DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 2019/0273248; hereinafter “Yamada”).
In regard to claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, 15, Yamada discloses negative electrode plate (see [0030]) comprising a current collector (see [0030]) and a negative active layer laminated on the current collector comprised of a negative active material (“active substance layer;” [0030]). The negative active material is comprised of carbonaceous particles (i.e. a carbon negative material; see [0072]-[0074] and [0089]-[0093]) having a D90 of “particularly preferably 20 to 30 µm” (heavily overlaps with the range of 21 to 32 µm of claims 7 and 15; see [0074]), a D10 of “particularly preferably 6 to 8 µm” (wholly within the range of 4 to 8.5 µm of claims 7 and 15; see [0073]), a D50 of “particularly preferably 12 to 23 µm” (wholly containing the recited range of 12 to 18 µm of claims 7 and 15; see [0072]) but does not explicitly disclose a particle size distribution value described by (D90-D10)/D50 but the smallest values ((20-6)/12=~1.17) are within the recited range of A of 1.13 to 1.42 as recited in claim 1. Yamada also discloses a defect degree (Raman R value defined as the intensity ratio of the intensity of the peak between 1350 cm-1 and 1580 cm-1; see [0089]) to be “more preferably 0.10 or larger” and “still more preferably 0.35 or smaller” (see [0090]) which encapsulates the recited range of 0.16 to 0.26 as recited in claim 1.
While Yamada does not disclose that the ratio of the size distribution to the defect degree is between 6.17 to 7.06 as recited in claim 1, the material property values explicitly disclosed by Yamada would necessarily encapsulate or be within the values of the ratio. It is also noted that Yamada is concerned with discharge rate characteristics and capacity. See [0010]-[0012].
Therefore, it would have been within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum or workable range of both the particle size distribution and defect degree of Yamada relative to one another for producing an optimal negative active material for optimizing discharge rate characteristics and capacity and without creating any new or unexpected results. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
In regard to claim 17, the above rejection of claim 9 is applied in the same manner for the structure of the negative electrode plate. Yamada teaches that the disclosed negative electrode material is for use in a battery which includes an electrolyte, a positive electrode plate which is necessarily at least partly immersed in the electrolyte, a separator disposed at a side of the positive electrode plate and at least partly immersed in the electrolyte ([0218] and [0228]), and wherein the negative electrode plate as discussed above is disposed on the other side of the separator and also at least partly immersed in the electrolyte. See [0030]-[0033].
In regard to claim 18, Yamada discloses a battery module (coin battery) comprising the battery of claim 17. See [0228]-[0229].
In regard to claim 19, Yamada discloses that the coin battery underwent performance evaluation. Therefore, in order to carry out the performance evaluation, the coin battery is necessarily placed in an electronic device. See [0228].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Yamada fails to disclose the recited limitations of the particle size distribution A, the defect degree B and the ratio A/B ranges which deliver significantly enhanced cycle performance and storage performance. The Examiner has fully considered the argument but has not found it to be persuasive. It is noted that Applicant has provided evidence of these results in Examples 2-5, while Examples 1, 6 and 7 and Comparative Examples 1-2 are provided as evidence which are outside of the recited ranges. It is noted that Example 1 provides the highest cycle performance and storage performance of any of the recited examples. As such, the Examiner holds that the provided data and recited ranges which attempt to capture the “significant enhancement” of cycle performance and storage performance are not enough evidentiary support for the Examiner to allow the limitations to pass to allowance. Only 4 examples have been provided to show criticality of the A, B and A/B values, which is simply not enough evidence to show criticality of the variables. Additionally, the best result, as shown by Example 1, is not even within the recited ranges. Thus, the Examiner holds that the recited ranges have not been shown to be critical and it would have been within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum or workable range of both the particle size distribution and defect degree of Yamada relative to one another for producing an optimal negative active material for optimizing discharge rate characteristics and capacity and without creating any new or unexpected results. See MPEP §716.02(d)II.
Applicant argues that Yamada is directed to a composite material system in which carbonaceous particles are necessarily combined with silicon oxide particles while the present application does not require the inclusion of silicon oxide particles. The Examiner has fully considered the argument but has not found it to be persuasive. It is noted that the claims have been interpreted to have an open-ended transitional phrase which does not exclude additional, unrecited elements.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY C CLEVELAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774