desired conditions to the server connected on the network 200 but also a function for displaying retrieval results.
[0055] Reference numeral 210 denotes a workstation (WS) which can execute a program of the network server in the embodiment. The workstation (WS) 210 is connected as a server mentioned above to the network 200. As will be explained hereinlater, various information regarding the network devices 213 to 215 has been stored in the WS 210. The WS 210 has a function for receiving a device retrieval inquiry from the client 211 connected to the network 200 and returning its result.
acquires registration information output from each of the plurality of printers, and stores the acquired registration information, the registration information including first printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media set to each of the plurality of printers and second printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media (e.g. the server registers printer ability information that is output from the printers to the server. The registration information is information that indicates the different types or paper sizes that are offered by the printer and set within the cassette, which is taught in ¶ [37], [38], [47]-[50] and [71].), and
[0037] In the embodiment, a workstation is used as a server 10 and has: a manager 11; a memory 11a for performing an arithmetic operation and storing information; a retrieval unit 12; a receiver 13; a transmitter 14; an ability information table 15; and a device driver storage 16.
[0038] The manager 11 manages devices connected to the network 40 by the ability information table 15 in which connection information and ability information of the device 30 have been stored, manages a device driver of the connected device, and downloads the device driver in response to a request from the client. Further, when an inquiry regarding the ability information of the device driver is received from the device 30, the manager 11 returns the ability information of the device driver.
[0047] The device 30 has a device driver storage 31, a manager 32, and an ability information table generator 33. When the device 30 is connected to the network 40, the ability information table is sent to the server 10.
[0048] In the device 30, the manager 32 updates the device driver and sends the ability information table to the server 10. It will be obviously understood that they can be integratedly constructed by a CPU, an MPU, a memory, and the like.
[0049] The ability information table generator 33 obtains the sum of the ability information of the device 30 and the ability information of the device driver at the time of power-on, thereby generating an ability information table.
[0050] When no device driver exists in the device 30, whether the driver of the device 30 exists in the server 10 or client 20 or not is confirmed. If it exists, the ability information is obtained and an ability information table is generated on the basis of the obtained ability information and the ability information of the device 30.
[0071] FIG. 5 is a diagram showing values which can be used every item serving as a retrieval condition in case of retrieving from the client 211 shown in FIG. 2. For example, in an item 502, whether a duplex print is designated (ON) or not (OFF) can be selected. In an item 503, one of a 2-up print (two pages are printed onto one sheet of paper), a 4-up print (four pages are printed onto one sheet of paper), and a 6-up print (six pages are printed onto one sheet of paper) can be designated. In an item 504, how many jobs are copied can be designated. In an item 505, how many pages are copied can be designated. In an item 506, whether an OHP insertion print is designated (ON) or not (OFF) can be selected. In an item 507, a resolution can be designated. In an item 508, the number of pages can be designated. In an item 509, one of the paper sizes A5, A4, and A3 can be designated.
wherein the information processing apparatus includes
a communication interface (interpretation: communication device includes a digital input/output port such as USB, an Ethernet port, and an antenna for wireless communication, which is taught in ¶ [54]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claimed phrase hereinafter in the Office Action.) that is communicatively connected to the server (e.g. the client is connected to the server, which is taught in ¶ [44].), and
[0044] In the client 20, the retrieval request unit 21 requests the server 10 to retrieve all of the devices which can be used on the network 40 including the device 30.
[0045] The manager 22 holds a result of the retrieval request. When results regarding all of the devices are obtained, the manager 22 notifies the display controller 24 of them. When an inquiry about the ability information of the device driver is received from the device 30, the manager 22 returns the ability information of the driver.
receive, via the communication interface from the sever, registration information including printer information (e.g. the client receives the printer information from the server, which is taught in ¶ [44] and [45] above.), and
wherein the server is configured to
determine, when the search information is received from the information processing apparatus, whether or not a printing medium of the type indicated by the printing medium type information included in the generated search information (e.g. the server determines if the paper size or printer information within a search request is present in the ability information, which is taught in ¶ [44] and [45] above.),
extract the registration information corresponding to one or more of the target printers that satisfy the condition related to the type of printing medium indicated by the printing medium type information included in the search information from the registration information of the plurality of printers by the determining whether or not a type of printing medium indicated by the printing medium type information included in the search information is stored (e.g. the server extracts the stored ability information of the printers that satisfy the paper size information included in the client printer information search. This information was acquired from the printers that send their ability information to the server, which is taught in ¶ [37], [38], [47]-[50] and [71] above.), and
send the extracted registration information to the information processing apparatus (e.g. the server sends the extracted printer paper size information tot eh client, which is taught in ¶ [44] and [45] above.).
Therefore, in view of Higuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of a server that is communicatively connected to the plurality of printers, acquires registration information output from each of the plurality of printers, and stores the acquired registration information, the registration information including first printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media set to each of the plurality of printers and second printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media, and wherein the information processing apparatus includes a communication interface that is communicatively connected to the server, and receive, via the communication interface from the sever, registration information including printer information, and wherein the server is configured to determine, when the search information is received from the information processing apparatus, whether or not a printing medium of the type indicated by the printing medium type information included in the generated search information, extract the registration information corresponding to one or more of the target printers that satisfy the condition related to the type of printing medium indicated by the printing medium type information included in the search information from the registration information of the plurality of printers by the determining whether or not a type of printing medium indicated by the printing medium type information included in the search information is stored, and send the extracted registration information to the information processing apparatus, incorporated in the device of Miyajima, in order to have a client device retrieve device information about devices in accordance with retrieval conditions and adaptivities, which can increase the range of devices to inform the user about for output (as stated in Higuchi ¶ [09]).
However, the combination above fails to specifically teach the features of second printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media stored in a facility where each of the plurality of printers is installed, as printing media which can be set in the plurality of printers, and second printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media provided to customers as printing media that can be printed by the printer in a facility where the printer is located;
wherein the server is configured to
determine, when the search information is received from the information processing apparatus, whether or not a printing medium of the type indicated by the printing medium type information included in the generated search information is stored in the facility as a printing medium which can be set in the plurality of printers, for each of the plurality of printers corresponding to the stored registration information, based on a difference between first printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media set to each of one or more sheet feeding cassettes of a printer and second printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media provided to customers as printing media that can be printed by the printer in a facility where the printer is located.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Sumio. Similar to the primary reference, Sumio discloses selecting a sheet size that can be set (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Sumio discloses second printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media stored in a facility where each of the plurality of printers is installed, as printing media which can be set in the plurality of printers, and second printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media provided to customers as printing media that can be printed by the printer in a facility where the printer is located (e.g. the invention discloses a second type of print media that indicates print media that is stored within the area where the printer is located but is not deployed in a printer cassette for immediate printing use. The system allows a user to select this paper size or type as long as the paper available where the printer is located to be exchanged with the paper in the cassette before printing, which is taught in ¶ [28] and [178]-[180].);
[0028] In a preferred embodiment, when it is determined that the paper type to be set during print processing is in stock, the set determination means determines that the paper type is settable.
[0178] If it is determined in step S1704 that printing cannot be done by one output device (NO in step S1704), the flow advances to step S1705. In step S1705, the print server 105 determines whether printing without paper exchange halfway through printing can be executed by setting paper sheets of necessary types (or paper feed stages in which paper sheets of necessary types are set) in the paper feed stages of the output device recognized in step S1704 before print processing.
[0179] The device manager 605 can acquire paper cassette information settable in each device, as described above. Hence, step S1705 is implemented by causing the work flow manager 602 to determine whether all paper types necessary for the print data can be processed by the selected output device.
[0180] For example, assume that the three paper types B, C, and G are necessary for the print data to be processed, and output device 4 is selected. In this case, the work flow manager 602 can determine on the basis of the list shown in FIG. 23 that the six paper types B, C, D, E, G, and H can be set in output device 4. Hence, the work flow manager 602 determines that processing can be executed without cassette exchange for the paper types B, C, and G during print processing when the paper cassettes of output device 4 are changed in advance (the currently set paper types C, D, and E are changed to the paper types B, C, and G).
wherein the server is configured to
determine, when the search information is received from the information processing apparatus, whether or not a printing medium of the type indicated by the printing medium type information included in the generated search information is stored in the facility as a printing medium which can be set in the plurality of printers, for each of the plurality of printers corresponding to the stored registration information, based on a difference between first printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media set to each of one or more sheet feeding cassettes of a printer and second printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media provided to customers as printing media that can be printed by the printer in a facility where the printer is located (e.g. the system determines that the paper used for printing can be the paper that needs to be set ahead of the printing process. This conclusion is determined based on determining whether the print paper size in the request is associated with the paper already within the cassette or outside of the cassette and can be exchanged with the current set paper in order to output the print request. The paper size can be determined to be in stock and associated with paper that is not within the cassette. The system determines the difference between the cassette papers and the paper outside of the printer and in stock. Based on this difference, the system determines that printing can still occur with paper that may not be within the printer but is settable within the printer. This is taught in ¶ [28] and [178]-[180] above.).
Therefore, in view of Sumio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of second printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media stored in a facility where each of the plurality of printers is installed, as printing media which can be set in the plurality of printers, and second printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media provided to customers as printing media that can be printed by the printer in a facility where the printer is located; wherein the server is configured to determine, when the search information is received from the information processing apparatus, whether or not a printing medium of the type indicated by the printing medium type information included in the generated search information is stored in the facility as a printing medium which can be set in the plurality of printers, for each of the plurality of printers corresponding to the stored registration information, based on a difference between first printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media set to each of one or more sheet feeding cassettes of a printer and second printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media provided to customers as printing media that can be printed by the printer in a facility where the printer is located, incorporated in the device of Miyajima, as modified by Higuchi, in order to determine sheets are in stock that may need to be exchanged to output a document, which reduces the number of times of paper type exchange without changing the processing order of a job (as stated in Sumo ¶ [10]).
Re claim 4: However, Miyajima fails to specifically teach the features of the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein one or more of the target printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media are selected by the server on a basis of registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers and the generated search information.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Higuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Higuchi discloses a server that searches for printers on the network (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Higuchi discloses wherein one or more of the target printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media are selected by the server apparatus on a basis of registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers and the generated search information (e.g. a server receives a request from a client that includes conditions of paper size associated with printers on the network. This is explained in ¶ [39]-[41], [71], [72] and [102]-[104].).
[0039] The device driver is a program which is executed by the server and client and is used for controlling the device. For example, a printer driver as an example of the device driver receives document data from a document generating program or a graphics forming program which is executed by the client and converts the document data into print data which can be processed by the device. If a printer does not have an N-up printing function, the printer driver generates print data so that N pages of the document data are allocated to one page of the print data.
[0040] The receiver 13 receives a retrieval request from the client 20. The retrieval unit 12 compares the retrieval request received by the receiver 13 with the ability information of each device connected to the network 40 through the ability information table 15, thereby calculating an adaptivity between each device and the retrieval condition. The adaptivity is sent through the transmitter 14 to the client 20 or the like to which the retrieval request has been issued.
[0041] The ability information of each device connected to the network 40 has been stored in the ability information table 15 at the time of connection of the device or the turn-on of a power source. When the ability information is changed due to the updating of the device driver, it is also restored.
[0071] FIG. 5 is a diagram showing values which can be used every item serving as a retrieval condition in case of retrieving from the client 211 shown in FIG. 2. For example, in an item 502, whether a duplex print is designated (ON) or not (OFF) can be selected. In an item 503, one of a 2-up print (two pages are printed onto one sheet of paper), a 4-up print (four pages are printed onto one sheet of paper), and a 6-up print (six pages are printed onto one sheet of paper) can be designated. In an item 504, how many jobs are copied can be designated. In an item 505, how many pages are copied can be designated. In an item 506, whether an OHP insertion print is designated (ON) or not (OFF) can be selected. In an item 507, a resolution can be designated. In an item 508, the number of pages can be designated. In an item 509, one of the paper sizes A5, A4, and A3 can be designated.
[0072] In the client 211, the user can input a retrieval condition in a set range with respect to the items 502 to 509.
[0102] The device itself has obtained the sum of the ability information of the device and the ability information of the device driver here. However, it is also possible to construct the system in a manner such that the device sends the ability information of the device and the ability information of the device driver to the server 210 and the server 210 obtains the sum of the ability information of the device and the ability information of the device driver and registers the sum into the ability information table 15.
[0103] After the generated ability information table is sent to the server 210, the CPU 1402 of the LBP 1110 releases the connection to the server 210 (step S1504) and finishes the processes.
[0104] The ability information table is managed by the manager 11 and referred to by the retrieval unit 12. In the embodiment, the server 210 also adds the status of the device to the information obtained from the device, thereby generating the ability information table 15. By executing such a procedure, each device registers the position information, attribute information, and ability information table into the server 210 after the power-on. Naturally, a procedure similar to that mentioned above is also executed in the case where the updating of the device driver occurs.
Therefore, in view of Higuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein one or more of the target printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media are selected by the server apparatus on a basis of registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers and the generated search information, incorporated in the device of Miyajima, as modified by Ochiai, in order to return printers that meet the conditions of the paper type from a server, which improves the use of the system by providing a list of printers that conform with retrieval conditions (as stated in Higuchi ¶ [07]-[09]).
Re claim 5: However, Miyajima fails to specifically teach the features of the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein registration information including printer information indicating one or more of the target printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media is selected by the server apparatus from registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers on a basis of the generated search information.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Higuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Higuchi discloses a server that searches for printers on the network (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Higuchi discloses wherein registration information including printer information indicating one or more of the target printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media is selected by the server apparatus from registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers on a basis of the generated search information (e.g. a server receives a request from a client that includes conditions of paper size associated with printers on the network. This is explained in ¶ [39]-[41], [71], [72] and [102]-[104]. The printers that contain the retrieval conditions are stored within a table that is stored within the server, which is taught in ¶ [102]-[104] above. These printers are stored based on the retrieval request from the client to the server that searches the network printers for certain conditions.).
Therefore, in view of Higuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein registration information including printer information indicating one or more of the target printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media is selected by the server apparatus from registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers on a basis of the generated search information, incorporated in the device of Miyajima, as modified by Ochiai, in order to return printers that meet the conditions of the paper type from a server, which improves the use of the system by providing a list of printers that conform with retrieval conditions (as stated in Higuchi ¶ [07]-[09]).
Re claim 7: Miyajima discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the condition related to the type of printing media includes a printer to which a printing medium indicated by the input printing media type information is set (e.g. the search condition is a type of medium used within the printer for printing that is sent to the operation terminal and identified with the printer identification, which is taught in ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56] above.).
Re claim 8: Miyajima discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the condition related to the printing media type includes that the printing medium indicated by the input printing media type information is stored as printing media which can be set to the printer (e.g. the search condition is a type of medium stored within the printer for printing that is sent to the operation terminal and identified with the printer identification, which is taught in ¶ ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56] above.).
Re claim 10: Miyajima discloses an information processing method for an information processing system that causes a user to search for a target printer suitable to printing an image desired by the user from a plurality of printers connected to a network, comprising:
receiving, by an information processing apparatus, search information from the user to search for the target printer and provides the user with printer information indicating the target printer (e.g. the user inputs search information regarding a sheet size, or tape size, into the operation terminal, which is taught in ¶ [45]. The mobile device receives printer information of printers that fit the search criteria, which is taught in ¶ [46] and [47].); and
inputting, by an input panel of the information processing apparatus, printing media type information indicating a type of printing media on which images are to be printed (e.g. a user operates the operation unit and enters a search condition for a sheet type on which an image is printed, which is taught in ¶ [40] and [45] above.);
displaying, by a display of the information processing apparatus, printer information indicating a printer (e.g. the operation unit in figure 3C shows various printers that pertain to the search condition on the display of the operation terminal, which is taught in ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56] above.);
generating search information at least including the printing media type information input by the input panel (e.g. a search condition is generated based on the user entering the paper type on the operation terminal, which is taught in ¶ [45], [47] and [54] above.);
receiving registration information including printer information indicating each of one or more of target printers satisfying a condition related to the type of printing media indicated by the printing media type information included in the search information, as a response to the sending of the generated search information (e.g. the CPU of the printers contain the printer information identifying the printer and the type of medium contained within the printer device, which is taught in ¶ [38]. The printer sends identification information registered within the printer, along with the medium information, to the operation terminal based on matching the search condition input at the operation terminal, which is taught in ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56] above.); and
causing the display device to display printer information included in the acquired registration information (e.g. the display on the operation terminal displays printers acquired that are associated with the identification information stored within the printer that is sent to the operation terminal. This is taught in ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56] above.);
causing the display to display printer information indicating the target printer included in the received registration information (e.g. the display on the operation terminal displays printers acquired that are associated with the identification information stored within the printer that is sent to the operation terminal. This is taught in ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56] above.).
However, Miyajima fails to specifically teach the features of acquiring, by a server that is communicatively connected to the plurality of printers, registration information output from each of the plurality of printers; and storing, by the sever, the acquired registration information, the registration information including first printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media set to each of the plurality of printers and second printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media stored in a facility where each of the plurality of printers is installed, as printing media which can be set in the plurality of printers, and
sending the generated search information to the server via the communication interface,
receiving, via the communication interface from the sever, registration information including printer information, and
determining, by the server, when the search information is received from the information processing apparatus, whether or not a printing medium of the type indicated by the printing medium type information included in the generated search information is stored in the facility as a printing medium which can be set in the plurality of printers, for each of the plurality of printers corresponding to the stored registration information, based on a difference between first printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media set to each of one or more sheet feeding cassettes of a printer and second printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media provided to customers as printing media that can be printed by the printer in a facility where the printer is located,
extracting, by the server, the registration information corresponding to one or more of the target printers that satisfy the condition related to the type of printing medium indicated by the printing medium type information included in the search information from the registration information of the plurality of printers by the determining whether or not a type of printing medium indicated by the printing medium type information included in the search information is stored, and
sending, by the server, the extracted registration information to the information processing apparatus.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Higuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Higuchi discloses a server that searches for printers on the network (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Higuchi discloses acquiring, by a server that is communicatively connected to the plurality of printers (e.g. the system contains a server that is connected to a plurality of printers, which is taught in ¶ [53]-[55] above.),
registration information output from each of the plurality of printers; and storing, by the sever, the acquired registration information, the registration information including first printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media set to each of the plurality of printers and second printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media (e.g. the server registers printer ability information that is output from the printers to the server. The registration information is information that indicates the different types or paper sizes that are offered by the printer and set within the cassette, which is taught in ¶ [37], [38], [47]-[50] and [71] above.), and
sending the generated search information to the server via the communication interface (e.g. the client is connected to the server, which is taught in ¶ [44] above.),
receiving, via the communication interface from the sever, registration information including printer information (e.g. the client receives the printer information from the server, which is taught in ¶ [44] and [45] above.), and
determining, by the server, when the search information is received from the information processing apparatus, whether or not a printing medium of the type indicated by the printing medium type information included in the generated search information (e.g. the server determines if the paper size or printer information within a search request is present in the ability information, which is taught in ¶ [44] and [45] above.),
extracting, by the server, the registration information corresponding to one or more of the target printers that satisfy the condition related to the type of printing medium indicated by the printing medium type information included in the search information from the registration information of the plurality of printers by the determining whether or not a type of printing medium indicated by the printing medium type information included in the search information is stored (e.g. the server extracts the stored ability information of the printers that satisfy the paper size information included in the client printer information search. This information was acquired from the printers that send their ability information to the server, which is taught in ¶ [37], [38], [47]-[50] and [71] above.), and
sending, by the server, the extracted registration information to the information processing apparatus (e.g. the server sends the extracted printer paper size information tot eh client, which is taught in ¶ [44] and [45] above.).
Therefore, in view of Higuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of acquiring, by a server that is communicatively connected to the plurality of printers, registration information output from each of the plurality of printers; and storing, by the sever, the acquired registration information, the registration information including first printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media set to each of the plurality of printers and second printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media, and sending the generated search information to the server via the communication interface, receiving, via the communication interface from the sever, registration information including printer information, and determining, by the server, when the search information is received from the information processing apparatus, whether or not a printing medium of the type indicated by the printing medium type information included in the generated search information, extracting, by the server, the registration information corresponding to one or more of the target printers that satisfy the condition related to the type of printing medium indicated by the printing medium type information included in the search information from the registration information of the plurality of printers by the determining whether or not a type of printing medium indicated by the printing medium type information included in the search information is stored, and sending, by the server, the extracted registration information to the information processing apparatus, incorporated in the device of Miyajima, in order to have a client device retrieve device information about devices in accordance with retrieval conditions and adaptivities, which can increase the range of devices to inform the user about for output (as stated in Higuchi ¶ [09]).
However, the combination above fails to specifically teach the features of second printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media stored in a facility where each of the plurality of printers is installed, as printing media which can be set in the plurality of printers;
determining, by the server, when the search information is received from the information processing apparatus, whether or not a printing medium of the type indicated by the printing medium type information included in the generated search information is stored in the facility as a printing medium which can be set in the plurality of printers, for each of the plurality of printers corresponding to the stored registration information, based on a difference between first printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media set to each of one or more sheet feeding cassettes of a printer and second printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media provided to customers as printing media that can be printed by the printer in a facility where the printer is located.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Sumio. Similar to the primary reference, Sumio discloses selecting a sheet size that can be set (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Sumio discloses second printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media stored in a facility where each of the plurality of printers is installed, as printing media which can be set in the plurality of printers (e.g. the invention discloses a second type of print media that indicates print media that is stored within the area where the printer is located but is not deployed in a printer cassette for immediate printing use. The system allows a user to select this paper size or type as long as the paper available where the printer is located to be exchanged with the paper in the cassette before printing, which is taught in ¶ [28] and [178]-[180] above.);
determining, by the server, when the search information is received from the information processing apparatus, whether or not a printing medium of the type indicated by the printing medium type information included in the generated search information is stored in the facility as a printing medium which can be set in the plurality of printers, for each of the plurality of printers corresponding to the stored registration information, based on a difference between first printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media set to each of one or more sheet feeding cassettes of a printer and second printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media provided to customers as printing media that can be printed by the printer in a facility where the printer is located (e.g. the system determines that the paper used for printing can be the paper that needs to be set ahead of the printing process. This conclusion is determined based on determining whether the print paper size in the request is associated with the paper already within the cassette or outside of the cassette and can be exchanged with the current set paper in order to output the print request. The paper size can be determined to be in stock and associated with paper that is not within the cassette. The system determines the difference between the cassette papers and the paper outside of the printer and in stock. Based on this difference, the system determines that printing can still occur with paper that may not be within the printer but is settable within the printer. This is taught in ¶ [28] and [178]-[180] above.).
Therefore, in view of Sumio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of second printable printing media type information which indicates a type of printing media stored in a facility where each of the plurality of printers is installed, as printing media which can be set in the plurality of printers; determining, by the server, when the search information is received from the information processing apparatus, whether or not a printing medium of the type indicated by the printing medium type information included in the generated search information is stored in the facility as a printing medium which can be set in the plurality of printers, for each of the plurality of printers corresponding to the stored registration information, based on a difference between first printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media set to each of one or more sheet feeding cassettes of a printer and second printable printing medium type information indicating a type of printing media provided to customers as printing media that can be printed by the printer in a facility where the printer is located, incorporated in the device of Miyajima, as modified by Higuchi, in order to determine sheets are in stock that may need to be exchanged to output a document, which reduces the number of times of paper type exchange without changing the processing order of a job (as stated in Sumo ¶ [10]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyajima, as modified by the features of Higuchi and Sumio, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Ochiai (USP 7099937).
Re claim 9: Miyajima discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the input device receives an operation of selecting the printer displayed on the display device (e.g. after receiving the printers that meet the page type criteria and displaying these options, the user can select the printer for output. This is taught in ¶ [57] and [58].), and
[0057] Then, in step S40, the CPU 12 receives a selection (decision) operation of a specific label printer 3 corresponding to the content that the user is looking for, which is performed via the operation unit 14 and the like in correspondence to the display in step S30. At this time, a selection of one label printer 3 (specifically, the identification information) may be received, as shown in FIG. 3D, or a selection of the tape 203 mounted to the label printer 3 may be received. Step S40 corresponds to the receiving of the decision operation defined in the claims.
[0058] Then, in step S50, the CPU 12 transmits a notification execution instruction to the specific label printer 3 selected in step S40, via the communication control unit 15. Step S50 corresponds to the transmitting of the execution instruction defined in the claims. Thereby, in the specific label printer 3 having received the notification execution instruction, the predetermined notification operation (light-emitting operation or sound generating operation) is executed by the notification unit 211, under control of the CPU of the control circuit 202. This processing corresponds to the causing of the notification part to execute the predetermined notification operation defined in the claims. Then, the flow is over.
However, Miyajima fails to specifically teach the features of the controller causes the display device to display a map indicating a location of each of the one or more printers selected in accordance with an operation received by the input device.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Ochiai. Similar to the primary reference, Ochiai discloses a client terminal communicating with a server that searches for network printers (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Ochiai discloses the controller causes the display device to display a map indicating a location of each of the one or more printers selected in accordance with an operation received by the input device (e.g. the client computer is able to see a map of printers that are received based on the selection conditions of the output devices. The printers can receive a print job to output based on selecting the printers on the map, which is taught in col. 12, ll. 10-39.).
(172) If the layout bit map has already been displayed as a result of the judgment in step S2705, the control progresses to step S2707. Then, a corresponding device icon is read from the table in FIG. 21 on the basis of the NM information. In addition, it is determined where the device icon is displayed on the basis of the map information.
(173) In this embodiment, the result shown in FIG. 14 is returned as a search result from the server unit 112, which indicates that NM is an LBP 1110 and a location where its device icon is displayed is "10X+10Y," and therefore the device icon is displayed in the location shown in FIG. 22 (step S2708). This device icon is displayed so as to be superposed on the layout map, by which a search result as shown in FIG. 23 is displayed on the display of the client unit 111.
(174) By the above processes, the layout bit maps as shown in FIGS. 5 to 8 are displayed on the display of the client unit 111 and therefore a user obtains detailed location information of devices as a search result.
(175) Afterwards, the user of the client unit 111 selects a desired device out of a plurality of devices as a search result and ten transmits a job to the selected device. For example, if the device is a printer a printing job is transmitted, or if the device is a facsimile a transmission job or the like is transmitted.
(176) Referring to FIG. 31, there is shown an example of printing job information issued by a client, and reference numeral 3101 designates a job characteristic tag indicating that the subsequent information is job attribute information. Printing job information of 3102 to 3105 follows the tag.
Therefore, in view of Ochiai, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the controller causes the display device to display a map indicating a location of each of the one or more printers selected in accordance with an operation received by the input device, incorporated in the device of Miyajima, in order to communicate with a server that stores information regarding printers that meet conditions, which allows the user to locate devices to be used in an easy manner (as stated in Ochiai col. 1, ll. 28-53).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takahashi discloses displaying a map of printers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683