DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, and 6 have been amended. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claim 7 has been added. Claims 1, 3-7 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 07/07/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections are persuasive. The previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-15, filed 07/07/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 10-11, filed 07/07/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 and amended language pertaining to the recessed portion (“Difference C”) have been considered but are moot because the claims have been amended and the new grounds of rejection do not rely on the reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With respect to Difference A, B, D, and E, relating to the relative shapes, relative dimensions, and relative sizes, the examiner disagrees. As disclosed below, all the required structure is taught by the prior art. The relative shapes and sizes between the claimed structure can be easily modified by one having ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 has been amended to depend on independent claim 7 and currently recites: “wherein a width of the recessed portion that is the distance between the side wall portions”. Claim 7 does not introduce the side walls, and therefore lacks antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed as “that is the distance between a plurality of side wall portions”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (US 20020166901 A1), WADA (JP 2008080824 A), and Dringenberg (US 20100084844 A1).
Referring to claim 1: Matsumoto teaches a mounting structure for a washer nozzle (1 Fig. 1) for a vehicle, the mounting structure comprising:
a first nozzle (10 on left shown in Fig. 1) through which washer liquid is ejected onto a window glass (“window washer nozzle 10” [0028]) of a vehicle;
a second nozzle (10 on right shown in Fig. 1) through which washer liquid is ejected onto the window glass of the vehicle;
a first mounting hole portion (mounting hole portion of “hood” which are configured for accommodating “hooks 14” [0028] of left 10 shown in Fig. 1) formed in a body panel (“window washer nozzle 10 is mounted on a hood (not shown) of a vehicle” [0028]), the first nozzle (10 on left shown in Fig. 1) mounted in the first mounting hole portion;
a second mounting hole portion (mounting hole portion of “hood” which are configured for accommodating “hooks 14” [0028] of right 10 shown in Fig. 1) formed in the body panel (“window washer nozzle 10 is mounted on a hood (not shown) of a vehicle” [0028]), the second nozzle (10 on right shown in Fig. 1) mounted in the second mounting hole portion;
the first nozzle (10 on left shown in Fig. 1) comprising:
a head portion (22 Figs. 2-5) in which an ejection hole (40 Figs. 2A and 2B) is formed; and an insertion tube portion (12 Fig. 2A) protruded from a bottom surface of the head portion (22 Figs. 2-5) and to be inserted (“The cylindrical portion 12 has a pair of hooks 14 on its outer cylindrical surface through which the window washer nozzle 10 is mounted on a hood (not shown) of a vehicle.” [0028]) in the first mounting hole portion;
the second nozzle (10 on right shown in Fig. 1) comprising:
a head portion (22 Figs. 2-5) in which an ejection hole (40 Figs. 2A and 2B) is formed; and
an insertion tube portion (12 Fig. 2A) protruded from a bottom surface of the head portion (22 Figs. 2-5) and to be inserted (“The cylindrical portion 12 has a pair of hooks 14 on its outer cylindrical surface through which the window washer nozzle 10 is mounted on a hood (not shown) of a vehicle.” [0028]) in the second mounting hole portion
and
wherein an outer diameter (outer diameter of 12) of a basal end portion (basal end portion of 12 shown in Fig. 2A) of the insertion tube portion (12 Fig. 2A) of the second nozzle (10 on right shown in Fig. 1).
But is silent on:
the first mounting hole portion having a shape that does not allow the insertion tube portion of the second nozzle to be inserted therein;
the second mounting hole portion formed in a bottom portion of a recessed portion disposed in the body panel,
wherein the recessed portion includes two side wall portions raised from opposite ends of the bottom portion, wherein a distance between the two side wall portions is determined such that a head portion of the first nozzle interferes with the two side wall portions when the first nozzle is tried to be mounted in the second mounting hole portion, thereby the recessed portion having dimensions that do not allow the head portion of the first nozzle to be inserted therein;
wherein the outer diameter of a basal end portion of the insertion tube portion of the second nozzle is specifically greater than an outer diameter of a basal end portion of the insertion tube portion of the first nozzle;
wherein an obstacle portion protruded toward an inside of the first mounting hole portion is disposed in a peripheral edge portion of the first mounting hole portion of the body panel,
and
wherein the obstacle has a shape and dimensions that do not interfere with the basal end portion of the insertion tube portion of the first nozzle but interfere with the basal end portion of the insertion tube portion of the second nozzle that is tried to be inserted into the first mounting hole portion.
WADA in an analogous washer nozzle mounting structure (shown in Figs. 1 and 2)
the similar configuration mounting hole portion (20a and 21a Fig. 2) formed in a bottom portion of a recessed portion (20 Figs. 1 and 2) disposed in the body panel (20 and 21 Figs. 1 and 2),
wherein an obstacle portion (20b Fig. 7b) protruded toward an inside of the first mounting hole portion (20a and 21a Fig. 2) is disposed in a peripheral edge portion (peripheral edge portion of 20a Fig. 7b) of the first mounting hole portion of the body panel.
wherein an obstacle portion (20b Fig. 7b) protruded toward an inside of the first mounting hole portion (20a and 21a Fig. 2) is disposed in a peripheral edge portion (peripheral edge portion of 20a Fig. 7b) of the first mounting hole portion of the body panel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the washer nozzle mounting structure of Matsumoto as modified with the obstacle portion as taught by WADA for the purpose of having a locking structure which can receive the nozzle in order to avoid unintended separation.
Dringenbergin an analogous washer nozzle mounting structure (shown in Fig. 3B), wherein the similar configuration recessed portion (140 Fig. 3B) includes two side wall portions (WP Fig. 2-A inserted below) raised from opposite ends of the bottom portion (BP Fig. 2-A inserted below), wherein a distance between the two side wall portions (WP Fig. 2-A inserted below) is determined such that a head portion (122 Fig. 3-B) of the similar configuration nozzle (120 Fig. 3-B) interferes (shown in Fig. 3-B) with the two side wall portions (WP Fig. 2-A inserted below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recessed portion of Matsumoto with the walled recessed portion as taught by Dringenbergin for the purpose of an alternate fitting mounting structure with a streamlined profile.
All claimed structures have been taught by the prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the relative sizes, shapes, and dimensions of the mounting holes, recessed portions and respective nozzles, diameters of basal end portions of the insertion tube portion of the nozzles, interference fits of the side wall portions and relative interference fits for the purpose of being capable of accommodating structures which can be optimally sized according for their intended purpose, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the relative form, shape, or size of a component. A change in form, shape, or size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)
Referring to claim 3: Matsumoto as modified teaches the mounting structure for the washer nozzle for the vehicle according to claim 1,
wherein a spacer portion (SP Fig. 1-A inserted below of Matsumoto) protruded in a radial direction (shown in Fig. 1-A inserted below of Matsumoto) is disposed in the basal end portion (basal end portion of 12 shown in Fig. 2A of Matsumoto) of the insertion tube portion (12 Fig. 2A of Matsumoto) of the first nozzle (10 on left shown in Fig. 1 of Matsumoto),
wherein an engagement portion (EP Fig. 1-A inserted below of Matsumoto) is disposed in a distal end portion (distal end portion shown in Fig. 1-A inserted below of Matsumoto) of the spacer portion (SP Fig. 1-A inserted below of Matsumoto) in a protrusion direction (shown in Fig. 1-A inserted below of Matsumoto), and
wherein the obstacle portion (20b Fig. 7b of WADA) is protruded from the peripheral edge portion (peripheral edge portion of 20a Fig. 7b of WADA) of the first mounting hole portion (20a and 21a Fig. 2 of WADA).
But is silent on:
wherein the first mounting hole portion comprises a cut-out portion formed so as to cut out the peripheral edge portion of the first mounting hole portion;
wherein an engagement portion is specifically to be inserted in the cut-out portion and engaged with an edge portion of the cut-out portion;
wherein the obstacle portion is protruded from a peripheral edge portion of a portion of the first mounting hole portion other than the cut-out portion so as not to be contacted with the spacer portion.
WADA in an analogous washer nozzle mounting structure (shown in Figs. 1 and 2) teaches wherein the similar configuration first mounting hole portion (20a and 21a Fig. 2) comprises a cut-out portion (20a Figs. 2 and 7b) formed so as to cut out the peripheral edge portion (peripheral edge portion of 20a Fig. 7b) of the first mounting hole portion (20a and 21a Fig. 2);
wherein the similar configuration engagement portion (14 Fig. 2) is specifically to be inserted in the cut-out portion (20a Figs. 2 and 7b) and engaged with an edge portion (edge portion of 20a shown in Fig. 2) of the cut-out portion (20a Figs. 2 and 7b);
wherein the obstacle portion (20b Fig. 7b) is protruded from the peripheral edge portion (peripheral edge portion of 20a Fig. 7b) of the first mounting hole portion (20a and 21a Fig. 2) other than the cut-out portion (20a Figs. 2 and 7b) so as not to be contacted with the similar configuration spacer portion (15 Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the washer nozzle mounting structure of Matsumoto as modified with the cut out structure as taught by WADA for the purpose of having the structure necessary for interlocking the nozzle/mount to ensure a secure connection.
Referring to claim 4: Matsumoto as modified teaches the mounting structure for the washer nozzle for the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the head portion (22 Figs. 2-5 of Matsumoto) of the first nozzle (10 on left shown in Fig. 1 of Matsumoto) and the head portion (22 Figs. 2-5 of Matsumoto) of the second nozzle (10 on right shown in Fig. 1 of Matsumoto) have elongated configurations in plan view (shown in Figs. 2-5 of Matsumoto),
wherein the recessed portion (140 Fig. 3B of Dringenbergin) of the body panel has an elongated configuration (shown in Figs. 3A and 3B of Dringenbergin) in plan view, and
wherein a width (width between WP Fig. 2-A inserted above of Dringenbergin) of the recessed portion (140 Fig. 3B of Dringenbergin)
that is the distance between the side wall portions (WP Fig. 2-A inserted above of Dringenbergin)
is smaller than the width of the head portion (122 Fig. 3-B of Dringenbergin) of the similar configuration first nozzle (120 Fig. 3-B of Dringenbergin).
But is silent on wherein a width of the head portion of the first nozzle is greater than a width of the head portion of the second nozzle, and wherein a width of the recessed portion is smaller than the width of the head portion of the similar configuration first nozzle and specifically greater than the width of the head portion of the second nozzle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the relative width sizes for the purpose of accommodating an alternate sized nozzle heads which are capable of having a longer range or wider spread, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the relative form, shape, or size of a component. A change in form, shape, or size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)
Referring to claim 6: Matsumoto as modified teaches the mounting structure for the washer nozzle for the vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the head portion (22 Figs. 2-5 of Matsumoto) of the first nozzle (10 on left shown in Fig. 1 of Matsumoto) and the head portion (22 Figs. 2-5 of Matsumoto) of the second nozzle (10 on right shown in Fig. 1 of Matsumoto) have elongated configurations in plan view (shown in Figs. 2-5 of Matsumoto),
wherein the recessed portion (140 Fig. 3B of Dringenbergin) of the body panel has an elongated configuration (shown in Figs. 3A and 3B of Dringenbergin) in plan view, and
wherein a width (width between WP Fig. 2-A inserted above of Dringenbergin) of the recessed portion (140 Fig. 3B of Dringenbergin)
that is the distance between the side wall portions (WP Fig. 2-A inserted above of Dringenbergin)
is smaller than the width of the head portion (122 Fig. 3-B of Dringenbergin) of the similar configuration first nozzle (120 Fig. 3-B of Dringenbergin).
But is silent on wherein a width of the head portion of the first nozzle is greater than a width of the head portion of the second nozzle, and wherein a width of the recessed portion is smaller than the width of the head portion of the similar configuration first nozzle and specifically greater than the width of the head portion of the second nozzle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the relative width sizes for the purpose of accommodating an alternate sized nozzle heads which are capable of having a longer range or wider spread, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the relative form, shape, or size of a component. A change in form, shape, or size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (US 20020166901 A1) and WADA (JP 2008080824 A).
Referring to claim 7: Matsumoto teaches a mounting structure for a washer nozzle (1 Fig. 1) for a vehicle, the mounting structure comprising:
a first nozzle (10 on left shown in Fig. 1) through which washer liquid is ejected onto a window glass (“window washer nozzle 10” [0028]) of a vehicle;
a second nozzle (10 on right shown in Fig. 1) through which washer liquid is ejected onto the window glass of the vehicle;
a first mounting hole portion (mounting hole portion of “hood” which are configured for accommodating “hooks 14” [0028] of left 10 shown in Fig. 1) formed in a body panel (“window washer nozzle 10 is mounted on a hood (not shown) of a vehicle” [0028]), the first nozzle (10 on left shown in Fig. 1) mounted in the first mounting hole portion;
a second mounting hole portion (mounting hole portion of “hood” which are configured for accommodating “hooks 14” [0028] of right 10 shown in Fig. 1) formed in the body panel (“window washer nozzle 10 is mounted on a hood (not shown) of a vehicle” [0028]), the second nozzle (10 on right shown in Fig. 1) mounted in the second mounting hole portion;
the first nozzle comprising:
a head portion (22 Figs. 2-5) in which an ejection hole (40 Figs. 2A and 2B) is formed; and
an insertion tube portion (12 Fig. 2A) protruded from a bottom surface of the head portion (22 Figs. 2-5) and to be inserted (“The cylindrical portion 12 has a pair of hooks 14 on its outer cylindrical surface through which the window washer nozzle 10 is mounted on a hood (not shown) of a vehicle.” [0028]) in the first mounting hole portion;
the second nozzle (10 on right shown in Fig. 1) comprising:
a head portion (22 Figs. 2-5) in which an ejection hole (40 Figs. 2A and 2B) is formed; and
an insertion tube portion (12 Fig. 2A) protruded from a bottom surface of the head portion (22 Figs. 2-5) and to be inserted (“The cylindrical portion 12 has a pair of hooks 14 on its outer cylindrical surface through which the window washer nozzle 10 is mounted on a hood (not shown) of a vehicle.” [0028]) in the second mounting hole portion;
wherein an outer diameter (outer diameter of 12) of a basal end portion (basal end portion of 12 shown in Fig. 2A) of the insertion tube portion (12 Fig. 2A) of the second nozzle (10 on right shown in Fig. 1),
wherein a spacer portion (SP Fig. 1-A inserted above) protruded in a radial direction (shown in Fig. 1-A inserted below) is disposed in the basal end portion (basal end portion of 12 shown in Fig. 2A) of the insertion tube portion (12 Fig. 2A) of the first nozzle (10 on left shown in Fig. 1),
wherein an engagement portion (EP Fig. 1-A inserted above) is disposed in a distal end portion (distal end portion shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the spacer portion (SP Fig. 1-A inserted above) in a protrusion direction (shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above).
But is silent on:
the first mounting hole portion having a shape that does not allow the insertion tube portion of the second nozzle to be inserted therein; and
the second mounting hole portion formed in a bottom portion of a recessed portion disposed in the body panel,
the recessed portion having dimensions that do not allow the head portion of the first nozzle to be inserted therein;
wherein the outer diameter of a basal end portion of the insertion tube portion of the second nozzle is specifically greater than an outer diameter of a basal end portion of the insertion tube portion of the first nozzle;
wherein an obstacle portion protruded toward an inside of the first mounting hole portion is disposed in a peripheral edge portion of the first mounting hole portion of the body panel,
wherein the obstacle has a shape and dimensions that do not interfere with the basal end portion of the insertion tube portion of the first nozzle but interfere with the basal end portion of the insertion tube portion of the second nozzle that is tried to be inserted into the first mounting hole portion;
wherein the first mounting hole portion comprises a cut-out portion formed so as to cut out the peripheral edge portion of the first mounting hole portion;
wherein an engagement portion to be inserted in the cut-out portion and engaged with an edge portion of the cut-out portion;
wherein the obstacle portion is protruded from the peripheral edge portion of the first mounting hole portion other than the cut-out portion so as not to be contacted with the spacer portion, and
wherein when the first nozzle is mounted in the first mounting hole portion, the spacer portion and the obstacle portion are disposed in the first mounting hole portion adjacent to each other in a peripheral direction.
WADA in an analogous washer nozzle mounting structure (shown in Figs. 1 and 2) teaches the similar configuration mounting hole portion (20a and 21a Fig. 2) formed in a bottom portion of a recessed portion (20 Figs. 1 and 2) disposed in the body panel (20 and 21 Figs. 1 and 2),
wherein an obstacle portion (20b Fig. 7b) protruded toward an inside of the first mounting hole portion (20a and 21a Fig. 2) is disposed in a peripheral edge portion (peripheral edge portion of 20a Fig. 7b) of the first mounting hole portion of the body panel;
wherein the similar configuration first mounting hole portion (20a and 21a Fig. 2) comprises a cut-out portion (20a Figs. 2 and 7b) formed so as to cut out the peripheral edge portion (peripheral edge portion of 20a Fig. 7b) of the first mounting hole portion (20a and 21a Fig. 2);
wherein the similar configuration engagement portion (14 Fig. 2) is specifically to be inserted in the cut-out portion (20a Figs. 2 and 7b) and engaged with an edge portion (edge portion of 20a shown in Fig. 2) of the cut-out portion (20a Figs. 2 and 7b);
wherein the obstacle portion (20b Fig. 7b) is protruded from the peripheral edge portion (peripheral edge portion of 20a Fig. 7b) of the first mounting hole portion (20a and 21a Fig. 2) other than the cut-out portion (20a Figs. 2 and 7b) so as not to be contacted with the similar configuration spacer portion (15 Fig. 2);
wherein when the first nozzle is mounted in the first mounting hole portion, the spacer portion (15 Fig. 2) and the obstacle portion (20b Fig. 7b) are disposed in the first mounting hole portion (20a and 21a Fig. 2) adjacent (adjacent being interpreted as “not distant; nearby” consistent with Merriam-Webster) to each other in a peripheral direction (20b being in the periphery of 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting structure of Matsumoto with the structure as taught by WADA for the purpose of an alternate means of locking and retaining the washing nozzles.
All claimed structures have been taught by the prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the relative sizes, shapes, and dimensions of the mounting holes, recessed portions and respective nozzles, diameters of basal end portions of the insertion tube portion of the nozzles, interference fits of the side wall portions and relative interference fits for the purpose of being capable of accommodating structures which can be optimally sized according for their intended purpose, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the relative form, shape, or size of a component. A change in form, shape, or size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (US 20020166901 A1) and WADA (JP 2008080824 A), as applied above in claim 7, and in further view of Dringenberg (US 20100084844 A1).
Referring to claim 5: Matsumoto as modified teaches the mounting structure for the washer nozzle for the vehicle according to claim 7, wherein the head portion (22 Figs. 2-5 of Matsumoto) of the first nozzle (10 on left shown in Fig. 1 of Matsumoto) and the head portion (22 Figs. 2-5 of Matsumoto) of the second nozzle (10 on right shown in Fig. 1 of Matsumoto) have elongated configurations in plan view (shown in Figs. 2-5 of Matsumoto).
But is silent on:
wherein the recessed portion of the body panel has an elongated configuration in plan view, and wherein a width of the recessed portion that is the distance between the side wall portions is smaller than the width of the head portion of the similar configuration first nozzle; wherein a width of the head portion of the first nozzle is greater than a width of the head portion of the second nozzle, and wherein a width of the recessed portion is smaller than the width of the head portion of the similar configuration first nozzle and specifically greater than the width of the head portion of the second nozzle.
Dringenbergin an analogous washer nozzle mounting structure (shown in Fig. 3B), teaches wherein the recessed portion (140 Fig. 3B of Dringenbergin) of the body panel has an elongated configuration (shown in Figs. 3A and 3B of Dringenbergin) in plan view, and
wherein a width (width between WP Fig. 2-A inserted above of Dringenbergin) of the recessed portion (140 Fig. 3B of Dringenbergin)
that is the distance between the side wall portions (WP Fig. 2-A inserted above of Dringenbergin) is smaller than the width of the head portion (122 Fig. 3-B of Dringenbergin) of the similar configuration first nozzle (120 Fig. 3-B of Dringenbergin).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recessed portion of Matsumoto with the walled recessed portion as taught by Dringenbergin for the purpose of an alternate fitting mounting structure with a streamlined profile.
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the relative width sizes for the purpose of accommodating an alternate sized nozzle heads which are capable of having a longer range or wider spread, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the relative form, shape, or size of a component. A change in form, shape, or size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723