Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day et al. (US 2007/0030865) in view of Edamura et al. (US 2004/0161009).
With respect to claim 1, Day teaches a laser module comprising: a quantum cascade laser element (QCL) having a stacked structure including an active layer (Paragraph [0007], Paragraph [0009], for purposes of the present invention, the QCL can refer to the Type I Cascade Laser with stacked conduction band quantum well regions as the active region), and a first end face (Fig. 10, #6a, right side) and a second end face (Fig. 10, #6a, left side) facing each other in a second direction orthogonal to a first direction as a stacking direction of a stacked structure (Fig. 7a, the second direction is left/right through the axis shown in Fig. 7a, the first direction is up/down in Fig. 7a), the QCL being configured to emit light from each of the first end face (Paragraph [0082], Fig. 10, #6a,) and the second end face (Paragraph [0082], Fig. 10, #6a). Day further teaches a diffraction grating portion (Fig. 7a #46) configured to diffract and reflect first light emitted from the first end face and return second light as part of the first light to the first end face (Paragraph [0037], Paragraph [0083]), a first lens member configured to be disposed between the first end face and the diffraction grating portion (Fig. 7a, #42) and allow the first light and the second light to pass therethrough (Paragraph [0037], Paragraph [0083]); a second lens member (Fig. 7a, #14) configured to be disposed at a position facing the second end face and allow third light emitted from the second end face to pass therethrough (Paragraph [0042], Paragraph [0083]); and a package (Fig. 7a, #4) configured to house the quantum cascade laser element, the diffraction grating portion, and the first lens member and dispose an optical path between the diffraction grating portion and an incident surface of the third light in the second lens member therein, wherein a first distance in the second direction between an incident surface of the first lens member on which the first light is incident and the first end face is shorter than a second distance in the second direction between an incident surface of the second lens member on which the third light is incident and the second end face (Paragraph [0023], “The focal length of the lens 14 is fabricated to be approximately ½ the size of the diameter… The lens 14 serves as a collimating lens and is thus positioned a distance from the laser gain medium 6 equal to its focal length.”, the relationship between the diameter and the focal length stated prior remains throughout the description of the invention, where the lens 14 is used as an output lens, Paragraph [00077], the grating lens 42 may be identical in composition and size to the output lens 14 stated prior, the grating lens 42 can have a smaller diameter than the output lens 14, thus being positioned a shorter distance from the laser gain medium). Day does not teach the QCL having paired cladding layers arranged on both sides of the active layer. Edamura teaches a related QCL device having paired cladding layers arranged on both sides of an active layer (Fig. 1, paired cladding layers #13/15, active layer #11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to adapt the module of Day based on the teachings of Edamura to include two cladding layers around an active layer to reduce waveguide loss of generated light.
With respect to claim 3, Day, as modified, teaches a support member configured to support the first lens member (Day, Fig. 7a, support #44 holds lens #42), wherein a surface of the first lens member facing the quantum cascade laser element is not supported by the support member (Day, Fig. 9a, left surface of lens #42 is not in contact with the support #44).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day and Edamura and further in view of Hu et al. (US 2010/0002739).
With respect to claim 2, Day, as modified, teaches the device outlined above. Day does not teach that the first distance is ½ or less of the second distance. Hu teaches a lens in direct contact with the first end face of the gain medium, therefore having the first distance of 0 mm, which is ½ or less of the second distance (Hu, Fig. 6A, Paragraph [0065-0068], Fig. 6A shows a mirror positioned externally to the active region to provide optical feedback to cause lasing, resulting in an external cavity laser. A collimating lens is in contact with the first end face 50b to reduce reflectivity of the end face of the active region. The light generated in the active region is coupled by the second end face 50a to the external environment. Having the first distance be 0 mm suppresses the reflective lasing from the first end face 50b by allowing the light to pass through the end face). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to adapt the laser module of Day with the teachings of Hu to reduce reflectivity at the first end face to improve the improve the laser's output coupling and beam forming characteristics.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day and Edamura and further in view of Shi et al. (US 2023/0361096).
With respect to claim 4, Day, as modified, teach the laser module outlined above, but do not teach a support member that includes a first hole configured to be open to a side of the diffraction grating portion, a second hole configured to include the first hole, be larger than the first hole, and be open to a side of the quantum cascade laser element when viewed from the second direction, and a counterbore surface configured to connect the first hole and the second hole and extend along a plane intersecting the second direction, the first lens member is inserted into the second hole, and at least a part of the first lens member facing the diffraction grating portion is supported in surface contact with the counterbore surface. Shi teaches a support member (Fig. 2a, #214) with a first hole open to a side of a diffraction grating portion (Fig. 2a, support #214, diffraction grating #216b, see attached figure below), a second hole including the first hole (Fig. 2a, see attached figure below), and a counterbore surface connecting the first and second hole (Fig. 2a, see attached figure below), where part of the first lens member is inserted in the second hole (Fig. 2a, lens #216a, see attached figure below) and part of the lens facing the diffraction grating portion is supported in surface contact with the counterbore surface (Fig. 2a, see attached figure below, lens #216a has its top surface facing the diffraction grating #216b in contact with the counterbore surface of support #214). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to adapt the support member of Day to include two holes with a counterbore surface connecting the two holes, as shown in Shi, to provide a surface to hold a lens, as this support structure would require less individual components to manufacture and it would allow space between the lens and the laser for more optical elements.
With respect to claim 5, Day, as modified, teach the laser module outlined above, and teaches a support member configured to support the first lens member (Fig. 7a, support #44, lens #42) wherein the first lens member includes a first portion configured to constitute a collimator lens collimating the first light (Fig. 7a, lens #42). Day further teaches that an outer edge portion of the first lens member is directly supported by the support member (Fig. 9a, edge of lens #42 is in contact with the support #44). Day does not teach a second portion configured to be connected to the first portion at an outer edge portion of the first portion when viewed from the second direction and not to constitute the collimator lens, the second portion is directly supported by the support member, and the first portion is not directly supported by the support member. Shi teaches a lens member which has a shape that includes a first collimating portion that is not directly supported by the support member and a second non-collimating portion on the edge of the collimating portion that is directly supported by the support member (Fig. 2a, #216a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to adapt the lens of Day, as modified, to have the lens type of Shi, to have a non-collimating part on the edge of the lens to connect directly to the support and to limit the beam diameter without interfering with the collimating light.
Conclusion
/LANA CHALEUNRATH-PHAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828