DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 15/420,951, filed on 01/31/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statements (PTO-1449) filed 04/09/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 04/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the search strategies would not impose serious burden on the examiner. This is not found persuasive because there are distinct differences between the inventions that require separate search strategies and search queries. By design, the structural requirements of a lens element, such as the thickness and convex or concave shape, affects the properties of the light transmitted. The differences in conditions also prove a distinct difference between the systems since the conditions are further limitations of the lenses and their structural designs. Therefore, Inventions I and II are distinct, thus imposing a serious burden since each invention entails a unique search strategy and search query.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekine (USP No. 9,110,271).
Regarding claim 1, Sekine discloses an optical photographing system comprising six lens elements (see Fig. 1), the six lens elements being, in order from an object side to an image side: a first lens element (L1), a second lens element (L2), a third lens element (L3), a fourth lens element (L4), a fifth lens element (L5) and a sixth lens element (L6) (see Fig. 1, Table 1); each of the six lens elements has an object-side surface towards the object side and an image-side surface towards the image side (see Fig. 1, Table 1); wherein the first lens element (L1) has positive refractive power (Table 1), the object-side surface of the first lens element is convex in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1), the image-side surface of the first lens element is convex in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1); the object-side surface of the second lens element (L2) is convex in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1); the third lens element (L3) has positive refractive power (Table 1); the fifth lens element (L5) has positive refractive power (Table 1), the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1), the image-side surface of the fifth lens element is convex in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1); the object-side surface of the sixth lens element (L6) is convex in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1), the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1), the image-side surface of the sixth lens element comprises at least one convex shape in an off-axis region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1); wherein a central thickness of the fourth lens element is greater than an axial distance between the fifth lens element and the sixth lens element (Table 1); wherein a central thickness of the first lens element is CT1, a central thickness of the second lens element is CT2, a central thickness of the third lens element is CT3, the central thickness of the fourth lens element is CT4, a central thickness of the fifth lens element is CT5, and the following condition is satisfied: (CT1+CT2+CT4)/(CT3+CT5) < 0.80 (Table 1).
Regarding claim 2, Sekine discloses wherein the fourth lens element has negative refractive power; the sixth lens element has negative refractive power; the central thickness of the first lens element is CT1, the central thickness of the second lens element is CT2, the central thickness of the third lens element is CT3, the central thickness of the fourth lens element is CT4, the central thickness of the fifth lens element is CT5, and the following condition is satisfied: (CT1+CT2+CT4)/(CT3+CT5) < 0.77 (Table 1).
Regarding claim 3, Sekine discloses wherein a focal length of the second lens element is f2, a focal length of the third lens element is f3, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.17 ≤|f3/f2|< 0.50 (Table 6).
Regarding claim 4, Sekine discloses wherein a curvature radius of the object-side surface of the first lens element is R1, a curvature radius of the image-side surface of the first lens element is R2, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.13 ≤ |R2/R1|<3.0 (Table 1).
Regarding claim 6, Sekine discloses wherein an axial distance between the fourth lens element and the fifth lens element is larger than an axial distance between the third lens element and the fourth lens element (Table 1).
Regarding claim 7, Sekine discloses wherein an absolute value of a curvature radius of the object-side surface of the third lens element is larger than an absolute value of a curvature radius of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element (Table 1).
Regarding claim 8, Sekine discloses wherein a central thickness of the sixth lens element is larger than the central thickness of the first lens element (Table 1).
Regarding claim 9, Sekine discloses wherein an absolute value of a focal length of the second lens element is larger than an absolute value of a focal length of the third lens element (Table 1).
Regarding claim 10, Sekine discloses an image capturing apparatus (Col. 1, Lines 13-15), comprising: the optical photographing system of claim 1 (see Fig. 1); and an image sensor disposed on an image surface of the optical photographing system (Col. 1, Lines 11-16).
Regarding claim 11, Sekine discloses an electronic device, comprising: the image capturing apparatus of claim 10 (Col. 1, Lines 11-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine (USP No. 9,110,271) in view of Lee et al. (USPG Pub No. 2015/0138425), hereinafter “Lee”.
Regarding claim 5, Sekine discloses wherein a focal length of the fifth lens element is f5, a focal length of the sixth lens element is f6, a focal length of the optical photographing system is f, an axial distance between the object-side surface of the first lens element and an image surface is TL (Table 1), and the following conditions are satisfied: and 0.45 < f/TL < 0.70 (Table 1). Sekine discloses the claimed invention except for 0.70 < |f5/f6| < 1.0. In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses 0.70 < |f5/f6| < 1.0 (Table 13 – 3rd Embodiment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the optical photographing system of Sekine with 0.70 < |f5/f6| < 1.0 of Lee for the purpose of providing a bright and large aperture imaging system capable of appropriate aberration correction (Paragraph 8).
Prior Art Citations
Chen et al. (USPG Pub No. 2016/0048005 – Fig. 19) is being cited herein to show an optical photographing system relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 5/29/2026