DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/08/26, with respect to Double Patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-16 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng US 2017/0074522.
As to claim 2, Cheng teaches a scanning device comprising: an internal chamber; [abstract; figs. 1 (102); ¶ 0056-0057] an internal surface within the internal chamber configured to receive a material; [fig. 1 (110); ¶ 0056-0057] a camera configured to capture an image of the material, wherein the material is disposed within the internal chamber; [figs. 1 (118); ¶ 0056-0057; ¶ 0061-0063] and a display. [figs. 1 (122); ¶ 0062-0064; ¶ 0074]
As to claim 3, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 1. Cheng teaches wherein the display comprises a touchscreen configured to receive a user input to control the camera. [figs. 1 (122); ¶ 0062-0064; ¶ 0074]
As to claim 4, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 1. Cheng teaches further comprising a light source within the internal chamber configured to illuminate the material. [¶ 0070-0071]
As to claim 6, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 1. Cheng teaches further comprising a wireless interface configured to communicate image data to a remote computer system. [¶ 0073; ¶ 0077-0080]
As to claim 7, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 1. Cheng teaches wherein the display is configured to display the material within the internal chamber. [figs. 1 (122); ¶ 0062-0064; ¶ 0074]
As to claim 8, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 1. Cheng teaches further comprising an openable member configured to provide access to the internal chamber and to block light from an external environment when closed. [abstract; figs. 1 (106); ¶ 0056-0057]
As to claim 9, Cheng teaches a scanning device comprising: an internal chamber; [abstract; figs. 1 (102); ¶ 0056-0057] an internal surface within the internal chamber configured to receive a material; [fig. 1 (110); ¶ 0056-0057] a camera configured to capture an image of the material, wherein the material is disposed within the internal chamber; [figs. 1 (118); ¶ 0056-0057; ¶ 0061-0063] and a wireless interface configured to communicate image data of the material to a remote system. [¶ 0073; ¶ 0077-0080]
As to claim 10, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 9. Cheng teaches wherein the wireless interface is configured to connect to at least one of Wi-Fi, a cellular network, or Bluetooth. [¶ 0073; ¶ 0077-0080]
As to claim 11, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 9. further comprising a display configured to display the material inside the internal chamber. [fig. 1 (122); ¶ 0062-0064; ¶ 0074]
As to claim 12, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 11. Cheng teaches wherein the display comprises a touchscreen configured to receive user input to control the camera. [figs. 1; ¶ 0062-0064; ¶ 0074]
As to claim 13, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 9. Cheng teaches further comprising a light source within the internal chamber configured to illuminate the material. [¶ 0070-0071]
As to claim 14, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 9. Cheng teaches wherein the remote system is configured to determine an attribute of the material based on the image data. [figs. 19; ¶ 0061; ¶ 0077-0080]
As to claim 15, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 14. Chen teaches wherein the attribute is at least one of authenticity, purity, or quality of the material. [¶ 0070; ¶ 0079; ¶ 0085-0087; ¶ 0181]
As to claim 16, Cheng teaches a scanning device comprising: an internal chamber; [abstract; figs. 1 (102); ¶ 0056-0057] an internal surface within the internal chamber configured to receive a material; [fig. 1 (110); ¶ 0056-0057] a camera configured to capture an image of the material, wherein the material is disposed within the internal chamber; [figs. 1 (118); ¶ 0056-0057; ¶ 0061-0063] and a wireless interface configured to communicate image data of the material to a remote system and to receive, from the remote system, information indicative of an attribute of the material. [¶ 0073; ¶ 0077-0080]
As to claim 18, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 16. Cheng teaches further comprising a display configured to present at least one of the attribute of the material or the image of the material. [figs. 1 (122); ¶ 0062-0064; ¶ 0074]
As to claim 19, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 16. Cheng teaches wherein the wireless interface is configured to connect to at least one of Wi-Fi, a cellular network, or Bluetooth. [¶ 0073; ¶ 0077-0080]
As to claim 20, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 16. Cheng teaches further comprising a removable tray configured to hold the material on the internal surface. [¶ 0125]
As to claim 21, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 16. Cheng teaches further comprising a processor configured to process the image of the material locally at the scanning device. [fig. 2; ¶ 0064-0067]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over anticipated by Cheng US 2017/0074522 in view of Wolfe et al. US 2016/0364686.
As to claim 5, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the internal surface is adjustable to change a focal distance between the camera and the internal surface.
Wolfe teaches wherein the internal surface is adjustable to change a focal distance between the camera and the internal surface. [¶ 0044]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Wolfe with the teachings of Chen allowing for improved image sharpness and depth range.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over anticipated by Cheng US 2017/0074522 in view of Denker et al. US 2018/0324908.
As to claim 17, Cheng teaches the limitations of claim 16.
Chen teaches a remote system configured to determine the attribute. [¶ 0070; ¶ 0079; ¶ 0085-0087; ¶ 0181] Chen does not explicitly teach determining the attribute using machine learning.
Denker teaches determining the attribute using machine learning. [¶ 0244]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Denker with the teachings of Chen allowing for improved adaptation, convenience, consistency and reliable outcomes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483