Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 12 - 15 be found allowable, claims 1 - 3 and 5 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 4 and 12 - 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadav et al (US 2022/0325052).
With regards to claims 1 – 3 and 12 - 14, Yadav teaches a solvent composition for bonding components (Abstract) that comprises tetrahydrofuran (THF) and methyl ethyl ketone (MEK) (paragraph 35). While Yadav does not explicitly state that the solvent comprises a first solvent comprising at least one solvent having a swelling ratio of 60% or more and a second solvent comprising a solvent having a swelling ratio of less than 60%, since the solvents described are the same solvents claimed, one of ordinary skills in the art would appreciate that THF and MEK would meet the required swelling ratios as claimed.
With regards to claim 4, the teachings of Yadav are presented above. Additionally, Yadav states that the bonding solvent solution comprises between 2% and 98% by volume of MEK and THF (paragraph 35). While Yadav does not explicitly state that the solvent composition comprises 70 to 95% of volume of MEK and 5 to 30% by volume of THF, since the claimed ranges overlap the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists as stated in section 2144.05 of the MPEP and as per n re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
Claim(s) 5 - 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al (US 2021/0318512) and Yadav et al (US 2022/0325052).
With regards to claims 5, 6 – 8 and 15, Tanaka discloses a camera module (Abstract) comprising:
A plurality of lenses (Figure 1 items 120 and 220)
A lens barrel in which an accommodation space for accommodating the plurality of lenses is formed (Figure 1 items 110 and 210)
A press-fit ring bonded to the lens barrel by a solvent composition (Figure 3 item 214, paragraph 66)
Tanaka fails to explicitly disclose the composition of the solvent.
Yadav teaches a solvent composition for bonding components (Abstract), in the same field of endeavor as Tanaka, that comprises tetrahydrofuran (THF) and methyl ethyl ketone (MEK) (paragraph 35). While Yadav does not explicitly state that the solvent comprises a first solvent comprising at least one solvent having a swelling ratio of 60% or more and a second solvent comprising a solvent having a swelling ratio of less than 60%, since the solvents described are the same solvents claimed, one of ordinary skills in the art would appreciate that THF and MEK would meet the required swelling ratios as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Yadav’s solvent composition in Tanaka’s camera module. The rationale being that, as stated by Yadav, it provides a safer and more effective solvent and solvent mixtures for solvent bonding applications (paragraph 16).
With regards to claim 9, the teachings of Tanaka and Yadav are presented above. Additionally, Yadav states that the bonding solvent solution comprises between 2% and 98% by volume of MEK and THF (paragraph 35). While Yadav does not explicitly state that the solvent composition comprises 70 to 95% of volume of MEK and 5 to 30% by volume of THF, since the claimed ranges overlap the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists as stated in section 2144.05 of the MPEP and as per n re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
With regards to claim 10, the teachings of Tanaka and Yadav are presented above. Additionally, Tanaka teaches that the plurality of lenses comprises a first lens group including a frontmost lens disposed most adjacently to an object (Figure 1 item 100) and a second lens group including a rearmost lens disposed adjacently to an image plane (Figure 1 item 200), and where the lens barrel comprises a first accommodation space for accommodating the first lens group and a second accommodation space for accommodating the second lens group (as seen in Figure 1 item 1000).
With regards to claim 11, the teachings of Tanaka and Yadav are presented above. Additionally, Tanaka teaches that the camera module further comprises a gap maintenance member disposed between the first lens group and the second lens group (as seen in Figure 1 item 300).
Conclusion
/JOSHEL RIVERA/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746