DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 1/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No.12,152,200 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims drawn to for producing hydrocarbons from waste plastic utilizing steps of pretreating, pyrolysis, filtering, and recycling a liquid condensed back to the pyrolysis reactor.
There are some minor differences between the two sets of claims and such differences would have been obvious to one of skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
KR20210057722A in view of KR101916404B1, and further in view of Cha et al. (US
4,983,278).
KR20210057722A discloses a process for converting waste plastics into
hydrocarbons comprising:
pretreating waste plastics (e.g., crushing, drying, and classification of plastics prior to processing);
introducing the pretreated plastics into a pyrolysis or cracking reactor to produce hydrocarbon gases;
separating and condensing hydrocarbon products to produce liquid hydrocarbons; and
subjecting the hydrocarbon products to catalytic hydrogenation (hydrotreating) to upgrade the hydrocarbons (see e.g., sections describing the primary cracking reactor and catalytic hydrogenation reactor).
KR20210057722A does not explicitly teach passing the pyrolysis gas through a hot filter to
produce pyrolysis oil.
KR101916404B1 discloses a two-stage pyrolysis system for waste plastics comprising:
an auger pyrolysis reactor and a fluidized bed reactor arranged in series; and
a high-temperature filter (“hot filter”) filled with granular calcium oxide, through which pyrolysis vapors pass prior to cooling and condensation to produce pyrolysis oil (see description of the high-temperature filter unit packed with CaO and subsequent condensation of filtered vapors).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of KR20210057722A to include the hot filtration system of KR101916404B1 in order to remove particulates and corrosive components from pyrolysis vapors prior to downstream upgrading and condensation, thereby improving the quality and stability of the resulting hydrocarbon oil.
Further, KR20210057722A does not explicitly disclose reintroducing liquid condensed in the
hot filter into the upstream pyrolysis reactor.
Cha discloses recycling condensed heavy oil produced during pyrolysis back to the upstream retorting step (col. 8, lines 17–24; col. 12, lines 23–27; col. 35, lines 17–23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of KR20210057722A, as modified by
KR101916404B1, to recycle hydrocarbons condensed in the hot filtration stage back to the
upstream pyrolysis reactor as taught by Cha, in order to further crack heavier hydrocarbons,
improve overall conversion efficiency, and prevent accumulation of condensable materials
within the filtration system, since recycling unconverted hydrocarbons to cracking reactors is a
well-known process optimization in pyrolysis and hydrocarbon conversion systems.
Claim 2 recites that the hot filter is filled with beads.
KR101916404B1 teaches that the hot filter is filled with granular CaO particles, which
constitute particulate packing media within the filter.
Claim 3 recites beads comprising SiO₂ and/or Al₂O₃.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of the KR references by
utilizing particulate oxide materials such as silica or alumina as filtration media in
high-temperature filters because such oxides are well known in the art, and selecting such
materials would have been an obvious design choice.
Claims 4-5
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of the KR references by Providing controlled heating and temperature profiles in high-temperature filtration systems because such step is a routine engineering practice to prevent premature condensation and maintain vapor flow. Thus, forming a temperature gradient using multiple heaters would have been an obvious design optimization.
Claims 6–7
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of the KR references by utilizing multiple reactors operated alternately to enable continuous processing because such step is a well-known approach in thermal conversion processes and would have been an obvious process design.
Claims 8–9
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of the KR references by co-processing pyrolysis oils with petroleum refinery streams prior to hydrotreating because such steps are widely practiced to stabilize pyrolysis products and improve processing compatibility. Selecting the proportion of pyrolysis oil relative to petroleum hydrocarbons would have been an obvious optimization variable.
Claim 10 recites waste plastics comprising PE, PP, PET, PVC, and PS. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of the KR references by selecting the claimed polymers because these polymers are common constituents of municipal plastic waste and are routinely processed in pyrolysis systems such as those described in KR20210057722A and KR101916404B1.
Claims 11–12
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of the KR references by utilizing distillation and fractionation of pyrolysis oil prior to upgrading because such steps a conventional step in hydrocarbon processing and would have been obvious.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771