DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to application 18/629,497 filed 4/8/2024 in which claims 1-16 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amendment of 6/9/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshkholgh Dashtaki et al (US 2025/0338343 A1) (hereinafter Khosh) in view of Stanczak et al (US 2022/0361062 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Khosh teaches a method performed by a first base station, the method comprising:
transmitting to a second base station, a request message including a conditional handover (CHO) information associated with a time-based trigger condition (Khosh: Figs. 19, 22; [0287] [0350] source BS/first base station transmits CHO request to Target BS1/second base station; the CHO is associated with HO timer T304);
receiving, from the second base station, a response message including configuration for a conditional handover, as a response to the request message (Khosh: Figs. 19, 22; [0287] [0350], source BS receives HO request ACK);
and transmitting, to a terminal, a radio resource control reconfiguration message including the configuration for the conditional handover and information on the time-based trigger condition (Khosh: Figs. 19, 22; [0274] [0281], the wireless device receive HO command in RRC reconfiguration message comprising CHO configuration and HO timer/time-based trigger);
wherein the configuration for the conditional handover includes a configured grant for a time-based conditional handover (Khosh: Figs. 19, 22; [0274] [0281], [0346] the wireless device receive HO command in RRC reconfiguration message comprising configured UL grant and HO timer/time-based trigger), and wherein the time-based conditional handover CHO is performed based on a random access channel (RACH)-less (Khosh: Fig. 19, 22, [0347]-[0350], RACH-less CHO performed).
Khosh does not explicitly disclose the resource control reconfiguration message including the configuration for the conditional handover and information on the time-based trigger condition.
Stanczak teaches the resource control reconfiguration message including the configuration for the conditional handover and information on the time-based trigger condition (Stanczak: Fig. 8; [0157]-[0160], the CHO command/RRC reconfiguration message comprises the HO timer T and the CHO configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in th art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Khosh wherein the resource control reconfiguration message including the configuration for the conditional handover and information on the time-based trigger condition as disclosed by Stanczak to provide a system for conditional handover (Stanczak: Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Khosh teaches a method performed by a terminal, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first base station, an uplink (UL) grant for a time-based conditional handover (CHO), a radio resource control reconfiguration message including a configuration for a conditional handover (CHO) and information on a time-based trigger condition in case that a response message including configuration for a conditional handover is received by the first base station, as a response to a request message including a conditional handover information (Khosh: Figs. 19, 22; [0274] [0281], the wireless device receive HO command in RRC reconfiguration message comprising CHO configuration and HO timer/time-based trigger);
performing the time-based conditional handover based on the configuration for the conditional handover and the information on the time-based trigger condition (Khosh: Fig. 19, 22, [0274] [0281],[0347]-[00350]);
wherein the configuration for the conditional handover includes a configured grant for a time-based conditional handover and wherein the time-based conditional handover CHO is performed based on a random access channel (RACH)-less (Khosh: Fig. 19, 22, [0347]-[0350], RACH-less CHO performed).
Khosh does not explicitly disclose the resource control reconfiguration message including the configuration for the conditional handover and information on the time-based trigger condition.
Stanczak teaches the resource control reconfiguration message including the configuration for the conditional handover and information on the time-based trigger condition (Stanczak: Fig. 8; [0157]-[0160], the CHO command/RRC reconfiguration message comprises the HO timer T and the CHO configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in th art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Khosh wherein the resource control reconfiguration message including the configuration for the conditional handover and information on the time-based trigger condition as disclosed by Stanczak to provide a system for conditional handover (Stanczak: Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Khosh teaches a first base station, comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to:
transmit to a second base station, a request message including a conditional handover (CHO) information associated with a time-based trigger condition (Khosh: Figs. 19, 22; [0287] [0350] source BS/first base station transmits CHO request to Target BS1/second base station; the CHO is associated with HO timer T304);
receive, from the second base station, a response message including configuration for a conditional handover, as a response to the request message (Khosh: Figs. 19, 22; [0287] [0350], source BS receives HO request ACK);
and transmit, to a terminal, a radio resource control reconfiguration message including the configuration for the conditional handover and information on the time-based trigger condition (Khosh: Figs. 19, 22; [0274] [0281], the wireless device receive HO command in RRC reconfiguration message comprising CHO configuration and HO timer/time-based trigger);
wherein the configuration for the conditional handover includes a configured grant for a time-based conditional handover (Khosh: Figs. 19, 22; [0274] [0281], [0346] the wireless device receive HO command in RRC reconfiguration message comprising configured UL grant and HO timer/time-based trigger), and wherein the time-based conditional handover CHO is performed based on a random access channel (RACH)-less (Khosh: Fig. 19, 22, [0347]-[0350], RACH-less CHO performed).
Khosh does not explicitly disclose the resource control reconfiguration message including the configuration for the conditional handover and information on the time-based trigger condition.
Stanczak teaches the resource control reconfiguration message including the configuration for the conditional handover and information on the time-based trigger condition (Stanczak: Fig. 8; [0157]-[0160], the CHO command/RRC reconfiguration message comprises the HO timer T and the CHO configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in th art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Khosh wherein the resource control reconfiguration message including the configuration for the conditional handover and information on the time-based trigger condition as disclosed by Stanczak to provide a system for conditional handover (Stanczak: Abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Khosh teaches a terminal, comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to:
receive, from a first base station, an uplink (UL) grant for a time-based conditional handover (CHO), a radio resource control reconfiguration message including a configuration for a conditional handover (CHO) and information on a time-based trigger condition in case that a response message including configuration for a conditional handover is received by the first base station, as a response to a request message including a conditional handover information (Khosh: Figs. 19, 22; [0274] [0281], the wireless device receive HO command in RRC reconfiguration message comprising CHO configuration and HO timer/time-based trigger);
perform the time-based conditional handover based on the configuration for the conditional handover and the information on the time-based trigger condition (Khosh: Fig. 19, 22, [0274] [0281],[0347]-[00350]);
wherein the configuration for the conditional handover includes a configured grant for a time-based conditional handover and wherein the time-based conditional handover CHO is performed based on a random access channel (RACH)-less (Khosh: Fig. 19, 22, [0347]-[0350], RACH-less CHO performed).
Khosh does not explicitly disclose the resource control reconfiguration message including the configuration for the conditional handover and information on the time-based trigger condition.
Stanczak teaches the resource control reconfiguration message including the configuration for the conditional handover and information on the time-based trigger condition (Stanczak: Fig. 8; [0157]-[0160], the CHO command/RRC reconfiguration message comprises the HO timer T and the CHO configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in th art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Khosh wherein the resource control reconfiguration message including the configuration for the conditional handover and information on the time-based trigger condition as disclosed by Stanczak to provide a system for conditional handover (Stanczak: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2, 6, 10 and 14, Khosh in view of Stanczak teaches wherein the conditional handover information configuration associated with the time-based trigger condition includes at least one information on a time-based conditional event, or information on a time threshold (Stanczak: Fig. 8; [0157]-[0160]).
Regarding claims 3, 7, 11 and 15, Khosh in view of Stanczak teaches wherein at least one of the first base station or the second base station is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (Khosh: Fig. 23; [0285]-[0286]).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Khosh in view of Stanczak teaches monitoring for a UL RACH-less transmission from the terminal based on the conditional handover information configuration associated with the time-based trigger condition (Khosh: Fig. 22; [0345]-[0350], RACH-less uplink transmission from the UE to the target BS).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Khosh in view of Stanczak teaches wherein the radio resource reconfiguration message further includes information for configuring the UL transmission and wherein the information for configuring the UL transmission further includes at least one of first information on a number of HARQ process configured, second information on a number of repetition for the UL transmission, or third information associated with a RACH-less configuration (Khosh: Fig. 22).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478