DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially continuous” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially continuous” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Either something is continuous or it isn’t. It is unclear what is meant by the term “substantially continuous”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 14-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hannula (US 20040221370 A1).
In regards to claim 1 Hannula teaches an assembly comprising:
a pulse oximetry sensor patch configured to be applied to a region of skin of a patient ([0028] forehead sensor 101 (e.g., an oximetry sensor));
and a stretchable pressure backing configured to secure the pulse oximetry sensor patch against the skin ([0028] headband 200),
wherein the stretchable pressure backing is configured to stretch from an unstretched length to a stretched length ([0028] [0030] “The user can apply a wide range of pressures to the forehead oximetry sensor depending on the amount of tension which has been applied to the headband during its placement around the wearer's head”);
wherein when the stretchable pressure backing is stretched to the stretched length, the stretchable pressure backing is configured to press the pulse oximetry sensor patch against the skin to apply pressure to reduce venous pulsations in the region of the skin ([0028] “The headband can be used to apply pressure to the oximetry sensor, thus reducing the effects of venous pulsations.”).
In regards to claim 2 Hannula teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the stretched length is configured to apply pressure in a range from 6 millimeters of mercury (mmHg) to 20 mmHg ( [0028] “Generally, a good pressure range is one where the applied pressure is higher than venous pressure (e.g., 3-5 mm Hg) and lower than the capillary pressure (e.g., 22 mm Hg). Preferably, this is between 10 mm Hg and 20 mm Hg in the adult patient”).
In regards to claim 14 Hannula teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the stretchable pressure backing comprises a non-woven material ([0031] open cell urethane foam is a nonwoven material).
In regards to claim 15 Hannula teaches a method comprising:
applying a pulse oximetry sensor patch to a region of skin of a patient ([0044] forehead oximetry sensor 300 is inherently placed on the user first before the headband);
positioning a stretchable pressure backing across the pulse oximetry sensor patch ([0044] “Next, as shown in FIG. 10C, the elastic segment side is rolled over the patient's forehead covering the sensor 300”);
and stretching the stretchable pressure backing across the pulse oximetry sensor patch from an unstretched length to a stretched length to cause the pulse oximetry sensor patch to apply pressure against the skin to reduce venous pulsations in the region of the skin ([0044] “Next, as shown in FIG. 10D, the tab 206 is pulled until the elastic portion 204 reaches the stop 207 and indicator or visible portion 211 of the band is no longer visible”).
In regards to claim 16 Hannula teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the stretched length is configured to apply pressure in a range from 6 millimeters of mercury (mmHg) to 20 mmHg ([0028] “Generally, a good pressure range is one where the applied pressure is higher than venous pressure (e.g., 3-5 mm Hg) and lower than the capillary pressure (e.g., 22 mm Hg). Preferably, this is between 10 mm Hg and 20 mm Hg in the adult patient”).
In regards to claim 20 Hannula teaches a kit comprising:
a pulse oximetry sensor patch configured to be applied to a region of a skin of a patient([0028] forehead sensor 101 (e.g., an oximetry sensor));
and at least two stretchable pressure backings configured to secure the pulse oximetry sensor patch against the skin ([0028] headband 200; [0040] In one embodiment, the different head sizes of the wearer's are accommodated by providing a suite of different sized headbands),
wherein each of the stretchable pressure backings is configured to stretch across the pulse oximetry sensor patch from an unstretched length to a stretched length ([0028] [0030] “The user can apply a wide range of pressures to the forehead oximetry sensor depending on the amount of tension which has been applied to the headband during its placement around the wearer's head”);
in which the stretchable pressure backing presses the pulse oximetry sensor patch against the patient’s skin to apply pressure to reduce venous pulsations in the region of the skin ([0028] “The headband can be used to apply pressure to the oximetry sensor, thus reducing the effects of venous pulsations.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsherbini (US 20180020982 A1) in view of Hannula (US 20040221370 A1).
In regards to claim 1 Elsherbini teaches an assembly comprising:
a pulse oximetry sensor patch configured to be applied to a region of skin of a patient ([0114] Electronics 102 in Fig. 1C can monitor pulse oximetry);
and a stretchable pressure backing configured to secure the pulse oximetry sensor patch against the skin ([0026] Substrate 104 in Fig. 1C is stretchable and is applied over the sensor),
wherein the stretchable pressure backing is configured to stretch from an unstretched length to a stretched length ([0026] Substrate 104 in Fig. 1C is stretchable and is applied over the sensor).
Elsherbini doesn’t explicitly teach an assembly wherein when the stretchable pressure backing is stretched to the stretched length, the stretchable pressure backing is configured to press the pulse oximetry sensor patch against the skin to apply pressure to reduce venous pulsations in the region of the skin. Hannula teaches a stretchable headband that is stretched to a stretched length, the stretchable pressure backing is configured to press a pulse oximetry sensor patch against the skin to apply around 10 mmHg to 20 mmHg of pressure to reduce venous pulsations in the region of the skin ([0028] “The headband can be used to apply pressure to the oximetry sensor, thus reducing the effects of venous pulsations”, “The user can apply a wide range of pressures to the forehead oximetry sensor depending on the amount of tension which has been applied to the headband during its placement around the wearer's head”). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the stretchable pressure backing of Elsherbini so it is stretched enough to apply pressure like the headband of Hannula in order to reduce the effects of venous pulsations on the oximetry sensor.
In regards to claim 2 modified Elsherbini teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the stretched length is configured to apply pressure in a range from 6 millimeters of mercury (mmHg) to 20 mmHg (Hannula [0028] “Generally, a good pressure range is one where the applied pressure is higher than venous pressure (e.g., 3-5 mm Hg) and lower than the capillary pressure (e.g., 22 mm Hg). Preferably, this is between 10 mm Hg and 20 mm Hg in the adult patient”).
In regards to claim 4 modified Elsherbini teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the stretchable pressure backing comprises a backing adhesive layer configured to secure at least a portion of the stretchable pressure backing to the skin ([0027] “The patch 100B as illustrated includes an adhesive 110 on a bottom surface 108B of the substrate 104. The bottom surface 108B is opposite the top surface 108A. The bottom surface 108B faces skin 106 of a user”).
In regards to claim 5 modified Elsherbini teaches the assembly of claim 4, wherein the backing adhesive layer is substantially continuous over an entire surface of the stretchable pressure backing ([0029] [0090] “In one or more embodiments, the adhesive 110 can be located on the electronics 102”). It would be obvious for the entire bottom surface of the substrate to have adhesive on it to cover both the electronics and the skin in contact with the bottom surface.
In regards to claim 6 modified Elsherbini teaches the assembly of claim 4, wherein the backing adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive portion spaced from a second adhesive portion, wherein the first adhesive portion and the second adhesive portion are configured to straddle the pulse oximetry sensor patch ([0029] Fig.1C shows two portions of adhesive on either side of sensor. “The adhesive 110, as illustrated, is located on portions of the substrate 104 around the electronics 102”).
In regards to claim 14 modified Elsherbini teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the stretchable pressure backing comprises a non-woven material ([0026] elastomer is a nonwoven material).
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsherbini (US 20180020982 A1) in view of Hannula (US 20040221370 A1) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Theraband (Xactstretch: The Right Stretch, Every Time).
In regards to claim 3 modified Elsherbini teaches the assembly of claim 1. Modified Elserbini does not teach that the stretched length is at least 20% greater than the unstretched length. Theraband teaches a stretchy kinesiology tape that can stretch up to 100% of it’s unstretched length ([0003] “Fully stretched, TheraBand Kinesiology Tape reaches 100% of its off paper length”). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the stretchable pressure backing of modified Elsherbini to be made of the same material as the tape of Theraband. Doing so would allow the pressure backing to stretch to various lengths in order to change the amount of pressure applied to the sensor.
In regards to claim 10 modified Elsherbini teaches the assembly of claim 1. Modified Elsherbini fails to teach an assembly wherein the stretchable pressure backing further comprises stretching indicia indicative of a target stretched length. Theraband teaches a stretchable tape comprising stretching indicia indicative of a target stretched length ([0001] Fig. 1 indicators show if the tape is stretched to a desired length in order to get a consistent stretch every time). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the stretchable pressure backing of modified Elsherbini to include indicators that indicate a certain stretch length like the device of Theraband in order to get consistent tension in the stretchable pressure backing with each use.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsherbini (US 20180020982 A1) in view of Hannula (US 20040221370 A1) as applied to claim 4, further in view of Colliou (US 20190388030 A1).
In regards to claim 7 modified Elsherbini teaches the assembly of claim 4. Modified Elsherbini fails to teach an assembly wherein the stretchable pressure backing further comprises a backing release liner covering at least a portion of the backing adhesive layer. Colliou teaches release liners that cover the adhesive surface of an adhesive overlay ([0033] release liners 3 and 4). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the stretchable pressure backing of modified Elsherbini to include liners that can be removed like the adhesive overlay of Colliou in order to protect the adhesive layer before it is in use.
Claim(s) 8, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsherbini (US 20180020982 A1) in view of Hannula (US 20040221370 A1) as applied to claim 1, in view of DelloStritto (US 20120101349 A1).
In regards to claim 8 modified Elsherbini teaches the assembly of claim 1. Modified Elsherbini fails to teach an assembly wherein the pulse oximetry sensor patch further comprises a sensor adhesive layer configured to secure the pulse oximetry sensor patch to the skin. DelloStritto teaches a sensor adhesive layer configured to secure a pulse oximetry sensor patch to the skin of a user ([0013] Adhesive strip 136). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the pulse oximeter of modified Elsherbini to include an adhesive layer to attach the sensor to the skin like the device of DelloStritto.
In regards to claim 12 modified Elsherbini teaches the assembly of claim 1. Modified Elsherbini fails to teach an assembly wherein the pulse oximetry sensor patch further comprises a padding layer. DelloStritto teaches a pulse oximetry sensor comprising a pad with a sensor window ([0013] “disposable pad 128 and an adhesive strip 136 wherein each includes at least one passage 132 and 138, respectively”). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to substitute the pulse oximeter of modified Elsherbini be the pulse oximeter sensor of DelloStritto. Doing so would merely be a simple substitution of one pulse oximeter sensor configuration for another in order to obtain predictable results.
In regards to claim 13 modified Elsherbini teaches the assembly of claim 12, wherein the padding layer defines at least one sensor window extending across at least one optical component of the pulse oximetry sensor patch (DelloStritto [0013] “disposable pad 128 and an adhesive strip 136 wherein each includes at least one passage 132 and 138, respectively”).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsherbini (US 20180020982 A1) in view of Hannula (US 20040221370 A1) in view of DelloStritto (US 20120101349 A1) as applied to claim 8, further in view of Colliou (US 20190388030 A1).
In regards to claim 9 modified Elsherbini teaches the assembly of claim 8, wherein the pulse oximetry sensor patch further comprises a sensor release liner covering at least a portion of the sensor adhesive layer. Colliou teaches release liners that cover an adhesive surface ([0033] release liners 3 and 4). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the adhesive layer of the sensor of modified Elsherbini to include liners that can be removed like the liners of Colliou in order to protect the adhesive layer before it is in use.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsherbini (US 20180020982 A1) in view of Hannula (US 20040221370 A1) further in view of Theraband (Xactstretch: The Right Stretch, Every Time) as applied to claim 10, further in view of Gowans (US 20200289347 A1).
In regards to claim 11 modified Elsherbini teaches the assembly of claim 10. Modified Elsherbini fails to teach an assembly wherein the stretching indicia comprises a first indicia alignable with a first end of the pulse oximetry sensor patch and a second indicia alignable with a second end of the pulse oximetry sensor patch along the stretched length of the stretchable pressure backing. Gowans teaches alignment features in order to facilitate proper placement of an adhesive wound dressing ([0255-0256] alignment ring on skin lines up with orientation feature 410). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the indicia of modified Elsherbini to line up with markings like the ones of Gowans on each of the ends of the sensor when stretched in order to facilitate proper placement of the stretchable pressure backing.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannula (US 20040221370 A1) as applied to claim 15, further in view of Universal Companies (Canyon Rose Stretch Terry Headband / 3pc).
In regards to claim 17 Hannula teaches the assembly of claim 15, wherein the headband is made of a terry band ([0033] The elastic material may be made of a material as is described above, or made using other suitable material such as a terry band). Hannula does not teach that the stretched length is at least 20% greater than the unstretched length. Universal Companies teaches a terry band that can stretch up to 31.5% of its unstretched length (Description 4" Wide. 18.25" without stretch, 24" stretched). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to substitute the terry band of Hannula with the one of Universal Companies. Doing so would merely be substituting one terry band type for another in order to achieve a stretch of more than 20% than the unstretched length of the band.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannula (US 20040221370 A1) as applied to claim 15, in view of Quinn (US 20100298747 A1).
In regards to claim 18 Hannula teaches the method of claim 15. Hannula fails to teach a method further comprising: adhering, before the stretching, a first portion of the stretchable pressure backing on a first side of the pulse oximetry sensor patch to the patient’s skin; and adhering, after the stretching, a second portion of the stretchable pressure backing on a second side of the pulse oximetry sensor patch to the patient’s skin. Quinn teaches a method of applying kinesiology tape comprising: adhering, before the stretching, a first portion of the stretchable pressure backing on a first side of the patient’s skin ([0029] “This can facilitate placement of the kinesiology tape 100 by allowing the user to only work with desired sections of the kinesiology tape 100 or to apply the tape with a specific amount of stretch by first anchoring only the exposed adhesive and then applying the rest of the tape with desired amount of stretch”); and adhering, after the stretching, a second portion of the stretchable pressure to the patient’s skin ([0029] “This can facilitate placement of the kinesiology tape 100 by allowing the user to only work with desired sections of the kinesiology tape 100 or to apply the tape with a specific amount of stretch by first anchoring only the exposed adhesive and then applying the rest of the tape with desired amount of stretch”). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the method of Hannula to use kinesiology tape in place of the headband and apply it like the method of Quinn in order to adhere the stretchable pressure backing to the skin with desired amount of stretch.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannula (US 20040221370 A1) as applied to claim 15, in view of Theraband (Xactstretch: The Right Stretch, Every Time).
In regards to claim 19 Hannula teaches the method of claim 15, including a sensor outline on the elastic portion of the headband ([0044] It may be preferable to provide a sensor design outline on the elastic portion of the headband, in which case it is preferred to align the sensor outline on the elastic band portion of the forehead sensor approximately with the sensor 300). Hannula fails to teach wherein the stretching comprises stretching the stretchable pressure backing such that a first stretching indicia of the stretchable pressure backing aligns with a first end of the pulse oximetry sensor patch and a second stretching indicia of the stretchable pressure backing aligns with a second end of the pulse oximetry sensor patch along the stretched length of the stretchable pressure backing. Theraband teaches indica that stretches with the band to indicate when the band has hit a target stretched length ([0001] Fig. 1 indicators show if the tape is stretched to a desired length in order to get a consistent stretch every time). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the method of Hannula to use a sensor design outline that stretches with the band like the one of Theraband which would allow the user to line up the first end of the outline and second end of the outline with the ends of the sensor. Doing so would ensure the stretchable pressure backing is aligned with the sensor when it stretches.
Conclusion
/LUCY EPPERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ADAM J EISEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791