DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Claim rejections based on prior art
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/28/2026 with respect to claims 1-6 and 11-24 have been fully considered but are moot in view of newly cited reference.
OBJECTIONS TO THE CLAIMS
Claims 6 and 19 are objected to as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
As per claim 6, line 3 discloses the phrase ‘the host’. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. ‘A host’ was not previously disclosed. Claim 19 has the same problem. Correction is needed.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-6 and 11-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiong et al. (US pub. # 2016/0062944), hereinafter, “Xiong”.
At the outset, Applicant is reminded that claims subject to examination will be given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023,1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). With this in mind, the discussion will focus on how the terms and relationships between the terms in the claims are met by the references.
2. As per claim 1, Xiong discloses a method comprising: identifying a doorbell event (source data, send data 320, as disclose in paragraphs 0029 and 0030) in a transmitting peer (local node 300 of fig. 3a; see paragraph 0029, which discloses “examples of read and write operations using tagged messages are illustrated in FIGS. 3a and 3b. As shown in the tagged message write operation of FIG. 3a, a block of source data is transferred from a local node 300 to a remote node 302 via an interconnect 304. In further detail, local node 300 includes a source buffer 306 in which the source data is stored, and an RMA write module 308, while remote node 302 includes an AM write request handler 310, an RMA progress module 312, and an RMA address space 314”); in response to identifying the doorbell event (send data 320, as discloses in paragraph 0029) (see paragraph 0019, which discloses “an RMA write of a block of source data 116 from source buffer 104 to RMA address space 112 proceeds as follows. Source data 116 is read from source buffer 104 via RMA write module 106, which generates an AM write request 118 that is sent over interconnect 114 to AM handler 110”), generating a zero byte write (ZBW) (AM write request 316, as disclose in paragraph 0030 and fig. 3a) having only a destination address and zero bytes of payload data (see paragraph 0030, which discloses “the tagged message write operation proceeds as follows. The RMA write comprises an AM write request 316 followed by a send operation 318. AM write request 316 carries only the information about the remote address range, without any data payload; rather, the send data 320 is transferred via the subsequent send operation 318”); sending the ZBW from the transmitting peer to a destination peer (remote node 302) (see paragraph 0030); and identifying, at the destination peer, a notification based on the ZBW(see paragraph 0030).
3. As per claim 2, Xiong discloses “The method of Claim 1” [See rejection to claim 1 above], comprising: identifying a doorbell register write in the transmitting peer, the write being addressed to a memory window; and generating the ZBW to the destination peer window (see paragraphs 0019 and 0030).
4. As per claims 3 and 13, Xiong discloses comprising sending the ZBW over a peripheral computer interconnect express (PCIe) fabric (see paragraph 0039).
5. As per claims 4 and 17, Xiong discloses, comprising associating the doorbell event with a unique, one-to-one or many-to-one mapping of local system interrupts (see paragraphs 0019 and 0030).
6. As per claims 5 and 18, Xiong discloses, comprising: mapping a memory window at the destination peer receiving the ZBW to a local doorbell event; and posting the doorbell event to a doorbell counter (see paragraphs 0019 and 0030).
7. As per claims 6 and 19, Xiong discloses, comprising: responsive to determining that the doorbell event is enabled to interrupt the host, triggering a local host interrupt (see paragraphs 0019 and 0030).
8. As per claim 11, Xiong discloses an apparatus, comprising: at least one transmitting peer (local node 300 of fig. 3a; see paragraph 0029, which discloses “examples of read and write operations using tagged messages are illustrated in FIGS. 3a and 3b. As shown in the tagged message write operation of FIG. 3a, a block of source data is transferred from a local node 300 to a remote node 302 via an interconnect 304. In further detail, local node 300 includes a source buffer 306 in which the source data is stored, and an RMA write module 308, while remote node 302 includes an AM write request handler 310, an RMA progress module 312, and an RMA address space 314”); at least one destination peer (remote node 302) (see paragraph 0030); at least one peripheral computer interconnect express (PCIe) fabric (interconnect 304; see paragraph 0039) communicatively coupling the transmitting peer to the destination peer (see fig. 3a); the transmitting peer comprising circuitry configured for: identifying a doorbell event (source data, send data 320, as disclose in paragraphs 0029 and 0030); in response to identifying the doorbell event (send data 320, as discloses in paragraph 0029) (see paragraph 0019, which discloses “an RMA write of a block of source data 116 from source buffer 104 to RMA address space 112 proceeds as follows. Source data 116 is read from source buffer 104 via RMA write module 106, which generates an AM write request 118 that is sent over interconnect 114 to AM handler 110”), generating a zero byte write (ZBW) (AM write request 316, as disclose in paragraph 0030 and fig. 3a) having only a destination address and zero bytes of payload data (see paragraph 0030, which discloses “the tagged message write operation proceeds as follows. The RMA write comprises an AM write request 316 followed by a send operation 318. AM write request 316 carries only the information about the remote address range, without any data payload; rather, the send data 320 is transferred via the subsequent send operation 318”); and sending the ZBW from the transmitting peer to the destination peer (see paragraph 0030).
9. As per claim 12, Xiong discloses wherein the destination peer comprises circuitry configured for: identifying a notification based on the ZBW (see paragraphs 0019 and 0030).
10. As per claim 14, Xiong discloses wherein the circuitry of the transmitting peer is configured for: identifying a write, the write being addressed to a memory window; and generating a doorbell event for the memory window (see paragraphs 0019 and 0030).
11. As per claim 15, Xiong discloses wherein the circuitry of the transmitting peer is configured for: responsive to writing the doorbell event to a doorbell register, mapping a destination ID associated with the doorbell event to a memory window of the destination peer, the memory window being shared with the transmitting peer; and sending the doorbell event to the memory window of the destination peer (see paragraphs 0019 and 0026).
12. As per claim 16, Xiong discloses wherein the circuitry of the transmitting peer is configured for: sending the doorbell event to the destination peer as a regular PCIe write transaction (see paragraphs 0030 and 0039).
13. As per claim 20, Xiong discloses a network comprising: a transmitting host (local node 300 of figs. 3a and 5; see paragraph 0029, which discloses “examples of read and write operations using tagged messages are illustrated in FIGS. 3a and 3b. As shown in the tagged message write operation of FIG. 3a, a block of source data is transferred from a local node 300 to a remote node 302 via an interconnect 304. In further detail, local node 300 includes a source buffer 306 in which the source data is stored, and an RMA write module 308, while remote node 302 includes an AM write request handler 310, an RMA progress module 312, and an RMA address space 314”) coupled to a peripheral computer interconnect express (PCIe) fabric over a first PCIe link (a first link of optical link 560 of fig. 5) and comprising a first messaging direct memory access endpoint (see paragraph 0040), the transmitting host comprising: a doorbell register (source buffer 306); and a first processor (see fig. 5) to transmit a zero byte write (ZBW) having only a destination address and zero bytes of payload data (see paragraph 0030, which discloses “the tagged message write operation proceeds as follows. The RMA write comprises an AM write request 316 followed by a send operation 318. AM write request 316 carries only the information about the remote address range, without any data payload; rather, the send data 320 is transferred via the subsequent send operation 318”); a destination host (remote node 302) coupled to the PCIe fabric over a second PCIe link (a second link of optical link 560 of fig. 5) and comprising a second messaging direct memory access endpoint (see figs. 3a, 5 and paragraph 0040), the destination host comprising: a memory window to receive the ZBW (see paragraphs 0019 and 0030); and a doorbell counter to maintain a list of received ZBWs (see paragraph 0024); and a management host (a second remote node 302) coupled to the PCIe fabric (see fig. 5).
14. As per claim 21, Xiong discloses wherein the management host manages the transfer of the ZBW from the first processor of the transmitting host to the memory window of the destination host (see fig. 5 and paragraphs 0019 and 0030. Note, this limitation is not calling for all the hosts to be ‘coupled’ simultaneously).
15. As per claim 22, Xiong discloses wherein the first PCle link and the second PCIe link are non-transparent bridges (see fig. 5).
16. As per claim 23, Xiong discloses wherein the first PCIe link and the second PCIe link are configured by the management host (see fig. 5 and paragraphs 0019 and 0030).
17. As per claim 24, Xiong discloses wherein the first processor in the transmitting host is not capable of writing the ZBW to the memory window of the destination host (see fig. 5. Note, this claim function takes place when power is removed from the system).
CLOSING COMMENTS
CONCLUSION
a. STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the
application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
a (1) CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 1-6 and 11-24 have received a first action on the merits and are subject of a first action non-final.
b. DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
Examiner should be directed to Ernest Unelus whose telephone number is (571) 272-
8596. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM.
IMPORTANT NOTE
If attempts to reach the above noted Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Mr. Idriss Alrobaye, can be reached at the following telephone number: Area Code (571) 270-1023.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PMR system, see her//pair-direct.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217- 91 97 (toll-free).
/Ernest Unelus/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181