DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims, filed on 6/8/26, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Any rejections made in the previous action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: “an interval between the micro recess parts” should be changed to “an average interval between centers of the micro recess parts” for the purposes of clarity and consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Sano teaches a synthetic resin leather (e.g., a skin material with a substrate and a polymeric layer) comprising a base material (e.g., substrate); and a skin layer (e.g., skin material) that is stacked on the base material and is made of a synthetic resin (e.g., acrylic paint or resin), wherein multiple micro recess parts are intermittently and regularly formed on a surface of the skin layer, and the multiple micro recess parts form multiple bottom face parts that are located at a substantially constant depth from the surface of the skin layer, and multiple inner side face parts that extend from the surface of the skin layer to the multiple bottom face parts; wherein the multiple micro recess parts are formed in a hemispherical shape with a curved bottom face part (e.g., substantially circular); wherein a depth from the surface to the bottom face parts is smaller than a thickness of the skin layer (abstract; para 24-29; fig 2).
Regarding the limitation “an average interval between centers of the micro recess parts which are adjacent is from 180 µm to 310 µm;” Sano teaches that the fine recesses have a maximum diameter of 90 to 130 µm and a pitch (i.e., interval between the micro recess parts) of 50 to 300 µm (para 27), i.e., an average interval between centers of the micro recess parts of 95 to 365 µm. This range substantially overlaps that of the instant claims. It has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Sano, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding the limitation “wherein some inner side face parts are configured to be elastically deformed due to the contact with a hand and/or finger, and when the hand and/or finger is moved away, the inner side face parts moves return to the original shapes;” Sano teaches or otherwise would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention the method of manufacture and structure of the synthetic resin leather of the instant claims. Sano further teaches the skin layer is made of acrylic paint, i.e., an acrylic resin which matches the composition of the skin layer specified for that of the skin layer required to achieve the property or functionality (see instant spec page 5, lines 9-15). Therefore the synthetic resin leather of Sano is deemed to possess the forementioned property or functionality.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (MPEP § 2112.01 I).
Regarding claim 6, Sano teaches a method for manufacturing synthetic resin leather (e.g., a skin material with a substrate and a polymeric layer), comprising a stacking process (e.g., adhering) for forming a skin layer (e.g., skin material) made of a synthetic resin (e.g., acrylic paint or resin) on a base material (e.g., substrate); and an embossing process (e.g., embossed) for intermittently and regularly forming multiple micro recess parts over an entire surface of the skin layer, wherein, in the embossing process, multiple bottom face parts that are located at a substantially constant depth from the surface of the skin layer, and multiple inner side face parts that extend from the surface of the skin layer to the multiple bottom face parts are embossed to form the multiple micro recess parts; wherein the multiple micro recess parts are formed in a hemispherical shape with a curved bottom face part (e.g., substantially circular) (abstract; para 24-29; fig 2).
Regarding the limitation “an average interval between centers of the micro recess parts which are adjacent is from 180 µm to 310 µm;” Sano teaches that the fine recesses have a maximum diameter of 90 to 130 µm and a pitch (i.e., interval between the micro recess parts) of 50 to 300 µm (para 27), i.e., an average interval between centers of the micro recess parts of 95 to 365 µm. This range substantially overlaps that of the instant claims. It has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Sano, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding the limitation “wherein some inner side face parts are configured to be elastically deformed due to the contact with a hand and/or finger, and when the hand and/or finger is moved away, the inner side face parts moves return to the original shapes;” Sano teaches or otherwise would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention the method of manufacture and structure of the synthetic resin leather of the instant claims. Sano further teaches the skin layer is made of acrylic paint, i.e., an acrylic resin which matches the composition of the skin layer specified for that of the skin layer required to achieve the property or functionality (see instant spec page 5, lines 9-15). Therefore the synthetic resin leather of Sano is deemed to possess the forementioned property or functionality.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (MPEP § 2112.01 I).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to change the shape of multiple micro recess to that of having a flat bottom face part, since changes in shape are prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.04 IV B).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Sano teaches that the fine recesses have a maximum diameter of 90 to 130 µm, a depth of 50 to 110 µm, and a pitch (i.e., interval between the micro recess parts) of 50 to 300 µm (para 27), i.e., an average interval between centers of the micro recess parts of 95 to 365 µm (para 27); so based on a unit of 20 µm, Sano would have rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention wherein an average ratio between an inner diameter of each of the multiple micro recess parts on the surface of the skin layer, a depth of the micro recess parts from the surface to the bottom face parts, and an interval between the centers of the micro recess parts is 4.5 to 6.5 : 2.5 to 5.5 : 4.75 to 18.25, and the interval is larger than the inner diameter.
These ranges for the average ratio substantially overlap that of the instant claims. It has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Sano, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP § 2144.05).
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Schaefer (US 2010/0263235 A1).
Sano teaches the synthetic resin leather according to claim 1 and method for manufacturing synthetic resin leather according to claim 6.
Sano fails to suggest wherein multiple ultramicro convex parts are formed to provide a sandy texture on a portion of the surface of the skin layer other than the micro recess parts, and an average height of the multiple ultramicro convex parts is smaller than the depths of the multiple micro recess parts.
Shaefer teaches a coated leather comprising a base material (e.g., leather); and a skin layer (4) that is stacked on the base material and is made of a synthetic resin capable of being elastically deformed (e.g., polyurethane), wherein multiple micro recess parts (e.g., microindentations) are intermittently and regularly formed on a surface of the skin layer, and the multiple micro recess parts form multiple bottom face parts that are located at a substantially constant depth from the surface of the skin layer, and multiple inner side face parts that extend from the surface of the skin layer to the multiple bottom face parts and are capable of being elastically deformed; wherein multiple ultramicro convex parts (431) (e.g., narrow surfaces) are formed to provide a sandy texture (e.g., nubuck) on a portion of the surface of the skin layer other than the micro recess parts, and an average height of the multiple ultramicro convex parts is smaller than the depths of the multiple micro recess parts; wherein the narrow surfaces are matte to extremely micro-fibrous soft and flexible and impart the typical nubuck grip and the nubuck-like appearance (para 136-142; fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of invention to form the narrow surfaces of the coated leathers of Shaefer on a portion of the surface of the skin layer other than the micro recess parts of Sano for a skin material with a surface that is matte to extremely micro-fibrous soft and flexible and with a typical nubuck grip and nubuck-like appearance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that Sano fails to suggest "wherein some inner side face parts are configured to be elastically deformed due to the contact with a hand and/or finger, and when the hand and/or finger is moved away, the inner side face parts moves return to the original shapes, and an average interval between centers of the micro recess parts which are adjacent is from 180 µm to 310 µm, and the multiple micro recess parts are formed with a flat bottom face part or a curved bottom face part."
This is not persuasive. Sano teaches the multiple micro recess parts are formed in a hemispherical shape with a curved bottom face part (e.g., substantially circular) (para 24; fig 2).
Regarding the limitation “an average interval between centers of the micro recess parts which are adjacent is from 180 µm to 310 µm;” Sano teaches that the fine recesses have a maximum diameter of 90 to 130 µm and a pitch (i.e., interval between the micro recess parts) of 50 to 300 µm (para 27), i.e., an average interval between centers of the micro recess parts of 95 to 365 µm. This range substantially overlaps that of the instant claims. It has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Sano, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding the limitation “wherein some inner side face parts are configured to be elastically deformed due to the contact with a hand and/or finger, and when the hand and/or finger is moved away, the inner side face parts moves return to the original shapes;” Sano teaches or otherwise would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention the method of manufacture and structure of the synthetic resin leather of the instant claims. Sano further teaches the skin layer is made of acrylic paint, i.e., an acrylic resin which matches the composition of the skin layer specified for that of the skin layer required to achieve the property or functionality (see instant spec page 5, lines 9-15). Therefore the synthetic resin leather of Sano is deemed to possess the forementioned property or functionality.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (MPEP § 2112.01 I).
In addition, Sano teaches that the fine recesses have a maximum diameter of 90 to 130 µm, a depth of 50 to 110 µm, and a pitch (i.e., interval between the micro recess parts) of 50 to 300 µm (para 27), i.e., an average interval between centers of the micro recess parts of 95 to 365 µm (para 27); so based on a unit of 20 µm, Sano would have rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention wherein an average ratio between an inner diameter of each of the multiple micro recess parts on the surface of the skin layer, a depth of the micro recess parts from the surface to the bottom face parts, and an interval between the centers of the micro recess parts is 4.5 to 6.5 : 2.5 to 5.5 : 4.75 to 18.25, and the interval is larger than the inner diameter.
These ranges for the average ratio substantially overlap that of the instant claims. It has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Sano, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP § 2144.05).
In response to applicant's argument that the embodiments of the instant claims possess the property or function of “wherein some inner side face parts are configured to be elastically deformed due to the contact with a hand and/or finger, and when the hand and/or finger is moved away, the inner side face parts moves return to the original shapes,” the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NATHAN VAN SELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/NATHAN L VAN SELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783