DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed on 05/26/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims, specification, and drawings have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 02/25/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Newly cited reference Snyder (US20200222122) is relied upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10, 12-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss (US20220104878) in view of Snyder (US20200222122) and Liu (US20230126545).
Regarding claim 1, Weiss teaches a system (100) to move an ultrasound transducer system (112) (Fig. 1, Abstract, [0139], [0144], [0173], [0267]), comprising:
an imaging system robotic arm (132) including an ultrasound transducer probe (112) ([0151], [0153], [0173], [0193]);
a robotic control system having a processor module configured to control movement of the ultrasound transducer probe (112) via the imaging system robotic arm (132) ([0155], “For example, the robotic arm 132 (controlled by a processor of the robot 130… may be used to position the imaging device 112 at a plurality of predetermined, known poses…”) by executing instructions to:
receive a user input selecting a portion to be imaged ([0144], “…to receive a user selection or other user input regarding identifying image information needed to carry out a surgical plan…to receive a user selection or other user input regarding receiving an image from the imaging device at each of the one or more poses to yield an image set for the anatomical feature”, [0170], “For example, the surgeon or operator may wish to obtain an image of an anatomical feature from a certain angle or plurality of angles”, [0232]); and
generate a signal to move the imaging system robotic arm (132) relative to the subject to acquire image data at a selected pose relative to the subject ([0144], “…to receive a user selection or other user input regarding determining a first pose for a first robotic arm… to receive a user selection or other user input regarding causing the first robotic arm to position a transducer at the first pose”, [0194], “…poses may be calculated relative to a position of the patient”); and
a display device (114) configured to display an image of the selected portion ([0144], wherein imaging device 112 obtains an image depicting patient anatomy/an anatomical feature, [0150], “The navigation system 114 may include a display for displaying one or more images from… imaging device 112”).
However, Weiss fails to explicitly teach a base configured to be positioned at a position relative to a subject, wherein the position of the base relative to the subject is known or determined; and wherein the robotic control system executes instructions to: reference the base for movement and registration of the imaging system robotic arm and ultrasound transducer probe relative to the subject.
In an analogous robotic system field of endeavor, Snyder teaches such a feature. Snyder teaches a robotic system (20) which may be the Mazor X™ robotic guidance system sold by Medtronic, which may be used to assist in guiding instruments relative to a subject (30) (Fig. 1, [0030]). Snyder teaches the robotic system (20) includes a robotic base (34, 38) whose position is fixed relative to the subject (Figs. 1-2, [0030], [0009], [0066]). Snyder therefore teaches a base (34, 38) configured to be positioned (i.e., fixed) at a position relative to a subject. Snyder further teaches the position of an end effector (i.e., robotic arm + tool) of the robot is known relative to the base of the robot and also known relative to the subject during movement of the robot ([0009]). Snyder teaches the encoders of the robotic arms (40) are used to measure and determine movements of the end effector (44) (i.e. tool) relative to the base ([0075], [0009]) and wherein the end effector (44) may be used for assisting performing procedures such as guiding the positioning of an implant into/relative to a subject (30) ([0085], [0030]). Snyder therefore teaches wherein the system references the base of the robot for determining/guiding movement of the robotic arm and end effector/tool relative to a subject. Moreover, Snyder teaches wherein the robotic system (20) may be registered to the subject (30) ([0061], [0066]). Snyder teaches a robotic fiducial (140) may be fixed to the base (34, 38) of the robotic system (20) and positioned relative to the subject (30) such that the fiducial (140) is apparent in images ([0061], [0066]). Snyder teaches this allows for the robotic coordinate system to be determined relative to the subject coordinate system, i.e. registered ([0061]) and discloses in [0009] “...the position of the end effector relative to the subject may be known during movement of a robot and/or during a stationary period of the end effector. Thus, the robot may define a coordinate system relative to the subject”, further providing evidence that the system references the base for movement relative to the subject. Snyder further teaches wherein the robotic coordinate system is determined relative to the base (34, 38) of the robotic system ([0076]). Snyder teaches earlier above that the position of the end effector is known relative to the base of the robot ([0009], [0030]). Snyder therefore further teaches referencing the base for registration of the robotic system (i.e., robotic arm + end effector) relative to the subject.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to further include a robotic base configured to be fixed at a position relative to the subject and to reference said base for movement and registration of the robotic system as taught by Snyder (Figs. 1-2, [0009], [0030], [0061], [0066], [0075-0076]). The base of the robotic system being configured to be fixed at a position near a patient may predictably allow for the robotic arms to be within operating range of the patient for manipulating surgical instruments and/or imaging devices for a procedure, such as assisting in guiding a selected instrument as recognized by Snyder ([0030]). In addition, by having the system reference the base for movement and registration, the base may be moved relative to the subject without losing the coordinate-system registration. Weiss teaches wherein the end effector of the robotic system is an ultrasound probe and so therefore Weiss modified by the teachings of Snyder whom teaches positioning and movement of an end effector relative to a base and subject would predictably result in the control system referencing the base for movement and registration of the imaging system robotic arm and ultrasound transducer probe relative to the subject.
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach executing instructions to: determine a pose of the portion to be imaged.
In an analogous system for moving an ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Liu teaches such a feature. Liu teaches a surgical system (100) including a surgical instrument manipulating system (102) (Fig. 1, [0021]). Liu teaches wherein the manipulating system includes a plurality of robotic manipulator arms (112) (Fig. 1, [0024]). Liu teaches wherein an ultrasound probe may be manipulated by the arms (212) (Fig. 4, [0040-0041], [0074]). Liu further teaches an imaging device (202) configured to capture imagery of the surgical space (Fig. 2, [0035-0038]). Liu teaches wherein the system (300) is configured to determine a pose of a target object within the surgical space, the target being in an image captured by the imaging device (202) ([0119-0120], [0122], [0128]). Liu teaches wherein the pose of the target may be detected after detecting intent of a user to interact with the target ([0125]). Liu therefore teaches determining a pose of a target.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to determine the pose of the target as taught by Liu ([0119], [0122], [0125], [0128]). The robotic system may determine how to most optimally position its robotic arms or instruments to interact with the target based on the pose of the target within the surgical space as recognized by Liu ([0128]). Weiss above teaches wherein the target comprises a portion or anatomical feature to be imaged ([0144]). Therefore, Weiss modified by the teachings of Liu to determine a pose of the target would predictably result in determining a pose of the portion to be imaged.
Regarding claim 2, Weiss in view of Snyder and Liu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Weiss further teaches wherein the ultrasound transducer probe (112) generates and receives ultrasound waves for generation of an image in a field of view of the ultrasound transducer probe (112) (Abstract, [0025], [0137], [0146], [0153], [0173]).
Regarding claim 3, Weiss in view of Snyder and Liu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
However, Weiss fails to teach wherein the processor module is further configured to execute instructions to: evaluate first image data at a first position of the ultrasound probe; determine if the first image data includes the selected portion to be imaged; if the selected portion to be imaged is determined to not be in the first image data, determine a movement to image the selected portion.
In an analogous system for moving an ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Liu teaches such a feature. Liu teaches wherein a manipulating system includes a plurality of robotic manipulator arms (112) (Fig. 1, [0024]). Liu teaches wherein an ultrasound probe may be manipulated by the arms (212) (Fig. 4, [0040-0041], [0074]). Liu teaches a system may monitor image content (kidney) in imagery captured by the ultrasound probe (non-robotic imaging device) to determine whether the ultrasound probe is in contact with a target such as a kidney ([0074-0075], [0076]). Liu teaches analyzing the images, and if an image is black or blank, it means the ultrasound probe is not in contact with the target, and thus the image does not include the kidney (Figs. 7A-7B, [0077]). Liu teaches if the ultrasound probe is not in contact with the object, and therefore the target is not in the image, the system may direct the robotic system to move the ultrasound probe such that the probe maintains a full contact state with the object and result in an image of the object ([0079], “For example, system 300 may direct a computer-assisted surgical system to automatically move a non-robotic imaging device such that the non-robotic imaging device maintains a full contact state with respect to an object in a surgical space”, [0080], [0082], [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to analyze an image captured by the probe and automatically adjust the pose of the ultrasound imaging device if the image does not include the target as taught by Liu ([0076-0077], [0079-0085]). By analyzing the image and moving the ultrasound probe if the target is not in the image, an image of the target may predictably be captured and thus an image capture deficiency may be cured as recognized by Liu ([0077], [0082]).
Regarding claim 4, Weiss in view of Snyder and Liu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 3.
However, Weiss fails to teach wherein the determine the movement to image the selected portion includes the processor module further configured to execute instructions to: receive a tracking signal regarding a current pose of the selected portion to be imaged; wherein the determined movement includes instructions to move the imaging system robotic arm to the current pose.
In an analogous system for moving an ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Liu teaches such a feature. Liu teaches wherein a manipulating system includes a plurality of robotic manipulator arms (112) (Fig. 1, [0024]). Liu teaches wherein an ultrasound probe may be manipulated by the arms (212) (Fig. 4, [0040-0041], [0074]). Liu teaches the system may analyze an image (400) of the surgical space to obtain information needed to generate a motion path for the ultrasound probe (402) (Fig. 4, [0048], [0064], [0074]). The image (400) containing the anatomical target (404), the kidney, comprises a tracking signal regarding a current pose of the selected portion (kidney) to be imaged, since the image (400) of the kidney includes the position and orientation of the kidney (Fig. 4). Liu teaches moving the robotic arm (204-1) along motion paths (502-1, 502-2) such that the ultrasound probe (402) contacts and follows the surface of the kidney (404) to capture ultrasound imagery of the kidney (Fig. 5, [0065], [0074]). Liu therefore teaches moving the imaging system robotic arm (204-1) to the current pose (pose of the kidney) to perform ultrasound imaging of the kidney.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to receive an image or signal regarding the pose of the target and to move the robotic arm to the pose as taught by Liu (Figs. 4-5, [0064-0065], [0074]). By receiving an image of the target, the system may analyze the image and automatically generate a motion path for an ultrasound probe to follow and generate ultrasound images of the target as recognized by Liu (Figs. 4-5, [0064-0065], [0074]).
Regarding claim 10, Weiss in view of Snyder and Liu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Weiss further teaches wherein the imaging system robotic arm (132) extends to the ultrasound transducer probe (112) such that the ultrasound transducer probe is at a distal end of the imaging system robotic arm (132) ([0151], “The imaging device 112 may be disposed on an end of the first robotic arm”, [0173], “the imaging device may be an ultrasound probe”).
Regarding claim 12, Weiss teaches a method to move an ultrasound transducer system (112) (Fig. 1, Abstract, [0139], [0144], [0173], [0267]), comprising:
providing an imaging system robotic arm (132) including an ultrasound transducer probe (112) ([0151], [0153], [0173], [0193]);
providing a processor module configured to control movement of the ultrasound transducer probe (112) via the imaging system robotic arm (132) ([0155], “For example, the robotic arm 132 (controlled by a processor of the robot 130… may be used to position the imaging device 112 at a plurality of predetermined, known poses…”) by executing instructions to:
receive a user input selecting a portion to be imaged ([0144], “…to receive a user selection or other user input regarding identifying image information needed to carry out a surgical plan…to receive a user selection or other user input regarding receiving an image from the imaging device at each of the one or more poses to yield an image set for the anatomical feature”, [0170], “For example, the surgeon or operator may wish to obtain an image of an anatomical feature from a certain angle or plurality of angles”, [0232]); and
generate a signal to move the imaging system robotic arm (132) relative to the subject to acquire image data at a selected pose relative to the subject ([0144], “…to receive a user selection or other user input regarding determining a first pose for a first robotic arm… to receive a user selection or other user input regarding causing the first robotic arm to position a transducer at the first pose”, [0194], “…poses may be calculated relative to a position of the patient”); and
displaying an image of the selected portion with a display device (114) ([0144], wherein imaging device 112 obtains an image depicting patient anatomy/an anatomical feature, [0150], “The navigation system 114 may include a display for displaying one or more images from… imaging device 112”).
However, Weiss fails to teach positioning a base of the imaging system robotic arm relative to a subject, wherein the position of the base relative to the subject is known or determined; and executing instructions to: reference the base for movement and registration of the imaging system robotic arm and ultrasound transducer probe relative to the subject.
In an analogous robotic system field of endeavor, Snyder teaches such a feature. Snyder teaches a robotic system (20) which may be the Mazor X™ robotic guidance system sold by Medtronic, which may be used to assist in guiding instruments relative to a subject (30) (Fig. 1, [0030]). Snyder teaches the robotic system (20) includes a robotic base (34, 38) whose position is fixed relative to the subject (Figs. 1-2, [0030], [0009], [0066]). Snyder therefore teaches a base (34, 38) configured to be positioned (i.e., fixed) at a position relative to a subject. Snyder further teaches the position of an end effector (i.e., robotic arm + tool) of the robot is known relative to the base of the robot and also known relative to the subject during movement of the robot ([0009]). Snyder teaches the encoders of the robotic arms (40) are used to measure and determine movements of the end effector (44) (i.e. tool) relative to the base ([0075], [0009]) and wherein the end effector (44) may be used for assisting performing procedures such as guiding the positioning of an implant into/relative to a subject (30) ([0085], [0030]). Snyder therefore teaches wherein the system references the base of the robot for determining/guiding movement of the robotic arm and end effector/tool relative to a subject. Moreover, Snyder teaches wherein the robotic system (20) may be registered to the subject (30) ([0061], [0066]). Snyder teaches a robotic fiducial (140) may be fixed to the base (34, 38) of the robotic system (20) and positioned relative to the subject (30) such that the fiducial (140) is apparent in images ([0061], [0066]). Snyder teaches this allows for the robotic coordinate system to be determined relative to the subject coordinate system, i.e. registered ([0061]) and discloses in [0009] “...the position of the end effector relative to the subject may be known during movement of a robot and/or during a stationary period of the end effector. Thus, the robot may define a coordinate system relative to the subject”, further providing evidence that the system references the base for movement relative to the subject. Snyder further teaches wherein the robotic coordinate system is determined relative to the base (34, 38) of the robotic system ([0076]). Snyder teaches earlier above that the position of the end effector is known relative to the base of the robot ([0009], [0030]). Snyder therefore further teaches referencing the base for registration of the robotic system (i.e., robotic arm + end effector) relative to the subject.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to further include a robotic base configured to be fixed at a position relative to the subject and to reference said base for movement and registration of the robotic system as taught by Snyder (Figs. 1-2, [0009], [0030], [0061], [0066], [0075-0076]). The base of the robotic system being configured to be fixed at a position near a patient may predictably allow for the robotic arms to be within operating range of the patient for manipulating surgical instruments and/or imaging devices for a procedure, such as assisting in guiding a selected instrument as recognized by Snyder ([0030]). In addition, by having the system reference the base for movement and registration, the base may be moved relative to the subject without losing the coordinate-system registration. Weiss teaches wherein the end effector of the robotic system is an ultrasound probe and so therefore Weiss modified by the teachings of Snyder whom teaches positioning and movement of an end effector relative to a base and subject would predictably result in the control system referencing the base for movement and registration of the imaging system robotic arm and ultrasound transducer probe relative to the subject.
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach executing instructions to: determine a pose of the portion to be imaged.
In an analogous system for moving an ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Liu teaches such a feature. Liu teaches a surgical system (100) including a surgical instrument manipulating system (102) (Fig. 1, [0021]). Liu teaches wherein the manipulating system includes a plurality of robotic manipulator arms (112) (Fig. 1, [0024]). Liu teaches wherein an ultrasound probe may be manipulated by the arms (212) (Fig. 4, [0040-0041], [0074]). Liu further teaches an imaging device (202) configured to capture imagery of the surgical space (Fig. 2, [0035-0038]). Liu teaches wherein the system (300) is configured to determine a pose of a target object within the surgical space, the target being in an image captured by the imaging device (202) ([0119-0120], [0122], [0128]). Liu teaches wherein the pose of the target may be detected after detecting intent of a user to interact with the target ([0125]). Liu therefore teaches determining a pose of a target.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to determine the pose of the target as taught by Liu ([0119], [0122], [0125], [0128]). The robotic system may determine how to most optimally position its robotic arms or instruments to interact with the target based on the pose of the target within the surgical space as recognized by Liu ([0128]). Weiss above teaches wherein the target comprises a portion or anatomical feature to be imaged ([0144]). Therefore, Weiss modified by the teachings of Liu to determine a pose of the target would predictably result in determining a pose of the portion to be imaged.
Regarding claim 13, Weiss in view of Snyder and Liu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
However, Weiss fails to teach the invention further comprising configuring the process module to execute further instructions to: determine if first image data at a first position of the ultrasound transducer probe includes the selected portion to be imaged; if the selected portion to be imaged is determined to not be in the first image data, determine a movement to image the selected portion.
In an analogous system for moving an ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Liu teaches such a feature. Liu teaches wherein a manipulating system includes a plurality of robotic manipulator arms (112) (Fig. 1, [0024]). Liu teaches wherein an ultrasound probe may be manipulated by the arms (212) (Fig. 4, [0040-0041], [0074]). Liu teaches a system may monitor image content (kidney) in imagery captured by the ultrasound probe (non-robotic imaging device) to determine whether the ultrasound probe is in contact with a target such as a kidney ([0074-0075], [0076]). Liu teaches analyzing the images, and if an image is black or blank, it means the ultrasound probe is not in contact with the target, and thus the image does not include the kidney (Figs. 7A-7B, [0077]). Liu teaches if the ultrasound probe is not in contact with the object, and therefore the target is not in the image, the system may direct the robotic system to move the ultrasound probe such that the probe maintains a full contact state with the object and result in an image of the object ([0079], “For example, system 300 may direct a computer-assisted surgical system to automatically move a non-robotic imaging device such that the non-robotic imaging device maintains a full contact state with respect to an object in a surgical space”, [0080], [0082], [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to analyze an image captured by the probe and automatically adjust the pose of the ultrasound imaging device if the image does not include the target as taught by Liu ([0076-0077], [0079-0085]). By analyzing the image and moving the ultrasound probe if the target is not in the image, an image of the target may predictably be captured and thus an image capture deficiency may be cured as recognized by Liu ([0077], [0082]).
Regarding claim 14, Weiss in view of Snyder and Liu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 13.
However, Weiss fails to teach the invention further comprising: receive a tracking signal regarding a current pose of the selected portion to be imaged; wherein the determined movement includes determining instructions to move the ultrasound transducer probe via the imaging system robotic arm to the current pose.
In an analogous system for moving an ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Liu teaches such a feature. Liu teaches wherein a manipulating system includes a plurality of robotic manipulator arms (112) (Fig. 1, [0024]). Liu teaches wherein an ultrasound probe may be manipulated by the arms (212) (Fig. 4, [0040-0041], [0074]). Liu teaches the system may analyze an image (400) of the surgical space to obtain information needed to generate a motion path for the ultrasound probe (402) (Fig. 4, [0048], [0064], [0074]). The image (400) containing the anatomical target (404), the kidney, comprises a tracking signal regarding a current pose of the selected portion (kidney) to be imaged, since the image (400) of the kidney includes the position and orientation of the kidney (Fig. 4). Liu teaches moving the robotic arm (204-1) along motion paths (502-1, 502-2) such that the ultrasound probe (402) contacts and follows the surface of the kidney (404) to capture ultrasound imagery of the kidney (Fig. 5, [0065], [0074]). Liu therefore teaches determining a movement instruction (motion paths) to move the ultrasound transducer probe via the imaging system robotic arm (204-1) to the current pose (pose of the kidney) to perform ultrasound imaging of the kidney.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to receive an image or signal regarding the pose of the target and to move the robotic arm to the pose as taught by Liu (Figs. 4-5, [0064-0065], [0074]). By receiving an image of the target, the system may analyze the image and automatically generate a motion path for an ultrasound probe to follow and generate ultrasound images of the target as recognized by Liu (Figs. 4-5, [0064-0065], [0074]).
Regarding claim 17, Weiss in view of Snyder and Liu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
Weiss further teaches wherein the selected portion includes at least one of a portion of the subject or an instrument configured to be positioned relative to the subject ([0144], “to receive a user selection or other user input regarding receiving an image from the imaging device at each of the one or more poses to yield an image set for the anatomical feature”, wherein the anatomical feature comprises a portion of the subject or patient).
Claims 5, 7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss (US20220104878) in view of Snyder (US20200222122) and Liu (US20230126545) as applied to claims 3 and 13 respectively above, and further in view of Haraguchi (US20180193103).
Regarding claim 5, Weiss in view of Snyder and Liu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 3.
However, Weiss fails to teach wherein the processor module is further configured to execute instructions to: receive a lock-on user input, wherein the lock-on user input relates to the selected portion to be imaged; wherein the determine the movement to image the selected portion includes determining a movement instruction to maintain the selected portion within a second image data.
In an analogous robotic system for moving an imaging system field of endeavor, Haraguchi teaches such a feature. Haraguchi teaches a medical system (1) including a robotic manipulator arm (2) (Fig. 1, [0042]). Haraguchi teaches wherein a distal end portion of the arm (2) includes an imaging unit (5) (Figs. 1-2, [0044-0046]). Haraguchi further teaches an operation input apparatus (30) including a mode selector (49) (Fig. 4, [0064]). Haraguchi teaches wherein an operator may operate the mode selector (49) to start a lock-on mode ([0164]). Haraguchi therefore teaches receiving a lock-on user input. Haraguchi teaches the lock-on mode is a mode in which the system automatically operates and moves the robotic manipulator arm (2) such that the imaging unit (5) is always directed to a position of interest in an imaging field of vision of the imaging unit (5) (Figs. 16-18, [0083], [0171-0173]). Haraguchi teaches wherein a control unit (61) corrects the position of the imaging unit (5) such that the position of interest is disposed at a center of a field of view of the imaging unit (5) ([0171]). Haraguchi therefore further teaches wherein the lock-on relates to a target portion to be imaged and wherein the movement includes a movement instruction to maintain the target within a second image data (subsequent images from the imaging unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to include a lock-on mode which a user may switch on as taught by Haraguchi (Figs. 4 & 16-18, [0083], [0164], [0171-0173]). The lock-on mode may allow for the robotic arm to keep the object of interest within the center of the field of view of the imaging unit while changing the imaging perspective as recognized by Haraguchi (Figs. 16-18, [0083], [0172-0173]).
Regarding claim 7, Weiss in view of Snyder, Liu, and Haraguchi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 5.
Weiss further teaches wherein the selected portion includes at least one of a portion of the subject or an instrument configured to be positioned relative to the subject ([0144], “to receive a user selection or other user input regarding receiving an image from the imaging device at each of the one or more poses to yield an image set for the anatomical feature”, wherein the anatomical feature comprises a portion of the subject or patient).
Regarding claim 15, Weiss in view of Snyder and Liu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 13.
However, Weiss fails to teach the invention further comprising configuring the processor module to execute further instructions to: receive a lock-on user input, wherein the lock-on user input relates to the selected portion to be imaged; wherein the determine the movement to image the selected portion includes determining a movement instruction to maintain the selected portion within a second image data.
In an analogous robotic system for moving an imaging system field of endeavor, Haraguchi teaches such a feature. Haraguchi teaches a medical system (1) including a robotic manipulator arm (2) (Fig. 1, [0042]). Haraguchi teaches wherein a distal end portion of the arm (2) includes an imaging unit (5) (Figs. 1-2, [0044-0046]). Haraguchi further teaches an operation input apparatus (30) including a mode selector (49) (Fig. 4, [0064]). Haraguchi teaches wherein an operator may operate the mode selector (49) to start a lock-on mode ([0164]). Haraguchi therefore teaches receiving a lock-on user input. Haraguchi teaches the lock-on mode is a mode in which the system automatically operates and moves the robotic manipulator arm (2) such that the imaging unit (5) is always directed to a position of interest in an imaging field of vision of the imaging unit (5) (Figs. 16-18, [0083], [0171-0173]). Haraguchi teaches wherein a control unit (61) corrects the position of the imaging unit (5) such that the position of interest is disposed at a center of a field of view of the imaging unit (5) ([0171]). Haraguchi therefore further teaches wherein the lock-on relates to a target portion to be imaged and wherein the movement includes a movement instruction to maintain the target within a second image data (subsequent images from the imaging unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to include a lock-on mode which a user may switch on as taught by Haraguchi (Figs. 4 & 16-18, [0083], [0164], [0171-0173]). The lock-on mode may allow for the robotic arm to keep the object of interest within the center of the field of view of the imaging unit while changing the imaging perspective as recognized by Haraguchi (Figs. 16-18, [0083], [0172-0173]).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss (US20220104878) in view of Snyder (US20200222122), Liu (US20230126545), and Haraguchi (US20180193103) as applied to claims 5 and 15 respectively above, and further in view of Shahidi (US20010037064).
Regarding claim 6, Weiss in view of Snyder, Liu, and Haraguchi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 5.
However, Weiss fails to teach wherein the movement instruction includes a zero distance movement.
In an analogous robotic system for moving an ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Shahidi teaches such a feature. Shahidi teaches a robotic arm assembly (24) configured to hold an ultrasound probe (12) (Figs. 1 & 5, Abstract, [0028-0029], [0049]). Shahidi teaches wherein the robotic arm can be actuated to move such that the orientation of the ultrasound probe is adjusted to track a moving target while keeping the tip of the probe in a fixed position (Fig. 5, [0049-0050]). Since Shahidi teaches wherein the position of the probe tip is fixed and remains constant during movement of the robotic arm to readjust the orientation of the probe such that the probe tracks a target (Fig. 5, [0050]), Shahidi therefore teaches wherein a movement instruction includes a zero distance movement instruction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to have the movement instruction comprise a re-orientation of the ultrasound probe as taught by Shahidi (Fig. 5, [0050]). A moving target within the subject’s body may sufficiently be tracked just by re-orienting the ultrasound probe as recognized by Shahidi (Fig. 5, [0050]). Moreover, constant pressure may simultaneously be applied as further recognized by Shahidi (Abstract, [0050]), thus maintaining image quality.
Regarding claim 16, Weiss in view of Snyder, Liu, and Haraguchi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 15.
However, Weiss fails to teach wherein the movement instruction includes a zero distance movement instruction.
In an analogous robotic system for moving an ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Shahidi teaches such a feature. Shahidi teaches a robotic arm assembly (24) configured to hold an ultrasound probe (12) (Figs. 1 & 5, Abstract, [0028-0029], [0049]). Shahidi teaches wherein the robotic arm can be actuated to move such that the orientation of the ultrasound probe is adjusted to track a moving target while keeping the tip of the probe in a fixed position (Fig. 5, [0049-0050]). Since Shahidi teaches wherein the position of the probe tip is fixed and remains constant during movement of the robotic arm to readjust the orientation of the probe such that the probe tracks a target (Fig. 5, [0050]), Shahidi therefore teaches wherein a movement instruction includes a zero distance movement instruction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to have the movement instruction comprise a re-orientation of the ultrasound probe as taught by Shahidi (Fig. 5, [0050]). A moving target within the subject’s body may sufficiently be tracked just by re-orienting the ultrasound probe as recognized by Shahidi (Fig. 5, [0050]). Moreover, constant pressure may simultaneously be applied as further recognized by Shahidi (Abstract, [0050]), thus maintaining image quality.
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss (US20220104878) in view of Snyder (US20200222122) and Liu (US20230126545) as applied to claims 1 and 12 respectively above, and further in view of Iddan (US20080221440) and Wittmeier (EP2886059; translation provided).
Regarding claim 8, Weiss in view of Snyder and Liu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
However, Weiss fails to wherein the processor module is further configured to execute further instructions to: receive a user input to display a selected phase of the subject; and generate an image for display with the display device based on the current image data to include the selected phase.
In an analogous ultrasound imaging field of endeavor, Iddan teaches such a feature. Iddan teaches wherein captured images may be from using ultrasound ([0468], [0532]). Iddan teaches receiving a user input to display a selected phase of a subject (Claim 2, [0139], [0394], [0494]). Iddan teaches displaying image frames of an organ gated to the selected phase ([0100], [0493-0494]). Iddan therefore teaches receiving a user input to display a selected phase and generating an image for display based on current image data only if the current image data includes the selected phase.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to receive user input to select a phase and to display images of the selected phase as taught by Iddan (Claim 2, [0100], [0139], [394], [0493-0494]). Images including cyclical motion may cause blurring and as such are difficult to observe, and therefore by gating the images to a selected phase, a stabilized set of image frames may be displayed as recognized by Iddan (Abstract, [0007], [0099-0100]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to explicitly teach determining if a current image data includes the selected phase and wherein the image is generated for display only if the current image data is determined to include the selected phase.
In an analogous ultrasound imaging field of endeavor, Wittmeier teaches such a feature. Similar to Iddan above, Wittmeier teaches using gating in situations which include cyclic motion ([0002]). Wittmeier teaches determining the phase of a current image via a quantity measured externally or from the image data ([0002]). Wittmeier further teaches during image creation (i.e. display) only data from one phase is used ([0002]). Wittmeier teaches wherein the sonogram is only displayed for one phase ([0002]). Wittmeier teaches wherein the selected phase is typically the final phase of diastole or the final phase of systole ([0002]). Wittmeier therefore teaches determining if a current image includes a selected one phase and to only display images of the selected one phase, by determining the phase of the current image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to determine whether a current image includes the selected phase and to only display if the image includes said phase as taught by Wittmeier ([0002]). By doing such, simple gating may be achieved and a final sonogram may be created thereby eliminating cyclic movement which impairs image quality as recognized by Wittmeier ([0002]).
Regarding claim 9, Weiss in view of Snyder, Liu, Iddan, and Wittmeier teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 8.
However, Weiss fails to teach wherein the processor module is further configured to execute instructions to: if the selected phase is determined not to be in the current image data then do not display an image based on the current image data and acquire subsequent image data; and generate a subsequent image for display with the display device based on the subsequent image data only if the subsequent image data is determined to include the selected phase.
Wittmeier teaches determining the phase of a current image and to only display images for one selected phase ([0002]). Wittmeier therefore teaches to not display an image if the current image is determined not to be of the one selected phase and to only display images if they include the selected phase.
Iddan teaches acquiring a plurality of image frames of a portion of a subject and to generate a gated set of image frames from the said plurality, the gated set corresponding to image frames acquired during a given (selected) phase (Abstract, [0128-0129]). Iddan therefore teaches acquiring a current image and subsequent images (i.e. a plurality of images). The first image of the plurality of images comprises a current image and the rest of the plurality may comprise subsequent image data. The combination of Wittmeier and Iddan therefore teaches if the current image does not include the selected phase, then not to display the image and to acquire subsequent images and to display the subsequent images if they include the selected phase.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to acquire a plurality of images and to determine whether a current image includes the selected phase and to only display images if they contain the selected phase as taught by Wittmeier ([0002]) and Iddan (Abstract, [0128-0129]). By doing such, a gated set of stabilized image frames may be produced which all correspond to a selected phase, the set of images having reduced motion artifacts/blurring.
Regarding claim 18, Weiss in view of Snyder and Liu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
However, Weiss fails to teach the invention further comprising configuring the processor module to execute further instructions to: receive a user input to display a selected phase of the subject; and generate an image for display with the display device based on the current image data to include the selected phase.
In an analogous ultrasound imaging field of endeavor, Iddan teaches such a feature. Iddan teaches wherein captured images may be from using ultrasound ([0468], [0532]). Iddan teaches receiving a user input to display a selected phase of a subject (Claim 2, [0139], [0394], [0494]). Iddan teaches displaying image frames of an organ gated to the selected phase ([0100], [0493-0494]). Iddan therefore teaches receiving a user input to display a selected phase and generating an image for display based on current image data only if the current image data includes the selected phase.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to receive user input to select a phase and to display images of the selected phase as taught by Iddan (Claim 2, [0100], [0139], [394], [0493-0494]). Images including cyclical motion may cause blurring and as such are difficult to observe, and therefore by gating the images to a selected phase, a stabilized set of image frames may be displayed as recognized by Iddan (Abstract, [0007], [0099-0100]).
However, the modified combination noted above fails to explicitly teach determining if a current image data includes the selected phase and wherein the image is generated for display only if the current image data is determined to include the selected phase.
In an analogous ultrasound imaging field of endeavor, Wittmeier teaches such a feature. Similar to Iddan above, Wittmeier teaches using gating in situations which include cyclic motion ([0002]). Wittmeier teaches determining the phase of a current image via a quantity measured externally or from the image data ([0002]). Wittmeier further teaches during image creation (i.e. display) only data from one phase is used ([0002]). Wittmeier teaches wherein the sonogram is only displayed for one phase ([0002]). Wittmeier teaches wherein the selected phase is typically the final phase of diastole or the final phase of systole ([0002]). Wittmeier therefore teaches determining if a current image includes a selected one phase and to only display images of the selected one phase, by determining the phase of the current image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to determine whether a current image includes the selected phase and to only display if the image includes said phase as taught by Wittmeier ([0002]). By doing such, simple gating may be achieved and a final sonogram may be created thereby eliminating cyclic movement which impairs image quality as recognized by Wittmeier ([0002]).
Regarding claim 19, Weiss in view of Snyder, Liu, Iddan, and Wittmeier teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 18.
However, Weiss fails to teach wherein the processor module is further configured to execute instructions to: if the selected phase is determined not to be in the current image data then do not display an image based on the current image data and acquire subsequent image data; and generate a subsequent image for display with the display device based on the subsequent image data only if the subsequent image data is determined to include the selected phase.
Wittmeier teaches determining the phase of a current image and to only display images for one selected phase ([0002]). Wittmeier therefore teaches to not display an image if the current image is determined not to be of the one selected phase and to only display images if they include the selected phase.
Iddan teaches acquiring a plurality of image frames of a portion of a subject and to generate a gated set of image frames from the said plurality, the gated set corresponding to image frames acquired during a given (selected) phase (Abstract, [0128-0129]). Iddan therefore teaches acquiring a current image and subsequent images (i.e. a plurality of images). The first image of the plurality of images comprises a current image and the rest of the plurality may comprise subsequent image data. The combination of Wittmeier and Iddan therefore teaches if the current image does not include the selected phase, then not to display the image and to acquire subsequent images and to display the subsequent images if they include the selected phase.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to acquire a plurality of images and to determine whether a current image includes the selected phase and to only display images if they contain the selected phase as taught by Wittmeier ([0002]) and Iddan (Abstract, [0128-0129]). By doing such, a gated set of stabilized image frames may be produced which all correspond to a selected phase, the set of images having reduced motion artifacts/blurring.
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss (US20220104878) in view of Snyder (US20200222122) and Liu (US20230126545) as applied to claims 1 and 12 respectively above, and further in view of Sumanaweera (US20080021317).
Regarding claim 11, Weiss in view of Snyder and Liu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Weiss teaches the invention further comprising: an input system (110) configured to receive input from a user (Fig. 1, [0144]).
However, Weiss fails to teach wherein the invention further comprises: a pressure sensor configured to determine a pressure applied to the subject via the ultrasound transducer probe.
In an analogous system for moving an ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Sumanaweera teaches such a feature. Sumanaweera teaches a fully automated robotic system (12) configured to move an ultrasound probe (14) to scan a patient (Fig. 1, Abstract, [0005], [0023], [0025], [0027]). Sumanaweera teaches wherein the probe (14) includes a pressure sensor (16) for determining pressure applied to the patient by the probe (14) ([0021], [0034], [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to include a pressure sensor for determining a pressure applied to the patient by the ultrasound probe as taught by Sumanaweera ([0021], [0025], [0034], [0071]). Pressure applied by the probe may cause image distortions and also may cause patient discomfort, and by using pressure/force feedback, the robotic arm may apply a desired pressure for optimal image-quality as recognized by Sumanaweera ([0060-0061]).
Regarding claim 20, Weiss in view of Snyder and Liu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
However, Weiss fails to teach the invention further comprising: measuring a pressure applied to the subject via the ultrasound transducer probe.
In an analogous system for moving an ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Sumanaweera teaches such a feature. Sumanaweera teaches a fully automated robotic system (12) configured to move an ultrasound probe (14) to scan a patient (Fig. 1, Abstract, [0005], [0023], [0025], [0027]). Sumanaweera teaches wherein the probe (14) includes a pressure sensor (16) for determining pressure applied to the patient by the probe (14) ([0021], [0034], [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Weiss to include a pressure sensor for determining a pressure applied to the patient by the ultrasound probe as taught by Sumanaweera ([0021], [0025], [0034], [0071]). Pressure applied by the probe may cause image distortions and also may cause patient discomfort, and by using pressure/force feedback, the robotic arm may apply a desired pressure for optimal image-quality as recognized by Sumanaweera ([0060-0061]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOMMY T LY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/JOSEPH M SANTOS RODRIGUEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797