DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species I, Figures 3-23 in the reply filed on 11 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11 May 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nichols (DE 10 2018 006 573 A1) (hereinafter Nichols).
Regarding claim 1, Nichols teaches a rim [200] for a bicycle wheel (see Abstract, Figs. 1-3), the rim comprising:
a radially inner portion disposed along an inner circumference of the rim [outer convex side of the rim wall]; a first sidewall [left]; a second sidewall [right] spaced apart from the first sidewall, wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall extend radially outward from the radially inner portion [left and right walls extending upwardly from outer convex side of rim 200] (see Figs. 17 and 20);
a radially outer tire engaging portion disposed along an outer circumference of the rim, the radially outer tire engaging portion extending from the first sidewall and the second sidewall, respectively [inner concave side of the rim wall extending from the left and right walls of rim 200] (see Figs. 17 and 20);
an opening through the radially inner portion at a first circumferential position along the inner circumference, an air valve of the bicycle wheel being positionable through the opening [rim including a first hole to facilitate installation of valve stem 105] (Pg. 4, see Fig. 1); and
a receptacle [second hole] for a sensor device [pressure measuring arrangement 104] within the radially inner portion at a second circumferential position along the inner circumference, the second circumferential position being different than the first circumferential position [second hole to facilitate installation of the pressure measuring arrangement 104; first and second holes disposed on radially opposite sides of the wheel] (Pg. 4, see Figs. 1 and 17-19).
Regarding claim 2, Nichols as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the second circumferential position is opposite the first circumferential position [first and second holes disposed on radially opposite sides of the wheel] (Pg. 4, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Nichols as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising the sensor device disposed within the receptacle and attached to the radially inner portion, the radially outer tire engaging portion, or the radially inner portion and the radially outer tire engaging portion [sensor device extends through the opening and is attached to both the radially inner portion and the radially outer tire engaging portion] (see Figs. 9 and 17-20).
Regarding claim 4, Nichols as applied to claim 3 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the radially outer tire engaging portion [inner concave side] includes a first tire retaining portion extending away from the first sidewall, and a second tire retaining portion extending away from the second sidewall, such that the first tire retaining portion and the second tire retaining portion are spaced apart from each other [tire bed 208] (see Figs. 17 and 20), and wherein the sensor device comprises a housing disposed within the receptacle [housing 1104 with portion that goes through second opening in rim]; and a pressure sensor [pressure sensor] supported by the housing and configured to determine a pressure of a fluid within a volume between the first tire retaining portion and the second tire retaining portion of the radially outer tire engaging portion [outward force F acting on the pressure transmitting element 508 in the volume between the first tire retaining portion and the second tire retaining portion; air chamber of pneumatic tire or inner tube] (Pgs. 7-8, see Figs. 16-20).
Regarding claim 7, Nichols as applied to claim 4 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the pressure sensor is fluidly connected to at least a portion of the radially outer tire engaging portion [outward force F acting on the pressure transmitting element 508 in the volume between the radially outer tire engaging portion and the edge of the tire; air chamber of pneumatic tire or inner tube] (Pgs. 7-8, see Figs. 16-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichols, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Weissberg et al. (WO 2008/102344 A1) (hereinafter Weissberg).
Regarding claims 12-13, Nichols as applied to claim 4 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the rim is made of a composite laminate, wherein the rim further comprises a sensing element embedded in the composite laminate, wherein the sensor device further comprises a processor in communication with the sensing element, the processor configured to identify a change in electrical characteristics of the sensing element, and identify structural characteristics to the rim based on the identified change, wherein the sensing element is a wire mesh with a predetermined resistance or an insulated electrically conductive wire. Weissberg teaches composite laminate materials used in bicycles comprising embedded wire mesh as a sensing element for detecting damage to the composite material by a processor (see Abstract). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Nichols with Weissberg such that the rim is made of a composite laminate, wherein the rim further comprises a sensing element embedded in the composite laminate, wherein the sensor device further comprises a processor in communication with the sensing element, the processor configured to identify a change in electrical characteristics of the sensing element, and identify structural characteristics to the rim based on the identified change, wherein the sensing element is a wire mesh with a predetermined resistance or an insulated electrically conductive wire, in order to structurally monitor the bicycle rim.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of copending Application No. 19/171,933 (hereinafter the ‘933 application) in view of Nichols.
Regarding claim 1, claims 1 and 10 of the ‘933 application teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the air valve of the bicycle wheel is separate from the sensor housing and positioned at an opening at a second circumferential position different from the first circumferential position. Nichols teaches a bicycle rim having an opening through the radially inner portion at a first circumferential position along the inner circumference, an air valve of the bicycle wheel being positionable through the opening [rim including a first hole to facilitate installation of valve stem 105] (Pg. 4, see Fig. 1); and a receptacle [second hole] for a sensor device [pressure measuring arrangement 104] within the radially inner portion at a second circumferential position along the inner circumference, the second circumferential position being different than the first circumferential position [second hole to facilitate installation of the pressure measuring arrangement 104; first and second holes disposed on radially opposite sides of the wheel] (Pg. 4, see Figs. 1 and 17-19). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the ‘933 Application with Nichols such that the air valve of the bicycle wheel is separate from the sensor housing and positioned at an opening at a second circumferential position different from the first circumferential position, for the predictable result of providing a pressure sensor for the bicycle wheel.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 14, Nichols teaches certain limitations found in the claim, as described in the rejection of Claim 1 above, in addition to a battery configured to power the pressure sensor and a battery housing configured to support the battery, the battery being removably attached to the housing at the portion of the housing (see Fig. 16). Nichols fails to teach wherein the battery is accessible at the radially inner portion of the rim, in combination with the rest of the limitations found in the claim.
Regarding claim 15, it is dependent on claim 14.
Claims 5-6 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 5-6, the primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is the inclusion of the limitations regarding wherein the power source is accessible at the inner circumference of the rim, in combination with the rest of the limitations found in the claims.
Regarding claim 8, the primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is the inclusion of the limitations regarding a fastener extending through an opening through the radially outer tire engaging portion, wherein the fastener is ported, such that a fluid passage extends through the fastener, along a length of the fastener, and wherein the pressure sensor is fluidly connected to the volume of the radially outer tire engaging portion via the fluid passage extending through the fastener., in combination with the rest of the limitations found in the claim.
Regarding claims 9-10, the primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is the inclusion of the limitations regarding a cover configured to cover the receptacle and form part of the radially inner portion; and a toggle bolt configured to connect the cover to the housing of the sensor device, such that the cover is pivotable relative to the housing of the sensor device, wherein the sensor device is positionable within the rim via the receptacle, and wherein the toggle bolt is further configured to clamp the cover and the sensor device to opposite sides of the radially inner portion, respectively, at the receptacle, such that the sensor device is attached to the radially inner portion, in combination with the rest of the limitations found in the claim.
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855