DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 11, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 4 and 14, it is unclear how identifying echogenic features is distinct from the identifying of echongenic boundaries in claims 1 and 12.
In claims 11 and 19, it appears deleting ‘the’ is incorrect and the term should be included as there is prior recitation of this registration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross et al (US Pub 2013/0345545 -cited by applicant) in view of Weiss et al (US Pub 2020/0104878 -cited by applicant).
Re claims 1, 2, 12: Gross discloses a system and method of registering a first image data to a second image data via an intermediate image data, the method comprising:
acquiring a first MR image data (fig 1, 0026; see step 32 where MR data is acquired);
acquiring a second image data (fig 1, 0017; see step 30 where ultrasound data is acquired);
generating the intermediate image data that is correlatable to the second image data from the first image data [0043; see the MR data that is converted to emulate ultrasound data];
correlating the intermediate image data to the second image data [0043; see the registration that uses correlation]; and
registering the first image data to the second image data (fig 1, 0041, 0043; see step 40 where the ultrasound frames are spatially registered with the MR frames and see that the synthesized ultrasound data is registered with the acquired ultrasound data).
Further, the method is performed with a processor module of the system to execute instructions [0083; see the hardware and software].
Gross discloses all features including extracting features from MR data or from the processed MR data (i.e. the intermediate image) and that the MR data include bone structures [0043, 0088], but does not disclose that generating the intermediate image includes identifying an echogenic boundary of a vertebral body in the first image. However, Weiss teaches of a method and device wherein generating the intermediate image includes identifying an echogenic boundary of a vertebral body in the first image [0203; see the first image or 3D model that is generated from the first image wherein a vertebrae contour is identified and then used for subsequent alignment/correlation]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Gross, to identify vertebral bodies as taught by Weiss, in order to accurately alignment image features in the correct position and orientation.
Re claims 3, 4, 13, 14: Gross discloses generating the intermediate image data that is correlatable to the second image data from the first image data includes generating a mock computed tomography image data based on the first image data and includes identifying echogenic features in the first image data [0043; see that the emulated ultrasound data is based on the first MR data and such is considered a mock CT because it is not actually a CT image while having similarities to a CT image; the emulated ultrasound includes identified echogenic features of which ultrasound is based upon].
Re claim 5: Gross discloses generating the intermediate image data that is correlatable to the second image data from the first image data is automatically generated by executing instructions of an algorithm with a processor module [0056, 0083; see the hardware and software as well as the automatic processing].
Re claims 7, 8, 16: Gross discloses correlating the intermediate image data to the second image data includes relating features identified in both the second image data and the intermediate image data and registering the first image data to the second image data includes defining a translation between a first image coordinate system and a second image coordinate system based on the correlation of the intermediate image data to the second image data [0043; see the registration that uses correlation of a measure of similarity which is a relating of features of the image data and see the “translation” of the registration that is found for the best match].
Re claims 9-11, 17-20: Gross discloses the method and instructions include registering the first image coordinate system to a subject coordinate system, and include tracking an imaging system in the subject coordinate system while the system is acquiring the second image data while being tracked; registering the first image data to the subject coordinate system based on the registration of the first image data to the second image data; and where the image data is acquired by a first and second imaging system and the tracking is performed by a tracking navigation system [0034, 0043, 0045, 0048; fig 4; see the coordinate system of the subject represented by the coordinate location of the patient and the coordinate system of the first and second image data and see the MR and ultrasound imaging systems that are used for tracking and registration; also see the MR and ultrasound systems as well as the processor that tracks and/or navigates using fiducials or position sensors].
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross/Weiss, as applied to claims 1 and 12, in view of Maraghoosh et al (US Pub 2016/0217560 -cited by applicant).
Re claims 6, 15: Gross/Weiss discloses all features including generating the intermediate image data that is correlatable to the second image data from the first image data [0043; see the MR data that is converted to emulate ultrasound data] but does not disclose that it is generated by processing the first image data with a trained model stored in memory. However, Maraghoosh teaches of a method and system that includes memory wherein a trained model is used for registration [0048; see the training datasets for the deformable registration]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Gross/Weiss, to use a trained model as taught by Maraghoosh, in order to improve live registration of images [see 0009 of Maraghoosh].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The prior 112b rejection, claim objection, and specification objection are withdrawn due to amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL T ROZANSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797