DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
INFORMATION PROCESSING APPARATUS AND INFORMATION PROCESSING METHOD COMPRISING GENERATING SEARCH INFORMATION INCLUDING PRITNING MEDIA TYPE INFORMATION TO FIND SUITABLE NETWORK PRINTERS, ACQUIRING PRINTER INFORMATION TO DISPLAY THAT SATISFIES THE PRINTING MEDIA TYPE.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, ll. 5: It is suggested to change “the controller” to -- the processor --.
Claim 10, ll. 16: It is suggested to change “the display device” to -- a display device --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the controller" in ll. 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to be changed to -- the processor --.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the display device" in ll. 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: input device, display device and communication device in claims 1, 2, 9 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and/or a2) as being anticipated by Miyajima (US Pub 2021/0089246).
Re claim 1: Miyajima discloses an information processing apparatus that is capable of selecting a printer suitable to printing an image from a plurality of printers connected to a network, comprising:
an input device (interpretation: The input device 33 includes a touch pad, a keyboard, a mouse, and the like. The input device 33 may be a touch panel configured to be integral with the display device 35. The input device 33 includes, for example, the buttons BA and BB as its parts, which is taught in ¶ [53]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) that inputs printing media type information indicating a type of printing media on which images are to be printed (e.g. a user operates the operation unit and enters a search condition for a sheet type on which an image is printed, which is taught in ¶ [40] and [45].);
[0040] The print head 205 is configured to perform, on the tape 203 conveyed by the conveyor device 209, printing based on print data received from the operation terminal 2.
[0044] <Screen Transition on Touch Panel>
[0045] The user operates appropriately the operation unit 14 and the like of the operation terminal 2, for example, thereby displaying a screen, on which a content of the medium information of the tape 203 as a search condition can be input, on the touch panel 17, as shown in FIG. 3A. In the example of FIG. 3A, a tape width input column 17P in which a tape width (width size) of the tape 203 can be input as an example of the medium information is displayed. For example, when the user wants to look for the tape 203 having a tape width 24 [mm], the user inputs “24” in the tape width input column 17P, as shown in FIG. 3B.
a display device (interpretation: The display device 35 includes, for example, a liquid-crystal display panel, which is taught in ¶ [55]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) that displays printer information indicating a printer (e.g. the operation unit in figure 3C shows various printers that pertain to the search condition on the display of the operation terminal, which is taught in ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56].); and
[0046] At this time, from each of the label printers 3A, 3B and 3C, the identification information of the label printer 3 and the medium information of the tape 203 provided in the mounted cartridge are broadcasted under control of the CPU of the control circuit 202. This processing corresponds to the broadcasting of the acquired medium information and identification information defined in the claims. The broadcasting is performed at predetermined intervals by Bluetooth Low Energy advertising in the Bluetooth communication, for example. In the operation terminal 2, the identification information of each of the label printers 3A, 3B and 3C and the corresponding medium information, which have been broadcasted, are received.
[0047] As described in the example of FIG. 3B, when the tape width 24 [mm] of the tape 203 is set as the search condition, information, Which matches the search condition, of the medium information acquired from each label printer 3 is displayed. FIG. 3C depicts an example where the cartridge having the tape 203 of 24 [mm] is mounted to all the label printers 3A, 3B and 3C. That is, in the screen of the touch panel 17 shown in FIG. 3C, a type column 17Q indicating a type of wireless communication with the label printer 3 (in the present example, “Wireless A”) and printer display columns 17A, 17B and 17C are displayed.
[0055] Then, in step S20, the CPU 12 receives and acquires, via the communication control unit 15, the medium information of the tape 203 (the medium type information such as a width, a color, a material and the like of a tape and the information about a remaining amount of medium, as described above) of the cartridge tape 203 mounted to each label printer 3 together with the identification information of each label printer 3, which are broadcasted from each label printer 3. Step S20 corresponds to the acquiring of the acquisition result defined in the claims, and the processing that is executed in step S20 corresponds to the receiving of the received result. In the meantime, step S20 may also be executed before step S10.
[0056] Then, in step S30, the CPU 12 displays, on the touch panel 17, the medium information and the identification information (for example, a printer name) of each of the corresponding label printers 3 acquired in step S20 in an a manner corresponding to the matching condition set in step S10. In the example of FIGS. 3B and 3C, the medium information of the tape 203 that matches the tape width-24 [mm] as the matching condition and the identification information of the label printer 3 having the tape are limitedly displayed. Step S30 corresponds to the displaying of the display result defined in the claims.
a processor (e.g. CPU (12) in the operational terminal, which is taught in ¶ [55] above.) configured to
generate search information at least including the printing media type information input by the input device (e.g. a search condition is generated based on the user entering the paper type on the operation terminal, which is taught in ¶ [45], [47] and [54] above.),
acquire, on a basis of registration information including the printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers prestored and the generated search information, registration information including printer information indicating each of one or more printers satisfying a condition related to the type of printing media (e.g. the CPU of the printers contain the printer information identifying the printer and the type of medium contained within the printer device, which is taught in ¶ [38]. The printer sends identification information registered within the printer, along with the medium information, to the operation terminal based on matching the search condition input at the operation terminal, which is taught in ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56] above.), and
[0038] At this time, a type and the like of the cartridge mounted to the cartridge holder 210 are detected by the cartridge sensor 212, and the corresponding information is acquired by the CPU of the control circuit 202. In the present example, the cartridge sensor 212 can also detect a remaining amount of the tape 203 in the cartridge by a well-known method. As a result, the CPU acquires the information from the cartridge sensor 212 to acquire medium information (including medium type information such as a material, a color, a width size and the like and information about a remaining amount of medium, for example) of the tape 203 accommodated in the cartridge mounted to the label printer 3. This processing corresponds to the acquiring of the medium information defined in the claims. In the meantime, instead of the cartridge holder 210, a tape roll holder to which the tape roll 204 itself can be directly detachably mounted may be provided. In this case, the medium information included in the tape roll 204 is detected by an appropriate well-known method and is then output to the CPU.
cause the display device to display printer information included in the acquired registration information (e.g. the display on the operation terminal displays printers acquired that are associated with the identification information stored within the printer that is sent to the operation terminal. This is taught in ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56] above.).
Re claim 7: Miyajima discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the condition related to the type of printing media includes a printer to which a printing medium indicated by the input printing media type information is set (e.g. the search condition is a type of medium used within the printer for printing that is sent to the operation terminal and identified with the printer identification, which is taught in ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56] above.).
Re claim 8: Miyajima discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the condition related to the printing media type includes that the printing medium indicated by the input printing media type information is stored as printing media which can be set to the printer (e.g. the search condition is a type of medium stored within the printer for printing that is sent to the operation terminal and identified with the printer identification, which is taught in ¶ ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56] above.).
Re claim 10: Miyajima discloses an information processing method for an information processing apparatus that is capable of selecting a printer suitable to printing an image from a plurality of printers connected to a network, comprising:
inputting, by an input device, printing media type information indicating a type of printing media on which images are to be printed (e.g. a user operates the operation unit and enters a search condition for a sheet type on which an image is printed, which is taught in ¶ [40] and [45] above.);
generating search information at least including the printing media type information input by the input device (e.g. a search condition is generated based on the user entering the paper type on the operation terminal, which is taught in ¶ [45], [47] and [54] above.);
acquiring, on a basis of registration information including the printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers prestored and the generated search information, registration information including printer information indicating each of one or more printers satisfying a condition related to the type of printing media (e.g. the CPU of the printers contain the printer information identifying the printer and the type of medium contained within the printer device, which is taught in ¶ [38]. The printer sends identification information registered within the printer, along with the medium information, to the operation terminal based on matching the search condition input at the operation terminal, which is taught in ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56] above.); and
causing the display device to display printer information included in the acquired registration information (e.g. the display on the operation terminal displays printers acquired that are associated with the identification information stored within the printer that is sent to the operation terminal. This is taught in ¶ [46], [47], [55] and [56] above.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyajima in view of Ochiai (USP 7099937).
Re claim 2: However, Miyajima fails to specifically teach the features of the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a communication device that communicates with a server apparatus that prestores registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Ochiai. Similar to the primary reference, Ochiai discloses a client terminal communicating with a server that searches for network printers (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Ochiai discloses further comprising a communication device (interpretation: The communication device 34 includes, for example, a digital input/output port such as USB, an Ethernet (registered trademark) port, and an antenna for wireless communication, which is taught in ¶ [54]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) that communicates with a server apparatus that prestores registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers (e.g. the client computer communicates a search condition to a server in order to find printers that meet the search conditions, which is taught in col. 3, ll. 60-col. 4, ll. 14. The NIC in the client communicates with the server, which is taught in col. 5, ll. 3-20.).
(59) The client unit 20 comprises a general purpose computer and the like, for example, having a search module 21 for transmitting a desired device search condition to the server unit and receiving its result and a display module for visually displaying the received search result.
(60) The server unit 10 has a function of a directory server having a database 11 for managing attribute information of the device on the network 40. The database 11 contains registered identification information of devices on the network and information on various attributes of the devices.
(61) The search module 12 searches for a device satisfying a device search condition from the database 11 on the basis of the device search condition received from the client unit 20 and transmits the search result to the client unit. The device attribute registration module 13 receives a device attribute from the device 30 or the like and registers it on the database 11.
(62) The device 30 has a function of providing various services to the client unit 20 or the like, such as, for example, a scanner, a printer, or a facsimile. The device attribute transmission module 31 transmits attribute information of itself to the server unit 10 for issuing a registration request.
(73) The PC 200, which has a CPU 202 for executing network device search software stored in a ROM 203 or a hard disk (HD) 211 or supplied from a floppy disk drive (FD) 212, generally controls respective devices connected to a system bus 201.
(74) A RAM 204 functions as a main memory, a work area, or the like of the CPU 202. A keyboard controller (KBC) 205 controls an instruction input from a keyboard (KB) 209 or from a pointing device which is not shown. A CRT controller (CRTC) 206 controls a display of a CRT display (CRT) 210.
(75) A disk controller (DKC) 207 controls accesses to the hard disk (HD) 211 and a floppy disk controller (FD) 212 for storing a boot program, various applications, an editing file, a user file, a network management program or the like.
(76) A network interface card (NIC) 208 is used for interactively transmitting or receiving data to or from a network printer, other network devices, or other PCs via the LAN 220.
Therefore, in view of Ochiai, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of further comprising a communication device that communicates with a server apparatus that prestores registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers, incorporated in the device of Miyajima, in order to communicate with a server that stores information regarding printers that meet conditions, which allows the user to locate devices to be used in an easy manner (as stated in Ochiai col. 1, ll. 28-53).
Re claim 3: However, Miyajima fails to specifically teach the features of the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processor sends the generated search information to the server apparatus via the communication device.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Ochiai. Similar to the primary reference, Ochiai discloses a client terminal communicating with a server that searches for network printers (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Ochiai discloses wherein the processor sends the generated search information to the server apparatus via the communication device (e.g. the client computer communicates a search condition to a server in order to find printers that meet the search conditions, which is taught in col. 3, ll. 60-col. 4, ll. 14. The NIC in the client communicates with the server, which is taught in col. 5, ll. 3-20.).
Therefore, in view of Ochiai, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the processor sends the generated search information to the server apparatus via the communication device, incorporated in the device of Miyajima, in order to communicate with a server that stores information regarding printers that meet conditions, which allows the user to locate devices to be used in an easy manner (as stated in Ochiai col. 1, ll. 28-53).
Re claim 9: Miyajima discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the input device receives an operation of selecting the printer displayed on the display device (e.g. after receiving the printers that meet the page type criteria and displaying these options, the user can select the printer for output. This is taught in ¶ [57] and [58].), and
[0057] Then, in step S40, the CPU 12 receives a selection (decision) operation of a specific label printer 3 corresponding to the content that the user is looking for, which is performed via the operation unit 14 and the like in correspondence to the display in step S30. At this time, a selection of one label printer 3 (specifically, the identification information) may be received, as shown in FIG. 3D, or a selection of the tape 203 mounted to the label printer 3 may be received. Step S40 corresponds to the receiving of the decision operation defined in the claims.
[0058] Then, in step S50, the CPU 12 transmits a notification execution instruction to the specific label printer 3 selected in step S40, via the communication control unit 15. Step S50 corresponds to the transmitting of the execution instruction defined in the claims. Thereby, in the specific label printer 3 having received the notification execution instruction, the predetermined notification operation (light-emitting operation or sound generating operation) is executed by the notification unit 211, under control of the CPU of the control circuit 202. This processing corresponds to the causing of the notification part to execute the predetermined notification operation defined in the claims. Then, the flow is over.
However, Miyajima fails to specifically teach the features of the controller causes the display device to display a map indicating a location of each of the one or more printers selected in accordance with an operation received by the input device.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Ochiai. Similar to the primary reference, Ochiai discloses a client terminal communicating with a server that searches for network printers (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Ochiai discloses the controller causes the display device to display a map indicating a location of each of the one or more printers selected in accordance with an operation received by the input device (e.g. the client computer is able to see a map of printers that are received based on the selection conditions of the output devices. The printers can receive a print job to output based on selecting the printers on the map, which is taught in col. 12, ll. 10-39.).
(172) If the layout bit map has already been displayed as a result of the judgment in step S2705, the control progresses to step S2707. Then, a corresponding device icon is read from the table in FIG. 21 on the basis of the NM information. In addition, it is determined where the device icon is displayed on the basis of the map information.
(173) In this embodiment, the result shown in FIG. 14 is returned as a search result from the server unit 112, which indicates that NM is an LBP 1110 and a location where its device icon is displayed is "10X+10Y," and therefore the device icon is displayed in the location shown in FIG. 22 (step S2708). This device icon is displayed so as to be superposed on the layout map, by which a search result as shown in FIG. 23 is displayed on the display of the client unit 111.
(174) By the above processes, the layout bit maps as shown in FIGS. 5 to 8 are displayed on the display of the client unit 111 and therefore a user obtains detailed location information of devices as a search result.
(175) Afterwards, the user of the client unit 111 selects a desired device out of a plurality of devices as a search result and ten transmits a job to the selected device. For example, if the device is a printer a printing job is transmitted, or if the device is a facsimile a transmission job or the like is transmitted.
(176) Referring to FIG. 31, there is shown an example of printing job information issued by a client, and reference numeral 3101 designates a job characteristic tag indicating that the subsequent information is job attribute information. Printing job information of 3102 to 3105 follows the tag.
Therefore, in view of Ochiai, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the controller causes the display device to display a map indicating a location of each of the one or more printers selected in accordance with an operation received by the input device, incorporated in the device of Miyajima, in order to communicate with a server that stores information regarding printers that meet conditions, which allows the user to locate devices to be used in an easy manner (as stated in Ochiai col. 1, ll. 28-53).
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyajima, as modified by Ochiai, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Higuchi (US Pub 2001/0029551).
Re claim 4: However, Miyajima fails to specifically teach the features of the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein one or more printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media are selected by the server apparatus on a basis of registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers and the generated search information.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Higuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Higuchi discloses a server that searches for printers on the network (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Higuchi discloses wherein one or more printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media are selected by the server apparatus on a basis of registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers and the generated search information (e.g. a server receives a request from a client that includes conditions of paper size associated with printers on the network. This is explained in ¶ [39]-[41], [71], [72] and [102]-[104].).
[0039] The device driver is a program which is executed by the server and client and is used for controlling the device. For example, a printer driver as an example of the device driver receives document data from a document generating program or a graphics forming program which is executed by the client and converts the document data into print data which can be processed by the device. If a printer does not have an N-up printing function, the printer driver generates print data so that N pages of the document data are allocated to one page of the print data.
[0040] The receiver 13 receives a retrieval request from the client 20. The retrieval unit 12 compares the retrieval request received by the receiver 13 with the ability information of each device connected to the network 40 through the ability information table 15, thereby calculating an adaptivity between each device and the retrieval condition. The adaptivity is sent through the transmitter 14 to the client 20 or the like to which the retrieval request has been issued.
[0041] The ability information of each device connected to the network 40 has been stored in the ability information table 15 at the time of connection of the device or the turn-on of a power source. When the ability information is changed due to the updating of the device driver, it is also restored.
[0071] FIG. 5 is a diagram showing values which can be used every item serving as a retrieval condition in case of retrieving from the client 211 shown in FIG. 2. For example, in an item 502, whether a duplex print is designated (ON) or not (OFF) can be selected. In an item 503, one of a 2-up print (two pages are printed onto one sheet of paper), a 4-up print (four pages are printed onto one sheet of paper), and a 6-up print (six pages are printed onto one sheet of paper) can be designated. In an item 504, how many jobs are copied can be designated. In an item 505, how many pages are copied can be designated. In an item 506, whether an OHP insertion print is designated (ON) or not (OFF) can be selected. In an item 507, a resolution can be designated. In an item 508, the number of pages can be designated. In an item 509, one of the paper sizes A5, A4, and A3 can be designated.
[0072] In the client 211, the user can input a retrieval condition in a set range with respect to the items 502 to 509.
[0102] The device itself has obtained the sum of the ability information of the device and the ability information of the device driver here. However, it is also possible to construct the system in a manner such that the device sends the ability information of the device and the ability information of the device driver to the server 210 and the server 210 obtains the sum of the ability information of the device and the ability information of the device driver and registers the sum into the ability information table 15.
[0103] After the generated ability information table is sent to the server 210, the CPU 1402 of the LBP 1110 releases the connection to the server 210 (step S1504) and finishes the processes.
[0104] The ability information table is managed by the manager 11 and referred to by the retrieval unit 12. In the embodiment, the server 210 also adds the status of the device to the information obtained from the device, thereby generating the ability information table 15. By executing such a procedure, each device registers the position information, attribute information, and ability information table into the server 210 after the power-on. Naturally, a procedure similar to that mentioned above is also executed in the case where the updating of the device driver occurs.
Therefore, in view of Higuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein one or more printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media are selected by the server apparatus on a basis of registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers and the generated search information, incorporated in the device of Miyajima, as modified by Ochiai, in order to return printers that meet the conditions of the paper type from a server, which improves the use of the system by providing a list of printers that conform with retrieval conditions (as stated in Higuchi ¶ [07]-[09]).
Re claim 5: However, Miyajima fails to specifically teach the features of the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein registration information including printer information indicating one or more printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media is selected by the server apparatus from registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers on a basis of the generated search information.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Higuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Higuchi discloses a server that searches for printers on the network (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Higuchi discloses wherein registration information including printer information indicating one or more printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media is selected by the server apparatus from registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers on a basis of the generated search information (e.g. a server receives a request from a client that includes conditions of paper size associated with printers on the network. This is explained in ¶ [39]-[41], [71], [72] and [102]-[104]. The printers that contain the retrieval conditions are stored within a table that is stored within the server, which is taught in ¶ [102]-[104] above. These printers are stored based on the retrieval request from the client to the server that searches the network printers for certain conditions.).
Therefore, in view of Higuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein registration information including printer information indicating one or more printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media is selected by the server apparatus from registration information including printer information indicating each of the plurality of printers on a basis of the generated search information, incorporated in the device of Miyajima, as modified by Ochiai, in order to return printers that meet the conditions of the paper type from a server, which improves the use of the system by providing a list of printers that conform with retrieval conditions (as stated in Higuchi ¶ [07]-[09]).
Re claim 6: However, Miyajima fails to specifically teach the features of the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the processor acquires registration information including printer information indicating one or more printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media from the server apparatus via the communication device as a response to the sent search information.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Higuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Higuchi discloses a server that searches for printers on the network (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Higuchi discloses wherein the processor acquires registration information including printer information indicating one or more printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media from the server apparatus via the communication device as a response to the sent search information (e.g. the client computer receives the printer names that are associated with satisfying the retrieval conditions, which include the paper size or type. The receipt of this information is in response to the retrieval request sent from the client to the server. This is explained in ¶ [[39]-[41], [102]-[104] above and [145]-[148].).
[0145] FIG. 21 is a flowchart showing an example of the second data processing procedure in the client according to the invention. A program based on the flowchart has been stored in the HD 311 or RAM 304 in FIG. 3 and is executed by the CPU 302 in FIG. 3. S2101 to S2104 denote processing steps.
[0146] In first step S2101, the adaptivity results of the devices which are sent from the server 210 are received. The adaptivity results are as shown in FIG. 13.
[0147] In next step S2102, whether the processes of the adaptivity results of all devices have been completed or not is discriminated. If it is determined that they are not yet completed as a result of the discrimination, the processing routine is returned to step S2101 and the adaptivities are received.
[0148] In step S2102, if it is decided that all processes have been finished, step S2103 follows. The received adaptivity results are sorted in the order from the high adaptivity, thereby deciding the display order. In step S2104, the device names 1301a to 1301c for the devices are displayed with reference to the information 401, the adaptivities, the items serving as extended information 1302a to 1302c, and the other information are displayed for all devices.
[0149] The device control program on the network according to the invention described above can be executed by a personal computer in accordance with a program which is installed from the outside. In this case, the invention is also applied to a case where the program is obtained from a memory medium such as CD-ROM, flash memory, floppy disk, or the like or an information group including the program is loaded onto the personal computer from an external memory medium through a network such as Email, personal computer communication, or the like, so that the program is supplied to the personal computer.
Therefore, in view of Higuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the processor acquires registration information including printer information indicating one or more printers satisfying the condition related to the type of printing media from the server apparatus via the communication device as a response to the sent search information, incorporated in the device of Miyajima, as modified by Ochiai, in order to return printers that meet the conditions of the paper type from a server, which improves the use of the system by providing a list of printers that conform with retrieval conditions (as stated in Higuchi ¶ [07]-[09]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takahashi discloses displaying a map of printers.
/CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683