DETAILED ACTION
Accordingly no claims have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No new claims have been added. Therefore, claims 1-22 remains pending in this application. It also includes remarks and arguments.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, recites “a controller, which is configured to acquire current flow information about a current flow in at least one sub-portion of the current path along a second current flow direction opposite to the first current flow direction; and to control the disconnector from the first state into the second state based on the current flow information” however it is not clear what the at least one sub-portion of the current path along a second current low direction opposition to the first current flow direction is referring too because according to the specification, the current "The electronic circuit 10 includes a controller 26, which is configured to obtain a current flow information about a current flow or a current flow direction in at least a sub-portion of the current path 22 along a second current flow direction 28 opposite to the first current flow direction 18. Based on the current flow information, i.e., a current Icontrol flows along the second current flow direction 28 through at least the sub-portion of the current path 22" "the current path 22 along a second current flow direction 28 opposite to the first current flow direction 18.
Claim 2, recites “wherein the disconnector is configured to acquire the current flow information from a pulse in the second current flow direction” however it is not understood how a disconnector which includes a switch is configured to acquire a current flow information. It seems as though a sensing means would be required to sense the current flow but not a switch.
Claim 17, recites “a source for applying a current flow in the second flow direction” and also a voltage converter but later in claim 18, it recites the voltage converter comprises the source therefore it is unclear if the claimed source in claim 17 is the same or different element from the voltage converter.
Claims 3-16 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph because the claims are dependent upon base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Bhavaraju et al. (US 2013/0264883).
Regarding claim 1, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], discloses an electronic circuit for a photovoltaic, PV, module [see photovoltage (PV) power system 70 in Fig. 5 and 0030], comprising:
PV terminals for coupling to the PV module [such that each PV module 80 includes a plurality of PV strings 72, 74, 76m and 78, wherein each respective PV string includes a negative terminal connected to the ground wire 88 in addition to another “positive” terminal of the respective PV string is connected to the positive terminal an DC power source included in the hybrid DC contactor 10 as sown in Fig. 1 and 0021 and 0030]; and string terminals for coupling to a PV string [such that each respective PV strings 72, 74, 76 and 78 include terminals which are electrically connected in series with each respective PV string and see 0030] and in; a current path running between the PV terminals and the string terminals [ each PV string 72, 74, 76 and 78 is included a first current path between its respective PV terminals and the string terminals as indicated in Fig. 5 as current I1-I4 when the main contacts of the contactor 17 between the power source 14 and load are in a closed position , see 0021 and 0032], which current path is configured to conduct an electric current generated in the PV module in a first current flow direction to the PV string [see respective current path of the current generated in each respective PV string 72, 74, 76, 78 as shown in Fig. 5, as I1-I4 and 0032]; a disconnector [see hybrid DC contactor 10 in Figs. 1 and 5-8 corresponding as the disconnector, see 0021-0024 and 0030] arranged between a first terminal of the PV terminals and a second terminal of the string terminals [see each respective positive and negative terminal of the PV strings 72, 74, 76 and 78 in addition to the string terminals of each respective PV string 72, 74, 76 and 78 connected in series], which disconnector [see 10 in Figs. 1 and 5-8] is configured to interrupt the current path in a first state along the first current flow direction [see I1-I4 in Figs. 6 and 7]; and to close the current path in a second state along the first current flow direction [see I1-I3 I Figs. 5 and 8]; a controller [see 92 and 0033], which is configured to acquire current flow information about a current flow in at least one sub-portion of the current path along a second current flow direction [such that the acquire current flow information about the current flow in at least one sub-portion of the current path would be along the second current flow direction, see I4 in Figs. 5 and 7. Further, the sub-portion of the current path is interpreted by the examiner to be any portion located along “between” the respective current path since the claim does not particularly define what exactly the location or meaning of the sub-portion is in regards to the respective current path. For example, a current path is from point A to another point B, however any portion between point A and B would include any sub-portion along the current path A to B] opposite to the first current flow direction [see I1-I3 in Fig. 5 and 0034-0035]; and to control the disconnector [see 10] from the first state into the second state based on the current flow information [see 0036].
Regarding claim 2, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 1, wherein the disconnector [see 10 in Figs. 1 and 5-8 and 0021-0023 and 0030] is configured to acquire the current flow information from a pulse in the second current flow direction [see 0034-0036].
Regarding claim 3, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 1, which is configured to acquire a pulse via the string by means of the current flow along the second current flow direction, which pulse indicates the current flow information, in order to change into the second state [see 0032-0037].
Regarding claim 4, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 1, wherein the disconnector [see 10 in Figs. 1 and 5-8 and 0021-0023 and 0030] comprises a semiconductor switch [see 24] with a switchable current path and a diode acting in parallel with the switchable current path [see Fig. 1 and diode in parallel with switch 24], wherein the disconnector [see 10 and 0021-0023] is configured to conduct, in the first state of the disconnector, the current flow via the diode along the second current flow direction [see 0021, and 0032-0037].
Regarding claim 5, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 1, wherein the disconnector [see 10 in Fig. 1] comprises at least a first [see 20] and a second semiconductor switch [see 24], which are connected to one another in series or in parallel, with diodes acting along the second current flow direction [see 0021-0023 and 0025].
Regarding claim 6, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 1 comprising a sensor element [see 36 and 37 in Fig. 1 and 0024], which is configured to recognize a current flow along the second current flow direction [see 0031-0037]; wherein the current flow information is based on the recognized current flow [see 0031-0037].
Regarding claim 8, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 1 with a bypass diode [see Fig. 1 and diode coupled between the power source 14 and load 16], which is coupled between the string terminals and is configured to enable, in the first state, an electric current flow in the PV string [see 0023 and 0025].
Regarding claim 9, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], discloses he electronic circuit according to claim 1, wherein the controller [see 92] is configured to control the disconnector [see 10] from the second state into the first state based on a switch- off event [see 0033-0037].
Regarding claim 10, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 7, wherein the controller [see 92] is configured to recognize the switch-off event as a switch-off event caused in the PV module or the string or the electronic circuit [see 0033-0037].
Regarding claim 11, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 9, wherein the controller [see 92] is configured to control the disconnector [see 10] into the second state, after the recognized switch-off event, depending on the current flow along the second current flow direction acquired via the PV string [see 0033-0037].
Regarding claim 12, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 1, wherein the controller [see 92] is configured to temporarily switch the disconnector [see 10] into the first state upon a temporary power setback of the PV module [see 0033-0037], and to subsequently control it back into the second state independently of the current flow, acquired via the PV string, along the second current flow direction to check whether a temporary power setback causing the switch-off has ended [see 0033-0037].
Regarding claim 13, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 1, which is configured without a communication interface [see entire Figs. 1 and 5-8 without any communication interface and 0033-0037].
Regarding claim 14, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 1, which is configured to perform, in the second state of the disconnector, at least one of the following functions: - a Maximum Power Point Tracking for the PV module; - disconnecting the PV module from the PV string upon recognition of a short circuit [see 0033-0037]; - disconnecting the PV module from the PV string upon recognition of an open circuit of the PV module; - disconnecting the PV module from the PV string upon recognition of the PV module being shadowed and/or a reconnecting of the PV module to the PV string upon recognition of an end of the shadowing [see 0033-0037].
Regarding claim 16, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], discloses a photovoltaic assembly having: a PV module; and an electronic circuit [see 70in Fig. 5] coupled to the PV module [see PV module 80] according to claim 1 [see Fig. 5].
Regarding claim 22, Bhavaraju et al. in [Figs. 1 and 5-8], a method for switching a photovoltaic, PV, module into a PV string [see photovoltage (PV) power system 70 in Fig. 5 and 0030], comprising: providing an electronic circuit [see 92 and 0033], with a control current directed opposite to the first current direction [see 0031-0037]; wherein the electronic circuit [see 92 and 0033], is coupled between the PV module [see 80] and the PV string [see 72, 74, 76 and 78] and is present in a first state, in which a disconnector [see 10] disconnects a current path running across the PV module, and in which a current of the PV module delivered in a first current direction to the PV string is prevented [see 0031-0037]; controlling the disconnector [see 10] into a second state, in which the current flow along the first current direction is enabled to close the current path based on the control current [see 0031-0037].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim 6 and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim 1 and any intervening claims.
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim 16 and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-21 are objected to as being allowable subject matter because the claims are dependent upon base claim 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-14 and 16-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TERRENCE R WILLOUGHBY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 8/12/26
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836