DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites wherein a member comprises a plurality of members, but a singular thing cannot be a plurality of that singular thing. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oe (2014/0375739) in view of Mikashima et al. (2022/0009226).
Regarding claim 1, Oe teaches an image forming apparatus comprising;
a recording head (fig. 1, item 21) in which a plurality of nozzles capable of
ejecting droplets onto a recording medium are arranged ([0035]);
an endless belt (fig. 2, item 11) that conveys the recording medium toward a position where an image is to be formed on the recording medium by the recording head (see fig. 1);
an anti-floating member (fig. 2, topmost item 23 and bottommost item 23 on page) that prevents floating of end portions of the endless belt in a widthwise direction of the endless belt (see figs. 1, 2, Note that rollers 23 prevent anything from floating, whether it is the belt or a print medium).
Oe does not teach a plurality of through holes for flashing formed in the endless belt or a droplet receiver that receives flashing droplets having been ejected from the nozzle by flashing without contributing to formation of the image and having passed through the through holes.
Mikashima teaches this (Mikashima, fig. 3, Note belt 8 with through holes corresponding to droplet receivers 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the through holes and droplet receivers disclosed by Mikashima to the belt arrangement disclosed by Oe because doing so would allow for flashing the recording head, thereby maintaining fresh nozzles.
Regarding claim 2, Oe in view of Mikashima teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the anti-floating member comprises a rotator that holds down the end portions of the endless belt, and the rotator is freely rotatable along a direction of movement of the endless belt (Oe, see figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, Oe in view of Mikashima teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the recording head and the anti-floating member are provided in a head unit (Oe, see figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Oe in view of Mikashima teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the anti-floating member comprises a plurality of anti-floating members and the plurality of anti-floating members are allocated upstream and downstream of the recording head in a direction of movement of the endless belt (Oe, see figs. 1-3, Note that any head can be said to have rollers upstream and downstream).
Conclusion
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853