DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of the South Korean parent Application No. KR10-2023-0158114 (filed on 11/15/2023) was received with the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 10-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ebine (Japanese Patent Application/Publication JP2003-100286 A).
In regards to claim 1, Ebine teach (Figures 1-2 and 8-14) a secondary battery manufacturing apparatus (strip electrode manufacturing apparatus 50 illustrated in figures 8-9 with the position adjusting mechanism of the correction roll 16 illustrated in figure 2) comprising: at least one roller (correction roll 56, the intermediate rolls 57, or the measurement roll 62) configured to convey a sheet (strip-shaped material 53); at least one sensor (load detection units 63, which is in communication with the measurement monitor 76 via the telemeter transmission units 66) configured to measure a tension (i.e. the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) of the sheet (strip-shaped material 53); and a driver (position adjusting mechanism illustrated in figure 2 and the controller described in paragraph 0036; where said position adjusting mechanism is coupled to the correction roll 56 and includes the gear 26 that is configured to travel along the partial arcuate teeth 23a on the support column 23, while said controller is configured to controlling the position adjusting mechanism/gear 26 based on the tension of the band-shaped material that is measured by the load detection units 63, described in paragraph 0036) configured to control operation (i.e. adjusting the inclination angle of the correction roll 56) of the at least one roller (correction roll 56) based on the tension (i.e. the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) measured by the at least one sensor (load detection units 63) (see also paragraphs 0005-0008. 0012, 0014-0020, and 0024-0039 in the translated JP2023-100286 A provided with this office action).
In regards to claims 2, Ebine teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Ebine further teach (Figures 1-2 and 8-14), the at least one roller (correction roll 56, the intermediate rolls 57, or the measurement roll 62) including a first roller (measurement roll 62) and a second roller (correction roll 56); wherein the at least one sensor (load detection units 63) is positioned at a portion of the first roller (measurement roll 62).
In regards to claims 3-4, Ebine teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Ebine further teach (Figures 1-2 and 8-14), the at least one sensor (load detection units 63) including a first sensor (left-most load detection unit 63, which is located closest to the left-side support base 65, as illustrated in figures 8 and 13) on a first side of the at least one roller (left-side axial end of the measurement roll 62, as illustrated in figures 8 and 13) and a second sensor (right-most load detection unit 63, which is located closest to the right-side support base 65, as illustrated in figures 8 and 13) on a second side of the at least one roller (right-side axial end of the measurement roll 62, as illustrated in figures 8 and 13); and the first sensor (left-most load detection unit 63) and the second sensor (right-most load detection unit 63) being spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance (as clearly illustrated in figures 8 and 13); wherein the driver (position adjusting mechanism/gear 26 illustrated in figure 2 and the controller described in paragraph 0036) being configured to control operation of the at least one roller (correction roll 56) by controlling a moving angle (i.e. adjusting the inclination angle of the correction roll 56) of the at least one roller (correction roll 56) based on the tension (i.e. the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) measured by the at least one sensor (load detection unit 63).
In regards to claim 5, Ebine teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Ebine further teach (Figures 1-2 and 8-14), the driver (controller described in paragraph 0036, which is connected to the position adjusting mechanism/gear 26) being configured to calculate a sum of the tension (i.e. the total width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53, which is acquired by all of the load detection unit 63) measured by the at least one sensor (load detection unit 63), to determine a difference between the sum of the tension (i.e. the total width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) measured by the at least one sensor (load detection unit 63) and a target tension (i.e. required/ideal width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53), and to control operation (i.e. adjusting the inclination angle of the correction roll 56) of the at least one roller (correction roll 56) based on whether said difference is within a first range (based on the disclosure of Ebine, it is evident that the controller is configured to adjust the inclination angle of the correction roll 56 by using all of the load detection unit 63, which are arranged in an axial direction along the measurement roll 62, to first acquire data pertaining to the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53, and then by determining if the measured width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53 is within the ideal/required tension values).
In regards to claim 7, Ebine teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Ebine further teach (Figures 1-2 and 8-14), the driver (position adjusting mechanism/gear 26 illustrated in figure 2 and the controller described in paragraph 0036) being configured to determine a ratio of tension (i.e. a ratio of the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53, which is acquired from all of the load detection unit 63) in a first direction of the sheet (width/transverse direction towards the left-side of the strip-shaped material 53) and tension (i.e. the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) in a second direction of the sheet (width/transverse direction towards the right-side of the strip-shaped material 53), based on the tension (i.e. the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) measured by the at least one sensor (load detection unit 63), and being configured to control the driving (i.e. adjusting the inclination angle of the correction roll 56 by controlling the gear 26) of the at least one roller (correction roll 56) based on whether the determined ratio is within a second range (based on the disclosure of Ebine, it is evident that the controller is configured to adjust the inclination angle of the correction roll 56 by using all of the load detection unit 63, which are arranged in an axial direction along the measurement roll 62, to first acquire data pertaining to the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53, and then by determining if the measured width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53 is within the ideal/required tension values).
In regards to claim 9, Ebine teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Ebine further teach (Figures 1-2 and 8-14), the at least one sensor (load detection units 63) including a load cell (load cells 63c, as disclosed in paragraphs 0025, 0028, and 0030).
In regards to claim 10, Ebine teach (Figures 1-2 and 8-14) a secondary battery manufacturing method (via the strip electrode manufacturing apparatus 50 illustrated in figures 8-9 with the position adjusting mechanism of the correction roll 16 illustrated in figure 2) comprising: conveying a sheet (strip-shaped material 53) using at least one roller (correction roll 56, the intermediate rolls 57, or the measurement roll 62) configured to convey a sheet (strip-shaped material 53); measuring tension (i.e. the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) of the sheet (strip-shaped material 53) using at least one sensor (load detection units 63, which is in communication with the measurement monitor 76 via the telemeter transmission units 66) during the conveyance of the sheet (strip-shaped material 53); and controlling operation (i.e. adjusting the inclination angle of the correction roll 56, which is performed by the position adjusting mechanism illustrated in figure 2 and the controller described in paragraph 0036; where said position adjusting mechanism is coupled to the correction roll 56 and includes the gear 26 that is configured to travel along the partial arcuate teeth 23a on the support column 23, while said controller is configured to controlling the position adjusting mechanism/gear 26 based on the tension of the band-shaped material that is measured by the load detection units 63, described in paragraph 0036) of the at least one roller (correction roll 56), based on the measured tension (i.e. the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) measured by the at least one sensor (load detection units 63) (see also paragraphs 0005-0008. 0012, 0014-0020, and 0024-0039 in the translated JP2023-100286 A provided with this office action).
In regards to claim 11, Ebine teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Ebine further teach (Figures 1-2 and 8-14), the at least one sensor (load detection units 63) including a load cell (load cells 63c, as disclosed in paragraphs 0025, 0028, and 0030).
In regards to claim 12, Ebine teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Ebine further teach (Figures 1-2 and 8-14), the controlling operation (i.e. adjusting the inclination angle of the correction roll 56, which is performed by the position adjusting mechanism/gear 26 illustrated in figure 2 and the controller described in paragraph 0036) of the at least one roller (correction roll 56) including: calculating a sum of measured tension (i.e. the total width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53, which is acquired by all of the load detection unit 63), determine a difference between the sum of the measured tension (i.e. the total width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) and a target tension (i.e. required/ideal width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53), and controlling operation (i.e. adjusting the inclination angle of the correction roll 56) of the at least one roller (correction roll 56) based on whether said difference is within a first range (based on the disclosure of Ebine, it is evident that the controller is configured to adjust the inclination angle of the correction roll 56 by using all of the load detection unit 63, which are arranged in an axial direction along the measurement roll 62, to first acquire data pertaining to the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53, and then by determining if the measured width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53 is within the ideal/required tension values).
In regards to claim 14, Ebine teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Ebine further teach (Figures 1-2 and 8-14), the controlling operation (i.e. adjusting the inclination angle of the correction roll 56, which is performed by the position adjusting mechanism/gear 26 illustrated in figure 2 and the controller described in paragraph 0036) of the at least one roller (correction roll 56) including: determining a difference between a ratio of tension (i.e. the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) in a first direction of the sheet (width/transverse direction towards the left-side of the strip-shaped material 53) and tension (i.e. the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) in a second direction of the sheet (width/transverse direction towards the right-side of the strip-shaped material 53), based on the measured tension (i.e. the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53, which is measured by the load detection unit 63); and controlling (i.e. adjusting of the inclination angle of the correction roll 56 by controlling the gear 26) of the at least one roller (correction roll 56) based on whether the determined difference is within a second range (based on the disclosure of Ebine, it is evident that the controller is configured to adjust the inclination angle of the correction roll 56 by using all of the load detection unit 63, which are arranged in an axial direction along the measurement roll 62, to first acquire data pertaining to the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53, and then by determining if the measured width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53 is within the ideal/required tension values).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebine in view of Raul et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0216281 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Raul”).
In regards to claim 6, Ebine teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Yet, Ebine fails to disclose, when the difference between the sum of the tension measured by the at least one sensor and the target tension is not within the first range, the driver being configured to either decrease or increase a feeding amount of the at least one roller in the exact manner recited by claim 6 limitations. On the contrary, the driver of Ebine’s secondary battery manufacturing apparatus control or adjust the inclination angle of the at least one roller, if the difference between the sum of the tension and the target tension is determined to be not within the first range.
However, Raul teach (Figures 1-3) a manufacturing apparatus (system illustrated in figure 1) comprising: at least one roller (42A/42E, which are correspondingly driven by 50A/50B) configured to convey a sheet (20), at least one sensor (25/70) configured to measure a tension of the sheet (20), and a driver (52, which controls 50A/50B at least partially based on the data received from 25 and 70) configured to control a feed amount (rotational speed of 42A, or rotational speed of 42E) of the at least one roller (42A/42E) based on the tension measured by the at least one sensor (25/70); the driver (52) being configured to calculate a sum of the tension (tension of 20 detected by 25, or tension of 20 detected by 70) measured by the at least one sensor (25/70), to determine a difference between the sum of the tension (tension of 20 detected by 25, or tension of 20 detected by 70) measured by the at least one sensor (25/70) and a target tension (predetermined setpoint tension range alluded to in paragraphs 0067, 0090, and 0092), and to control (via 50A/50B) the feed amount (rotational speed of 42A, or rotational speed of 42E) of the at least one roller (42A/42E) based on whether said difference is within a first range (redetermined setpoint tension range alluded to in paragraphs 0067, 0090, and 0092); wherein, if the difference between the sum of the tension (tension of 20 detected by 25, or tension of 20 detected by 70) and a target tension (predetermined setpoint tension range) is not within the first range (predetermined setpoint tension range), the driver (52) is configured to decrease a feeding amount (rotational speed of 42A, or rotational speed of 42E) of the at least one roller (42A/42E) when the sum of the tension (tension of 20 detected by 25, or tension of 20 detected by 70) is greater than the target tension (predetermined setpoint tension range), and to increase the feeding amount (rotational speed of 42A, or rotational speed of 42E) of the at least one roller (42A/42E) when the sum of the tension measured (tension of 20 detected by 25, or tension of 20 detected by 70) is less than the target tension (predetermined setpoint tension range) (see also paragraphs 0047-0097).
Accordingly, using the suggestion of Raul, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the driver in Ebine’s secondary battery manufacturing apparatus, with the capability to control the sheet feeding amount of an at least one roller in said secondary battery manufacturing apparatus (for example, by configuring said driver to adjust, increase, or decrease the rotational speed of said at least one roller during sheet conveying), in an event that the difference between the sheet tension measure by the at least one sensor and the target tension is outside of the optimal/ideal tension range necessary for the proper functionality of secondary battery manufacturing apparatus; where the driver is specifically designed to decrease the sheet feeding amount of the at least one roller when the sum of the tension is greater than the target tension, and to increase the sheet feeding amount of the at least one roller when the sum of the tension measured is less than the target tension. Enabling the driver in the secondary battery manufacturing apparatus taught by Ebine, to properly control or adjust the sheet feeding amount/rotational speed of an at least one roller, in addition to the inclination angle of an at least one roller (which is also used to control/adjust the tension of a sheet), the tension of a sheet can be maintained at a required level or adjusted to reach an ideal amount that will effectively limit any unwanted bending, creasing, wrinkling, slacking, over tensioning, slacking, over tensioning, and/or breakage of said sheet as it’s being conveyed and wound. In other words, the sheet tension control function of the secondary battery manufacturing apparatus can be improved by configuring the driver to adjust said sheet tension through controlling both the inclination angle of an at least one roller and the sheet feeding amount of an at least one roller.
In regards to claim 13, Ebine teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Yet, Ebine fails to disclose, when the difference between the sum of the tension measured by the at least one sensor and the target tension is not within the first range, a feeding amount of the at least one roller being either decrease or increase in the exact manner recited by claim 13 limitation. Conversely, Ebine’s control or adjust the inclination angle of the at least one roller, if the difference between the sum of the tension and the target tension is determined to be not within the first range.
Nevertheless, Raul teach (Figures 1-3) a manufacturing method (via the system illustrated in figure 1) comprising: conveying a sheet (20) using at least one roller (42A/42E, which are correspondingly driven by 50A/50B), measure a tension of the sheet (20) using at least one sensor (25/70), and controlling (via 52, which controls 50A/50B at least partially based on the data received from 25 and 70) a feed amount (rotational speed of 42A, or rotational speed of 42E) of the at least one roller (42A/42E) based on the tension measured by the at least one sensor (25/70); controlling (via 52, which controls 50A/50B at least partially based on the data received from 25 and 70) the feed amount (rotational speed of 42A, or rotational speed of 42E) of the at least one roller (42A/42E) including: step of calculating (via 52) a sum of the tension (tension of 20 detected by 25, or tension of 20 detected by 70) measured by the at least one sensor (25/70), step of determining a difference between the sum of the tension (tension of 20 detected by 25, or tension of 20 detected by 70) measured by the at least one sensor (25/70) and a target tension (predetermined setpoint tension range alluded to in paragraphs 0067, 0090, and 0092), and the step of controlling (via 50A/50B) the feed amount (rotational speed of 42A, or rotational speed of 42E) of the at least one roller (42A/42E) based on whether said difference is within a first range (redetermined setpoint tension range alluded to in paragraphs 0067, 0090, and 0092); wherein, if the difference between the sum of the tension (tension of 20 detected by 25, or tension of 20 detected by 70) and a target tension (predetermined setpoint tension range) is not within the first range (predetermined setpoint tension range), decreasing a feeding amount (rotational speed of 42A, or rotational speed of 42E) of the at least one roller (42A/42E) when the sum of the tension (tension of 20 detected by 25, or tension of 20 detected by 70) is greater than the target tension (predetermined setpoint tension range), and increasing the feeding amount (rotational speed of 42A, or rotational speed of 42E) of the at least one roller (42A/42E) when the sum of the tension measured (tension of 20 detected by 25, or tension of 20 detected by 70) is less than the target tension (predetermined setpoint tension range) (see also paragraphs 0047-0097).
Consequently, based on the suggestion of Raul, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the controller use in Ebine’s secondary battery manufacturing method, with the capability to control the sheet feeding amount of an at least one roller (for example, by configuring said controller to adjust, increase, or decrease the rotational speed of said at least one roller during sheet conveying), in an event that the difference between the sheet tension measure by the at least one sensor and the target tension is outside of the optimal/ideal tension range necessary for the proper functionality of secondary battery manufacturing apparatus; where the controller is specifically designed to decrease the sheet feeding amount of the at least one roller when the sum of the tension is greater than the target tension, and to increase the sheet feeding amount of the at least one roller when the sum of the tension measured is less than the target tension. Enabling the controller employed for preforming secondary battery manufacturing method taught by Ebine, to properly control or adjust the sheet feeding amount/rotational speed of an at least one roller, in addition to the inclination angle of an at least one roller (which is also used to control/adjust the tension of a sheet), the tension of a sheet can be maintained at a required level or adjusted to reach an ideal amount that will effectively limit any unwanted bending, creasing, wrinkling, slacking, over tensioning, slacking, over tensioning, and/or breakage of said sheet as it’s being conveyed and wound. In other words, the sheet tension control function of the secondary battery manufacturing method can be improved by configuring the driver to adjust said sheet tension through controlling both the inclination angle of an at least one roller and the sheet feeding amount of an at least one roller.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebine.
In regards to claim 8, Ebine teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Ebine further teach (Figures 1-2 and 8-14), when determining that the determined ratio of tension (i.e. a ratio of the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53, which is acquired from all of the load detection unit 63) is not within a second range (i.e. required/ideal width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53): the driver (position adjusting mechanism/gear 26 illustrated in figure 2 and the controller described in paragraph 0036) being configured to adjust a moving angle (inclination angle of the correction roll 56) of the at least one roller (correction roll 56) to a first angle or a second angle (i.e. angles defined when the correction roll 56 is moved in the upward or downward direction by the actuation of the gear 26 along the partial arcuate teeth 23a on the support column 23), based on the tension (i.e. the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) in the first direction of the sheet (width/transverse direction towards the left-side of the strip-shaped material 53) and the tension (i.e. the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) in the second direction of the sheet (width/transverse direction towards the right-side of the strip-shaped material 53). Yet, Ebine does not appear to explicitly disclose, the at least one roller being moved to the first angle, when the tension in the first direction of the sheet is greater than the tension in the second direction of the sheet, while the at least one roller being moved to the second angle, when the tension in the first direction of the sheet is less than the tension in the second direction of the sheet.
However, it would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operatively configure the driver in Ebine’s secondary battery manufacturing apparatus to move the at least one roller to the first angle, when the tension in the first direction of the sheet is measured to be greater than the tension in the second direction of the sheet, and also to move the at least one roller to the second angle, when the tension in the first direction of the sheet is measured to be less than the tension in the second direction of the sheet. Such a modification is a necessary functional arrangement of the secondary battery manufacturing apparatus, that is essential for the appropriately controlling and/or maintaining the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension on the sheet. In other words, by moving the at least one roller in an upward or downward direction, based on the measured tension differences towards the first direction/at the first lateral end portion of the sheet and towards the second direction/at the second lateral end portion of the sheet, the overall width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension on the sheet can be properly adjusted to remain at an desirable/superior amount; thereby limiting any unwanted bending, creasing, wrinkling, slacking, over tensioning, and/or breakage of said sheet as it’s being conveyed and wound.
In regards to claim 15, Ebine teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Ebine further teach (Figures 1-2 and 8-14), upon determining that the difference between the ratio of tension (i.e. a ratio of the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53, which is acquired from all of the load detection unit 63) is not within a second range (i.e. required/ideal width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53), controlling the operation (i.e. adjusting the inclination angle of the correction roll 56, which is performed by the position adjusting mechanism/gear 26 illustrated in figure 2 and the controller described in paragraph 0036) of the at least one roller (correction roll 56) by: adjusting a moving angle (inclination angle of the correction roll 56) of the at least one roller (correction roll 56) to a first angle or a second angle (i.e. angles defined when the correction roll 56 is moved in the upward or downward direction by the actuation of the gear 26 along the partial arcuate teeth 23a on the support column 23), based on the tension (i.e. the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) in the first direction of the sheet (width/transverse direction towards the left-side of the strip-shaped material 53) and the tension (i.e. the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension in the strip-shaped material 53) in the second direction of the sheet (width/transverse direction towards the right-side of the strip-shaped material 53). Yet, Ebine does not appear to explicitly disclose, the at least one roller being moved to the first angle, when the tension in the first direction of the sheet is greater than the tension in the second direction of the sheet, while the at least one roller being moved to the second angle, when the tension in the first direction of the sheet is less than the tension in the second direction of the sheet.
Nevertheless, it would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operatively configure the movement controlling process of the at least one roller in Ebine’s secondary battery manufacturing method by, moving the at least one roller to a first angle, if the tension in the first direction of the sheet is measured to be greater than the tension in the second direction of the sheet, while moving the at least one roller to the second angle, if the tension in the first direction of the sheet is measured to be less than the tension in the second direction of the sheet. Such a modification is a necessary and an essential for functional arrangement for appropriately controlling and/or maintaining the width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension on the sheet. In other words, by moving the at least one roller in an upward or downward direction, based on the measured tension differences towards the first direction/at the first lateral end portion of the sheet and towards the second direction/at the second lateral end portion of the sheet, the overall width direction distribution of the longitudinal tension on the sheet can be properly adjusted to remain at an desirable/superior amount; thereby limiting any unwanted bending, creasing, wrinkling, slacking, over tensioning, and/or breakage of said sheet as it’s being conveyed and wound.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the attached PTO-892 for complete list of pertinent prior art references made of record by the examiner.
/R.J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668