DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Request
The Office requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing and correcting any other remaining informalities present in the claims, but not made of record in the instant action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “heat conductive elements” and “heat guides” of claims 3 and 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 4 and 7; and Claim 15, line 6 [and other places] of the claim use the term “module” to refer to the power inverter without antecedent basis (claim 1m 3 and lines 7-8 and claim 15, lines 2-3 and 7 [and other place] omit “module”);
Claim 1, lines 6-7, “the respective one” relating to “the at least one power inverter module” lacks antecedent basis and should be “a respective one”;
Claim 1, line 7 and Claim15, line 6 , “the temperature” lacks antecedent basis and should be “a temperature”;
d. Claim 2, line 2 and Claim 16, line 2,”AC”should have antecedence to “AC” of claim 1, line 5 and claim 15, line 3, respectively;
e. Claim 2, line 2 and Claim 16, line 2,”AC”should have antecedence to “AC” of claim 1, line 2 and claim 15, line 3, respectively;
f. Claim 5, line 3, “heat” should be “a heat”;
g. Claim 6, line 6, the word “more” is missing before “TEC”;
h. Claim 6, line 6, “current” should be “a current”.
Claim 6, lines 6-7, “measured temperature” should be “a measured temperature”;
j. Claim 7, line 3 and Claim 8, line 2, “heat” should be “the heat” have antecedence in “heat” of claim 5, line 3?
Claim 11, line 2 requires “multiple batteries” and Claim 1, line 2 requires “at least one battery”. Does the “multiple batteries” of claim 11 include “at least one battery” of claim 1?
Claim 13, line 6, it is unclear if the “multiple rechargeable batteries” is the same “multiple batteries” of claim 11. It is the examiner’s position that these are the same batteries and should be “the multiple batteries”;
Claims 14, line 2; and Claim 20, line 4 , The phrase “at last oner” should be “at least one”;
Claim 15, line 3 of the claim uses the term “the respective at least one battery” when referring to “the at least one battery.” These terms are inconsistent. Did Applicant intend “a respective one of the at least one battery”?
Claim 15, Line 6 of the claim reading “the temperature” lacks antecedent basis;
Claim 17, line 3; and Claim 20, line 1, the phrase “controlling operation” should be “the controlling operation” having antecedence in claim 15, line 5;
Claim 18, line 5, “controllably transferring heat” should be “the controllably transferring heat” having antecedence in claim 17, line 4; and
Claim 18, line 6, “measured temperature” should be “a measured temperature.”
Claim 18, line 7 “inverter” should be “power inverter” or “power inverter module”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6, line 2 requires a "proximal substrate" and Claim 5, line 2 requires a "contact element". It is unclear if the "contact element" of claim 5 is the "proximal substrate" of claim 6, or if the "proximal substrate" is another layer attached to the contact element. It is the examiner's interpretation that these are the same layers. Similarly, the term “proximal substrate” is used in claim 18 and considered in a similar manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0248909 to Ito et al. in view of US 5,655,375 to Ju.
As to claim 1 Ito discloses, a power system (see e.g. Fig. 8) comprising: at least one battery (2) to supply direct current (DC) power ([0054]); at least one power inverter (1) electrically coupled to a respective one of the at least one battery (2), the at least one power inverter module configured to convert DC outputted by the at least one battery into alternating current (AC) supplied to one or more loads (Further, the inverter device 1 includes a plurality of switching elements 14 that convert electric power between DC power and AC power…[0054]). Ito fails to disclose at least one dedicated cooling unit physically coupled to at least a part of the respective one of the at least one power inverter module to control the temperature of the at least one power inverter. Ju teaches cooling unit (20/21/22) physically coupled to at least a part of heat generating component (12) to control the temperature of the heat generating device (12) in a similar application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cooling unit of Ito with a cooling unit as taught by Ju in order to vary the amount of cooing provided to the heat generating component as taught by Ju (col. 3, ln.14-17). The combination of Ito and Ju has the cooling unit of Ju controlling the temperature of Ito’s at least one power inverter.
As to claim 15, Ito discloses a method for operating a power system comprising: converting direct current (DC) provided by at least one battery (2), using at least one power inverter (1) electrically coupled to the respective at least one battery, into alternating current (AC) supplied to one or more loads (Further, the inverter device 1 includes a plurality of switching elements 14 that convert electric power between DC power and AC power…[0054]). Ito fails to disclose controlling operation of at least one dedicated cooling unit physically coupled to at least a part of a respective one of the at least one power inverter module to control the temperature of the at least one power inverter. Ju teaches cooling unit (20/21/22) physically coupled to at least a part of heat generating component (12) to control the temperature of the heat generating device (12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cooling unit of Ito with a cooling unit as taught by Ju in order to vary the amount of cooing provided to the heat generating component as taught by Ju (col. 3, ln.14-17). The combination of Ito and Ju has the cooling unit of Ju controlling the temperature of Ito’s at least one power inverter.
As to claim 2, modified Ito discloses the system of claim 1, Ito further teaches the at least one power inverter comprising: a power inversion circuit (7) to produce output AC from input DC supplied by the at least one battery; an inverter housing (5) in which the power inversion circuit is disposed; and a heat draining contact (11) (see Fig. 3) disposed on the inverter housing (see e.g. Fig.5) and being in thermal communication with the power inversion circuit so as to receive thermal energy produced by the power inversion circuit during operation. Ito fails to disclose wherein the at least one cooling unit is attached to the heat draining contact to control the temperature of the at least one power inverter. Ju teaches the at least one cooling unit (20/21/22) is attached to the heat draining contact to thermally control temperature of the at least one heat generating device (12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the heat draining contact of Ito with a cooling unit as taught by Ju in order to adjust the amount of cooing provided to the heat generating component as taught by Ju (col. 3, ln.14-17). The combination of Ito and Ju has the cooling unit of Ju controlling the temperature of Ito’s at least one power inverter.
As to claim 3, modified Ito discloses the system of claim 2, Ito further teaches the heat draining contact (11) (see Fig.3) comprises one or more heat conductive elements (11) inserted into complementary depressions in walls defining the inverter housing (5)(see e.g. Fig. 6 below with examiner annotations), the one or more heat conductive elements connected to one or more heat guides (13) delivering heat produced by the power inversion circuitry to the one or more heat conductive elements.
As to claims 5-9, modified Ito teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Ito fails to disclose wherein the at least one cooling unit comprises a solid-state heat pump with a contact element physically attached to a heated portion of the at least one power inverter, the solid-state heat pump causing, when in operation, transfer of heat from the contact element to another portion of the solid-state heat pump located remotely from the heated portion of the at least one power inverter (claim 5); wherein the solid state heat pump comprises: a proximal substrate attached to the heated portion of the at least one power inverter; a distal substrate opposite the proximal substrate; one or more thermoelectric coolers (TEC) disposed between the proximal substrate and the distal substrate; and a controller to control current flowing through the one or TEC based on measured temperature of the at least one power inverter (claim 6); wherein the controller configured to control the current is configured to increase the current flowing through the one or more TEC, in response to an increase of the measured temperature of the at least one power inverter, to transfer heat from the proximal substrate to the distal substrate (claim 7); an exhaust fan module to remove heat captured by the solid-state heat pump (claim 8); and wherein the at least one cooling unit comprises one or more of: a DC-operated air conditioning unit, a magnetocaloric-based cooling mechanism, or a an electrocaloric cooling mechanism (claim 9). Ju teaches a cooling unit (20/21/22) comprising a solid-state heat pump (Thermoelectric cooler 20 in fact being a solid state heat pump) with a contact element (21) physically attached to a heated portion of heat generating component (12), the solid-state heat pump causing, when in operation, transfer of heat from the contact element to another portion of the solid-state heat pump (22) located remotely from the heated portion of the heat generating element (claim 5); a solid state heat pump comprising: a proximal substrate (21) (Here 21 is mapped as both “contact element” and “proximate substrate.” This double inclusion is used because the “contact element” appears to be the “proximal substrate.” See MPEP 2173.05(o), see 35 USC 112b rejection above) attached to the heated portion of a heat generating device (12); a distal substrate (22) opposite the proximal substrate; one or more thermoelectric coolers (20) (TEC) disposed between the proximal substrate and the distal substrate; and a controller (33) to control current flowing through the one or more TEC based on measured temperature of the heat generating component (col. 3, ln.26-29) (claim 6); wherein the controller (33) configured to control the current is configured to increase the current flowing through the one or more TEC, in response to an increase of the measured temperature of the heat generating component (col. 3, ln.26-29), to transfer heat from the proximal substrate to the distal substrate (col. 3, ln.18-20) (claim 7); an exhaust fan module (15) to remove heat captured by the solid-state heat pump (claim 8); and wherein the at least one cooling unit comprises a electrocaloric-based cooling mechanism (Thermoelectric cooler 20) (claim 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the heating draining contact of Ito with a cooling unit as taught by Ju in order to adjust the amount of cooing provided to the heat generating component as taught by Ju (col. 3, ln.14-17).
As to claim 16, modified Ito discloses the method of claim 15. Ito further discloses wherein the at least one power inverter comprises: a power inversion circuit (7) to produce AC output from DC input supplied by the at least one battery; an inverter housing (5) in which the power inversion circuit is disposed; and a heat draining contact (11) (see Fig.3) disposed on the inverter housing and being in thermal communication with the power inversion circuit so as to receive thermal energy produced by the power inversion circuit during operation. Ito fails to disclose wherein at least one cooling unit is attached to the heat draining contact to thermally control temperature of the at least one power inverter. Ju teaches a cooling unit (20/21/22) for controlling a temperature of a heat generating device (12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the heat draining contact of Ito with a cooling unit as taught by Ju in order to adjust the amount of cooing provided to the heat generating component as taught by Ju (col. 3, ln.14-17).
As to claims 17 and 18, modified Ito discloses the method of claim 15. Ito fails to disclose wherein the at least one cooling unit comprises a solid-state heat pump with a contact element physically attached to a heated portion of the at least one power inverter, wherein controlling operation of at the least one dedicated cooling unit comprises: controllably transferring heat, based on the temperature of the at the least one power inverter, from the contact element to another portion of the solid-state heat pump located remotely from the heated portion of the at least one power inverter (claim 17); and the method of claim 17, wherein the solid state heat pump comprises a proximal substrate attached to the heated portion of the at least one power inverter, a distal substrate opposite the proximal substrate, and one or more thermoelectric coolers (TEC) disposed between the proximal substrate and the distal substrate; wherein controllably transferring heat comprises increasing current flowing through the one or more TEC, in response to an increase of the measured temperature of the at least one inverter, to cause the distal substrate to cool down so as to draw heat from the proximal substrate (claim 18). Ju teaches a cooling unit (20/21/22) comprising a solid-state heat pump (20) with a contact element (21) physically attached to a heated portion of a heat generating component (12), wherein controlling operation of the at least one dedicated cooling unit comprises: controllably transferring heat, based on the temperature of the heat generating component (via 33), from the contact element to another portion of the solid-state heat pump (15 via 22) located remotely from the heated portion of the heat generating device (claim 17); and the method of claim 17, wherein the solid state heat pump (20/21/22) comprises a proximal substrate (21) (Here 21 is mapped as both “contact element” and “proximate substrate.” This double inclusion is used because the “contact element” appears to be the “proximal substrate.” See MPEP 2173.05(o), see 35 USC 112b rejection above) attached to the heated portion of the at least one power inverter, a distal substrate (22) opposite the proximal substrate, and one or more thermoelectric coolers (TEC) (20) disposed between the proximal substrate and the distal substrate; wherein controllably transferring heat comprises increasing current flowing through the one or more TEC (via 33), in response to an increase of the measured temperature of the heat generating component (12), to cause the distal substrate to cool down so as to draw heat from the proximal substrate (claim 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the device of Ito with a cooling unit as taught by Ju in order to adjust the amount of cooing provided to the heat generating component as taught by Ju (col. 3, ln.14-17).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0248909 to Ito et al. in view of US 5,655,375 to Ju as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of US 2019/0029144 to Ye et al.
As to claim 4 modified Ito teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 including the one or more heat guides (13) (see Fig.3). Ito and Ju fail to disclose wherein comprise one or more of: heat conductive wiring, or tubing containing two-phase coolants. Ye teaches heat guides (2) comprising tubing (3) containing a two-phase coolant (5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the heat guides of Ito and Ju with the tubing system of Ye in order to more efficiently cool a heat generating component when the heat produced by the circuitry is extremely high ([0005]).
Claim(s) 1, 10-13 ,15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2015/0162865 to Cowham in view of US 5,655,375 to Ju.
As to claim 1, Cowham discloses a power system (2) comprising; at least one battery to supply direct current (DC) power ([0042] Battery usage therefore allows electrical storage of unused power generated by the PV array for times of increased usage and/or times of decreased solar activity); at least one power inverter electrically coupled to a respective one of the at least one battery, the at least one power inverter module configured to convert DC outputted by the at least one battery into alternating current (AC) supplied to one or more loads (These electrical components may include all necessary wiring, electrical connections, batteries for storage of electricity produced, inverter circuitry for conversion from direct current (DC) to alternating current (AC)… [0038]). Cowham fails to disclose at least one dedicated cooling unit physically coupled to at least a part of the respective one of the at least one power inverter module to control the temperature of the at least one power inverter. Ju teaches cooling unit (20/21/22) physically coupled to at least a part of heat generating component (12) to control the temperature of the heat generating device (12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cooling unit of Ito with a cooling unit as taught by Ju in order to vary the amount of cooing provided to the heat generating component as taught by Ju (col. 3, ln.14-17). The combination of Cowham and Ju has the cooling unit of Ju controlling the temperature of Ito’s at least one power inverter.
As to claim 15, Cowham discloses a method for operating a power system (2) comprising: converting direct current (DC) provided by at least one battery (Battery usage therefore allows electrical storage of unused power generated by the PV array for times of increased usage and/or times of decreased solar activity [0042] ), using at least one power inverter electrically coupled to the respective at least one battery into alternating current (AC) supplied to one or more loads (These electrical components may include all necessary wiring, electrical connections, batteries for storage of electricity produced, inverter circuitry for conversion from direct current (DC) to alternating current (AC)… [0038]). Cowham fails to disclose controlling operation of at least one dedicated cooling unit physically coupled to at least a part of a respective one of the at least one power inverter module to control the temperature of the at least one power inverter. Ju teaches cooling unit (20) physically coupled to at least a part of heat generating component (12) to control the temperature of the heat generating device (12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cooling unit of Ito with a cooling unit as taught by Ju in order to vary the amount of cooing provided to the heat generating component as taught by Ju (col. 3, ln.14-17). The combination of Cowham and Ju has the cooling unit of Ju controlling the temperature of Ito’s at least one power inverter.
As to claim 10, modified Cowham discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising: at least one solar panel (10a) to capture solar energy, and convert the solar energy to electrical energy stored in the at least one battery.
As to claim 11, modified Cowham discloses the system of claim 10, further comprising: a vehicle trailer (2) comprising multiple batteries (see e.g. Fig. 8 showing multiple battery storage spaces 70a-70f) that include the at least one battery, the vehicle trailer including a housing with a roof (1)(see e.g. Fig. 2B/2C), wherein the at least one solar panel (10a) is mounted proximate the roof of the vehicle trailer.
As to claim 13, modified Cowham discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the housing of the vehicle trailer is divided into multiple compartments that are thermally separated from one another, the multiple compartments including: an upper power inverter compartment (33) (With further regard to FIG. 3, it can be seen that control circuitry and related electronics may be located within a secure electrical closet 33 [0052]) within which the at least one power inverter and the at least one cooling unit are disposed; and a lower battery compartment (71a-71j) to house multiple rechargeable batteries so as to weigh down the vehicle trailer.
As to claim 19, modified Cowham discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: capturing solar energy using at least one solar panel (10a) coupled to the power system; and converting the solar energy to electrical energy stored in the at least one battery ([0042] Battery usage therefore allows electrical storage of unused power generated by the PV array for times of increased usage and/or times of decreased solar activity).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2015/0162865 to Cowham in view of US 5,655,375 to Ju further in view of US 10,727,778 to Carrington.
As to claim 12, Cowham in view of Ju disclose all of the limitations of claim 11 above. Modified
Cowham fails to disclose wherein the at least one solar panel is pivotally displaceable between a covered position in which the at least one solar panel encloses an opening of the housing, and a deployed position in which the at least one solar panel is deployed to expose the opening of the housing. Carrington teaches a solar panel (18) pivotally displaceable between a covered position (see Fig.2) in which the solar panel encloses an opening of the housing (10), and a deployed position (see Fig. 3) in which the at least one solar panel is deployed to expose the opening of the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the trailer of Cowham with a solar panel as taught by Carrington in order to maximize the surface area of the entire trailer by adding solar panels one the sides as well as the roof of the container.
Claim(s) 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0248909 to Ito et al. in view of US 5,655,375 to Ju further in view of US 2021/0278887 to Lee et al.
As to claim 14, Ito in view of Ju disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Modified Ito fails
to disclose wherein the at least one dedicated cooling unit comprises a controller to pre-emptively control the temperature of the at least power inverter based on predicted power consumption determined by a machine learning engine. Lee teaches a controller (320) which controls the power supplied to thermoelectric coolers (110) based on a machine learning module ([0050]) Further, a machine learning module may be constantly monitoring and improving the power routing based on historical performance to achieve optimal power efficiency and minimizing heat losses.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cooling unit of modified Ito with machine learning as taught by Lee in order to monitor and improve the performance of the cooler based on historical performance to achieve optimal power efficiency as taught by Lee.
As to claim 20, Ito in view of Ju disclose all of the limitations of claim 15 above. Modified Ito fails to disclose wherein controlling operation of the at least one dedicated cooling unit comprises: pre-emptively controlling the temperature of the at last oner power inverter based on predicted power consumption determined by a machine learning engine. Lee teaches a controller (320) which controls the power supplied to thermoelectric coolers (110) based on a machine learning module ( Further, a machine learning module may be constantly monitoring and improving the power routing based on historical performance to achieve optimal power efficiency and minimizing heat losses. [0050]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cooling unit of modified Ito with machine learning as taught by Lee in order to monitor and improve the performance of the cooler based on historical performance to achieve optimal power efficiency as taught by Lee.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2015/0373870 to Lee discloses a fan cooled power inverter. US 2008/0173024 to Orlowski discloses a thermal electric cooler. US 2019/0047432 to Clark discloses a mobile solar power station.
/JAMIL ALEXANDER DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/ROBERT J HOFFBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835