DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing on 8 April 2024.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes a claim limitation that does not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “an impact mechanism” in claims 1, 11, and 16.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 15, and 20 are objected because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 9, the limitation, “at least one of the subsequent conduction band value is greater than the conduction band value during an immediately preceding time period or the subsequent advance angle value is greater than the advance angle value during the immediately preceding time period”, should read, “at least one of the subsequent conduction band value is greater than the conduction band value during an immediately preceding time period or at least one of the subsequent advance angle value is greater than the advance angle value during the immediately preceding time period”.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation, “at least one of the subsequent conduction band value is greater than the conduction band value during an immediately preceding time period or the subsequent advance angle value is greater than the advance angle value during the immediately preceding time period”, should read, “at least one of the subsequent conduction band value is greater than the conduction band value during an immediately preceding time period or at least one of the subsequent advance angle value is greater than the advance angle value during the immediately preceding time period”.
Regarding claim 15, the claim ends with two periods. One of the two period should be removed.
Regarding claim 20, the limitation, “at least one of the conduction band value is less than an immediately preceding conduction band value or the advance angle value is less than an immediately preceding advance angle value”, should read, “at least one of the conduction band value is less than an immediately preceding conduction band value or at least one of the advance angle value is less than an immediately preceding advance angle value”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation, “the second time period”, is indefinite because the limitation lacks antecedent basis. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner interprets the limitation to mean, “the first time period”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 – 8, 11, 13 – 14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa ‘911 (US 2013/0133911 A1) in view of Vanko (US 2018/0248507 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa ‘911 discloses an impact power tool comprising:
a housing (2, fig. 1);
a brushless motor (4, fig. 1. [0070] describes a motor 4 as a three-phase brushless motor) received in the housing;
a power switch (21, fig. 1) coupled to the housing and actuatable by a user;
an output spindle (15, fig. 1);
an impact mechanism (6, fig. 1) configured to be driven by the motor and to rotationally drive the output spindle ([0062] describes the impact mechanism 6 comprising a spindle 7, a hammer 14 externally mounted on the spindle 7, and a coil spring 16 for forwardly biasing the hammer 14 wherein [0066] describes when the spindle 7 is rotated by a rotational force of the motor 4, the hammer 14 is rotated together with the spindle 7, and a rotational force of the hammer 14 is transmitted to the anvil 15), the impact mechanism configured to selectively apply rotational impacts to the output spindle when a torque on the output spindle exceeds a torque threshold ([0067] describes when a torque of the hammer 14 against the anvil 15 becomes a predetermined value or more, the hammer 14 applies rotational impacts to the anvil 15); and
a controller (31, fig. 2) configured to control power delivery to the motor in response to actuation of the power switch ([0076] describes a controller 31 setting respective drive duty ratios for the switching devices Q1 to Q6 in accordance with a drive command from the trigger switch 21, and outputting control signals in accordance with the respective drive duty ratios to the gate circuit 32 to thereby rotate the motor 4),
wherein the controller is configured to selectively cause the motor to operate in a first mode for installing a fastener or in a second mode for removing a fastener ([0056] describes a forward and reverse changeover switch 22 which changes over a rotation direction of the motor 4 to one of a forward rotation direction and a reverse rotation direction wherein [0086] describes the controller 31 rotating the motor 4 in a rotation direction set by the changeover switch 22 based on a rotation direction setting signal from the changeover switch 22. The examiner deems a first mode direction for installing a fastener as when the changeover switch 22 is set to the forward rotation and further deems a second mode for removing a fastener as when the changeover switch 22 is set to the reverse rotation direction),
wherein, when the motor operates in the first mode, the controller is configured to control the motor during a first time period until a first parameter is reached [0091] describes the first mode for installing a fastener wherein during a time period from when rotation of the motor 4 is started (that is, when tightening of the screw is started) until the screw is seated, the motor 4 is in a no-load state and rotates at a high speed with a rotation number of approximately 22,500 per minute. The examiner deems the first time period from when tightening of the screw is started until the fastener/screw is seated. Please note, [0076] describes the controller 31 controlling the rotation of the motor 4), and to control the motor after the first time period ([0092] describes after the screw is seated, the load is increased and the rotational torque exceeds the predetermined value, and application of an impact is started),
and wherein, when the motor operates in the second mode, the controller is configured to control the motor during a second time period until a second parameter is reached ([0148] – [0149] describes the second mode for removing a fastener wherein during a time period from when rotation of the motor 4 is started (that is, when loosening of the screw is started) until the screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state, applications of impacts are given. Please note, [0092] describes when the applications of impacts are given, load of the motor is in an increased load state), and to control the motor after the second time period ([0149] describes once the fastener/screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state, the motor 4 is rotated at a high speed).
Ishikawa ‘911 does not explicitly when the motor operates in the first mode, the controller is configured to control the motor with a first conduction band value and a first advance angle value during a first time period until a first parameter is reached, and to control the motor with a second conduction band value and a second advance angle value, at least one of which is greater than the first conduction band value and the first advance angle value, after the first time period, and wherein, when the motor operates in the second mode, the controller is configured to control the motor with a third conduction band value and a third advance angle value during a second time period until a second parameter is reached, and to control the motor with a fourth conduction band value and a fourth advance angle value, at least one of which is less than the third conduction band value and the third advance angle value, after the second time period.
However, Vanko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the controller (106, fig. 1. [0043] describes a control unit 106 configured to control supply of DC power to a motor 104 and accordingly commutate the motor 104) is configured to control the motor with a first conduction band value and a first advance angle value during a first time period until a first parameter is reached ([0083] – [0084] describes a load on the motor monitored and compared to a threshold by the controller 230, a sub-component of control unit 106, and during light load conditions wherein the load on the motor is below this threshold, a conduction band and an advance angle is set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, in the first mode for installing a fastener in Ishikawa ‘911 during the time period from when rotation of the motor 4 is started until the screw is seated, the motor 4 is in a no-load state and thus would be considered in the light load condition below a threshold and the conduction band and the advance angle would set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees, as taught by Vanko. Please note, [0081] – [0082] of Vanko describes a tool startup defined as a predetermined time period after the motor is energized wherein the conduction band and the advance angle would set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, the first time period begins with the actuation of the trigger switch 21 and the motor is energized until the fastener/screw is seated wherein during this time period, the conduction band and the advance angle would set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees) and to control the motor with a second conduction band value and a second advance angle value, at least one of which is greater than the first conduction band value and the first advance angle value, after the first time period ([0085] describes when the load is increased above the threshold, the conduction band and the advance angle is adjusted to maintain a desired speed wherein [0080] describes this adjustment as the load increases is an increase in the conduction band and advance angle in order to deliver more output power. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, after the screw is seated and the load is increased from a no-load state in Ishikawa ‘911, the conduction band and the advance angle would be increased to deliver more output power, as taught by Vanko. Please note, this second conduction band and advance angle is greater than the conduction band and advance angle when the motor is under the light load), and
wherein, the controller is configured to control the motor with a third conduction band value and a third advance angle value during a second time period until a second parameter is reached ([0085] describes when the load is increased above the threshold, the conduction band and the advance angle is adjusted to maintain a desired speed wherein [0080] describes this adjustment as the load increases is an increase in the conduction band and advance angle in order to deliver more output power. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, in the second mode for removing a fastener in Ishikawa ‘911 during a time period from when rotation of the motor 4 is started until the screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state, the load of the motor is in the increased load state and the conduction band and the advance angle would be increased to deliver more output power, as taught by Vanko. Please note, [0081] – [0082] of Vanko describes a tool startup defined as a predetermined time period after the motor is energized wherein the conduction band and the advance angle would set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, the first time period begins after the predetermined time period of the tool startup until the screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state wherein during this time period, the conduction band and the advance angle would be increased to deliver more output power), and to control the motor with a fourth conduction band value and a fourth advance angle value, at least one of which is less than the third conduction band value and the third advance angle value, after the second time period ([0083] – [0084] describes during light load conditions, the conduction band and the advance angle is set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, once the fastener/screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state, the motor 4 would be considered to be in the light load condition below the threshold and the conduction band and the advance angle would be set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees, as taught by Vanko. Please note, this second conduction band and advance angle is less than the conduction band and advance angle when the motor is under the increased load).
Vanko is evidence that having the controller configured to control the motor with the first conduction band value and the first advance angle value during the first time period until the first parameter is reached, and to control the motor with the second conduction band value and the second advance angle value, at least one of which is greater than the first conduction band value and the first advance angle value, after the first time period, and wherein, the controller is configured to control the motor with the third conduction band value and the third advance angle value during the second time period until the second parameter is reached, and to control the motor with the fourth conduction band value and the fourth advance angle value, at least one of which is less than the third conduction band value and the third advance angle value, after the second time period was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of modifying the impact power tool of Ishikawa ‘911 with the controller functions and needed structures of Vanko to perform the above functions. Moreover, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the impact power tool of Ishikawa ‘911 with the controller functions and needed structures of Vanko in order to reduce noise and/or lower harmonics in power tools through the use of conduction band control schemes.
Regarding claim 5, Ishikawa ‘911, as modified by Vanko, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Ishikawa ‘911 disclose the controller (Ishikawa ‘911 – 31, fig. 2 and Vanko – 106, fig. 2. Vanko – [0043] describes a control unit 106 configured to control supply of DC power to a motor 104 and accordingly commutate the motor 104) is configured to control the motor (Ishikawa ‘911 – 4, fig. 1) with the second conduction band value and the second advance angle value until the power switch is released by a user ([0085] of Vanko describes when the load is increased above the threshold, the conduction band and the advance angle is adjusted to maintain a desired speed wherein [0080] describes this adjustment as the load increases as an increase in the conduction band and advance angle. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, after the screw is seated and the load is increased from a no-load state in Ishikawa ‘911, the conduction band and the advance angle would be increased to deliver more output power, as taught by Vanko. [0055] of Ishikawa ‘911 describes the trigger switch 21 as an on/off switch wherein [0078] of Ishikawa ‘911 describes the controller 31 controlling the motor 4 in accordance with the drive command from the trigger switch 21. Thus, the examiner deems after the fastener/screw is seated, the controller controls the motor with the second conduction band value and the second advance angle value until the trigger switch 21 is released by the user or, in other words, turned off), and is configured to control the motor with the fourth conduction band value and the fourth advance angle value until the power switch is released by the user ([0083] – [0084] describes during light load conditions, the conduction band and the advance angle is set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, once the fastener/screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state, the motor 4 would be considered to be in the light load condition below the threshold and the conduction band and the advance angle would be set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees, as taught by Vanko. [0055] of Ishikawa ‘911 describes the trigger switch 21 as an on/off switch wherein [0078] of Ishikawa ‘911 describes the controller 31 controlling the motor 4 in accordance with the drive command from the trigger switch 21. Thus, the examiner deems that once the fastener/screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state, the controller controls the motor with the fourth conduction band value and the fourth advance angle value until the trigger switch 21 is released by the user or, in other words, turned off).
Regarding claim 6, Ishikawa ‘911, as modified by Vanko, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Ishikawa ‘911 discloses in the first mode, at least one of the second conduction band value or the second advance angle value is selected among one or more of a plurality of increased conduction band values and advance angle values that are factory set or adjustably set by a user (Vanko - [0085] of Vanko describes when the load is increased above the threshold, the conduction band and the advance angle is adjusted to maintain a desired speed wherein [0080] describes this adjustment as the load increases as an increase in the conduction band and advance angle. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, after the screw is seated and the load is increased from a no-load state in Ishikawa ‘911, the conduction band and the advance angle would be increased to deliver more output power, as taught by Vanko. [0062] describes a selection of various increased conduction bands and associated advance angles; that is, increased in relation to a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees, that are factory set).
Regarding claim 7, Ishikawa ‘911, as modified by Vanko, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Ishikawa ‘911 discloses in the first mode, the controller (Ishikawa ‘911 – 31, fig. 2 and Vanko – 106, fig. 2. Vanko – [0043] describes a control unit 106 configured to control supply of DC power to a motor 104 and accordingly commutate the motor 104) is configured to control the motor (Ishikawa ‘911 – 4, fig. 1) with one or more subsequent conduction band values and one or more subsequent advance angle values during one or more subsequent time periods after the second time period ([0083] – [0084] describes during light load conditions, the conduction band and the advance angle is set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, in the case after the load is increased above the threshold and the conduction band and the advance angle is increased maintain a desired speed, the impact power tool is moved away from the fastener such that the motor is again placed in a no load state, the conduction band and the advance angle would be set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, the controller is configured to control the motor with a subsequent conduction band value and a subsequent advance angle value during a subsequent time periods, such as a time period when the impact power tool is moved away from the fastener, after the second time period when the load is increased above the threshold and the conduction band and the advance angle is increased maintain a desired speed).
Regarding claim 8, Ishikawa ‘911, as modified by Vanko, discloses the invention as recited in claim 7.
The modified Ishikawa ‘911 discloses in the first mode, a combination of at least one of the subsequent conduction band values and subsequent advance angle values are equal to the first conduction band value and the first advance angle value ([0083] – [0084] describes during light load conditions, the conduction band and the advance angle is set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, in the case after the load is increased above the threshold and the conduction band and the advance angle is increased maintain a desired speed, the impact power tool is moved away from the fastener such that the motor is again placed in a no load state, the conduction band and the advance angle would be set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, at least one of the subsequent conduction band values and subsequent advance angle values are equal to the first conduction band value and the first advance angle value).
Regarding claim 11, Ishikawa ‘911 discloses an impact power tool comprising:
a housing (2, fig. 1);
a brushless motor (4, fig. 1. [0070] describes a motor 4 as a three-phase brushless motor) received in the housing;
a power switch (21, fig. 1) coupled to the housing and actuatable by a user;
an output spindle (15, fig. 1);
an impact mechanism (6, fig. 1) configured to be driven by the motor and to rotationally drive the output spindle ([0062] describes the impact mechanism 6 comprising a spindle 7, a hammer 14 externally mounted on the spindle 7, and a coil spring 16 for forwardly biasing the hammer 14 wherein [0066] describes when the spindle 7 is rotated by a rotational force of the motor 4, the hammer 14 is rotated together with the spindle 7, and a rotational force of the hammer 14 is transmitted to the anvil 15), the impact mechanism configured to selectively apply rotational impacts to the output spindle when a torque on the output spindle exceeds a torque threshold ([0067] describes when a torque of the hammer 14 against the anvil 15 becomes a predetermined value or more, the hammer 14 applies rotational impacts to the anvil 15); and
a controller (31, fig. 2) configured to control power delivery to the motor in response to actuation of the power switch ([0076] describes a controller 31 setting respective drive duty ratios for the switching devices Q1 to Q6 in accordance with a drive command from the trigger switch 21, and outputting control signals in accordance with the respective drive duty ratios to the gate circuit 32 to thereby rotate the motor 4).
wherein, when the motor operates in the first mode, the controller is configured to control the motor during a first time period until a first parameter is reached [0091] describes the first mode for installing a fastener wherein during a time period from when rotation of the motor 4 is started (that is, when tightening of the screw is started) until the screw is seated, the motor 4 is in a no-load state and rotates at a high speed with a rotation number of approximately 22,500 per minute. The examiner deems the first time period from when tightening of the screw is started until the fastener/screw is seated. Please note, [0076] describes the controller 31 controlling the rotation of the motor 4), and to control the motor after the first time period ([0092] describes after the screw is seated, the load is increased and the rotational torque exceeds the predetermined value, and application of an impact is started).
Ishikawa ‘911 does not explicitly when the motor operates in the first mode, the controller is configured to control the motor with a first conduction band value and a first advance angle value during a first time period until a first parameter is reached, and to control the motor with a second conduction band value and a second advance angle value, at least one of which is greater than the first conduction band value and the first advance angle value, after the first time period.
However, Vanko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the controller (106, fig. 1. [0043] describes a control unit 106 configured to control supply of DC power to a motor 104 and accordingly commutate the motor 104) is configured to control the motor with a first conduction band value and a first advance angle value during a first time period until a first parameter is reached ([0083] – [0084] describes a load on the motor monitored and compared to a threshold by the controller 230, a sub-component of control unit 106, and during light load conditions wherein the load on the motor is below this threshold, a conduction band and an advance angle is set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, in the first mode for installing a fastener in Ishikawa ‘911 during the time period from when rotation of the motor 4 is started until the screw is seated, the motor 4 is in a no-load state and thus would be considered in the light load condition below a threshold and the conduction band and the advance angle would set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees, as taught by Vanko. Please note, [0081] – [0082] of Vanko describes a tool startup defined as a predetermined time period after the motor is energized wherein the conduction band and the advance angle would set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, the first time period begins with the actuation of the trigger switch 21 and the motor is energized until the fastener/screw is seated wherein during this time period, the conduction band and the advance angle would set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees) and to control the motor with a second conduction band value and a second advance angle value, at least one of which is greater than the first conduction band value and the first advance angle value, after the first time period ([0085] describes when the load is increased above the threshold, the conduction band and the advance angle is adjusted to maintain a desired speed wherein [0080] describes this adjustment as the load increases is an increase in the conduction band and advance angle in order to deliver more output power. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, after the screw is seated and the load is increased from a no-load state in Ishikawa ‘911, the conduction band and the advance angle would be increased to deliver more output power, as taught by Vanko. Please note, this second conduction band and advance angle is greater than the conduction band and advance angle when the motor is under the light load).
Vanko is evidence that having the controller configured to control the motor with a first conduction band value and a first advance angle value during a first time period until a first parameter is reached, and to control the motor with a second conduction band value and a second advance angle value, at least one of which is greater than the first conduction band value and the first advance angle value, after the first time period, was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of modifying the impact power tool of Ishikawa ‘911 with the controller functions and needed structures of Vanko to perform the above functions. Moreover, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the impact power tool of Ishikawa ‘911 with the controller functions and needed structures of Vanko in order to reduce noise and/or lower harmonics in power tools through the use of conduction band control schemes.
Regarding claim 13, Ishikawa ‘911, as modified by Vanko, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ishikawa ‘911 discloses the first time period begins upon actuation of the power switch (Ishikawa ‘911 – 21, fig. 1) (With the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, the first time period begins with the actuation of the trigger switch 21 and the motor is energized until the fastener/screw is seated wherein during this time period, the conduction band and the advance angle would set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees, See claim 11).
Regarding claim 14, Ishikawa ‘911, as modified by Vanko, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ishikawa ‘911 disclose the controller (Ishikawa ‘911 – 31, fig. 2 and Vanko – 106, fig. 2) is configured to control the motor (Ishikawa ‘911 – 4, fig. 1) with the second conduction band value and the second advance angle value until the power switch is released by a user ([0085] of Vanko describes when the load is increased above the threshold, the conduction band and the advance angle is adjusted to maintain a desired speed wherein [0080] describes this adjustment as the load increases as an increase in the conduction band and advance angle. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, after the screw is seated and the load is increased from a no-load state in Ishikawa, the conduction band and the advance angle would be increased to deliver more output power, as taught by Vanko. [0055] of Ishikawa ‘911 describes the trigger switch 21 as an on/off switch wherein [0078] of Ishikawa ‘911 describes the controller 31 controlling the motor 4 in accordance with the drive command from the trigger switch 21. Thus, the examiner deems after the fastener/screw is seated, the controller controls the motor with the second conduction band value and the second advance angle value until the trigger switch 21 is released by the user or, in other words, turned off), and is configured to control the motor with the fourth conduction band value and the fourth advance angle value until the power switch is released by the user ([0083] – [0084] describes during light load conditions, the conduction band and the advance angle is set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, once the fastener/screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state, the motor 4 would be considered to be in the light load condition below the threshold and the conduction band and the advance angle would be set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees, as taught by Vanko. [0055] of Ishikawa ‘911 describes the trigger switch 21 as an on/off switch wherein [0078] of Ishikawa describes the controller 31 controlling the motor 4 in accordance with the drive command from the trigger switch 21. Thus, the examiner deems that once the fastener/screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state, the controller controls the motor with the fourth conduction band value and the fourth advance angle value until the trigger switch 21 is released by the user or, in other words, turned off).
Regarding claim 16, Ishikawa ‘911 discloses an impact power tool comprising:
a housing (2, fig. 1);
a brushless motor (4, fig. 1. [0070] describes a motor 4 as a three-phase brushless motor) received in the housing;
a power switch (21, fig. 1) coupled to the housing and actuatable by a user;
an output spindle (15, fig. 1);
an impact mechanism (6, fig. 1) configured to be driven by the motor and to rotationally drive the output spindle ([0062] describes the impact mechanism 6 comprising a spindle 7, a hammer 14 externally mounted on the spindle 7, and a coil spring 16 for forwardly biasing the hammer 14 wherein [0066] describes when the spindle 7 is rotated by a rotational force of the motor 4, the hammer 14 is rotated together with the spindle 7, and a rotational force of the hammer 14 is transmitted to the anvil 15), the impact mechanism configured to selectively apply rotational impacts to the output spindle when a torque on the output spindle exceeds a torque threshold ([0067] describes when a torque of the hammer 14 against the anvil 15 becomes a predetermined value or more, the hammer 14 applies rotational impacts to the anvil 15); and
a controller (31, fig. 2) configured to control power delivery to the motor in response to actuation of the power switch ([0076] describes a controller 31 setting respective drive duty ratios for the switching devices Q1 to Q6 in accordance with a drive command from the trigger switch 21, and outputting control signals in accordance with the respective drive duty ratios to the gate circuit 32 to thereby rotate the motor 4),
and wherein, when the motor operates in the second mode, the controller is configured to control the motor during a first time period until a first parameter is reached ([0148] – [0149] describes the second mode for removing a fastener wherein during a time period from when rotation of the motor 4 is started (that is, when loosening of the screw is started) until the screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state, applications of impacts are given. Please note, [0092] describes when the applications of impacts are given, load of the motor is in an increased load state), and to control the motor after the first time period ([0149] describes once the fastener/screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state, the motor 4 is rotated at a high speed).
Ishikawa ‘911 does not explicitly when the motor operates in the second mode, the controller is configured to control the motor with a first conduction band value and a first advance angle value during a first time period until a first parameter is reached, and to control the motor with a second conduction band value and a second advance angle value, at least one of which is less than the first conduction band value and the first advance angle value, after the first time period.
However, Vanko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the controller is configured to control the motor with a first conduction band value and a first advance angle value during a first time period until a first parameter is reached ([0085] describes when the load is increased above the threshold, the conduction band and the advance angle is adjusted to maintain a desired speed wherein [0080] describes this adjustment as the load increases is an increase in the conduction band and advance angle in order to deliver more output power. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, in the second mode for removing a fastener in Ishikawa ‘911 during a time period from when rotation of the motor 4 is started until the screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state, the load of the motor is in the increased load state and the conduction band and the advance angle would be increased to deliver more output power, as taught by Vanko. Please note, [0081] – [0082] of Vanko describes a tool startup defined as a predetermined time period after the motor is energized wherein the conduction band and the advance angle would set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, the first time period begins after the predetermined time period of the tool startup until the screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state wherein during this time period, the conduction band and the advance angle would be increased to deliver more output power), and to control the motor with a second conduction band value and a second advance angle value, at least one of which is less than the first conduction band value and the first advance angle value, after the first time period ([0083] – [0084] describes during light load conditions, the conduction band and the advance angle is set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, once the fastener/screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state, the motor 4 would be considered to be in the light load condition below the threshold and the conduction band and the advance angle would be set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees, as taught by Vanko. Please note, this second conduction band and advance angle is less than the conduction band and advance angle when the motor is under the increased load).
Vanko is evidence that having the controller configured to control the motor with a first conduction band value and a first advance angle value during a first time period until a first parameter is reached, and to control the motor with a second conduction band value and a second advance angle value, at least one of which is less than the first conduction band value and the first advance angle value, after the first time period was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of modifying the impact power tool of Ishikawa ‘911 with the controller functions and needed structures of Vanko to perform the above functions. Moreover, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the impact power tool of Ishikawa ‘911 with the controller functions and needed structures of Vanko in order to reduce noise and/or lower harmonics in power tools through the use of conduction band control schemes.
Regarding claim 19, Ishikawa ‘911, as modified by Vanko, discloses the invention as recited in claim 16.
The modified Ishikawa ‘911 discloses the controller is configured to control the motor with the second conduction band value and the second advance angle value until the power switch is released by a user (Vanko – [0083] – [0084] describes during light load conditions, the conduction band and the advance angle is set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Vanko with the invention of Ishikawa ‘911, once the fastener/screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state, the motor 4 would be considered to be in the light load condition below the threshold and the conduction band and the advance angle would be set at a conduction band of 120 degrees and an advance angle of 30 degrees, as taught by Vanko. [0055] of Ishikawa describes the trigger switch 21 as an on/off switch wherein [0078] of Ishikawa describes the controller 31 controlling the motor 4 in accordance with the drive command from the trigger switch 21. Thus, the examiner deems that once the fastener/screw is loosened and the motor 4 is in a no-load state, the controller controls the motor with the second conduction band value and the second advance angle value until the trigger switch 21 is released by the user or, in other words, turned off).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 4, 7 – 10, 12, 17 – 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID G SHUTTY/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
12 February 2026