DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by U.S Pub. No. 2022/0051664 A1 to Baror et al. (hereinafter “Baror”)
Regarding claim 1, Baror teaches a method implemented by one or more processors (Fig. 6 element 614 processor (s) and paragraph [0121]), the method comprising:
receiving user input to initiate an automated telephone call, the user input being received via a client device of a user (Abstract and paragraphs [0018]- [0020]; receiving, from a given user via a client device associated with the given user, user input to initiate an assisted call), and the automated telephone call to be performed by an automated assistant that is accessible at least in part at the client device (Fig.1 element 115 and paragraph [0022]; automated assistant 115 is shown in FIG. 1 as being implemented both locally on the client device 110 and remotely at the assisted call system 180);
identifying, based on the user input, an entity to engage with during the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0028] and [0129]; determining, based on the user input: an entity to engage with);
identifying, based on the user input, a task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0021] and [0129]; determining, based on the user input: an entity to engage with, on behalf of the given user, during the assisted call);
obtaining, based on the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and based on the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call, data that is associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call (paragraph [0129]; determining, for one or more candidate parameters stored in association with the task and/or the entity, one or more corresponding values to be used in automatically generating synthesized speech, during the assisted call, in performing the task);
determining, based on the data that is associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call, whether to initiate the automated telephone call or to refrain from initiating the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0020] and [0065]; automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon initiating the assisted call and prior to performance the task); and
in response to determining to refrain from initiating the automated telephone call: generating, based on the data that is associated with the entity to engage with
during the automated telephone call and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call, a notification that includes an indication of a certain reason with respect to why the automated assistant refrained from initiating the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0020] and [0065]; automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon initiating the assisted call and prior to performance the task. The automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon a given user of the client device 110 upon the given user initiating an ongoing call, even though the ongoing call is not initiated by the automated assistant 115. If the automated assistant 115 obtains consent from the additional user associated, then the automated assistant 115 can perform the task(s) using the assisted call system 180. However, if the automated assistant 115 does not obtain consent from the additional user, then the automated assistant 115 can cause the client device 110 to render a notification to the given user of the client device 110 (e.g., using rendering engine 113) indicating that the given user is needed to perform the task and/or end the call and render a notification to the given user of the client device 110 e.g., using rendering engine 113 indicating that the task(s) was not performed); and
causing the notification to be rendered for presentation to the user via the client device (paragraphs [0020] and [0065]; automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon initiating the assisted call and prior to performance the task…automated assistant 115 can cause the client device 110 to render a notification to the given user of the client device 110).
Regarding claim 2, Baror teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the notification further includes a selectable element that, when selected, causes the automated assistant to initiate and conduct the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0052] and [0055]; recommendation can be selectable, such that when user input is directed to a given recommendation (e.g., as determined by the user input engine 111), the given recommendation can cause the additional task(s) to be performed).
Regarding claim 3, Baror teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: receiving a user selection of the selectable element, the user input being received via the client device of the user; and in response to receiving the user selection of the selectable element: causing the automated assistant to initiate the automated telephone call; and causing the automated assistant to conduct the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0052] and [0055]; automated assistant 115 can render a selectable element that, upon selection by a given user of the client device 110, causes the scheduling engine 114 to create a reminder and/or calendar entry to perform the restaurant reservation task again at a later time and before the time/date value of the attempted restaurant reservation task (e.g., automatically performed by the automated assistant 115 at a later time or performed by the automated assistant 115 in response to a user selection of the reminder and/or calendar entry).
Regarding claim 4, Baror teaches the method of claim 3, wherein causing the automated assistant to initiate the automated telephone call comprises: causing the automated assistant to obtain a telephone number associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call; and causing the automated assistant to utilize the telephone number associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call to initiate the automated telephone call (Abstract, paragraphs [0020], [0030] and [0043]; a task of making a restaurant reservation, the automated assistant 155 can cause synthesized speech to be rendered, at an additional client device associated with an additional user, that identifies the automated assistant 115 on behalf of a given user of the client device 110, and that states the task(s) to be performed on behalf of the given user during the assisted call).
Regarding claim 5, Baror teaches the method of claim 4, wherein causing the automated assistant to conduct the automated telephone call comprises: causing the automated assistant to render one or more corresponding instances of synthesized speech to perform the task during the automated telephone call (Abstract, paragraphs [0042] and [0043]; one or more corresponding values to be used in automatically generating synthesized speech, during the assisted call, in performing the task).
Regarding claim 6, Baror teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising:
determining, based on the automated assistant performing the task during the automated telephone call, a result of performance of the task; generating, based on the result of performance of the task, an additional notification; and causing the additional notification to be rendered for presentation to the user via the client device (paragraphs [0020], [0045]-[0046] and [0065]; if the system does not obtain consent from the additional user, then the system can cause the client device to render a notification to the given user indicating that the given user is needed to perform the task and/or end the call and render a notification to the given user indicating that the task(s) was not performed).
Regarding claim 7, Baror teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the notification further includes a selectable link that, when selected, causes the automated assistant to navigate to a corresponding source of the data that is associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0089] and [0105]; the user input can indicate that a navigation action to the restaurant entity associated with the search results 420 and/or 430 should be performed. As yet another example, when a menu graphical element 423 and/or 433 associated with a given one of the search results 420 and/or 430 is selected, the user input can indicate that a browser-based action to display the menu for the restaurant entity associated with the search results 420 and/or 430 should be performed).
Regarding claim 8, Baror teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising:
receiving a user selection of the selectable link, the user input being received via the client device of the user; and in response to receiving the user selection of the selectable link: causing the automated assistant to navigate to the corresponding source of the data that is associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0089] and [0105]; the user input can indicate that a navigation action to the restaurant entity associated with the search results 420 and/or 430 should be performed. As yet another example, when a menu graphical element 423 and/or 433 associated with a given one of the search results 420 and/or 430 is selected, the user input can indicate that a browser-based action to display the menu for the restaurant entity associated with the search results 420 and/or 430 should be performed).
Regarding claim 9, Baror teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the automated assistant navigates to the corresponding source of the data, that is associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call, using a web browser software application or a navigation software application (paragraphs [0050] and [0086]; task performance engine 154 can cause the automated assistant 115 to provide output relevant to an ongoing call with an additional user associated with an entity, even if the ongoing call was not initiated using assisted speech (i.e., a non-assisted call), to perform task(s) on behalf of a given user of the client device 110. For example, the automated assistant 115 can interrupt the ongoing call to cause synthesized speech that includes value(s) to be rendered at the additional client device 110. In some versions of those implementations, the automated assistant 115 can provide output relevant to the ongoing call in response to user input from a given user of the client device 110).
Regarding claim 10, Baror teaches the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the data that is associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call based on the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and based on the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call comprises: causing the automated assistant to search (paragraph [0050]; client device 110 can detect user input that activates assisted call, and that asks the automated assistant 115 to retrieve the corresponding value(s) requested by the additional user (e.g., a value for a frequent flier number parameter), and can determine the value is associated with a particular entity (e.g., Example Airlines) based on the metadata associated with the ongoing call even though the particular entity was not explicitly identified in the request. Access-restricted data of the user can then be searched, by the automated assistant and using search parameters (e.g., term(s)) based on both the request of the additional user (e.g., “frequent flier”) and the metadata (e.g., “Example Airlines”)), over one or more databases, for entity data associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call; and causing the automated assistant to search, over the entity data included in one or more of the databases, for task data that is specific to the entity and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0050] and [0088]-[0089]; search results 420 and/or 430 can be associated with various selectable graphical elements that, when selected, cause the client device 410 to perform corresponding actions. For example, when a call graphical element 421 and/or 431 associated with a given one of the search results 420 and/or 430 is selected, the user input can indicate that a telephonic call action to the restaurant entity associated with the search results 420 and/or 430 should be performed).
Regarding claim 11, Baror teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the data that is associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call comprises one or more of: busy time statistics associated with how long a busy is the entity is at a given time instance, wait time statistics associated with how long a wait associated with the entity is at the given time instance, pecuniary statistics associated with pecuniary information for the entity, hours of operation information that includes hours of operation of the entity for a given time period, review information that includes information about the entity that is provided by other users, or image information that includes images about the entity of the entity that is provided by other users (paragraphs [0039], [0055] and [0064]; system can engage in a dialog with the additional user, and can generate synthesized speech audio that includes particular value(s) that are included in information requested by the additional user. For example, for a restaurant reservation task, the additional user can request information for a date/time parameter, and the system can generate, responsive to determining the request from additional user is for information for a date/time parameter, synthesized speech audio data that includes the date/time value. Further, the system can cause the synthesized speech audio data to be transmitted to the additional client device of the additional user, and synthesized speech included in the synthesized speech audio data to be audibly rendered at the additional client device. The additional user can request further information for various parameter(s), and the system can provide the value(s) to the additional user to perform the restaurant reservation task).
Regarding claim 12, Baror teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
in response to determining to initiate the automated telephone call: causing the automated assistant to initiate the automated telephone call; and causing the automated assistant to conduct the automated telephone call (Abstract, paragraphs [0032]; automated assistant to initiate an assisted call on behalf of a given user. The assistant can, during the assisted call, receiving a request, from an additional user on the assisted call, for information that is not known to the assistant).
Regarding claim 13, Baror teaches the method of claim 12, wherein causing the automated assistant to initiate the automated telephone call comprises:
causing the automated assistant to obtain a telephone number associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call; and causing the automated assistant to utilize the telephone number associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call to initiate the automated telephone call (Abstract and paragraph [0030]; a phone number associated with the additional user, a location associated with the additional user, an identifier that identifies the additional user and/or an entity associated with the additional user, a time the ongoing call began, a duration of the ongoing call, and/or other metadata associated with telephonic calls).
Regarding claim 14, Baror teaches the method of claim 13, wherein causing the automated assistant to conduct the automated telephone call comprises: causing the automated assistant to render one or more corresponding instances of synthesized speech to perform the task during the automated telephone call (Abstract, paragraphs [0020], [0030] and [0043]; a task of making a restaurant reservation, the automated assistant 155 can cause synthesized speech to be rendered, at an additional client device associated with an additional user, that identifies the automated assistant 115 on behalf of a given user of the client device 110, and that states the task(s) to be performed on behalf of the given user during the assisted call).
Regarding claim 15, Baror teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: determining, based on the automated assistant performing the task during the automated telephone call, a result of performance of the task; generating, based on the result of performance of the task, an additional notification; and causing the additional notification to be rendered for presentation to the user via the client device (paragraphs [0020] and [0065]; automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon initiating the assisted call and prior to performance the task. The automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon a given user of the client device 110 upon the given user initiating an ongoing call, even though the ongoing call is not initiated by the automated assistant 115. If the automated assistant 115 obtains consent from the additional user associated, then the automated assistant 115 can perform the task(s) using the assisted call system 180. However, if the automated assistant 115 does not obtain consent from the additional user, then the automated assistant 115 can cause the client device 110 to render a notification to the given user of the client device 110 (e.g., using rendering engine 113) indicating that the given user is needed to perform the task and/or end the call and render a notification to the given user of the client device 110 e.g., using rendering engine 113 indicating that the task(s) was not performed).
Regarding claim 16, Baror teaches the method of claim 1, wherein causing the notification to be rendered for presentation to the user via the client device comprises: causing the notification to be visually rendered via a display of the client device (paragraphs [0020] and [0065]; automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon initiating the assisted call and prior to performance the task. The automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon a given user of the client device 110 upon the given user initiating an ongoing call, even though the ongoing call is not initiated by the automated assistant 115. If the automated assistant 115 obtains consent from the additional user associated, then the automated assistant 115 can perform the task(s) using the assisted call system 180. However, if the automated assistant 115 does not obtain consent from the additional user, then the automated assistant 115 can cause the client device 110 to render a notification to the given user of the client device 110 (e.g., using rendering engine 113) indicating that the given user is needed to perform the task and/or end the call and render a notification to the given user of the client device 110 e.g., using rendering engine 113 indicating that the task(s) was not performed).
Regarding claim 17, Baror teaches the method of claim 1, wherein causing the notification to be rendered for presentation to the user via the client device comprises: causing the notification to be audibly rendered via one or more speakers of the client device (paragraphs [0020] and [0065]; automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon initiating the assisted call and prior to performance the task. The automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon a given user of the client device 110 upon the given user initiating an ongoing call, even though the ongoing call is not initiated by the automated assistant 115. If the automated assistant 115 obtains consent from the additional user associated, then the automated assistant 115 can perform the task(s) using the assisted call system 180. However, if the automated assistant 115 does not obtain consent from the additional user, then the automated assistant 115 can cause the client device 110 to render a notification to the given user of the client device 110 (e.g., using rendering engine 113) indicating that the given user is needed to perform the task and/or end the call and render a notification to the given user of the client device 110 e.g., using rendering engine 113 indicating that the task(s) was not performed).
Regarding claim 18, Baror teaches a system comprising:
at least one hardware processor (Fig. 6 element 614 processor (s) and paragraph [0121]); and
memory storing instructions (paragraph [0121]; memory subsystem 625) that, when executed, cause the at least one hardware processor to be operable to (Fig. 6 element 614 processor (s) and paragraph [0121]):
receive user input to initiate an automated telephone call, the user input being received via a client device of a user (Abstract and paragraphs [0018]- [0020]; receiving, from a given user via a client device associated with the given user, user input to initiate an assisted call), and the automated telephone call to be performed by an automated assistant that is accessible at least in part at the client device (Fig.1 element 115 and paragraph [0022]; automated assistant 115 is shown in FIG. 1 as being implemented both locally on the client device 110 and remotely at the assisted call system 180);
identify, based on the user input, an entity to engage with during the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0028] and [0129]; determining, based on the user input: an entity to engage with);
identify, based on the user input, a task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0021] and [0129]; determining, based on the user input: an entity to engage with, on behalf of the given user, during the assisted call);
obtain, based on the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and based on the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call, data that is associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call (paragraph [0129]; determining, for one or more candidate parameters stored in association with the task and/or the entity, one or more corresponding values to be used in automatically generating synthesized speech, during the assisted call, in performing the task);
determine, based on the data that is associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call, whether to initiate the automated telephone call or to refrain from initiating the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0020] and [0065]; automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon initiating the assisted call and prior to performance the task); and
in response to determining to refrain from initiating the automated telephone call: generate, based on the data that is associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call, a notification that includes an indication of a certain reason with respect to why the automated assistant refrained from initiating the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0020] and [0065]; automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon initiating the assisted call and prior to performance the task. The automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon a given user of the client device 110 upon the given user initiating an ongoing call, even though the ongoing call is not initiated by the automated assistant 115. If the automated assistant 115 obtains consent from the additional user associated, then the automated assistant 115 can perform the task(s) using the assisted call system 180. However, if the automated assistant 115 does not obtain consent from the additional user, then the automated assistant 115 can cause the client device 110 to render a notification to the given user of the client device 110 (e.g., using rendering engine 113) indicating that the given user is needed to perform the task and/or end the call and render a notification to the given user of the client device 110 e.g., using rendering engine 113 indicating that the task(s) was not performed); and
cause the notification to be rendered for presentation to the user via the client device (paragraphs [0020] and [0065]; automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon initiating the assisted call and prior to performance the task…automated assistant 115 can cause the client device 110 to render a notification to the given user of the client device 110).
Regarding claim 19, Baror teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed, causes at least one hardware processor to perform operations (paragraphs [0121] and [0149]; one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media storing computer instructions executable by one or more processors to perform any of the aforementioned methods), the operations comprising:
receiving user input to initiate an automated telephone call, the user input being received via a client device of a user (Abstract and paragraphs [0018]- [0020]; receiving, from a given user via a client device associated with the given user, user input to initiate an assisted call), and the automated telephone call to be performed by an automated assistant that is accessible at least in part at the client device (Fig.1 element 115 and paragraph [0022]; automated assistant 115 is shown in FIG. 1 as being implemented both locally on the client device 110 and remotely at the assisted call system 180);
identifying, based on the user input, an entity to engage with during the automated telephone call;
identifying, based on the user input, a task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0028] and [0129]; determining, based on the user input: an entity to engage with);
obtaining, based on the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and based on the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call, data that is associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call (paragraph [0129]; determining, for one or more candidate parameters stored in association with the task and/or the entity, one or more corresponding values to be used in automatically generating synthesized speech, during the assisted call, in performing the task);
determining, based on the data that is associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call, whether to initiate the automated telephone call or to refrain from initiating the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0020] and [0065]; automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon initiating the assisted call and prior to performance the task); and
in response to determining to refrain from initiating the automated telephone call: generating, based on the data that is associated with the entity to engage with during the automated telephone call and that is relevant to the task to be performed by the automated assistant during the automated telephone call, a notification that includes an indication of a certain reason with respect to why the automated assistant refrained from initiating the automated telephone call (paragraphs [0020] and [0065]; automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon initiating the assisted call and prior to performance the task. The automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon a given user of the client device 110 upon the given user initiating an ongoing call, even though the ongoing call is not initiated by the automated assistant 115. If the automated assistant 115 obtains consent from the additional user associated, then the automated assistant 115 can perform the task(s) using the assisted call system 180. However, if the automated assistant 115 does not obtain consent from the additional user, then the automated assistant 115 can cause the client device 110 to render a notification to the given user of the client device 110 (e.g., using rendering engine 113) indicating that the given user is needed to perform the task and/or end the call and render a notification to the given user of the client device 110 e.g., using rendering engine 113 indicating that the task(s) was not performed); and
causing the notification to be rendered for presentation to the user via the client device (paragraphs [0020] and [0065]; automated assistant 115 can obtain consent upon initiating the assisted call and prior to performance the task…automated assistant 115 can cause the client device 110 to render a notification to the given user of the client device 110).
Conclusion
AKELAW TESHALE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/AKELAW TESHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694