DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
1. Claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm et al. (US2007/0087686) in view of Heo (US 2017/0078824) in further view of Tatum et al. (US 2021/0120359).
Regarding claim 1, Holm teaches a method, comprising: receiving, by a processing system comprising a processor and a memory, a multichannel audio stream, the processing system operating under control of an operating system, the operating system configured to prevent provision of an input audio stream from a source to multiple destinations, wherein the multiple destinations are coupled to a plurality of different devices and wherein the plurality of different devices comprises a built-in device within the processing system and at least one external device to the processing system, and wherein the multichannel audio stream comprises a plurality of first audio streams (see fig. 11-14, ¶ 0016-0017, 0027-0028, 0040-0041, 0047, 0134-0135. Device presented by Holm have a master device and slave devices. The master device with built-in speaker (device) is able to process and audio and output the audio signal stream to the speaker. The master device then can transmit a secondary audio channels to other external devices in order to process the other channels at other device to create a surround sound experience.); combining the plurality of first audio streams to form a target audio streams (see fig. 11-14, ¶ 0040. Each of the second audio playback devices receives all channels of the multi-channel audio data and filters or generates only its own audio channel for a combined multi-channel audio output.);
Holm does not teach processing and remapping, by the processing system, the target audio streams; based on the processing and remapping, generating, by the processing system, a plurality of second audio streams including at least two distinct sounds constructed for the plurality of different devices; transmitting, by the processing system, the plurality of second audio streams to the multiple destinations; and rendering, by the processing system, the at least two distinct sounds with the plurality of different devices.
Tatum teaches processing and remapping, by the processing system, the target audio streams; based on the processing and remapping (see ¶ 0022-0023. The processor configured for remapping input audio channels with the output channels.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm to remap channels to process for output audio signals. The modification provides for remapping the audio channels for proper sound output.
Heo teaches processing system, a plurality of second audio streams including at least two distinct sounds constructed for the plurality of different devices; transmitting, by the processing system, the plurality of second audio streams to the multiple destinations; and rendering, by the processing system, the at least two distinct sounds with the plurality of different devices (see fig. 13, ¶ 0048, 0089, 0107. The system takes the multichannel system separates the different channels and mixes at least two different channels signals and assigns the mixed signal to each speaker. The mixed channel would incorporate different sounds to be output by different speakers to create a sound effect in a surround sound environment.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm and Tatum to incorporate assigning mixed channels to different speakers in order to create a sound effect in the environment. The modification provides for different sound streams being implemented to provide different sounds at different external speakers.
Regarding claim 13, Holm teaches a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, comprising instructions stored in a memory, wherein responsive to executing the instructions, a processor performs operations comprising: receiving, from an audio sender module of an apparatus, a multichannel audio stream, the apparatus operating under control of an operating system, the operating system configured to prevent provision of an audio stream from an audio source to multiple destinations; wherein the multiple destinations are coupled to a plurality of different devices and wherein the plurality of different devices comprises a built-in device within a processing system including the processor and at least one external device to the processing system, and wherein the multichannel audio stream comprises a plurality of first audio streams (see fig. 11-14, ¶ 0016-0017, 0027-0028, 0040-0041, 0047, 0134-0135. Device presented by Holm have a master device and slave devices. The master device with built-in speaker (device) is able to process and audio and output the audio signal stream to the speaker. The master device then can transmit a secondary audio channels to other external devices in order to process the other channels at other device to create a surround sound experience.); combining the plurality of first audio streams to form a target audio streams (see fig. 11-14, ¶ 0040. Each of the second audio playback devices receives all channels of the multi-channel audio data and filters or generates only its own audio channel for a combined multi-channel audio output.);
Holm does not teach processing and remapping the target audio streams; based on the processing and remapping, generating a plurality of second audio streams including at least two distinct sounds constructed for the plurality of different devices; transmitting the plurality of second audio streams to the multiple destinations; and rendering the at least two distinct sounds with the plurality of different devices.
Tatum teaches processing and remapping the target audio streams; based on the processing and remapping (see ¶ 0022-0023. The processor configured for remapping input audio channels with the output channels.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm to remap channels to process for output audio signals. The modification provides for remapping the audio channels for proper sound output.
Heo teaches generating a plurality of second audio streams including at least two distinct sounds constructed for the plurality of different devices; transmitting the plurality of second audio streams to the multiple destinations; and rendering the at least two distinct sounds with the plurality of different devices (see fig. 13, ¶ 0048, 0089, 0107. The system takes the multichannel system separates the different channels and mixes at least two different channels signals and assigns the mixed signal to each speaker. The mixed channel would incorporate different sounds to be output by different speakers to create a sound effect in a surround sound environment.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm and Tatum to incorporate assigning mixed channels to different speakers in order to create a sound effect in the environment. The modification provides for different sound streams being implemented to provide different sounds at different external speakers.
Regarding claim 16, Holm teaches a device, comprising: a memory to store instructions; and a processor coupled to the memory, wherein responsive to executing instructions, the processor operating under control of an operating system, the operating system configured to prevent provision of an input audio stream from an audio source to more than one destination, the processor performs operations comprising: receiving, from an audio sender module of an apparatus, a multichannel audio stream, the apparatus operating under control of an operating system, the operating system configured to prevent provision of an audio stream from an audio source to multiple destinations; wherein the multiple destinations are coupled to a plurality of different devices and wherein the plurality of different devices comprises a built-in device within a processing system including the processor and the memory and at least one external device to the processing system, and wherein the multichannel audio stream comprises a plurality of first audio streams (see fig. 11-14, ¶ 0016-0017, 0027-0028, 0040-0041, 0047, 0134-0135. Device presented by Holm have a master device and slave devices. The master device with built-in speaker (device) is able to process and audio and output the audio signal stream to the speaker. The master device then can transmit a secondary audio channels to other external devices in order to process the other channels at other device to create a surround sound experience.); combining the plurality of first audio streams to form a target audio streams (see fig. 11-14, ¶ 0040. Each of the second audio playback devices receives all channels of the multi-channel audio data and filters or generates only its own audio channel for a combined multi-channel audio output.);
Holm does not teach based on the processing and remapping, generating a plurality of second audio streams including at least two distinct sounds constructed for the plurality of different devices; transmitting the plurality of second audio streams to the multiple destinations; and rendering the at least two distinct sounds with the plurality of different devices. .
Tatum teaches processing and remapping audio streams (see ¶ 0022-0023. The processor configured for remapping input audio channels with the output channels.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm to remap channels to process for output audio signals. The modification provides for remapping the audio channels for proper sound output.
Heo teaches generating a plurality of second audio streams including at least two distinct sounds constructed for the plurality of different devices; transmitting the plurality of second audio streams to the multiple destinations; and rendering the at least two distinct sounds with the plurality of different devices (see fig. 13, ¶ 0048, 0089, 0107. The system takes the multichannel system separates the different channels and mixes at least two different channels signals and assigns the mixed signal to each speaker. The mixed channel would incorporate different sounds to be output by different speakers to create a sound effect in a surround sound environment.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm and Tatum to incorporate assigning mixed channels to different speakers in order to create a sound effect in the environment. The modification provides for different sound streams being implemented to provide different sounds at different external speakers.
4. Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm et al. (US2007/0087686) in view of Heo (US 2017/0078824) in further view of Tatum et al. (US 2021/0120359) further in view of Hess (US 2012/0243713).
Regarding claim 2, Holm, Heo and Tatum does not teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: forming, by the processing system, a front channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream, wherein the forming a front channel audio stream comprises combining a first subset of audio channels of the multichannel audio stream to form the front channel audio stream; and forming, by the processing system, a surround channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream, wherein the forming a surround channel audio stream comprises combining a second subset of audio channels of the multichannel audio stream to form the surround channel audio stream.
Hess teaches forming, by the processing system, a front channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream, wherein the forming a front channel audio stream comprises combining a first subset of audio channels of the multichannel audio stream to form the front channel audio stream (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0026, 0028, 0040. The system receives surround sound signal channels at a signal processor (100). The signals are fed to adaption units (110 and 120). The combiner unit 130 combines the signal channels for the front audio signal channels and rear audio signal channels. The system having a combining circuit provides for combining the front channels which will be a considered the subset for the front channels.); and forming, by the processing system, a surround channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream, wherein the forming a surround channel audio stream comprises combining a second subset of audio channels of the multichannel audio stream to form the surround channel audio stream (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0026, 0028, 0040. The system receives surround sound signal channels at a signal processor (100). The signals are fed to adaption units (110 and 120). The combiner unit 130 combines the signal channels for the front audio signal channels and rear audio signal channels. The system having a combining circuit provides for combining the front channels which will be a considered the subset for the front channels.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo and Tatum to incorporate forming subchannels for surround channel system. The modification provides for multichannel system for subchannels for providing sound streams being implemented to provide different sounds at different speakers.
5. Claim(s) 3, 4, 5, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm et al. (US2007/0087686) in view of Heo (US 2017/0078824) in further view of Tatum et al. (US 2021/0120359) further in view of Hess (US 2012/0243713) in further view of Reuss (US 2016/0150346).
Regarding claim 3, Holm, Heo, Tatum and Hess do not teach the method of claim 2, further comprising: exposing, to the processing system, a virtual audio device in the memory, the virtual audio device comprising a first address corresponding to a first audio destination and a second address corresponding to a second audio destination; writing, by the processing system, audio data of the front channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream to the first address of the virtual audio device to enable provision and routing of the front channel audio stream to the first audio destination to be read and processed by other devices; providing, by the processing system, the front channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream to a primary set of speakers positioned in front of a listener; writing, by the processing system, audio data of the surround channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream to the second address of the virtual audio device to enable provision and routing of the multichannel audio stream to the second audio destination to be read and processed by the other devices; providing, by the processing system, the surround channel audio stream to a supplemental speaker positioned behind the listener; and synchronizing, by the processing system, the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream.
Reuss teaches exposing, to the processing system, a virtual audio device in the memory, the virtual audio device comprising a first address corresponding to a first audio destination and a second address corresponding to a second audio destination (see fig. 1, 8, ¶ 0022-0023, 0039, 0069-0073, 0097-0100. The system multichannel system having plurality of speakers and virtual positions associated with the plurality of channels of the multi-channel audio data. The control instructions having preset positions of the speakers and provides virtual positions corresponding to the associated channel of the multichannel audio data.); writing, by the processing system, audio data of the front channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream to the first address of the virtual audio device to enable provision and routing of the front channel audio stream to the first audio destination to be read and processed by other devices; providing, by the processing system, the front channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream to a primary set of speakers positioned in front of a listener; writing, by the processing system, audio data of the surround channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream to the second address of the virtual audio device to enable provision and routing of the multichannel audio stream to the second audio destination to be read and processed by the other devices (see fig. 1, 8, ¶ 0022-0023, 0039, 0069-0073, 0097-0100. The virtual position (110) are emulated by routing the corresponding channel of the multichannel audio data. The virtual stage being in conformity with the content of the multi-channel audio data at a first listening position. Where a second listening position deviates from the first listening position. The second listening position having different location and a different orientation than the first listening position. The first and second listening positions are located within the audio sweet spot. The system is adjusted or set the virtual positions such that at the second listening position the virtual stage is correctly perceived.); providing, by the processing system, the surround channel audio stream to a supplemental speaker positioned behind the listener; and synchronizing, by the processing system, the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream (see fig. 1, 8, ¶ 0022-0023, 0039, 0069-0073, 0097-0100. The audio channels that are assigned to the speakers (120) and virtual speakers (110). Therefore the rear speakers are in sync with the front speakers.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum and Hess to incorporate assigning channels to specific speaker groups and providing front channels and rear channels to the front and rear speakers in synch, respectively. The modification provides system with routing the specific channels to the specific speakers in synch. The combination of Reuss speaker configurations for assigning channels to speaker groups of a multichannel system and Hess for combining the surround sound channels for front and rear channels in order to provide routing to those speaker groups. The combination of Hess and Reuss provide for speaker configuration based on assigned channel groups to specific speaker groups.
Regarding claim 4, Holm, Heo, Tatum and Hess do not teach the method of claim 3, wherein the virtual audio device includes a source code that embeds a functionality capable of routing the audio data of the front channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream to the first audio destination and the audio data of the surround channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream to the second audio destination, and wherein the virtual audio device comprises no hardware and no firmware.
Reuss teaches wherein the virtual audio device includes a source code that embeds a functionality capable of routing the audio data of the front channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream to the first audio destination and the audio data of the surround channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream to the second audio destination, and wherein the virtual audio device comprises no hardware and no firmware (see fig. 1, 8, ¶ 0022-0023, 0039, 0069-0073, 0097-0100. The system multichannel system having plurality of speakers and virtual positions associated with the plurality of channels of the multi-channel audio data. The control instructions having preset positions of the speakers and provides virtual positions corresponding to the associated channel of the multichannel audio data.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum and Hess to incorporate assigning channels to specific speaker groups and providing front channels and rear channels to the front and rear speakers in synch, respectively. The modification provides system with routing the specific channels to the specific speakers in synch. The combination of Reuss speaker configurations for assigning channels to speaker groups of a multichannel system and Hess for combining the surround sound channels for front and rear channels in order to provide routing to those speaker groups. The combination of Hess and Reuss provide for speaker configuration based on assigned channel groups to specific speaker groups.
Regarding claim 5, Holm, Heo, Tatum and Hess do not teach the method of claim 4, wherein the virtual audio device does not process or configure the audio data of the front channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream and the audio data of the surround channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream, and wherein the virtual audio device reemits the audio data of the front channel audio stream written to the first address and the audio data of the surround channel audio stream written to the second address to the processing by the other devices.
Reuss teaches wherein the virtual audio device does not process or configure the audio data of the front channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream and the audio data of the surround channel audio stream of the multichannel audio stream
(see fig. 1, 8, ¶ 0022-0023, 0039, 0069-0073, 0097-0100. The system multichannel system having plurality of speakers and virtual positions associated with the plurality of channels of the multi-channel audio data. The control instructions having preset positions of the speakers and provides virtual positions corresponding to the associated channel of the multichannel audio data.); and wherein the virtual audio device reemits the audio data of the front channel audio stream written to the first address and the audio data of the surround channel audio stream written to the second address to the processing by the other devices (see fig. 1, 8, ¶ 0022-0023, 0039, 0069-0073, 0097-0100. The virtual position (110) are emulated by routing the corresponding channel of the multichannel audio data. The virtual stage being in conformity with the content of the multi-channel audio data at a first listening position. Where a second listening position deviates from the first listening position. The second listening position having different location and a different orientation than the first listening position. The first and second listening positions are located within the audio sweet spot. The system is adjusted or set the virtual positions such that at the second listening position the virtual stage is correctly perceived.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess to incorporate forming channels for surround channel system and process the channels without configuration since its preset to process. The modification provides for multichannel system for channels for providing sound streams based on preset configurations that are done prior to implementation and not during.
Regarding claim 9, Holm, Heo, Tatum and Reuss does not teach the method of claim 3, further comprising. receiving, by the processing system, a 7.1 surround sound multichannel audio stream, the 7.1 surround sound multichannel audio stream including a front left channel, a center channel, a front right channel, rear left channel, a rear right channel, a surround left channel, a surround right channel and a low-frequency effects channel; combining, by the processing system, the front left channel, the center channel, and the front right channel to form the front channel audio stream; combining, by the processing system, the rear left channel, the rear right channel, the surround left channel, the surround right channel, and the low-frequency effects channel to form the surround channel audio stream; and reversing, by the processing system, the surround left channel and the surround right channel so that spatial information of the surround channel audio stream matches spatial information of the front channel audio stream.
Hess teaches receiving, by the processing system, a 7.1 surround sound multichannel audio stream, the 7.1 surround sound multichannel audio stream including a front left channel, a center channel, a front right channel, rear left channel, a rear right channel, a surround left channel, a surround right channel and a low-frequency effects channel; combining, by the processing system, the front left channel, the center channel, and the front right channel to form the front channel audio stream; combining, by the processing system, the rear left channel, the rear right channel, the surround left channel, the surround right channel, and the low-frequency effects channel to form the surround channel audio stream; and reversing, by the processing system, the surround left channel and the surround right channel so that spatial information of the surround channel audio stream matches spatial information of the front channel audio stream (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0026-0027, 0040. The system can be a 7.1 surround sound, in which the system will combine front channels and combine rear channels to be outputted. Therefore the multichannel audio will have its channel combined to meet the requirements of system.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum and Reuss to incorporate forming subchannels for surround channel system. The modification provides for multichannel system for subchannels for providing sound streams being implemented to provide different sounds at different speakers.
6. Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm et al. (US2007/0087686) in view of Heo (US 2017/0078824) in further view of Tatum et al. (US 2021/0120359) further in view of Hess (US 2012/0243713) in further view of Reuss (US 2016/0150346) in further view of Bouvigne (US 2021/0195364) in further view of Kusunoki (US 2008/0063211).
Regarding claim 6, Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss do not teach the method of claim 3, further comprising: identifying, by the processing system, a latency mismatch between the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream; and compensating, by the processing system, for the latency mismatch between the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream to synchronize the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream; wherein compensating for the latency mismatch comprises: measuring, by the processing system, a first delay in sound reproduction of the supplemental speaker; measuring, by the processing system, a second delay in sound reproduction of the surround channel audio stream to a primary set of speakers; and introducing, by the processing system, a time delay to reduce a difference between the second delay and the first delay.
Bouvigne teaches identifying, by the processing system, a latency mismatch between the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream; and compensating, by the processing system, for the latency mismatch between the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream to synchronize the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream (see ¶ 0017-0024, 0087-0094. The system test for latency and upon determining latency, the system evaluates and calculates in order to compensate for the transmission latency to the speakers. Thus the system evaluates the playback latency to ensure proper playback of the signals in synchrony.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss to incorporate testing for latency in the signal transmission and compensating for the latency. The modification provides correcting the latency and providing the signals in synch to the speakers.
Kusunoki teaches wherein compensating for the latency mismatch comprises: measuring, by the processing system, a first delay in sound reproduction of the supplemental speaker; measuring, by the processing system, a second delay in sound reproduction of the surround channel audio stream to a primary set of speakers; and introducing, by the processing system, a time delay to reduce a difference between the second delay and the first delay (see ¶ 0042-0044, 0049, 0059, 0063-0064. The system measures for delay and latency of the acoustic conditions (difference in delay time) of the multichannel reproduction, which adjusts the delay time for the reproduction levels of the multichannel audio. The detection provides for altering the delay time for each group of reproduction signals for surround sound.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss and Bouvigne to incorporate adjusting the latency and delay in the signal transmission and compensating for the latency. The modification provides for adjusting the signals to the speakers.
7. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm et al. (US 2007/0087686) in view of Heo (US 2017/0078824) in further view of Tatum et al. (US 2021/0120359) further in view of Hess (US 2012/0243713) in further view of Reuss (US 2016/0150346) in further view of Bouvigne (US 2021/0195364) in further view of Kusunoki (US 2008/0063211) in further view of Srinivasan et al. (US 2014/0254801).
Regarding claim 7, Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss and Kusunoki do not teach the method of claim 6, further comprising: continuously monitoring, by the processing system, a latency mismatch between the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream; and adjusting, by the processing system, the time delay to reduce the difference between the second delay and the first delay in response to determining that the difference between the second delay and the first delay exceeds a predetermined threshold.
Bouvigne teaches continuously monitoring, by the processing system, a latency mismatch between the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream (see ¶ 0017-0024, 0087-0094. The system test for latency and upon determining latency, the system evaluates and calculates in order to compensate for the transmission latency to the speakers. Thus the system evaluates the playback latency to ensure proper playback of the signals in synchrony.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss and Kusunoki to incorporate testing for latency in the signal transmission and compensating for the latency. The modification provides correcting the latency and providing the signals in synch to the speakers.
Srinivasan teaches adjusting, by the processing system, the time delay to reduce the difference between the second delay and the first delay in response to determining that the difference between the second delay and the first delay exceeds a predetermined threshold (see ¶ 0061, 0066, 0084. Modifying the tine delay upon determining a delay difference between the first and second sound delays when exceeding a threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss, Kusunoki and Bouvigne to incorporate delaying of the sounds exceeding a threshold and making an adjustment to the signals. The modification provides adjusting the latency and delay and providing the signals in synch to the speakers.
8. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm et al. (US 2007/0087686) in view of Heo (US 2017/0078824) in further view of Tatum et al. (US 2021/0120359) further in view of Hess (US 2012/0243713) in further view of Reuss (US 2016/0150346) in further view of Bouvigne (US 2021/0195364) in further view of Shi et al. (US 2018/0136898).
Regarding claim 8. Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss do not teach the method of claim 3, further comprising: identifying, by the processing system, a latency mismatch between the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream; compensating for the latency mismatch between the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream to synchronize the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream, wherein the compensating further comprises: providing, by the processing system, a user interface including a graphical device for engagement by a user; providing, by the processing system, one or more sounds to the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream for perception by the user; receiving, by the processing system, from the user a user adjustment of the graphical device of the user interface; and varying, by the processing system, a temporal delay between reproduction of the one or more sounds by the primary set of speakers and the supplemental speaker, wherein the varying is responsive to the user adjustment of the graphical device.
Bouvigne teaches identifying, by the processing system, a latency mismatch between the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream; compensating for the latency mismatch between the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream to synchronize the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream (see ¶ 0017-0024, 0087-0094. The system test for latency and upon determining latency, the system evaluates and calculates in order to compensate for the transmission latency to the speakers. Thus the system evaluates the playback latency to ensure proper playback of the signals in synchrony.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss to incorporate testing for latency in the signal transmission and compensating for the latency. The modification provides correcting the latency and providing the signals in synch to the speakers.
Shi teaches wherein the compensating further comprises: providing, by the processing system, a user interface including a graphical device for engagement by a user; providing, by the processing system, one or more sounds to the front channel audio stream and the surround channel audio stream for perception by the user; receiving, by the processing system, from the user a user adjustment of the graphical device of the user interface; and varying, by the processing system, a temporal delay between reproduction of the one or more sounds by the primary set of speakers and the supplemental speaker, wherein the varying is responsive to the user adjustment of the graphical device (see fig. 2-4, ¶ 0007, 0030, 0035, 0041-0043, 0055-0057, 0067-0071. The user can adjust the surround sound delay of the multichannel audio signals being sent to each speaker.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss and Bouvigne to incorporate user input to make adjustment to the surround sound system. The modification provides a user making adjusting the latency and delay and providing the signals that are being applied to the speakers.
9. Claims 10, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm et al. (US 2007/0087686) in view of Heo (US 2017/0078824) in further view of Tatum et al. (US 2021/0120359) further in view of Hess (US 2012/0243713) in further view of Reuss (US 2016/0150346) in further view of Girardier et al. (US 2018/0027368).
Regarding claim 10, Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss does not teach the method of claim 3, further comprising. communicating, by the processing system, with a digitally connected speaker; receiving, by the processing system, identification information for the digitally connected speaker; determining, by the processing system, speaker characteristics of the digitally connected speaker, wherein the determining speaker characteristics is based on the identification information for the digitally connected speaker; adapting, by the processing system, aspects of the surround channel audio stream according to the speaker characteristics of the digitally connected speaker, forming an adapted surround channel; and providing, by the processing system, the adapted surround channel to the digitally connected speaker as the supplemental speaker.
Girardier teaches communicating, by the processing system, with a digitally connected speaker; receiving, by the processing system, identification information for the digitally connected speaker; determining, by the processing system, speaker characteristics of the digitally connected speaker, wherein the determining speaker characteristics is based on the identification information for the digitally connected speaker; adapting, by the processing system, aspects of the surround channel audio stream according to the speaker characteristics of the digitally connected speaker, forming an adapted surround channel; and providing, by the processing system, the adapted surround channel to the digitally connected speaker as the supplemental speaker (see fig. 1, ¶ 0045, 0067, 0075, 0079. The system provides audio streams based on characteristics of the wireless speakers thus to provide a reliable reproduction of the audio stream.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss to incorporate determining the characteristics of the speaker in order to rout correct the audio stream to the correct loudspeaker. The modification provides audio being transmitted to a speaker based on characteristics.
Regarding claim 11, Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss does not teach the method of claim 10, wherein adapting aspects of the surround channel audio stream comprises: receiving, by the processing system, identification information for a Bluetooth speaker connected as the digitally connected speaker; determining, by the processing system, speaker characteristics of the Bluetooth speaker; selecting, by the processing system, spectral components of the surround channel audio stream according to the speaker characteristics of the Bluetooth speaker, forming selected spectral components; and adjusting, by the processing system, the selected spectral components according to the speaker characteristics of the Bluetooth speaker.
Girardier teaches wherein adapting aspects of the surround channel audio stream comprises: receiving, by the processing system, identification information for a Bluetooth speaker connected as the digitally connected speaker; determining, by the processing system, speaker characteristics of the Bluetooth speaker; selecting, by the processing system, spectral components of the surround channel audio stream according to the speaker characteristics of the Bluetooth speaker, forming selected spectral components; and adjusting, by the processing system, the selected spectral components according to the speaker characteristics of the Bluetooth speaker (see fig. 1, ¶ 0045, 0067, 0075, 0079. The system provides audio streams based on characteristics of the wireless speakers thus to provide a reliable reproduction of the audio stream. The devices are identified by Bluetooth protocols. Each device has a defined level of characteristics in which the audio system would route the specific channel stream to the specific audio speaker ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss to incorporate determining the characteristics of the speaker in order to rout correct the audio stream to the correct loudspeaker. The modification provides audio being transmitted to a speaker based on characteristics.
Regarding claim 12, Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss do not teach the method of claim 10, wherein adapting aspects of the surround channel audio stream comprises: identifying, by the processing system, limitations in frequency response of the digitally connected speaker, wherein the identifying is based on the speaker characteristics of the digitally connected speaker; and adjusting, by the processing system, spectral components of the surround channel audio stream to compensate for limitations in frequency response of the digitally connected speaker.
Girardier teaches wherein adapting aspects of the surround channel audio stream comprises: identifying, by the processing system, limitations in frequency response of the digitally connected speaker, wherein the identifying is based on the speaker characteristics of the digitally connected speaker; and adjusting, by the processing system, spectral components of the surround channel audio stream to compensate for limitations in frequency response of the digitally connected speaker (see fig. 1, ¶ 0045, 0067, 0075, 0079. The system provides audio streams based on characteristics of the wireless speakers thus to provide a reliable reproduction of the audio stream. The devices are identified by Bluetooth protocols. Each device has a defined level of characteristics in which the audio system would route the specific channel stream to the specific audio speaker ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss to incorporate determining the characteristics of the speaker in order to rout correct the audio stream to the correct loudspeaker. The modification provides audio being transmitted to a speaker based on characteristics.
10. Claims 14, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm et al. (US2007/0087686) in view of Heo (US 2017/0078824) in further view of Tatum et al. (US 2021/0120359) in further view of Barbello et al. (US 2024/0057030).
Regarding claim 14, Holm, Heo and Tatum do not teach the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein the processing the target audio streams further comprise mixing the target audio streams by selecting one or more of the plurality of first audio streams, adjusting volume levels and other attributes of the selected one or more of the plurality of first audio streams, filtering, compensating, combining the selected one or more of the plurality of audio streams, or a combination thereof.
Barbello teaches wherein the processing the target audio streams further comprise mixing the target audio streams by selecting one or more of the plurality of first audio streams, adjusting volume levels and other attributes of the selected one or more of the plurality of first audio streams, filtering, compensating, combining the selected one or more of the plurality of audio streams, or a combination thereof (see ¶ 0040. The audio mixer, obtains an audio streams and generates audio signals when combined with adjusted audio signals with control, focus and intent.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss to incorporate mixing audio signals with focused attributes to modify the signal. The modification provides audio being modified and mixed for output.
Regarding claim 17, Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss do not teach the device of claim 16, wherein the processing the target audio streams further comprises mixing the target audio streams by selecting one or more of the plurality of first audio streams, adjusting volume levels and other attributes of the selected one or more audio streams, filtering, compensating, combining the selected one or more audio streams, or a combination thereof.
Barbello teaches wherein the processing the target audio streams further comprises mixing the target audio streams by selecting one or more of the plurality of first audio streams, adjusting volume levels and other attributes of the selected one or more audio streams, filtering, compensating, combining the selected one or more audio streams, or a combination thereof (see ¶ 0040. The audio mixer, obtains an audio streams and generates audio signals when combined with adjusted audio signals with control, focus and intent.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss to incorporate mixing audio signals with focused attributes to modify the signal. The modification provides audio being modified and mixed for output.
11. Claims 15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm et al. (US 2007/0087686) in view of Heo (US 2017/0078824) in further view of Tatum et al. (US 2021/0120359) in further view of Barbello et al. (US 2024/0057030) in further Brockmole et al. (US 2016/0203811).
Regarding claim 15, Holm, Heo, Tatum and Barbello do not teach the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein the remapping the target audio streams further comprises remapping channels of the target audio streams to the multiple destinations by splitting the target audio streams, duplicating the target audio streams and generating a plurality of split audio streams, and selecting one or more channels of the plurality of split audio streams to be kept or removed.
Brockmole teaches wherein the remapping the target audio streams further comprises remapping channels of the target audio streams to the multiple destinations by splitting the target audio streams (see ¶ 0056. The system can remap the audio channels to provide each of the audio sources in the listener perceived sound stage may be contained in a separate one of the sound source vectors, the sound sources may be moved or mapped into different locations in the listener perceived sound stage.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss to incorporate separating the channels for dispersing to multiple devices. The modification provides audio being separated and sent to devices.
Shah teaches duplicating the target audio streams and generating a plurality of split audio streams, and selecting one or more channels of the plurality of split audio streams to be kept or removed (see ¶ 0039. The separated channels are duplicated and some channels may be ignored.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss and Brockmole to incorporate separating the channels and duplicating the separated channels and ignoring some of the channels. The modification provides audio being separated and ignoring some of the channels before output.
Regarding claim 18, Holm, Heo, Tatum and Barbello do not teach the device of claim 16, wherein the remapping the target audio streams further comprises remapping channels of the target audio streams to the multiple destinations by splitting the target audio streams, duplicating the target audio streams and generating a plurality of split audio streams, and selecting one or more channels of the plurality of split audio streams to be kept or removed.
Brockmole teaches wherein the remapping the target audio streams further comprises remapping channels of the target audio streams to the multiple destinations by splitting the target audio streams (see ¶ 0056. The system can remap the audio channels to provide each of the audio sources in the listener perceived sound stage may be contained in a separate one of the sound source vectors, the sound sources may be moved or mapped into different locations in the listener perceived sound stage.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss to incorporate separating the channels for dispersing to multiple devices. The modification provides audio being separated and sent to devices.
Shah teaches duplicating the target audio streams and generating a plurality of split audio streams, and selecting one or more channels of the plurality of split audio streams to be kept or removed (see ¶ 0039. The separated channels are duplicated and some channels may be ignored.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holm, Heo, Tatum, Hess, Reuss and Brockmole to incorporate separating the channels and duplicating the separated channels and ignoring some of the channels. The modification provides audio being separated and ignoring some of the channels before output.
Conclusion
/ASSAD MOHAMMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691