DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraphs [0027] and [0033] should be revised for clarity.
Among other options, paragraph [0027] could be revised as: “Plate thickness in the thin portion 33 may be provided to discharge gas to the outside of the battery module, for example, when gas is released from the safety valve 12, the pressure in the space described above is cracked in the thin portion 33 when exceeding the threshold value which is set by experiments or the like so that a crack (opening) is formed.
Among other options, paragraph [0033] could be revised as: “Further, since the first battery group 1 is disposed above the second battery group 2 and the cooler 20 is disposed below the first battery group 1, the protection member 30 may suppress movement of water to the second battery group 2 from dripping of droplets adhering to the cooler 20.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “the thickness” in line 5 which lacks explicit antecedent basis and should be amended as “the plate thickness” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cicero et al. (US 20120156543) in view of Walter (US 20250079616).
Regarding claim 1, Cicero et al. discloses a battery module shown below:
Cicero et al. discloses the battery module comprises: a first battery group (upper frame member 202, Fig. 7) including a plurality of cells (para. [0011]); a second battery group (upper frame member 320, Fig. 7) including a plurality of cells (para. [0011]) having safety valves (release vent 112 is a valve, para. [0039]); a cooler (cooling system 224, Fig. 4, para. [0044]) provided between the first battery group and the second battery group (Fig. 7 and shown above); and a protection member (terminal cover 800) that covers a portion of the second battery group that faces the cooler (the terminal cover 800 may serve as a flat surface for stacking another battery pack, para. [0067], and thus covers a portion of the second battery group facing the cooler as indicated in Fig. 7).
Cicero et al. does not expressly disclose the protection member is configured such that a plate thickness of a predetermined first region that faces the safety valves is smaller than a plate thickness of a second region other than the first region.
However, Walter discloses a battery module (Fig. 1) wherein a protection member (module cover 1, para. [0050]) is configured such that a plate thickness of a predetermined first region (cut-outs 2 with rupture discs 10) that faces the safety valves (facing safety valves 6, Fig. 1) is smaller than a plate thickness of a second region other than the first region (sufficiently thin, para. [0062], 0.1 mm, para. [0071] as compared to 1.3 mm for the second region, para. [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Cicero et al. wherein the protection member is configured such that a plate thickness of a predetermined first region that faces the safety valves is smaller than a plate thickness of a second region other than the first region.
The person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use a smaller thickness in the first region in order to allow for rupture of the first region when the safety valve discharges and thereby prevent overpressure in the battery.
Regarding claim 2, Cicero et al. discloses the first battery group is disposed above the second battery group; and the cooler is disposed below the first battery group (Fig. 7 and shown above for claim 1).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cicero et al. (US 20120156543) in view of Walter (US 20250079616) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Rheinfeld et al. (attached translation of DE 102020128756A1).
Regarding claim 3, Cicero et al. does not disclose a guide member.
However, Rheinfeld et al. discloses a battery module (module 10) having battery cells (battery cells 12) with safety valves (degassing points 22 are pressure relief valves, para. [0007]), a cooler (cooler 20), and a protection member (cell contacting element 16 with cover 18) and Rheinfeld et al. teaches wherein the protection member is provided with a guide member (shown below) that constitutes a flow path of a gas (passages 24) from the safety valves to the first region (breaking points 28); and the guide member is configured such that a thickness of the guide member is larger than the thickness of the first region (Rheinfeld et al. reasonably discloses the guide member is much thicker because the guide member is solid between openings 24 such that the guide has a thickness which is the distance between openings) as shown below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Cicero et al. wherein the protection member is provided with a guide member that constitutes a flow path of a gas from the safety valves to the first region; and the guide member is configured such that a thickness of the guide member is larger than the thickness of the first region.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use a guide member in order to direct material away from sensitive components (Rheinfeld et al., pars. [0027] and [0029]). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use a guide member thicker than the first region in order to ensure that the first region ruptures before other portions to ensure material is directed to the appropriate location.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pröll et al. (US 20230246289) discloses a cooling device between battery groups and which has venting pathways for safety valves.
Kim et al. (US 20230291064) discloses a battery cover with a cooler where the cooler has gas discharge paths and venting regions.
Egashira et al. (US 20220149478) discloses a battery cover with gas discharge paths.
/P.M.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1774
/CLAIRE X WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1774