DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 07/14/2024 and 10/04/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 19/16 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, there are two sequential commas “,,” present. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,8-13,15,16, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz et al. (US 2022/0376584).
Regarding claim 1, Schwarz et al. discloses:
A switch assembly (abstract, Fig 12, para 56) comprising:
a plunger (132, Figs 2A-C, paras 39-41);
an elastomer member (136, 300) mechanically coupled to the plunger (132) and moveable along a movement axis (Figs 2A-C),
wherein the elastomer member (136) includes a plurality of posts (312,314, Fig 14) of varying heights comprising electrically conductive material (para 58); and
a circuit board (140, Figs 2A-C and 200, Fig 10) oriented substantially perpendicularly to the movement axis (Figs 2A-C), the circuit board (200, Fig 10) including a plurality of conductive tracks (A-H, Fig 10) facing the plurality of posts (312,314, paras 57-58) and electrically coupled to a resistive divider (Fig 10 -space between tracks A-H on 200, paras 52,58),
wherein an actuation of the plunger causes a variable number of contact points between the plurality of conductive tracks and the plurality of posts corresponding to a travel distance of the plunger along the movement axis (paras 52-58), and
wherein the resistive divider (Fig 10) is configured to output a variable voltage signal based on the variable number of contact points (paras 52-58, 62).
Schwarz et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, but in different embodiments.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of combining Schwarz et al.’s teachings to make applicant’s above claimed invention, since it would depend on the need for a compact and efficient trigger assembly that meets the size requirements of modern power tools (para 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Schwarz et al. to make applicant’s currently claimed invention.
The motivation to do so would be based on need for a compact and efficient trigger assembly that meets the size requirements of modern power tools (para 4 of Schwarz et al.).
Regarding claim 2/1, Schwarz et al. discloses wherein the elastomer member further includes an activation post in selective engagement with an activation track mounted on the circuit board, wherein the activation track outputs an activation signal in response to contact with the activation post indicative of an initial actuation of the plunger (paras 52-59).
Regarding claim 3/2, Schwarz et al. discloses wherein the activation post has a greater height than the plurality of posts (Fig 14).
Regarding claim 4/1, Schwarz et al. discloses wherein the plurality of posts is disposed equidistantly from the movement axis, and the plurality of conductive tracks is disposed equidistantly from the movement axis (Figs 10,11 and 14).
Regarding claim 5/4, Schwarz et al. discloses wherein the heights of the plurality of posts descent incrementally around the movement axis (Fig 14).
Regarding claim 8/1, Schwarz et al. discloses wherein the plurality of conductive tracks each includes a first track coupled to a ground node or a power supply and a second track coupled to the resistive divider (paras 52-59).
Regarding claim 9/8, Schwarz et al. discloses wherein the resistive divider includes a plurality of resistors and a plurality of power switches (Fig 11), each of the plurality of power switches being configured to activate a corresponding resistor of the plurality of resistors within the resistive divider (paras 53-54).
Regarding claim 10/9, Schwarz et al. discloses wherein the plurality of resistors is arranged in series between the power supply node and the voltage signal, and a plurality of gates of the plurality of power switches is coupled to the plurality of conductive tracks (Figs 10-11).
Regarding claim 11, Schwarz et al. discloses:
A power tool (abstract, para 10) comprising:
a housing (102,111, Fig 1);
an electric motor (104) disposed within the housing;
a trigger (120) mounted on the housing; and
a switch assembly (Figs 2A-C) located within the housing and engageable by the trigger (120), the switch assembly comprising:
a plunger (132, Figs 2A-C, paras 39-41) moveable along a movement axis by the trigger (120);
an elastomer member (136, 300) mechanically coupled to the plunger (132) and moveable along a movement axis (Figs 2A-C),
wherein the elastomer member (136) includes a plurality of posts (312,314, Fig 14) of varying heights comprising electrically conductive material (para 58); and
a circuit board (140, Figs 2A-C and 200, Fig 10) oriented substantially perpendicularly to the movement axis (Figs 2A-C), the circuit board (200, Fig 10) including a plurality of conductive tracks (A-H, Fig 10) facing the plurality of posts (312,314, paras 57-58) and electrically coupled to a resistive divider (Fig 10 -space between tracks A-H on 200, paras 52,58),
wherein an actuation of the plunger causes a variable number of contact points between the plurality of conductive tracks and the plurality of posts corresponding to a travel distance of the plunger along the movement axis (paras 52-58), and
wherein the resistive divider (Fig 10) is configured to output a variable voltage signal based on the variable number of contact points (paras 52-58, 62).
Schwarz et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, but in different embodiments.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of combining Schwarz et al.’s teachings to make applicant’s above claimed invention, since it would depend on the need for a compact and efficient trigger assembly that meets the size requirements of modern power tools (para 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Schwarz et al. to make applicant’s currently claimed invention.
The motivation to do so would be based on need for a compact and efficient trigger assembly that meets the size requirements of modern power tools (para 4 of Schwarz et al.).
Regarding claim 12/11, Schwarz et al. discloses wherein the elastomer member further includes an activation post in selective engagement with an activation track mounted on the circuit board, wherein the activation track outputs an activation signal in response to contact with the activation post indicative of an initial actuation of the trigger (paras 52-59).
Regarding claim 13/11, Schwarz et al. discloses wherein the plurality of posts is disposed equidistantly from the movement axis, and the plurality of conductive tracks is disposed equidistantly from the movement axis (Figs 10,11 and 14).
Regarding claim 15/11, Schwarz et al. discloses wherein the plurality of conductive tracks each includes a first track coupled to a ground node or a power supply and a second track coupled to the resistive divider (paras 52-59).
Regarding claim 16, Schwarz et al. discloses:
A power tool (abstract, para 10) comprising:
a housing (102,111, Fig 1);
an electric motor (104) disposed within the housing;
a trigger (120) pivotably mounted on the housing around a pivot member located between a first portion and a second portion thereof (para 67); and
a switch assembly (Figs 2A-C) located within the housing and engageable by the trigger (120), the switch assembly comprising
a first variable-speed switch and a second variable-speed switch interfacing at least one circuit board (140, Fig s 2A-C, 200, Fig 10, paras 52-59),
wherein, when the first portion of the trigger is actuated, the first variable-speed switch is engaged by the trigger and contacts the at least one circuit board along a first movement axis that is substantially perpendicular to the circuit board (paras 52-59), and
when the second portion of the trigger is actuated, the second variable-speed switch is engaged by the trigger and contacts the at least one circuit board along a second movement distanced from the first movement axis that is substantially perpendicular to the circuit board, (paras 52-59)
wherein the switch assembly outputs at least one variable speed signal and at least one of a direction signal or a mode signal associated with the electric motor based on actuation of one of the first variable-speed switch or the second variable-speed switch (paras 52-59, Figs 10,11,14).
Schwarz et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, but in different embodiments.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of combining Schwarz et al.’s teachings to make applicant’s above claimed invention, since it would depend on the need for a compact and efficient trigger assembly that meets the size requirements of modern power tools (para 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Schwarz et al. to make applicant’s currently claimed invention.
The motivation to do so would be based on need for a compact and efficient trigger assembly that meets the size requirements of modern power tools (para 4 of Schwarz et al.).
Regarding claim 22/16, Schwarz et al. discloses wherein, further comprising a controller configured to operate the motor according to the at least one variable speed signal and the mode signal, when the first portion of the trigger is actuated, the controller operates the motor in a first mode of operation, and when the second portion of the trigger is actuated, the controller operates the motor in a second mode of operation (paras 36,48,53-59,61,65).
Claim(s) 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz et al. (US 2022/0376584) in view of Ekstrom et al. (US 2015/0280515).
Regarding claim 6/1, Schwarz et al. discloses the invention as discussed above, except further comprising a base member supporting the circuit board, a cover that mates with the base member around the elastomer member, and a biasing element that biases the plunger away from the circuit board through an opening of the cover.
Ekstrom et al. teaches an apparatus further comprising a base member (204, Fig 3A, para 73) supporting the circuit board (202), a cover (260) that mates with the base member around the elastomer member, and a biasing element (238) that biases the plunger (234) away from the circuit board (202) through an opening of the cover (286a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Schwarz et al. to further comprising a base member supporting the circuit board, a cover that mates with the base member around the elastomer member, and a biasing element that biases the plunger away from the circuit board through an opening of the cover, as Ekstrom et al. teaches.
The motivation to do so is that it would permit one to cover the components as needed (para 73 of Ekstrom et al.).
Regarding claim 14/11, Schwarz et al. discloses the invention as discussed above, except further comprising a base member supporting the circuit board, a cover that mates with the base member around the elastomer member, and a biasing element that biases the plunger away from the circuit board through an opening of the cover.
Ekstrom et al. teaches an apparatus further comprising a base member (204, Fig 3A, para 73) supporting the circuit board (202), a cover (260) that mates with the base member around the elastomer member, and a biasing element (238) that biases the plunger (234) away from the circuit board (202) through an opening of the cover (286a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Schwarz et al. to further comprising a base member supporting the circuit board, a cover that mates with the base member around the elastomer member, and a biasing element that biases the plunger away from the circuit board through an opening of the cover, as Ekstrom et al. teaches.
The motivation to do so is that it would permit one to cover the components as needed (para 73 of Ekstrom et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 17-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In claim 7/6 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the biasing element is a compression spring located within the plunger, wherein the plurality of posts is disposed equidistantly around the biasing member.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 17/16 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the trigger includes a first actuator post located on the first portion and a second actuator post located on the second portion, and wherein the first variable-speed switch includes a first plunger aligned with the first actuator post and the second variable-speed switch includes a second plunger aligned with the second actuator post.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record
Claim 18/17 is also allowable for depending on claim 17.
In claim 19/16 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the switch assembly comprises a base member that supports the at least one circuit board, and a cover coupled to the base member around the circuit board and including two openings through which the first plunger and the second plunger extend out.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Claims 20/19 and 21/20 are also allowable for depending on claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834