DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Altman et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0327053).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Altman disclose a method and apparatus, comprising: a display (e.g. 26); and a processor (e.g. 28), configured to:
acquire data representative of a volume of a cavity of an organ (e.g. ¶ 20);
present, on the display, an electroanatomical (EA) map (e.g. 40) of a surface, generated in response to the data, enclosing the volume (e.g. Fig. 1 and ¶ 24);
receive input from a user, the input comprising a selected section of the EA map (e.g. ¶ 32); and
in response to the user input, lock a portion of the volume to subsequent updates of the data when updating the EA map, the portion of the volume comprising the selected section of the EA map (e.g. ¶ ABSTRACT and ¶ 16).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Altman discloses the organ comprises a heart (e.g. ¶ 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 – 6 and 9 – 13 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altman et al. in view of Chan et al. (US PGPUB 2010/0067755).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 9 and 10, Altman discloses the system and method as discussed above. Altman fails to teach acquiring locations of a set of cavity voxels comprising the volume, and analyzing the locations to determine outer voxels of the set, the outer voxels corresponding to the surface enclosing the volume, and wherein locking the portion of the volume comprises selecting a subset of the outer voxels in response to the user input and not recording locations of the subset when updating the EA map.
Chan teaches it is known to determine outer voxels of a set by acquiring locations of a set of cavity voxels comprising the volume and selecting a subset of the outer voxels (e.g. ¶ 28, 42, 43; the voxels lying inside the structure surface to have a non-zero mask value, such as value 1, while assigning voxels outside the structure surface a mask value of zero). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the acquiring the data as taught by Altman with determining outer voxels as taught by Chan, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of efficiently determining the structure in the volume of interest in the imaging dataset.
Regarding claims 4, 5, 11, and 12, Altman in view of Chan discloses selecting predefined group of voxels as described above, but fails to teach applying a dilation and erosion algorithm to the subset so as to generate a resultant set of the cavity voxels.
Chan does, however, teach using algorithms in order produce the imaging data (e.g. ¶ 3 and 37). The claimed dilation and erosion algorithms are well known in the art of image processing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the algorithms used for image process as taught by Altman in view of Chan with the well-known dilation and erosion algorithms, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of to better present the voxels of the binary masks.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Altman in view of Chan discloses the system and method as discussed above. Altman fails to teach that the user delineating a bound surrounding an enclosed two-dimensional (2D) region on a representation of the EA map of the surface, and wherein the predefined group comprises the cavity voxels within a prism having a base as the closed 2D region.
While Chan does not explicitly recite delineating a bound surrounding an enclosed two-dimensional (2D) region on a representation of the EA map of the surface, Chan does teach defining the voxels lying inside the structure surface to have a non-zero mask value (e.g. ¶ 28). By doing this, the user is delineating a bound on the EA map of the surface. Chan teaches using voxels in a 3D binary mask. It is understood that a voxel is a three-dimensional cube, wherein a base of the cube would present a 2D region. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the acquiring the data as taught by Altman with delineating a bound on the EA map as taught by Chan, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of efficiently determining the structure in the volume of interest in the imaging dataset.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Keidar (US PGPUB 2004/0078036) teaches segmenting a mapping volume including the sites into voxels, and designating the indications with respect to respective voxels of the mapping volume.
Qiu et al. (US PGPUB 2024/0339198) teaches a technique for rendering a sheared-volume based medical image.
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796