DETAILED ACTION
Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending; claims 1, 7 and 10 are independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2015/0235346), in view of Kato (US 2018/0211630), and further in view of Okuyama (US 2016/0116768).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising:
a display panel (fig. 1, a transparent display unit 110) including a first display surface, and a second display surface on a side opposite to the first display surface (fig. 1 and Para 0046, wherein the transparent display unit 110 may display content including a first part and a second part on the basis of a first direction in which a first user is located);
a first sensor including a plurality of first detection electrodes opposed to at least the display area and detecting input information (figs 1, 5, a sensor 130, Paras 051-0052 and 0075);
a memory unit (Para 0108); and
a controller controlling the plurality of first detection electrodes, and the memory unit (fig. 1, a controller 120, Para 0048 and 0108, wherein the controller 120 may implement mirror flipping on the second part such that the second part is displayed on the basis of the second direction based on sensed information input by the sensor unit 130),
wherein during a first period, the controller generates first image data based on the input information detected by the first sensor, stores the first image data in the memory unit, and displays a first character based on the first image data stored in the memory unit, in the display area of the display panel, during a second period following the first period, the controller generates second image data based on the first image data stored in the memory unit, and records the second image data in the memory unit, during a third period following the second period, the controller displays a second character based on the second image data instead of the first character, in the display area of the display panel, and the second character is a character obtained by flipping the first character (figs 7 and Para 0084-0091 and also fig. 9 and Paras 0098-0101, wherein the controller of the display apparatus may implement mirror flipping on the second part such that the second part is alternately displayed in a first direction and a second direction for a predetermined period. A mirror flipping period of the second part including text may be set based on the length of text. That is, when the second part includes text, a predetermined period may be set based on at least one of the length of text and the number of words included in text.).
Kim does not expressly disclose a display panel including a plurality of pixel electrodes located in a display area, a common electrode located in the display area, a display function layer located in the display area and including a plurality of display function areas, each of the display function areas being switched to a transparent state in which light made incident is transmitted, and a scattered state in which the incident light is scattered by application of a voltage applied between a corresponding pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes and the common electrode; a controller controlling drive of the plurality of pixel electrodes, the common electrode, and the second character is a character obtained by flipping the first character, and the controller dynamically adjusts a voltage applied to the display function layer to switch between the transparent state and the scattered state in real time based on the input information detected by the first sensor, the voltage applied to the display function layer is between the plurality of pixel electrodes and the common electrode and is smaller than a lower limit of gradation to the display.
However, Kato discloses a display panel (fig. 1, a transparent display unit 110) including a plurality of pixel electrodes located in a display area (figs 2, 3, a pixel electrode 11), a common electrode located in the display area (figs 2, 3, a common electrode 21), a display function layer located in the display area and including a plurality of display function areas (figs 2, 13A, Para 0112 and a liquid crystal layer 30 as a display function layer), each of the display function areas being switched to a transparent state in which light made incident is transmitted, and a scattered state in which the incident light is scattered by application of a voltage applied between a corresponding pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes and the common electrode (figs 5A/B and Paras 0068-0072); a controller controlling drive of the plurality of pixel electrodes, the common electrode (fig. 3, 11, Paras 0055-0056 and 0102), and the controller dynamically adjusts a voltage applied to the display function layer to switch between the transparent state and the scattered state in real time based on the input information detected by the first sensor (fig. 19 and Paras 0165-0167), the voltage applied to the display function layer is between the plurality of pixel electrodes and the common electrode and is smaller than a lower limit of gradation to the display (figs 6 and 8, Paras 0076-0077 and 087-0089, wherein a transparent voltage VA may be defined as voltage VLC less than or equal to voltage (8 V in the example of FIG. 6) corresponding to the minimum gradation).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified an electronic device of Kim by applying teaching of Kato to include a display device includes a display panel including a plurality of pixel electrodes, a common electrode, a display function layer and the display panel when the liquid crystal layer is in a transparent state or in a scattering state and the detector determines the data input in line units, and determines whether or not all the pixels of one line are indicated as 0. In other words, the detector determines whether or not the voltage to be written to all the pixels of one row is the second transparent voltage, as a known technique to yield to a predictable result.
Kim in view of Kato does not expressly disclose the incident light in a certain polarized state can be transmitted through the display panel regardless of a value of the voltage to be applied to the display panel.
However, Okuyama “the incident light in a certain polarized state can be transmitted through the display panel regardless of a value of the voltage to be applied to the display panel”, see fig. 18 and Paras 0190-0191.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified an electronic device of Kim in view of Kato by applying teaching of Okuyama to include a relationship between the transmissivity of light and a drive voltage according to polarization directions, in a state in which drive voltage is approximately zero and an electric field is not generated in the light modulation layer, both of incident light polarized in a direction which matches the alignment direction and incident light polarized in a direction perpendicular to the alignment direction pass through the light modulation layer and are emitted from the display panels, as a known technique to yield to a predictable result.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim in view of Kato and in view of Okuyama teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the controller displays the second character after a specific period from timing at which obtaining the input information is ended (Paras 0088-0089, Kim).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim in view of Kato and in view of Okuyama teaches the electronic device of claim 2, further comprising: a second sensor including a plurality of second detection electrodes opposed to at least the display area and detecting input information, wherein the first sensor is opposed to the first display surface of the display panel, and the second sensor is opposed to the second display surface of the display panel (Para 0091, wherein the display apparatus may include the sensor unit to receive a touch instruction from both a first direction and a second direction, Kim).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim in view of Kato and in view of Okuyama teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a determination unit having driven controlled by the controller and detecting a flip signal transmitted by a user's input, wherein when the determination unit determines that the flip signal is detected, the controller displays the second character (fig. 9 and Para 0101, wherein the display apparatus may implement mirror flipping on the second part such that the second part is alternately displayed in the first direction and the second direction for a predetermined period upon receiving information sensed from the first user in the first direction and the second user in the second direction. When the second part includes text, the predetermined period may be set based on at least one of the length of text and the number of words included in text, Kim).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim in view of Kato and in view of Okuyama teaches the electronic device of claim 4, further comprising: a second sensor including a plurality of second detection electrodes opposed to at least the display area and detecting input information, wherein the first sensor is opposed to the first display surface of the display panel, and the second sensor is opposed to the second display surface of the display panel (Para 0091, wherein the display apparatus may include the sensor unit to receive a touch instruction from both a first direction and a second direction, Kim).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim in view of Kato and in view of Okuyama teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a second sensor including a plurality of second detection electrodes opposed to at least the display area and detecting input information, wherein the first sensor is opposed to the first display surface of the display panel, and the second sensor is opposed to the second display surface of the display panel (Para 0091, wherein the display apparatus may include the sensor unit to receive a touch instruction from both a first direction and a second direction, Kim).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim teaches a display system (Abstract) comprising:
an electronic device ((fig. 1, a display apparatus 100)); and
an input device capable of outputting an input signal (fig. 1, a sensor unit 130 and para 0050),
wherein the electronic device comprises:
a first display surface, and a second display surface on a side opposite to the first display surface (fig. 1 and Para 0046, wherein the transparent display unit 110 may display content including a first part and a second part on the basis of a first direction in which a first user is located);
a first sensor including a plurality of first detection electrodes opposed to at least the display area and detecting input information (figs 1, 5, a sensor 130, Paras 051-0052 and 0075);
a memory unit (Para 0108);
a controller controlling drive of the plurality of first detection electrodes, and the memory unit (fig. 1, a controller 120, Para 0048 and 0108, wherein the controller 120 may implement mirror flipping on the second part such that the second part is displayed on the basis of the second direction based on sensed information input by the sensor unit 130); and
during a first period, the controller generates first image data based on the input information detected by the first sensor, stores the first image data in the memory unit, and displays a first character based on the first image data stored in the memory unit, in the display area of the display panel, during a second period following the first period, the controller generates second image data based on the first image data stored in the memory unit, and records the second image data in the memory unit, during a third period following the second period, the controller displays a second character based on the second image data instead of the first character, in the display area of the display panel, the second character is a character obtained by flipping the first character. (figs 7 and Para 0084-0091 and also fig. 9 and Paras 0098-0101, wherein the controller of the display apparatus may implement mirror flipping on the second part such that the second part is alternately displayed in a first direction and a second direction for a predetermined period. A mirror flipping period of the second part including text may be set based on the length of text. That is, when the second part includes text, a predetermined period may be set based on at least one of the length of text and the number of words included in text).
Kim does not expressly disclose the electronic device comprises common electrode located in the display area, a display function layer located in the display area and including a plurality of display function areas, each of the display function areas being switched to a transparent state in which light made incident is transmitted, and a scattered state in which the incident light is scattered by application of a voltage applied between a corresponding pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes and the common electrode; a controller controlling drive of the plurality of pixel electrodes, the common electrode, a light source unit having driven controlled by the controller, being located outside an area opposed to the display area of the display panel, and emitting light of a color other than an achromatic color to the display function layer, and the input device outputs a first input signal with information on a first display color, and when the input information detected by the first sensor is the first input signal with the information on the first display color, the controller displays a character of the first display color and the controller dynamically adjusts a voltage applied to the display function layer to switch between the transparent state and the scattered state in real time based on the input information detected by the first sensor, the voltage applied to the display function layer is between the plurality of pixel electrodes and the common electrode is smaller than a lower limit of gradation to the display.
However, Kato discloses a display panel (fig. 1, a transparent display unit 110) including a plurality of pixel electrodes located in a display area (figs 2, 3, a pixel electrode 11), a common electrode located in the display area (figs 2, 3, a common electrode 21), a display function layer located in the display area and including a plurality of display function areas (figs 2, 13A, Para 0112 and a liquid crystal layer 30 as a display function layer), each of the display function areas being switched to a transparent state in which light made incident is transmitted, and a scattered state in which the incident light is scattered by application of a voltage applied between a corresponding pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes and the common electrode (figs 5A/B and Paras 0068-0072); a controller controlling drive of the plurality of pixel electrodes, the common electrode (fig. 3, 11, Paras 0055-0056 and 0102); a light source unit having driven controlled by the controller, being located outside an area opposed to the display area of the display panel (fig. 2, a light-emitting element LS and Para 0053), and emitting light of a color other than an achromatic color to the display function layer, and the input device outputs a first input signal with information on a first display color, and when the input information detected by the first sensor is the first input signal with the information on the first display color, the controller displays a character of the first display color (Para 0058), and the controller dynamically adjusts a voltage applied to the display function layer to switch between the transparent state and the scattered state in real time based on the input information detected by the first sensor (fig. 19 and Paras 0165-0167), the voltage applied to the display function layer is between the plurality of pixel electrodes and the common electrode is smaller than a lower limit of gradation to the display (figs 6 and 8, Paras 0076-0077 and 087-0089, wherein a transparent voltage VA may be defined as voltage VLC less than or equal to voltage (8 V in the example of FIG. 6) corresponding to the minimum gradation).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display system of Kim by applying the teaching technique of Kato to include a display device includes a display panel including a plurality of pixel electrodes, a common electrode, a display function layer and the display panel when the liquid crystal layer is in a transparent state or in a scattering state and a light source unit is configured to emit light in a color other than achromatic colors to the liquid crystal layer and the detector determines the data input in line units, and determines whether or not all the pixels of one line are indicated as 0. In other words, the detector determines whether or not the voltage to be written to all the pixels of one row is the second transparent voltage, as a known technique to yield to a predictable result.
Kim in view of Kato does not expressly disclose the incident light in a certain polarized state can be transmitted through the display panel regardless of a value of the voltage to be applied to the display panel.
However, Okuyama “the incident light in a certain polarized state can be transmitted through the display panel regardless of a value of the voltage to be applied to the display panel”, see fig. 18 and Paras 0190-0191.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display system of Kim in view of Kato by applying teaching of Okuyama to include a relationship between the transmissivity of light and a drive voltage according to polarization directions, in a state in which drive voltage is approximately zero and an electric field is not generated in the light modulation layer, both of incident light polarized in a direction which matches the alignment direction and incident light polarized in a direction perpendicular to the alignment direction pass through the light modulation layer and are emitted from the display panels, as a known technique to yield to a predictable result.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim in view of Kato and in view of Okuyama teaches the display system of claim 7, wherein the input device outputs a second input signal with information on a second display color, and when the input information detected by the first sensor is the second input signal with the information on the second display color, the controller displays a character of the second display color (figs 12, 13A, Paras 0058 and 0117-0119, Kato).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim in view of Kato and in view of Okuyama teaches the display system of claim 7, wherein the electronic device further comprises a second sensor including a plurality of second detection electrodes opposed to at least the display area and detecting input information, the first sensor is opposed to the first display surface of the display panel, and the second sensor is opposed to the second display surface of the display panel (Para 0091, wherein the display apparatus may include the sensor unit to receive a touch instruction from both a first direction and a second direction, Kim).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (US 2012/0113029), in view of Kato (US 2018/0211630), and further in view of Okuyama (US 2016/0116768).
Regarding Claim 10, Ye teaches a display system (Abstract) comprising:
an electronic device (fig. 1A-C, the TX side 12); and
a communication terminal including a display unit displaying an input character (fig. 1A-C, the RX side 10 including a display screen 1002 and Para 0039),
wherein the electronic device comprises:
a display panel device (fig. 1A-C, the TX side 12, including a display 1202);
a first sensor including a plurality of first detection electrodes opposed to at least the display area and detecting input information (Para 0053-0054, wherein a TX side 12 having a second touch panel);
a memory unit (Para 0038, a storage medium);
a communication unit capable of communicating with the communication terminal (fig. A1, a transceiver 1206 and Para 0038) ; and
a controller controlling drive of the plurality of first detection electrodes, the memory unit, and the communication unit (Para 0038, wherein the TX side 12 may be a computing system or mobile device equipped with CPU and/or GPU computing power, such as a PC, laptop, tablet PC, mobile phone, smart-phone, and may include a processor), and
when transmitting an input signal indicating the character from the communication terminal to the electronic device, the controller generates image data based on the input signal received by the communication unit, stores the image data in the memory unit, and displays the character based on the image data stored in the memory unit, in the display area of the display panel (figs 1A-C and Paras 0039-0051, wherein a user can do the "key-in" operation on the larger RX side 10 (right side, fig. 1B/C) to type words and simultaneously the smaller screen 1202 of the TX side 12 (left side, fig. 1B/C) will mirror the same scene/image as that in the RX side 10, and thus the user can do the "key-in" operation on the larger screen 1002 while utilize computing power from the TX side 12, i.e. the operating system 1204, to run the text-editing application.
Ye does not expressly disclose a display panel including a plurality of pixel electrodes located in a display area, a common electrode located in the display area, a display function layer located in the display area and including a plurality of display function areas, a first display surface, and a second display surface on a side opposite to the first display surface, each of the display function areas being switched to a transparent state in which light made incident is transmitted, and a scattered state in which the incident light is scattered by application of a voltage applied between a corresponding pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes and the common electrode; a controller controlling drive of the plurality of pixel electrodes, the common electrode, and the controller dynamically adjusts a voltage applied to the display function layer to switch between the transparent state and the scattered state in real time based on the input information detected by the first sensor, the voltage applied to the display function layer is between the plurality of pixel electrodes and the common electrode is smaller than a lower limit of gradation to the display.
However, Kato discloses a display panel (fig. 1, a transparent display unit 10) including a plurality of pixel electrodes located in a display area (figs 2, 3, a pixel electrode 11), a common electrode located in the display area (figs 2, 3, a common electrode 21), a display function layer located in the display area and including a plurality of display function areas (figs 2, 13A, Para 0112 and a liquid crystal layer 30 as a display function layer), a first display surface (fig. 2, and a transparent substrate 10) a second display surface on a side opposite to the first display surface (fig. 2, and a transparent substrate 20), each of the display function areas being switched to a transparent state in which light made incident is transmitted, and a scattered state in which the incident light is scattered by application of a voltage applied between a corresponding pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes and the common electrode (figs 5A/B and Paras 0068-0072); a controller controlling drive of the plurality of pixel electrodes, the common electrode (fig. 3, 11, Paras 0055-0056 and 0102), and the controller dynamically adjusts a voltage applied to the display function layer to switch between the transparent state and the scattered state in real time based on the input information detected by the first sensor (fig. 19 and Paras 0165-0167), the voltage applied to the display function layer is between the plurality of pixel electrodes and the common electrode is smaller than a lower limit of gradation to the display (figs 6 and 8, Paras 0076-0077 and 087-0089, wherein a transparent voltage VA may be defined as voltage VLC less than or equal to voltage (8 V in the example of FIG. 6) corresponding to the minimum gradation).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display system of Ye by applying the teaching of Kato to include a display device includes a display panel including a plurality of pixel electrodes, a common electrode, a display function layer and the display panel when the liquid crystal layer is in a transparent state or in a scattering state and the detector determines the data input in line units, and determines whether or not all the pixels of one line are indicated as 0. In other words, the detector determines whether or not the voltage to be written to all the pixels of one row is the second transparent voltage, as a known technique to yield to a predictable result.
the incident light in a certain polarized state can be transmitted through the display panel regardless of a value of the voltage to be applied to the display panel.
Ye in view of Kato does not expressly disclose the incident light in a certain polarized state can be transmitted through the display panel regardless of a value of the voltage to be applied to the display panel.
However, Okuyama “the incident light in a certain polarized state can be transmitted through the display panel regardless of a value of the voltage to be applied to the display panel”, see fig. 18 and Paras 0190-0191.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display system of Ye in view of Kato by applying teaching of Okuyama to include a relationship between the transmissivity of light and a drive voltage according to polarization directions, in a state in which drive voltage is approximately zero and an electric field is not generated in the light modulation layer, both of incident light polarized in a direction which matches the alignment direction and incident light polarized in a direction perpendicular to the alignment direction pass through the light modulation layer and are emitted from the display panels, as a known technique to yield to a predictable result.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (US 2012/0113029), in view of Kato (US 2018/0211630), in view of Okuyama (US 2016/0116768), and further in view of Kim (US 2015/0235346).
Regarding Claim 11, Ye in view of Kato and in view of Okuyama teaches the display system of claim 10, but Ye in view of Kato and in view of Okuyama does not expressly disclose wherein the electronic device further comprises a second sensor including a plurality of second detection electrodes opposed to at least the display area and detecting input information, the first sensor is opposed to the first display surface of the display panel, and the second sensor is opposed to the second display surface of the display panel.
However, Kim discloses “wherein the electronic device further comprises a second sensor including a plurality of second detection electrodes opposed to at least the display area and detecting input information, the first sensor is opposed to the first display surface of the display panel, and the second sensor is opposed to the second display surface of the display panel”, see Para 009.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified an electronic device of Ye in view of Kato and in view of Okuyama by applying the teaching of Kim that a display apparatus may include a sensor unit to receive a touch instruction from both a first direction and a second direction, as a known technique to yield to a predictable result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kuhlman (US 2012/0019434), relates to displays for displaying images or information, and more particularly relates to a system that time-multiplexes a single transparent display with different images, and uses light valves or shutter devices to display different images in substantially opposite directions from opposite sides of the transparent display.
Yun (US 2014/0035942), relates to a transparent display apparatus and a display method thereof. More specifically, the present disclosure relates to a transparent display apparatus including a plurality of transparent display layers and a display method thereof.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.E.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2625 2/10/2026
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625