Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear whether the “resilient wing members” are the same structures as the “resilient wing members” recited in claim 11 or not. The specification does not disclose more than one wing member per outer portion. For the purpose of this examination, the resilient wing members recited in claim 12 are determined to be the same structure as the resilient wing members recited in claim 11.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 15 depends from cancelled claim 14. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 8, 9, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kizuka et al. (US 2018/0133008; hereinafter “Kizuka”; cited by Applicant in parent application 17/163215).
Regarding claim 1, Kizuka discloses a device for repairing a heart valve (Abstract; Figure 9E), comprising: a first clip (10’) comprising an inner portion (12) and an outer portion (14 or 14/20), wherein the inner and outer portions of the first clip are configured to compress tissue of a first heart valve leaflet (“AL”; Figure 9E) therebetween to secure the first clip to the first leaflet; a second clip (10’’) comprising an inner portion (12) and an outer portion (14), wherein the inner and outer portions of the second clip are configured to compress tissue of a second heart valve leaflet (“PL”; Figure 9E) therebetween to secure the second clip to the second leaflet; a post (16) that includes a lumen , wherein the post is coupled to the second clip (each clip has a post - Figure 9E); a tether (86) coupled to at least the first clip (via the post; noting that Applicant’s tether is not fixedly connected to either clip): wherein the tether extends through the lumen of the post (Figure 9E) and wherein the first and second clips are configured to be separately deployable onto the first and second leaflets (evident from Figures 9A and 9B) and secured to one another in vivo by applying tension to the tether to bring the first clip into closer proximity with the post and the second clip (¶[0077]).
Regarding claim 5, the device comprises a locking member (90) configured to engage the tether and thereby secure the first and second clips to one another (¶[0072]).
Regarding claim 8, the device further comprises: a third clip (10’’’; Figure 12) comprising an inner portion (12) and an outer portion (14), wherein the inner and outer portions are configured to compress tissue of a third heart valve leaflet (“Septal leaflet” - Figure 12) therebetween to secure the third clip to the third leaflet; wherein the third clip is configured to be separately deployable onto the third leaflet (as shown for the first and second clips - Figure 9A-9B) and secured to the first and second clips in vivo to bring portions of the third leaflet in closer proximity to the first and second leaflets, thereby improving coaptation of the first, second, and third leaflets (¶[0077], [0079]).
Regarding claim 9, Kizuka discloses a system for repairing a heart valve (Abstract), comprising: an elongate delivery catheter (38) comprising at least one lumen; a heart valve repair device (10’/10’’) coupled to the elongate delivery catheter (Figure 6A), the heart valve repair device comprising: a first clip (10’; Figure 9E) comprising an inner portion (12) and an outer portion (14 or 14/20), wherein the inner and outer portions are configured to compress tissue (“AL”; Figure 9E) of a first heart valve leaflet therebetween to secure the first clip to the first leaflet; a second clip (10’’; Figure 9E) comprising an inner portion (12) and an outer portion (14), wherein the inner and outer portions are configured to compress tissue (“PL”; Figure 9E) of a second heart valve leaflet therebetween to secure the second clip to the second leaflet; a post (16) that includes a lumen, wherein the post is coupled to the second clip; wherein the second clip includes a post defining a lumen (within 82 and/or lumen 24); a tether (86) coupled to at least the first clip (via the post; noting that Applicant’s tether is not fixedly connected to either clip); wherein the tether extends through the lumen of the post (Figure 9E); and wherein the first and second clips are configured to be separately deployable onto the first and second leaflets (evident from Figures 9A and 9B) and secured to one another in vivo by applying tension to the tether to bring the first clip into closer proximity with the post and the second clip (¶[0077]).
Regarding claim 13, the system further comprises a locking member (90) configured to engage the tether and thereby secure the first and second clips to one another (¶[0072]).
Regarding claim 16, the system further comprises: a third clip (10’’’; Figure 12) comprising an inner portion (12) and an outer portion (14), wherein the inner and outer portions are configured to compress tissue of a third heart valve leaflet (“Septal leaflet”; Figure 12) therebetween to secure the third clip to the third leaflet; wherein the third clip is configured to be separately deployable onto the third leaflet (as shown for the first and second clips - Figure 9A-9B) and secured to the first and second clips in vivo to bring portions of the third leaflet in closer proximity to the first and second leaflets, thereby improving coaptation of the first, second, and third leaflets (¶[0077], [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kizuka in view of Goldfarb et al. (US 2010/0022823; hereinafter “Goldfarb”; cited by Applicant in parent application 15/843995).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 12, Kizuka discloses that the outer portions of the first and second clips each comprise a frame (14/20) having a wing member (14) but fails to disclose that the wing members are resilient.
Goldfarb teaches that similar wing members (18) can be made of a resilient metal or polymer in order to prevent damage to a leaflet (¶[0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and in view of Goldfarb to have made the wing members of Kizuka from a resilient metal or polymer in order to prevent damage to the leaflets.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS MCEVOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771