DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the pending claims, 1-20, received 09 October 2025. Claims 2-5, 8-10, 14-15 and 20 have been withdrawn. Accordingly, the detailed action of claims 1, 6-7, 11-13, 16-19 is as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US 20250254552 A1, hereafter referred to as Li).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method performed by a terminal for a cell reselection between a TN (terrestrial network) cell and a NTN (non-terrestrial network) cell, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first base station of a serving cell with a first type, system information (Li [0045-0047] teaches a terminal receiving configuration information, wherein the configuration information is received from a network device belonging to one type of network) including reference location information associated with at least one neighboring cell with a second type (Li [0053-0054] teaches the configuration information including each piece of reference information belongs to a different type of network containing the neighboring cell [0055]), and distance information associated with the at least one neighboring cell (Li [0029 and 0047-0048]);
measuring a neighboring cell (Li [0049]) if a distance from based a terminal location to a reference location of the neighboring cell with the second type is smaller than the distance information based on the system information (Li [0059] teaches performing the measurement of the neighboring cell if a distance between the terminal’s position and a position indicated by the reference information is less than the distance threshold indicated associated with the reference information and configured by the configuration information).
Although Li teaches performing neighbor cell measurement to improve the efficiency of the terminal in performing measurement and reselection of a neighbor cell, Li does not explicitly teach the action or behavior of reselecting the neighbor cell, such that Li does not explicitly teach determining to perform a cell reselection based on a result of the measurement.
Tao, in an analogous art, teaches determining to perform a cell reselection based on a result of the measurement (Tao [0084] teaches conducting measurement on the TN cell and evaluating the cell reselection criteria, wherein when the reselection criteria a fulfilled for the TN cell the UE reselects the TN cell [0075]).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li in view of Tao in order to configure the result of the neighbor cell measurement, as taught by Li, to be used as input to determine whether to perform cell reselection, as taught by Tao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to improve the efficiency of the terminal in reselecting the neighboring cell (Li [0181]) and enable the terminal to save power and time (Tao [0065, 0068]).
Regarding claim 6, Li-Tao teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
Additionally, Li-Tao teaches the method wherein the serving cell with the first type is the NTN cell, and the at least one neighboring cell with the second type is the TN cell (Tao [0072] teaches a UE camped on a NTN cell, such that the NTN cell is the serving cell [0074] and the cell the UE is close to is a TN cell [0072]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is directed to the device for executing the method of claim 1. As set forth above, LI-Tao teaches the limitations of claim 1, wherein Li-Tao are combined according to the reasons set forth above regarding claim 1. Additionally, Li-Tao teaches the terminal comprising a transceiver (Li [Fig 5]. Likewise, Tao [0052]); at least one processor (Li [Fig 5]. Likewise, Tao [0052]). The additional limitations of claim 13 do not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claim 1.
Therefore, the additional limitations of claim 13 are rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, it does not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claim 6.
Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 6.
Claims 7, 11-12, 17-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20250254552 A1, hereafter referred to as Li) in view of Tao et al (WO 2024155459 A2, hereafter referred to as Tao) as applied above regarding claim 1, further in view of Park et al (US 20230224791 A1, hereafter referred to as Park) in view of Li et al (US 20250047368 A1, hereafter referred to as Hu).
Regarding claim 7, Li-Tao teaches the limitations of claim 1, as rejected above.
However, Li-Tao does not explicitly teach the method further comprising: in case that the serving cell with the first type is the TN cell, and the at least one neighboring cell with the second type is the NTN cell, receiving system information for the cell reselection including at least one RSRP threshold and at least one RSRQ threshold; and identifying whether at least one RSRP or RSRQ of the serving cell is greater than the at least one RSRP threshold or the at least one RSRQ threshold.
Park, in an analogous art, teaches in case that the serving cell with the first type as a TN cell and the at least one neighboring cell with the second type is a NTN cell (Park [0286]), receiving system information for the cell reselection (Park [0283] teaches evaluating the signal of the neighbor cell through discovery, measurement and evaluation and receiving system information [0305-0309] including a threshold value for signal strength [0306-0310]).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li-Tao in view of Park in order to configure a case that the serving cell with the first type is the TN cell, and the at least one neighboring cell with the second type is the NTN cell, receiving system information for the cell reselection, as taught by Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to reduce the battery consumption of the terminal, effectively perform cell search and provide efficient mobility support (Park [0011]).
However, Li-Tao-Park does not explicitly teach system information for the cell reselection including at least one RSRP threshold and at least one RSRQ threshold, and identify whether at least one RSRP or RSRQ of the serving cell is greater than the at least one RSRP threshold or the at least one RSRQ threshold.
Hu, in an analogous art, teaches receiving system information for the cell reselection including at least one RSRP threshold and at least one RSRQ threshold (Hu [0099] teaches a signal quality includes RSRP and RSRQ), and identify whether at least one RSRP or RSRQ of the serving cell is greater than the at least one RSRP threshold or the at least one RSRQ threshold (Hu [0099] teaches determining the signal quality of the serving cell is greater than or equal to a threshold).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li-Tao-Park in view of Hu in order to configure the system information or signal, as taught by Li-Tao-Park, include at least one RSRP threshold and at least one RSRQ threshold and identify whether at least one RSRP or RSRQ of the serving cell is greater than the at least one RSRP threshold or the at least one RSRQ threshold, as taught by Hu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to enable a terminal device to target cell for cell reselection or handover as soon as possible and improve the communication reliability (Hu [0106]).
Regarding claim 11, Li-Tao-Park- Hu teaches the limitations of claim 7, as rejected above.
Additionally, Li-Tao-Park- Hu teaches the method in case that the at least one RSRP or RSRQ of the serving cell is not greater than the at least one RSRP threshold or the at least one RSRQ threshold, measure the at least one neighboring cell (Hu [0105] teaches the RSRP and RSRQ measurement result of the serving cell is less than the corresponding threshold, performing measurement on the neighboring cell).
Regarding claim 12, Li-Tao-Park-Hu teaches the limitations of claim 7, as rejected above.
Additionally, Li-Tao-Park-Hu teaches the method in case that the at least one RSRP or RSRQ of the serving cell is greater than the at least one RSRP threshold or the at least one RSRQ threshold, measure the at least one neighboring cell (Hu [0099] teaches the RSRP and RSRQ measurement result of the serving cell is greater than the corresponding threshold the terminal does not perform the process of starting or performing the measurement on the neighboring cell).
Regarding claims 17-19, they do not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claims 7, 11-12.
Therefore claims 17-19 are rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claims 7 and 11-12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6-7, 11-13, 16-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SHEAN TOKUTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2446
/SHEAN TOKUTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446