DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 05/13/2026 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Kim discloses using a driving unit to rotate or move a display unit based on an eye height of a driver of a vehicle. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim does not require the display unit to be stationary, Rather, claim 1 recites a stationary optical correcting element. Kim is relied upon for the base HUD system, while Kweon is relied upon for the stationary optical correcting element arranged on the optical path of the display unit. Therefore, Kim’s disclosure of a driving unit for rotating the display unit does not distinguish the claimed stationary optical correcting element. Additionally, a movable/rotatable display unit and a stationary downstream correcting element are not mutually exclusive. The display can move/rotate while the corrective element remains fixed in the HUD optical path, if the optic is located downstream near the windshield/combiner or otherwise fixed in the projected light path. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference. Rather the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. "In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). See also In re Sneed, 710 F.2d 1544, 1550, 218 USPQ 385, 389 (Fed. Cir. 1983). ("It is not necessary that the inventions of the references be physically combinable to render obvious the invention under review."); and In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973) ("Combining the teachings of references does not involve an ability to combine their specific structures."). The rejection under U.S.C. § 103, remains appropriate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20150092989, of record,) in view of Kweon et al. (US 2025/0298242, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a system comprising: tracking means (Examiner notes that 300, control unit and associated eye detection components constitute the tracking means); a display unit (Figure 4 and 11) mounted on a dashboard of a vehicle ([0041] discloses: head-up device installed in a narrow space between a vehicles cluster and windshield, therefore considered to be mounted on a dashboard of a vehicle), wherein a light-emitting surface of the display unit is curved (Figures 4 and 11 depict: 100, display unit); an optical combiner (Figures 4 and 11 depict: W, windshield) arranged on an optical path of the display unit (Figures 4 and 11 depict: W, windshield, arranged on optical path) and on an optical path of real-world light emanating from a real-world environment (Examiner notes that the windshield is considered to combine the light from the display unit and the environment in front of the windshield); and at least one processor ([0075] discloses: 300, control unit) configured to: utilize the tracking means to determine a relative location of eyes of at least one user with respect to the optical combiner ([0075] discloses: control unit may correct the driving information image based on the drivers eye height detection result); generate a display image (Figures 4 and 11 depict: V, virtual image), based on a curvature of the light-emitting surface of the display unit ([0039] discloses: virtual image, by forming the display area of the display unit into a curved surface), a relative location of the optical combiner with respect to the display unit ([0038] discloses: 110, display area of 100, display unit, may be variously changed depending on the curvature of the windshield, the optical distance from the display unit to the windshield or the size of the virtual image), and the relative location of the eyes of the at least one user with respect to the optical combiner ([0075] discloses: control unit may correct the driving information image based on the drivers eye height detection result); and display the display image via the display unit ([0039] discloses: virtual image, by forming the display area of the display unit into a curved surface), wherein the optical combiner is employed to reflect light emanating from the light-emitting surface of the display unit towards the eyes of the at least one user (Figures 4 and 11 depict: combined light from real world and 100, display unit, toward the eyes of the user at 400), whilst optically combining said light with the real-world light ([0005] discloses: a displayed virtual image and the driver maintains forward visibility while driving; therefore considered to optically combine the virtual image with real-world light).
Kim fails to disclose a system further comprising a stationary optical correcting element that is arranged on an optical path of the light-emitting surface of the display unit, wherein different portions of the optical correcting element have different optical powers. Kim and Kweon are related because both disclose optical systems.
Kweon teaches a system a system further comprising a stationary optical correcting element that is arranged on an optical path of the light-emitting surface of the display unit ([0006] teaches: display unit that may adjust optical path; Examiner notes that the optical element is inserted into a windshield or attached to the windshield in form of a film; therefore considered stationary), wherein different portions of the optical correcting element have different optical powers ([0095] teaches: Fresnel lens, may have a plurality of lens units; [0051] teaches: plurality of lenses including a Fresnel lens; Examiner notes that different portions of the lenses and the Fresnel lens are considered to have different optical powers).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Kewon and provide a system further comprising an optical correcting element that is arranged on an optical path of the light-emitting surface of the display unit, wherein different portions of the optical correcting element have different optical powers. Doing so would allow for better resolution, and aberration correction, thereby improving the overall performance of the optical system.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Kim discloses the system of claim 1.
Kim fails to disclose a system further comprising an optical element that is employed to direct the light emanating from the light-emitting surface of the display unit towards the optical combiner. Kim and Kweon are related because both disclose optical systems.
Kweon teaches a system further comprising an optical element that is employed to direct the light emanating from the light-emitting surface of the display unit towards the optical combiner (Figure 1 depicts: 21, flat mirror, that directs light from 1, image generation device to 3 windshield, the optical combiner).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Kewon and provide a system further comprising an optical element that is employed to direct the light emanating from the light-emitting surface of the display unit towards the optical combiner. Doing so would allow for better resolution, and aberration correction, thereby improving the overall performance of the optical system.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Kim discloses a method comprising: utilizing tracking means (Examiner notes that 300, control unit and associated eye detection components constitute the tracking means) to determine a relative location of eyes of at least one user with respect to an optical combiner (Figures 4 and 11 depict: W, windshield; [0075] discloses: control unit may correct the driving information image based on the drivers eye height detection result), wherein the optical combiner is arranged on an optical path of a display unit (Figures 4 and 11 depict: W, windshield, arranged on optical path) and on an optical path of real-world light emanating from a real-world environment (Examiner notes that the windshield is considered to combine the light from the display unit and the environment in front of the windshield); generating a display image (Figures 4 and 11 depict: V, virtual image), based on a curvature of a light-emitting surface of the display unit, a relative location of the optical combiner with respect to the display unit ([0039] discloses: virtual image, by forming the display area of the display unit into a curved surface), and the relative location of the eyes of the at least one user with respect to the optical combiner ([0075] discloses: control unit may correct the driving information image based on the drivers eye height detection result); and display the displaying image via the display unit ([0039] discloses: virtual image, by forming the display area of the display unit into a curved surface), wherein the optical combiner is employed to reflect light emanating from the light-emitting surface of the display unit towards the eyes of the at least one user (Figures 4 and 11 depict: combined light from real world and 100, display unit, toward the eyes of the user at 400), whilst optically combining said light with the real-world light ([0005] discloses: a displayed virtual image and the driver maintains forward visibility while driving; therefore considered to optically combine the virtual image with real-world light).
Kim fails to disclose a system further comprising a stationary optical correcting element that is arranged on an optical path of the light-emitting surface of the display unit, wherein different portions of the optical correcting element have different optical powers. Kim and Kweon are related because both disclose optical systems.
Kweon teaches a system a system further comprising a stationary optical correcting element that is arranged on an optical path of the light-emitting surface of the display unit ([0006] teaches: display unit that may adjust optical path; Examiner notes that the optical element is inserted into a windshield or attached to the windshield in form of a film; therefore considered stationary), wherein different portions of the optical correcting element have different optical powers ([0095] teaches: Fresnel lens, may have a plurality of lens units; [0051] teaches: plurality of lenses including a Fresnel lens; Examiner notes that different portions of the lenses and the Fresnel lens are considered to have different optical powers).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Kewon and provide a system further comprising an optical correcting element that is arranged on an optical path of the light-emitting surface of the display unit, wherein different portions of the optical correcting element have different optical powers. Doing so would allow for better resolution, and aberration correction, thereby improving the overall performance of the optical system.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Kim discloses the method of claim 8.
Kim fails to disclose a method wherein an optical element is employed to direct the light emanating from the light-emitting surface of the display unit towards the optical combiner. Kim and Kweon are related because both disclose optical systems.
Kweon teaches a system further comprising an optical element that is employed to direct the light emanating from the light-emitting surface of the display unit towards the optical combiner (Figure 1 depicts: 21, flat mirror, that directs light from 1, image generation device to 3 windshield, the optical combiner).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Kewon and provide a system further comprising an optical element that is employed to direct the light emanating from the light-emitting surface of the display unit towards the optical combiner. Doing so would allow for better resolution, and aberration correction, thereby improving the overall performance of the optical system.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Kim discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the optical correcting element comprises a Fresnel film having physical grooves that produce the different optical powers (Kweon: [0095] teaches: Fresnel lens, may have a plurality of lens units; [0051] teaches: plurality of lenses including a Fresnel lens; Examiner notes that different portions of the lenses and the Fresnel lens are considered to have different optical powers and the physical Fresnel grooves provide the different optical powers; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 1, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20150092989, of record,) in view of Kweon et al. (US 2025/0298242, of record), as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, in view of Pala et al. (US 2019/0031027, of record).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Kim discloses the system of claim 1, wherein a reflective surface of the optical combiner is curved (Figures 4 and 11 depict: W, windshield; Examiner notes that a windshield is curved).
Kim fails to disclose a system wherein the display image is generated further based on a curvature of the reflective surface of the optical combiner. Kim and Pala are related because both disclose optical systems.
Pala teaches a system wherein the display image is generated further based on a curvature of the reflective surface of the optical combiner ([0025] teaches: the image modification module can change the RGB of the image based on the curvature of the windshield).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Pala and provide a system wherein the display image is generated further based on a curvature of the reflective surface of the optical combiner. Doing so would allow for the image displayed to not be distorted (Pala: 0025), thereby improving the overall functionality and performance of the optical system.
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the method of claim 8.
Kim fails to disclose a method wherein a reflective surface of the optical combiner is curved, wherein the display image is generated further based on a curvature of the reflective surface of the optical combiner. Kim and Pala are related because both disclose optical systems.
Pala teaches a method wherein the display image is generated further based on a curvature of the reflective surface of the optical combiner ([0025] teaches: the image modification module can change the RGB of the image based on the curvature of the windshield).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Pala and provide a method wherein the display image is generated further based on a curvature of the reflective surface of the optical combiner. Doing so would allow for the image displayed to not be distorted (Pala: 0025), thereby improving the overall functionality and performance of the optical system.
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20150092989, of record,) in view of Kweon et al. (US 2025/0298242, of record), as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, in view of Karafin et al. (US 2020/0290513, of record).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Kim discloses the system of claim 1.
Kim fails to disclose a system wherein the display unit comprises a plurality of sub-display units that are arranged in a tiled manner, the light-emitting surface of the display unit being formed by respective light-emitting surfaces of the plurality of sub-display units. Kim and Karafin are related because both disclose optical systems.
Karafin teaches a system wherein the display unit comprises a plurality of sub-display units that are arranged in a tiled manner, the light-emitting surface of the display unit being formed by respective light-emitting surfaces of the plurality of sub-display units ([0002] teaches: the present disclosure related to light field display systems for vehicular augmentation; Examiner notes that a light field display is a display unit comprised of sub-display units that are arranged in a tiled manner).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Karafin and provide a system wherein the display unit comprises a plurality of sub-display units that are arranged in a tiled manner, the light-emitting surface of the display unit being formed by respective light-emitting surfaces of the plurality of sub-display units. Doing so would allow for better angular resolution and systematic characterization and optimization, thereby improving the overall quality and efficiency of the optical system.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Kim discloses the method of claim 8.
Kim fails to disclose a method wherein the display unit comprises a plurality of sub-display units that are arranged in a tiled manner, the light-emitting surface of the display unit being formed by respective light-emitting surfaces of the plurality of sub-display units. Kim and Karafin are related because both disclose optical systems.
Karafin teaches a method wherein the display unit comprises a plurality of sub-display units that are arranged in a tiled manner, the light-emitting surface of the display unit being formed by respective light-emitting surfaces of the plurality of sub-display units ([0002] teaches: the present disclosure related to light field display systems for vehicular augmentation; Examiner notes that a light field display is a display unit comprised of sub-display units that are arranged in a tiled manner).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Karafin and provide a method wherein the display unit comprises a plurality of sub-display units that are arranged in a tiled manner, the light-emitting surface of the display unit being formed by respective light-emitting surfaces of the plurality of sub-display units. Doing so would allow for better angular resolution and systematic characterization and optimization, thereby improving the overall quality and efficiency of the optical system.
Claims 6-7 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20150092989, of record,) in view of Kweon et al. (US 2025/0298242, of record), as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, in view of Karafin et al. (US 2020/0290513, of record) in view of Kasazumi et al. (US 10,182,221, of record)
Regarding claim 6, the modified Kim discloses the system of claim 1.
Kim fails to disclose a system wherein the display unit is a light field display unit, the display image being a light field image. and wherein a first set of pixels and a second set of pixels of the light field image are generated based on a relative location of a first eye and of a second eye of the at least one user with respect to the optical combiner, respectively, wherein the optical combiner is employed to reflect a first part and a second part of the synthetic light field towards the first eye and the second eye of the at least one user, respectively, whilst optically combining the first part and the second part of the synthetic light field with the real-world light. Kim and Karafin are related because both disclose optical systems.
Karafin teaches a system wherein the display unit is a light field display unit, the display image being a light field image ([0002] teaches: the present disclosure related to light field display systems for vehicular augmentation) the light emanating from the light-emitting surface being a synthetic light field (Examiner notes that Karafin teaches a synthetic light field).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Karafin and provide a system wherein the display unit is a light field display unit, the display image being a light field image the light emanating from the light-emitting surface being a synthetic light field. Doing so would allow for better resolution and systematic characterization and optimization, thereby improving the overall quality and efficiency of the optical system.
Kim fails to disclose a system wherein a first set of pixels and a second set of pixels of the light field image are generated based on a relative location of a first eye and of a second eye of the at least one user with respect to the optical combiner, respectively, wherein the optical combiner is employed to reflect a first part and a second part of the synthetic light field towards the first eye and the second eye of the at least one user, respectively, whilst optically combining the first part and the second part of the synthetic light field with the real-world light. Kim and Kasazumi are related because both disclose optical systems.
Kasazumi teaches a system wherein a first set of pixels and a second set of pixels of the light field image are generated based on a relative location of a first eye and of a second eye of the at least one user with respect to the optical combiner (Col. 3, lines 38-55 teach: pixel row of image for left and right eye, to the surface of the windshield), respectively, wherein the optical combiner is employed to reflect a first part and a second part of the synthetic light field towards the first eye and the second eye of the at least one user, respectively (Col. 3, lines 38-55 teach: image for left and right eye), whilst optically combining the first part and the second part of the synthetic light field (Col. 3, lines 38-55 teach: three-dimensional display, therefore considered analogous to the synthetic light field) with the real-world light (Figure 1A depicts: combining light of display and real world light through windshield, the optical combiner and viewed by the user).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Kasazumi and provide a system wherein a first set of pixels and a second set of pixels of the light field image are generated based on a relative location of a first eye and of a second eye of the at least one user with respect to the optical combiner, respectively, wherein the optical combiner is employed to reflect a first part and a second part of the synthetic light field towards the first eye and the second eye of the at least one user, respectively, whilst optically combining the first part and the second part of the synthetic light field with the real-world light. Doing so would allow for better resolution, systematic characterization and optimization, thereby improving the overall quality and efficiency of the optical system.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Kim discloses the system of claim 1.
Kim fails to disclose a system wherein the light-emitting surface of the display unit comprises a plurality of photo-emitting cells, wherein, when generating the display image, the at least one processor is configured to apply a distortion correction by: (i) calculating an incoming direction vector for a given photo-emitting cell of the display unit, based on a curvature of a portion of the light-emitting surface where the given photo-emitting cell is located, the relative location of the optical combiner with respect to the display unit, a relative location of a given eye of a given user with respect to the optical combiner, wherein the incoming direction vector represents a direction along which light emanating from the given photo-emitting cell travels after being reflected by the optical combiner ; (ii) determining a pixel location in a virtual image that is presented to the user upon display of the display image, based on the incoming direction vector; (iii) fetching, from an input image, a value of a given pixel that is located at the determined pixel location in the input image; and (iv) using the fetched value of the given pixel of the input image as a value of a corresponding pixel of the display image, wherein the corresponding pixel of the display image is located based on a location of the given photo-emitting cell in the light-emitting surface. Kim and Kasazumi are related because both disclose optical systems.
Kasazumi teaches a system wherein the light-emitting surface of the display unit comprises a plurality of photo-emitting cells (Col. 3, lines 43-55 teach: 110, display having pixels, therefore considered photo-emitting cells), wherein, when generating the display image (in at least abstract teaches: display image), the at least one processor is configured to apply a distortion correction by: (i) calculating an incoming direction vector for a given photo-emitting cell of the display unit (Col. 5, lines 7-30 teach: x,y,z left and right eye coordinates; Examiner notes that determining the reflection region and applying coordinate corrections based on viewpoint coordinates necessarily requires determining a direction and magnitude along which light travels from the display pixel to the eye via the windshield), based on a curvature of a portion of the light-emitting surface where the given photo-emitting cell is located (Col. 5, lines 7-30 teach: correction patterns for each sample point are created according to distortion with respect to 201, windshield glass), the relative location of the optical combiner with respect to the display unit (Examiner notes that the windshield glass functions as the optical combiner and correction patterns are created relative to the curve of the windshield and the location of the windshield with respect to the display unit), a relative location of a given eye of a given user with respect to the optical combiner (Col. 5, lines 7-30 teach: x,y,z left and right eye coordinates and applying correction amount to coordinates), wherein the incoming direction vector represents a direction along which light emanating from the given photo-emitting cell travels after being reflected by the optical combiner (Col. 5, lines 7-30 teach: x,y,z left and right eye coordinates and corrections, patterned onto the left and right eyes; Examiner notes that because the reflection region is determined based on viewpoint coordinates and windshield curvature, the correction pattern necessarily corresponds to the direction of the reflected light traveling from the display pixel to the users eye); (ii) determining a pixel location in a virtual image that is presented to the user upon display of the display image, based on the incoming direction vector (Col. 5, lines 7-30 teach: x,y,z left and right eye coordinates and applying correction amount to coordinates to display an image to the user, see Figure 1A); (iii) fetching, from an input image, a value of a given pixel that is located at the determined pixel location in the input image (Col. 5, lines 31-53 teach: pattern corrector of left and right eye coordinates to create corrected pattern, store and display image to user); and (iv) using the fetched value of the given pixel of the input image as a value of a corresponding pixel of the display image (Col. 4, lines 56-60 teach: 32, display image, created from corrector to display to right and left eye and reflected from windshield as virtual image), wherein the corresponding pixel of the display image is located based on a location of the given photo-emitting cell in the light-emitting surface (Figure 1A depicts: display image located on windshield, based on location of light emitting surface of display pixels).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Kasazumi and provide a system wherein the light-emitting surface of the display unit comprises a plurality of photo-emitting cells, wherein, when generating the display image, the at least one processor is configured to apply a distortion correction by: (i) calculating an incoming direction vector for a given photo-emitting cell of the display unit, based on a curvature of a portion of the light-emitting surface where the given photo-emitting cell is located, the relative location of the optical combiner with respect to the display unit, a relative location of a given eye of a given user with respect to the optical combiner, wherein the incoming direction vector represents a direction along which light emanating from the given photo-emitting cell travels after being reflected by the optical combiner ; (ii) determining a pixel location in a virtual image that is presented to the user upon display of the display image, based on the incoming direction vector; (iii) fetching, from an input image, a value of a given pixel that is located at the determined pixel location in the input image; and (iv) using the fetched value of the given pixel of the input image as a value of a corresponding pixel of the display image, wherein the corresponding pixel of the display image is located based on a location of the given photo-emitting cell in the light-emitting surface. Doing so would allow for better resolution, systematic characterization and optimization, thereby improving the overall quality and efficiency of the optical system.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Kim discloses the method of claim 8.
Kim fails to disclose a method wherein the display unit is a light field display unit, the display image being a light field image, wherein a first set of pixels and a second set of pixels of the light field image are generated based on a relative location of a first eye and of a second eye of the at least one user with respect to the optical combiner, respectively, the light emanating from the light-emitting surface being a synthetic light field, wherein the optical combiner is employed to reflect a first part and a second part of the synthetic light field towards the first eye and the second eye of the at least one user, respectively, whilst optically combining the first part and the second part of the synthetic light field with the real-world light. Kim and Karafin are related because both disclose optical systems.
Karafin teaches a method wherein the display unit is a light field display unit, the display image being a light field image ([0002] teaches: the present disclosure related to light field display systems for vehicular augmentation) the light emanating from the light-emitting surface being a synthetic light field (Examiner notes that Karafin teaches a synthetic light field).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Karafin and provide a system wherein the display unit is a light field display unit, the display image being a light field image the light emanating from the light-emitting surface being a synthetic light field. Doing so would allow for better resolution and systematic characterization and optimization, thereby improving the overall quality and efficiency of the optical system.
Kim fails to disclose a method wherein a first set of pixels and a second set of pixels of the light field image are generated based on a relative location of a first eye and of a second eye of the at least one user with respect to the optical combiner, respectively, wherein the optical combiner is employed to reflect a first part and a second part of the synthetic light field towards the first eye and the second eye of the at least one user, respectively, whilst optically combining the first part and the second part of the synthetic light field with the real-world light. Kim and Kasazumi are related because both disclose optical systems.
Kasazumi teaches a method wherein a first set of pixels and a second set of pixels of the light field image are generated based on a relative location of a first eye and of a second eye of the at least one user with respect to the optical combiner (Col. 3, lines 38-55 teach: pixel row of image for left and right eye, to the surface of the windshield), respectively, wherein the optical combiner is employed to reflect a first part and a second part of the synthetic light field towards the first eye and the second eye of the at least one user, respectively (Col. 3, lines 38-55 teach: image for left and right eye), whilst optically combining the first part and the second part of the synthetic light field (Col. 3, lines 38-55 teach: three-dimensional display, therefore considered analogous to the synthetic light field) with the real-world light (Figure 1A depicts: combining light of display and real world light through windshield, the optical combiner and viewed by the user).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Kasazumi and provide a system wherein a first set of pixels and a second set of pixels of the light field image are generated based on a relative location of a first eye and of a second eye of the at least one user with respect to the optical combiner, respectively, wherein the optical combiner is employed to reflect a first part and a second part of the synthetic light field towards the first eye and the second eye of the at least one user, respectively, whilst optically combining the first part and the second part of the synthetic light field with the real-world light. Doing so would allow for better resolution, systematic characterization and optimization, thereby improving the overall quality and efficiency of the optical system.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Kim discloses the method of claim 8.
Kim fails to disclose a method wherein the light-emitting surface of the display unit comprises a plurality of photo-emitting cells, wherein the step of generating the display image comprises applying a distortion correction by: (i) calculating an incoming direction vector for a given photo-emitting cell of the display unit, based on a curvature of a portion of the light-emitting surface where the given photo-emitting cell is located, the relative location of the optical combiner with respect to the display unit, a relative location of a given eye of a given user with respect to the optical combiner, wherein the incoming direction vector represents a direction along which light emanating from the given photo-emitting cell travels after being reflected by the optical combiner; (ii) determining a pixel location in a virtual image that is presented to the user upon display of the display image, based on the incoming direction vector; (iii) fetching, from an input image, a value of a given pixel that is located at the determined pixel location in the input image; and (iv) using the fetched value of the given pixel of the input image as a value of a corresponding pixel of the display image, wherein the corresponding pixel of the display image is located based on a location of the given photo-emitting cell in the light-emitting surface. Kim and Kasazumi are related because both disclose optical systems.
Kasazumi teaches a method wherein the light-emitting surface of the display unit comprises a plurality of photo-emitting cells (Col. 3, lines 43-55 teach: 110, display having pixels, therefore considered photo-emitting cells), wherein, when generating the display image (in at least abstract teaches: display image), the at least one processor is configured to apply a distortion correction by: (i) calculating an incoming direction vector for a given photo-emitting cell of the display unit (Col. 5, lines 7-30 teach: x,y,z left and right eye coordinates; Examiner notes that determining the reflection region and applying coordinate corrections based on viewpoint coordinates necessarily requires determining a direction and magnitude along which light travels from the display pixel to the eye via the windshield), based on a curvature of a portion of the light-emitting surface where the given photo-emitting cell is located (Col. 5, lines 7-30 teach: correction patterns for each sample point are created according to distortion with respect to 201, windshield glass), the relative location of the optical combiner with respect to the display unit (Examiner notes that the windshield glass functions as the optical combiner and correction patterns are created relative to the curve of the windshield and the location of the windshield with respect to the display unit), a relative location of a given eye of a given user with respect to the optical combiner (Col. 5, lines 7-30 teach: x,y,z left and right eye coordinates and applying correction amount to coordinates), wherein the incoming direction vector represents a direction along which light emanating from the given photo-emitting cell travels after being reflected by the optical combiner (Col. 5, lines 7-30 teach: x,y,z left and right eye coordinates and corrections, patterned onto the left and right eyes; Examiner notes that because the reflection region is determined based on viewpoint coordinates and windshield curvature, the correction pattern necessarily corresponds to the direction of the reflected light traveling from the display pixel to the users eye); (ii) determining a pixel location in a virtual image that is presented to the user upon display of the display image, based on the incoming direction vector (Col. 5, lines 7-30 teach: x,y,z left and right eye coordinates and applying correction amount to coordinates to display an image to the user, see Figure 1A); (iii) fetching, from an input image, a value of a given pixel that is located at the determined pixel location in the input image (Col. 5, lines 31-53 teach: pattern corrector of left and right eye coordinates to create corrected pattern, store and display image to user); and (iv) using the fetched value of the given pixel of the input image as a value of a corresponding pixel of the display image (Col. 4, lines 56-60 teach: 32, display image, created from corrector to display to right and left eye and reflected from windshield as virtual image), wherein the corresponding pixel of the display image is located based on a location of the given photo-emitting cell in the light-emitting surface (Figure 1A depicts: display image located on windshield, based on location of light emitting surface of display pixels).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Kasazumi and provide a method wherein the light-emitting surface of the display unit comprises a plurality of photo-emitting cells, wherein, when generating the display image, the at least one processor is configured to apply a distortion correction by: (i) calculating an incoming direction vector for a given photo-emitting cell of the display unit, based on a curvature of a portion of the light-emitting surface where the given photo-emitting cell is located, the relative location of the optical combiner with respect to the display unit, a relative location of a given eye of a given user with respect to the optical combiner, wherein the incoming direction vector represents a direction along which light emanating from the given photo-emitting cell travels after being reflected by the optical combiner ; (ii) determining a pixel location in a virtual image that is presented to the user upon display of the display image, based on the incoming direction vector; (iii) fetching, from an input image, a value of a given pixel that is located at the determined pixel location in the input image; and (iv) using the fetched value of the given pixel of the input image as a value of a corresponding pixel of the display image, wherein the corresponding pixel of the display image is located based on a location of the given photo-emitting cell in the light-emitting surface. Doing so would allow for better resolution, systematic characterization and optimization, thereby improving the overall quality and efficiency of the optical system.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20150092989, of record,) in view of Kweon et al. (US 2025/0298242, of record), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Morejon et al. (US 2009/0115970).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Kim discloses the system of claim 1.
Kim fails to disclose a system wherein the optical correcting element is disposed on top of the display unit. Kim and Morejon are related because both disclose optical systems.
Morejon teaches a system wherein the optical correcting element is disposed on top of the display unit (claim 1 teaches: first collimation optic plate disposed over the first side of the emissive micro-display panel).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Morejon and provide a system wherein the optical correcting element is disposed on top of the display unit. Doing so would allow for light to be collimated more efficiently directly into the HUD projection optics, thereby improving optical efficiency and image brightness.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20150092989, of record,) in view of Kweon et al. (US 2025/0298242, of record), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Usukura (US 2010/0039583).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Kim discloses the system of claim 1.
Kim fails to disclose a system wherein the optical correcting element is disposed beneath an outermost protective layer of the display unit. Kim and Usukura are related because both disclose optical systems.
Usukura teaches a system wherein the optical correcting element is disposed beneath an outermost protective layer of the display unit (Figure 1 depicts: 14, microlens array, 35 protection layer; [0080] teaches: 23, optical film is on light incident side of 35, protection layer; therefore 14, microlens array is functionally disposed beneath 35, protection layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Usukura and provide a system wherein the optical correcting element is disposed beneath an outermost protective layer of the display unit. Doing so would allow for the optical correcting element to be protected from damage, peeling, and deformation while maintaining optical correction of the display light, thereby improving durability and image quality of the display unit.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20150092989, of record,) in view of Kweon et al. (US 2025/0298242, of record), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Galstian et al. (US 2012/0127380).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Kim discloses the system of claim 1.
Kim fails to disclose a device wherein the optical correcting element comprises a liquid crystal device, and wherein orientation of liquid crystal molecules in different portions of the liquid crystal device are controlled to adjust the optical powers of the different portions. Kim and Galstian are related because both disclose optical systems.
Galstain teaches a device wherein the optical correcting element comprises a liquid crystal device, and wherein orientation of liquid crystal molecules in different portions of the liquid crystal device are controlled to adjust the optical powers of the different portions ([0006] teaches: a tunable lens system that combines a liquid crystal layer having an electric field source with one or more fixed lenses. The electric field source provides a variable, spatially non-uniform electric field across the liquid crystal layer to provide a tunable range of optical power; [0023] teaches: the corresponding electric field causes a spatially variable change in the molecular orientation of certain portions of the crystal, accompanied by a spatially varying index of refraction, and a resulting shift in the focal point of the lens).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Galstain and provide a device wherein the optical correcting element comprises a liquid crystal device, and wherein orientation of liquid crystal molecules in different portions of the liquid crystal device are controlled to adjust the optical powers of the different portions. Doing so would allow non mechanical electrically controlled adjustment of optical power for focus/aberration correction, thereby improving optical correction of the HUD image.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to John Sipes whose telephone number is (703)756-1372. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 4:30 -10/12-6:30 (CT).
John Sipes
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872