Applicant’s election with traverse of claims 1-14 (Group I) in the reply filed on 05/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 05/14/2026 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 15-17 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/14/2026 regarding claims 18-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore claims 18-20 have been examined with claim 1-14. The restriction requirement between group I (claims 1-14 and 18-20) and group II (claims 15-17) is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, 13, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallah-Rad et al. (Pu NO. US 2007/0074580 A1; hereinafter Fallah) in view of HUGHES et al. (Pub NO. US 2020/0096308 A1; hereinafter Hughes).
Regarding Claim 1, Fallah teaches a sensor system (sensor system in Fig. 1-Fig. 5; See [0049]-[0070]) comprising:
(a) a microwave resonator (one of each 32 resonates at different independent frequencies such as microwave frequency in Fig. 3; See [0063]-[0064], [0067]-[0070]);
(b) a radio-frequency (RF) resonator (one of each 32 resonates at different independent frequencies such as RF frequency in Fig. 3; See [0063]-[0064], [0067]-[0070]); and
(c) means for acquiring sensor data from the microwave resonator and the RF resonator obtained (antenna 44 acquires data from 32 in Fig. 3; See [0066]-[0070]) to determine the properties of a material that is facing the microwave resonator and RF resonator (determine properties of material 31 facing two resonators 32 in fig. 3; See [0003], [0067]-[0070]).
Fallah teaches microwave resonator and radio-frequency resonator and determine properties of material facing resonators (See [0003], [0067]-[0070]),
However, Fallah is silent about when measuring a coated substrate comprising a coated layer on at least one side of a metal substrate to determine the thickness of a first coating layer that is facing the resonator.
Hughes when measuring a coated substrate comprising a coated layer on at least one side of a metal substrate (See [0005]-[0007]) to determine the thickness of a first coating layer that is facing the resonator (thickness of coating 187 facing resonator 120 in Fig. 1; See [0019]-[0024]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fallah by measuring a coated substrate comprising a coated layer on at least one side of a metal substrate to determine the thickness of a first coating layer that is facing the resonator, as taught by Hughes in order to determine thickness of coated layer (Hughes; [0005]).
Regarding Claim 2, Fallah in view of Hughes teaches the sensor system of claim 1. Fallah further teaches wherein the means for analyzing the sensor data comprises a computer that is adapted to determine one or more properties of the first coating layer that is selected from the group consisting of conductivity, basis weight, electric permittivity and porosity (health is porosity; See [0088]-[0089]).
Regarding Claim 3, Fallah in view of Hughes teaches the sensor system of claim 1. Fallah further teaches wherein the microwave resonator is configured to operate with one or more resonant mode patterns (one of each of 32 is microwave resonator and frequency band is resonant mode pattern in Fig. 3; See [0063], [0067]-[0070]) and wherein the RF resonator is configured to operate with more than one resonant mode patterns (one of each of 32 is RF resonator in Fig. 3; See [0063], [0067]-[0070]).
Regarding Claim 4, Fallah in view of Hughes teaches the sensor system of claim 1. Fallah further teaches wherein the microwave resonator is coupled to a first read-out circuit (resonator 32 is coupled to first read-out circuit 34 in Fig. 3; See [--66]-[0067]).
Regarding Claim 6, Fallah in view of Hughes teaches the sensor system of claim 3. Fallah further teaches wherein the microwave resonator is configured to operate with more than one resonant mode pattern at a time in order to extract information about the first coating layer at different frequencies (See [0059]-[0071]).
Regarding Claim 7, Fallah in view of Hughes teaches the sensor system of claim 1. Fallah is silent about further comprising an optical displacement sensor which is configured to measure the separation between a surface of the first coating layer and the optical displacement sensor.
Hughes teaches further comprising an optical displacement sensor which is configured to measure the separation between a surface of the first coating layer and the optical displacement sensor (See [0019]-[0024]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fallah by using an optical displacement sensor which is configured to measure the separation between a surface of the first coating layer and the optical displacement sensor, as taught by Hughes in order to determine thickness of coated layer (Hughes; [0005]).
Regarding Claim 9, Fallah in view of Hughes teaches the sensor system of claim 1. Fallah further teaches wherein the microwave resonator and the RF resonator are configured to operate (i) as oscillators, oscillating at a natural resonance of the microwave resonator and RF resonator, respectively (each of 32 is microwave and Rf resonator and frequency band is oscillating at natural resonance frequency in Fig. 3; See [0063], [0067]-[0070]), (ii) using a frequency sweep measurement, or (iii) using a ring-down measurement.
Regarding Claim 13, Fallah in view of Hughes teaches the sensor system of claim 1. Fallah further teaches wherein the microwave resonator comprises an RF/microwave choke that is configured to suppress radiative energy loss (See [0073]).
Regarding Claim 18, Fallah teaches a contactless method of measuring the thickness of a coating layer on a coated metal substrate (method in Fig. 1-Fig. 5; See [0049]-[0070]) that comprises:
(a) positioning a first sensor comprising a first microwave resonator (one of each 32 resonates at different independent frequencies such as microwave frequency in Fig. 3; See [0063]-[0064], [0067]-[0070]) and a first radio- frequency (RF) resonator (one of each 32 resonates at different independent frequencies such as RF frequency in Fig. 3; See [0063]-[0064], [0067]-[0070]) adjacent the coating layer (positioning one of each of 32 is microwave resonator and RF resonator adjacent to coating layer 31 in Fig. 3; See [0063], [0067]-[0070]);
(b) applying a first RF energy to the first microwave resonator (each resonator can be activated independently by demand that matches with its frequency; See [0010], [0012], [0013], [0049]-[0050], [0078], [0080]);
(c) applying a second RF energy to the first RF resonator (each resonator can be activated independently by demand that matches with its frequency; See [0010], [0012], [0013], [0049]-[0050], [0078], [0080]); and
(d) analyzing first sensor data from the first microwave resonator and the first RF resonator to calculate the properties of the coating layer (determine properties of material 31 facing two resonators 32 in fig. 3; See [0003], [0067]-[0070]).
Fallah teaches microwave resonator and radio-frequency resonator and determine properties of material facing resonators (See [0003], [0067]-[0070]),
However, Fallah is silent about when measuring a coated substrate comprising a coated layer on at least one side of a metal substrate to determine the thickness of a first coating layer that is facing the resonator.
Hughes when measuring a coated substrate comprising a coated layer on at least one side of a metal substrate (See [0005]-[0007]) to determine the thickness of a first coating layer that is facing the resonator (thickness of coating 187 facing resonator 120 in Fig. 1; See [0019]-[0024]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fallah by measuring a coated substrate comprising a coated layer on at least one side of a metal substrate to determine the thickness of a first coating layer that is facing the resonator, as taught by Hughes in order to determine thickness of coated layer (Hughes; [0005]).
Regarding Claim 20, Fallah in view of Hughes teaches the method of claim 18. Fallah further teaches further comprising analyzing signals from the first RF resonator to calculate the electrical conductivity of the coating layer (health is conductivity; See [0088]-[0089]).
Claim(s) 5, 8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallah in view of Hughes further in view of MURATA et al. (Pub NO. JP 2012-212921 A; hereinafter Murata; translation attached).
Regarding Claim 5, Fallah in view of Hughes teaches the sensor system of claim 1. Fallah further teaches wherein the RF resonator (See [0065]-[0070]).
Fallah in view of Hughes is silent about resonator is coupled to a second read-out circuit.
Murata teaches resonator is coupled to a second read-out circuit (See claim 12-claim 14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fallah and Hughes by using resonator is coupled to a second read-out circuit, as taught by Murata in order to speed up treatment (Murata; [0003]).
Regarding Claim 8, Fallah in view of Hughes teaches the sensor system of claim 1 comprising means for producing microwaves that comprise a first oscillation circuit that is coupled to the microwave resonator and RF resonator (See [0078]).
Fallah in view of Hughes a second oscillation circuit that is coupled to the RF resonator.
Murata teaches a second oscillation circuit that is coupled to the RF resonator (Second power supply with second matching unit in claim 9).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fallah and Hughes by using a second oscillation circuit that is coupled to the RF resonator, as taught by Murata in order to speed up treatment (Murata; [0003]).
Regarding Claim 10, Fallah in view of Hughes teaches the sensor system of claim 1. Fallah further teaches comprising means for introducing first microwave energy to the microwave resonator (See [0078]);
Fallah in view of Hughes is silent about means for introducing second RF energy to the RF resonator.
Murata teaches means for introducing second RF energy to the RF resonator (second power supply traduces second RF energy to second matching unit in claim 9).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fallah and Hughes by using means for introducing second RF energy to the RF resonator, as taught by Murata in order to speed up treatment (Murata; [0003]).
Regarding Claim 11, Fallah in view of Hughes further in view of Murata teaches the sensor system of claim 10. Murata further teaches wherein the microwave resonator has a first set of antennas and means for energizing the first set of antennas and wherein first information signals are received by the first set of antennas (See claim 8) and wherein the RF resonator has a second set of antennas and means for energizing the second set of antennas and wherein second information signals are received by the second set of antennas (See claim 8-claim 9).
Claim(s) 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallah in view of Hughes in view of Park et al. (Pub NO. US 2016/0005588 A1; hereinafter Park).
Regarding Claim 12, Fallah in view of Hughes teaches the sensor system of claim 10. Fallah further teaches wherein the RF resonator (See [0067]-[0070]).
Fallah in view of Hughes is silent about resonator comprises one or more capacitors and one or more inductors and wherein the capacitors and inductors arranged in a topology that supports multiple resonant frequencies.
Park teaches resonator comprises one or more capacitors and one or more inductors (See [0112]) and wherein the capacitors and inductors arranged in a topology that supports multiple resonant frequencies (See [0057], [0109]-[0112]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fallah and Hughes by using resonator comprises one or more capacitors and one or more inductors and wherein the capacitors and inductors arranged in a topology that supports multiple resonant frequencies, as taught by Hughes in order to achieve appropriate inspection (Park; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 14, Fallah in view of Hughes teaches the sensor system of claim 1. Fallah further teaches wherein the microwave resonator comprises which has a semi-ellipsoidal geometry (See [0031], [0076]).
Fallah in view of Hughes is silent about resonator comprises a curved mirror.
Park teaches resonator comprises a curved mirror (See [0044], [0138], [0162]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Fallah and Hughes by using resonator comprises a curved mirror, as taught by Park in order to achieve appropriate inspection (Park; [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 19, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests the method of claim 18 wherein the coated metal comprises a double- side coated electrode that comprises a metal substrate having a first electrode coating layer and a second electrode coating layer, wherein the method further comprises: (e) positioning a second sensor comprising a second microwave resonator and a second RF resonator adjacent the second electrode coating layer; (f) applying a third RF energy to the second microwave resonator; (g) applying a fourth RF energy to the second RF resonator; and (h) analyzing second sensor data from the second microwave resonator and the second RF resonator to calculate the thickness of the second electrode coating layer.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Hinken et al. (Pub NO. US 2015/0048843 A1) discloses Device for Measuring coating thickness.
b. Herrmann et al. (Patent NO. US 7,793,664 B2) discloses Apparatus and Method for Detecting Fault.
b. Lagakos et al. (Patent NO. US 11,150,114 B1) discloses Fiber Optic Electromagnetic System.
c. IWAMURA et al. (Pub NO. US 2020/0103258 A1) discloses Optical Fiber Sensor.
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858