DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed on 1/29/2026 has been entered. Applicant has amended claim 5 and canceled claims 1-4. Currently claims 5-8 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 8 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2020/0201617 A1), hereinafter, “Park” in view of Pant et al. (US 2020/0348946 A1), hereinafter, “Pant”.
Regarding Claim 5, Park discloses a magnetic disk device comprising:
a host operated by a user (See, Fig. 1, Numeral 50, “Host”);
a nonvolatile memory (See, Fig. 1, Numeral 110, “Semiconductor memory device” and Paragraph 0037) including a firmware area in which first firmware and second firmware are stored (See, Paragraph 0006); and
a controller (See, Fig. 1, Numeral 120 and Paragraph 0036) determining whether or not the first firmware and the second firmware are normal for each arbitrary period (See, Paragraphs 0050, 0102 and 0103).
Park does not explicitly disclose if determining that at least one of the first firmware and the second firmware are not normal, notifying the user of the information on whether or not the first firmware and the second firmware are normal, via the host. wherein if determining that both the first firmware and the second firmware are not normal, the controller notifies the user that the first firmware and the second firmware are not normal, via the host, or the controller notifies the user that the first firmware is not normal, via the host, or if determining that the first firmware is normal and that the second firmware is not normal, the controller notifies the user that the second firmware is not normal, via the host.
Pant discloses determining that at least one of a first firmware and a second firmware are not normal, notifying the user of the information on whether or not the first firmware and the second firmware are normal, via a host, wherein if determining that both the first firmware and the second firmware are not normal, the controller notifies the user that the first firmware and the second firmware are not normal, via the host, or the controller notifies the user that the first firmware is not normal, via the host, or if determining that the first firmware is normal and that the second firmware is not normal, the controller notifies the user that the second firmware is not normal, via the host (See, Paragraphs 0005, 0010, 0014, 0017, 0061 and 0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to notify, when the first or second firmware are not normal in the system of Park, the user of the information on whether or not the first firmware and the second firmware are normal, via a host, wherein if determining that both the first firmware and the second firmware are not normal, the controller notifies the user that the first firmware and the second firmware are not normal, via the host, or the controller notifies the user that the first firmware is not normal, via the host, or if determining that the first firmware is normal and that the second firmware is not normal, the controller notifies the user that the second firmware is not normal, via the host as taught by Pant in order to request user consent to retrieve and download the missing component(s) from a remotely located system (See, Pant, Paragraph 0068).
Regarding Claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated and the combination of Park and Pant further discloses wherein the controller performs error correction using ECC and detection of corruption for the first firmware and the second firmware, for each arbitrary period, determines that the first firmware is normal if the error correction is operable for the first firmware or no corruption is detected in the first firmware, and determines that the second firmware is normal if the error correction is operable for the second firmware or no corruption is detected in the second firmware (See, Park, Paragraphs 0101, 0102 and 0135).
Regarding Claim 7, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated and the combination of Park and Pant further discloses wherein the controller performs error correction using ECC and detection of corruption for the first firmware and the second firmware, for each arbitrary period, determines that the first firmware is not normal if the error correction is inoperable for the first firmware and a corruption is detected in the first firmware, and determines that the second firmware is not normal if the error correction is inoperable for the second firmware and a corruption is detected in the second firmware (See, Park, Paragraphs 0101, 0102, 0105 and 0135).
Regarding Claim 8, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated and the combination of Park and Pant further discloses wherein if determining that the first firmware is normal and that the second firmware is not normal, the controller copies the first firmware to the second firmware (See, Park, Paragraphs 0006 and 0122).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOGESH PALIWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435