DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to application 18/629,903 filed 04/08/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Elkotby et al (US 2024/0215067 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Elkotby teaches an uplink data transmission method of a zero-power-consumption terminal, comprising:
selecting a first uplink resource from uplink resources configured by a network device, in response to the zero-power-consumption terminal meeting a trigger condition (Elkotby: Figs. 9 and 11; [0135]-[0136]; [0393]-[0395], WTRU/zero-power consumption terminal receives interrogation signal/trigger condition and select PRACH occasion/uplink resource); and
transmitting uplink data to the network device through the first uplink resource (Elkotby: Figs. 9 and 11; [0393]-[0395], WTUR transmits PRACH preamble).
Regarding claim 9, Elkotby teaches a communication device, comprising a processor and a memory; wherein the memory stores at least one program, and the processor is configured to execute the at least one program to implement a method, and the method comprises:
selecting a first uplink resource from uplink resources configured by a network device, in response to the zero-power-consumption terminal meeting a trigger condition (Elkotby: Figs. 9 and 11; [0135]-[0136]; [0393]-[0395], WTRU/zero-power consumption terminal receives interrogation signal/trigger condition and select PRACH occasion/uplink resource); and
transmitting uplink data to the network device through the first uplink resource (Elkotby: Figs. 9 and 11; [0393]-[0395], WTRU transmits PRACH preamble).
Regarding claim 17, Elkotby teaches a communication device, comprising a processor and a memory; wherein the memory stores at least one program, and the processor is configured to execute the at least one program to implement a method, and the method comprises:
receiving, by a network device, uplink data transmitted by the zero-power-consumption terminal through a first uplink resource; wherein the first uplink resource is selected from the uplink resources configured by the network device, in response to the zero-power-consumption terminal meeting a trigger condition (Elkotby: Figs. 9 and 11; [0135]-[0136]; [0393]-[0395], WTRU/zero-power consumption terminal receives interrogation signal/trigger condition and select PRACH occasion/uplink resource; WTRU transmits PRACH preamble).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, Elkotby teaches wherein the trigger condition comprises: a terminal attribute or a terminal configuration of the zero-power-consumption terminal matching a trigger instruction transmitted by the network device (Elkotby: Fig. 11; [0393] based on WTRU class, capability or battery level); and/or a self-trigger condition.
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, Elkotby teaches wherein the terminal attribute or the terminal configuration comprises at least one of: a service type; group information; and a terminal identifier (Elkotby: Fig. 11; [0393] based on WTRU class, capability or battery level).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Elkotby teaches wherein the self-trigger condition comprises: an access network of the zero-power-consumption terminal changing; a geographical location of the zero-power-consumption terminal changing; and a current time being a periodic trigger time (This limitation has no patentable weight as it depends on the self-trigger alternative of claims 2 and 10 that is not selected for examination).
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 20, Elkotby teaches receiving a broadcast message periodically transmitted by the network device; wherein the broadcast message is configured to configure the uplink resources (Elkotby: Figs. 11-13, [0160]-[0164], WTRU receiving system information configuring the PRACH resources for the WTRU; see also [0214]-[0220]); or receiving a trigger message transmitted by the network device; wherein the trigger message is configured to configure the uplink resources; or receiving a configuration message transmitted by the network device; wherein the configuration message is configured to configure the uplink resources, a time domain position corresponding to the configuration message is later than a time domain position corresponding to the trigger message.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Elkotby teaches receiving a broadcast message periodically transmitted by the network device; wherein the broadcast message is configured to configure the uplink resources (Elkotby: Figs. 11-13, [0160]-[0164], WTRU receiving system information configuring the PRACH resources for the WTRU; see also [0214]-[0220]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Elkotby teaches wherein selecting a first uplink resource from uplink resources configured by a network device, comprises: selecting the first uplink resource based on a terminal identifier of the zero-power-consumption terminal and the number of the uplink resources; or selecting the first uplink resource from the uplink resources configured by the network device based on a first timer; or randomly selecting the first uplink resource from the uplink resources configured by the network device (Elkotby: Fig. 12; [0203]-[0204] randomly selecting resources).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Elkotby teaches wherein a resource serial number of the first uplink resource is equal to a remainder obtained by the terminal identifier divided by the number of the uplink resources; or the selecting the first uplink resource from the uplink resources configured by the network device based on a first timer, comprises: starting a first timer, in response to the trigger condition being met; and in response to timeout of the first timer, selecting an uplink resource, closest to a timeout time in a time domain, from the uplink resources configured by the network device, and determining the uplink resource closest to the timeout time as the first uplink resource (This limitation has no patentable weight as it depends on the alternatives of claims 7 and 15 that are not selected for examination).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478