Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18/630,166 (reference application).
Regarding claim 1, claim 5 of ‘166 teaches A laser module comprising: a quantum cascade laser element having a stacked structure including an active layer and paired cladding layers arranged on both sides of the active layer, and a first end face and a second end face facing each other in a second direction orthogonal to a first direction as a stacking direction of the stacked structure, the quantum cascade laser element being configured to emit light from each of the first end face and the second end face; a diffraction grating portion configured to diffract and reflect first light emitted from the first end face and return second light as a part of the first light to the first end face; a first lens member configured to be disposed between the first end face and the diffraction grating portion and allow the first light and the second light to pass therethrough; and a support member configured to support the first lens member, wherein the first lens member includes a first portion configured to constitute a collimator lens collimating the first light, and a second portion configured to be connected to the first portion at an outer edge portion of the first portion when viewed from the second direction and not to constitute the collimator lens. The application’s “optical member” is met by the reference’s “first lens member”. Claim 5 of ‘166 anticipates all the limitations of the application’s claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 of ‘166 teaches the laser module above, and where the second portion is directly supported by the support member, and the first portion is not directly supported by the support member. Claim 5 of ‘166 anticipates all the limitations of the application’s claim 5.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18/630,166 in view of Day et al. (US 2007/0030865). Claim 5 of ‘166, teaches the laser module above, but does not teach that a surface of the optical member facing the QCL element is not supported by the support member. Day does teach that a surface of the optical member facing the QCL element is not supported by the support member (Fig. 9A, mount #44 provides no direct support of the surface of lens #42 facing the QCL). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to adapt claim 5 of ‘166 to have this lack of connection between the optical member and the support, as shown in Day, so that all light passing through this surface would be unobstructed by the support member.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of copending Application No. 18/630,166 in view of Day et al. (US 2007/0030865). Claim 4 of ‘166 teaches a laser module comprising: a quantum cascade laser element having a stacked structure including an active layer and paired cladding layers arranged on both sides of the active layer, and a first end face and a second end face facing each other in a second direction orthogonal to a first direction as a stacking direction of the stacked structure, the quantum cascade laser element being configured to emit light from each of the first end face and the second end face; a diffraction grating portion configured to diffract and reflect first light emitted from the first end face and return second light as a part of the first light to the first end face; a first lens member configured to be disposed between the first end face and the diffraction grating portion and allow the first light and the second light to pass therethrough; a support member configured to support the first lens member, wherein a surface of the first lens member facing the quantum cascade laser element is not supported by the support member; and wherein the support member includes a first hole configured to be open to a side of the diffraction grating portion, a second hole configured to include the first hole, be larger than the first hole, and be open to a side of the quantum cascade laser element when viewed from the second direction, and a counterbore surface configured to connect the first hole and the second hole and extend along a plane intersecting the second direction, the first lens member is inserted into the second hole, and at least a part of the first lens member facing the diffraction grating portion is supported in surface contact with the counterbore surface.
The application’s “optical member” is met by the reference’s “first lens member” and “at least part of the second portion facing the diffraction grating” is met with the reference’s “at least part of the first lens member facing the diffraction grating”. Claim 4 of ‘166 does not teach wherein the optical member includes a first portion configured to constitute a collimator lens collimating the first light, and a second portion configured to be connected to an outer edge portion of the first portion when viewed from the second direction and not to constitute the collimator lens. Day teaches wherein the optical member includes a first portion configured to constitute a collimator lens (Fig. 7A, lens #42), and a second portion configured to be connected to an outer edge portion of the first portion and not to constitute the collimator lens (Fig. 7A, lens holder #45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to adapt claim 4 of ‘166 to have the optical member of Day in so that the light that lands on the diffraction grating is collimated, and the non-collimating edges ensure that the collimating part of the optical member is unobstructed by any support member that may interfere with the light path.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “a member different from” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “a member different from” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
“A member different from” has been interpreted to mean “a material different than” the first portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day et al. (US 2007/0030865) in view of Edamura et al. (US 2004/0161009).
With respect to claim 1, Day teaches a laser module comprising: a quantum cascade laser element (QCL) (Fig. 7A, #6a) having a stacked structure including an active layer (Paragraph [0007], Paragraph [0009], for purposes of the present invention, the QCL can refer to the Type I Cascade Laser with stacked conduction band quantum well regions as the active region), and a first end face (Fig. 10, #6a, right side) and a second end face (Fig. 10, #6a, left side) facing each other in a second direction orthogonal to a first direction as a stacking direction of the stacked structure (Fig. 7A, the second direction is left/right through the axis shown in Fig. 7A, the first direction is up/down in Fig. 7A), the QCL being configured to emit light from each of the first end face (Paragraph [0082], Fig. 10, #6a,) and the second end face (Paragraph [0082], Fig. 10, #6a,); a diffraction grating portion (Fig. 7A #46) configured to diffract and reflect first light emitted from the first end face and return second light as a part of the first light to the first end face (Paragraph [0037], Paragraph [0083]); an optical member configured to be disposed between the first end face and the diffraction grating portion (Fig. 7A, lens #42 lens holder #45) and allow the first light and the second light to pass therethrough (Paragraph [0037], Paragraph [0083]); and a support member configured to support the optical member (Fig. 7A, support #44), wherein the optical member includes a first portion configured to constitute a collimator lens collimating the first light (Fig. 7A, lens #42), and a second portion configured to be connected to an outer edge portion of the first portion when viewed from the second direction and not to constitute the collimator lens (Fig. 7A, lens holder #45). Day does not teach the QCL having paired cladding layers arranged on both sides of the active layer. Edamura teaches a related QCL device having paired cladding layers arranged on both sides of an active layer (Fig. 11, paired cladding layers #81/85, active layer #83, Paragraph [0136]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to adapt the module of Day based on the teachings of Edamura to include two cladding layers around an active layer to reduce waveguide loss of generated light.
With respect to claim 2, Day teaches a laser module comprising: a QCL (Fig. 7A, #6a) having a stacked structure including an active layer (Paragraph [0007], Paragraph [0009], for purposes of the present invention, the QCL can refer to the Type I Cascade Laser with stacked conduction band quantum well regions as the active region), and a first end face (Fig. 10, #6a, right side) and a second end face (Fig. 10, #6a, left side) facing each other in a second direction orthogonal to a first direction as a stacking direction of the stacked structure (Fig. 7A, the second direction is left/right through the axis shown in Fig. 7A, the first direction is up/down in Fig. 7A), the QCL being configured to emit light from each of the first end face (Paragraph [0082], Fig. 10, #6a,) and the second end face (Paragraph [0082], Fig. 10, #6a,); a diffraction grating portion (Fig. 7A #46) configured to diffract and reflect first light emitted from the first end face and return second light as a part of the first light to the first end face (Paragraph [0037], Paragraph [0083]); an optical member configured to be disposed between the first end face and the diffraction grating portion (Fig. 7A, lens #42 lens holder #45) and allow the first light and the second light to pass therethrough (Paragraph [0037], Paragraph [0083]); and a support member configured to support the optical member (Fig. 7A, support #44), wherein the optical member includes a first portion configured to include a first surface facing the diffraction grating portion (Fig. 9A, see attached figure below) and a second surface facing the quantum cascade laser element (Fig. 9A, see attached figure below), and to cause at least the first surface to be formed in a curved surface shape convex toward the diffraction grating portion (Fig. 9A, lens #42), and a second portion configured to include a third surface connected to an outer edge portion of the first portion and having a planar portion when viewed from the second direction (Fig. 9A, see attached figure below), and a fourth surface connected to an outer edge portion of the second surface and having a planar portion when viewed from the second direction (Fig. 9A, see attached figure below).
With respect to claim 3, Day, as modified, teaches a boundary portion between the first portion and the second portion on a side of the optical member on which the diffraction grating portion is located, a curved surface portion included in the first portion and a planar portion included in the second portion are connected to each other (Fig. 9A, see attached figure below).
With respect to claim 4, Day, as modified, teaches that the second portion surrounds the first portion when viewed from the second direction (Fig. 7A, lens holder #45 surrounds the lens #42).
With respect to claim 5, Day, as modified, teaches that the second portion is directly supported by the support member (Fig. 7A, lens holder #45 is directly supported by mount #44), and the first portion is not directly supported by the support member (Fig. 7A, lens #42 is not directly supported by mount #44).
With respect to claim 6, Day, as modified, teaches that the optical member is formed of chalcogenide (Paragraph [0024], Paragraph [0077], lens #42 may compromise materials selected from the group of Ge, ZnSe, ZnS Si, CaF, BaF or chalcogenide glass).
With respect to claim 7, Day, as modified, teaches a surface of the optical member facing the quantum cascade laser element is not supported by the support member (Fig. 9A, mount #44 provides no direct support of the surface of lens #42 facing the QCL).
With respect to claim 9, Day, as modified, teaches the second portion is made of a material different than the first portion (Fig. 9A has the shading of lens #42 differ from lens holder #45, Paragraph [0024] and [0077] lists possible materials to make up lens #42, the text is not contrary to the figure leading to the conclusion that the materials of these elements are different.)
With respect to claim 10, Day, as modified, teaches an area of the second portion is larger than an area of the first portion when viewed from the second direction (Fig. 7A, lens holder #45 occupies a larger total area than lens #42).
With respect to claim 11, Day, as modified, teaches the optical member is disposed so as to cause, when the first light passes through a first surface of the first portion facing the diffraction grating portion, all of a beam width region of the first light to fall within the first surface (Day, Fig. 10). Day does not teach that the beam width region of the first light is a region between two points at which intensity of the first light is 1/e2 of peak intensity in the first direction. Edamura teaches a QCL that returns light with an intensity profile of a Gaussian type distribution (Edamura, Fig. 13 shows the light intensity distribution of Fig. 11). The beam width of the light from this Gaussian distribution can be said to be where the intensity is 1/e2 of its max intensity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have the light from a QCL have a beam width region between two points where the intensity of the light is 1/e2 of its peak, so that most of the total power of the first light falls within the width and therefore on the diffraction grating, resulting in more output of the laser module.
Claim(s) 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day and Edamura and further in view of Shi et al. (US 2023/0361096).
With respect to claim 8, Day, as modified, teaches the laser module above, but does not teach the support member having a first hole configured to be open to a side of the diffraction grating portion, a second hole configured to include the first hole, be larger than the first hole, and be open to a side of the quantum cascade laser element when viewed from the second direction, and a counterbore surface configured to connect the first hole and the second hole and extend along a plane intersecting the second direction, the optical member is inserted into the second hole, and at least a part of the second portion facing the diffraction grating portion is supported in surface contact with the counterbore surface. Shi teaches a support member (Fig. 2a, #214) with a first hole open to a side of
a diffraction grating portion (Fig. 2a, support #214, diffraction grating #216b, see attached figure below),
a second hole including the first hole (Fig. 2a, see attached figure below), and a counterbore surface
connecting the first and second hole (Fig. 2a, see attached figure below), where part of the optical
member is inserted in the second hole (Fig. 2a, lens #216a has a first portion for collimating and a second portion for support, see attached figure below) and part of the second portion facing the diffraction grating portion is supported in surface contact with the counterbore surface (Fig. 2a, see attached figure below, lens #216a has a non-collimating portion that provides a connection between the collimating part and the support #214 that has a similar function to the lens holder #45 in Day, lens #216a has part of the non-collimating portion that is facing the diffraction grating #216b in contact with the counterbore surface of support #214,). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to adapt the mount of Day to include two holes with a counterbore surface connecting the two holes, as shown in Shi, to provide a surface to hold the optical member. This structure would require less individual components to be manufactured compared to the mount of Day, and it would allow space between the lens and the laser for more optical elements.
With respect to claim 12, Day, as modified, does not teach an antireflection film that is formed on at least one of a surface facing the quantum cascade laser element or a surface facing the diffraction grating portion in the first portion and the second portion, and when viewed from the second direction, an outer edge portion of the antireflection film is located inside an outer edge portion of the second portion. Shi teaches that there may be an indium titanium oxide coating on the optical member #216a (Paragraph [0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to apply an anti-reflective coating to the optical member to reduce unwanted lasing between the QCL and the optical member and to apply the coating to both the first and second portion so that it would be easier to manufacture both portions at the same time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see the attached PTO-892 form for a list of related references.
Day et al. (20070019702) covers an optical member with a collimating center portion and a non collimating portion.
Sugiyama et al. (20230087419) covers a similar laser module with a QCL, diffraction grating unit, and two lenses.
Ochiai et al. (20230095425) covers a QCL element along with a lens holder containing two holes and a counterbore surface.
/LANA CHALEUNRATH-PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828