Detailed Action
This communication is in response to the application filed on 04/09/2024 in which Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted on 04/09/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Specification Objection
The term “UICC” is not defined by the specification, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 10 are objected to. The term “UICC” is unclear and what it’s stand for. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriated correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(2) as being anticipated by Tuchman U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130073403 A1 (hereinafter " Tuchman ").
As to claim 1, Tuchman teaches an information processing method, comprising: performing, by a terminal, a related operation for activating and/or deactivating subscriber data based on the number of device identities of the terminal (Tuchman Pa. [0050]) [service activation module 201 is configured to determine, based on information obtained from product asset store 205 and service subscription store 206, whether the number of existing devices that have been activated with that particular subscribed service reaches a predetermined level allowed by the subscription. If so, service activation module 201 is configured to notify the user and to ask whether the user wishes to deactivate one of the existing devices in order to activate the same service on the new device]; wherein the subscriber data comprises at least one of the following: a certificate or subscription data (Tuchman Abstract) [Subscription information including credentials of a user who has subscribed the subscribed service is obtained for authentication]
As to claim 2, Tuchman teaches wherein the performing, by the terminal, a related operation for activating and/or deactivating subscriber data based on the number of device identities of the terminal comprises at least one of the following (Tuchman Pa. [0050]) [service activation module 201 is configured to determine, based on information obtained from product asset store 205 and service subscription store 206, whether the number of existing devices that have been activated with that particular subscribed service reaches a predetermined level allowed by the subscription. If so, service activation module 201 is configured to notify the user and to ask whether the user wishes to deactivate one of the existing devices in order to activate the same service on the new device]: the number of subscriber data that simultaneously activated by the terminal is less than and/or equal to a total number of device identifiers of the terminal; the terminal binds at most one device identity to one piece of subscriber data; the terminal determines the number of subscriber data able to be activated simultaneously, based on the number of device identities of the terminal; the terminal determines the number of remaining subscriber data able to be activated simultaneously, based on the number of idle device identities of the terminal; the terminal presents, based on the number of device identities of the terminal, at least one of the following: the number of subscriber data able to be activated simultaneously; or the number of remaining subscriber data able to be activated simultaneously; the terminal binds one device identity to each piece of activated subscriber data; upon deactivation of one piece of subscriber data, the terminal releases binding of the subscriber data to a corresponding device identity; or in a case that the terminal needs to activate second subscriber data and no idle device identity is available, the terminal deactivates first subscriber data; wherein the first subscriber data comprises at least one of the following: already activated subscriber data; or subscriber data that has been bound to a device identity (Tuchman Pa. [0055]) [if it is determined that the number of products that have been activated with a selected subscribed service reaches a predetermined threshold (e.g., maximum activations allowed on a particular service), processing logic may optionally display the existing products that have been associated with the subscribed service to allow the user to select one or more of them to be deactivated in order to make room for the newly registered product.]
As to claim 3, Tuchman teaches wherein that the terminal determines the number of subscriber data able to be activated simultaneously, based on the number of device identities of the terminal comprises at least one of the following (Tuchman Pa. [0050]) [service activation module 201 is configured to determine, based on information obtained from product asset store 205 and service subscription store 206, whether the number of existing devices that have been activated with that particular subscribed service reaches a predetermined level allowed by the subscription. If so, service activation module 201 is configured to notify the user and to ask whether the user wishes to deactivate one of the existing devices in order to activate the same service on the new device]: the terminal determines a maximum number of subscriber data able to be activated simultaneously, based on the total number of device identities of the terminal; wherein the number of subscriber data able to be activated simultaneously by the terminal is less than and/or equal to the total number of device identities of the terminal (Tuchman Pa. [0055]) [if it is determined that the number of products that have been activated with a selected subscribed service reaches a predetermined threshold (e.g., maximum activations allowed on a particular service), processing logic may optionally display the existing products that have been associated with the subscribed service to allow the user to select one or more of them to be deactivated in order to make room for the newly registered product.]
As to claim 4, Tuchman teaches wherein after the step of determining the number of subscriber data able to be activated simultaneously, at least one of the following is present: the number of subscriber data able to be activated simultaneously; or the total number of device identities; and/or after the step of determining the number of remaining subscriber data able to be activated simultaneously, at least one of the following is present: the number of remaining subscriber data able to be activated simultaneously; or the number of idle device identities (Tuchman Pa. [0055]) [if it is determined that the number of products that have been activated with a selected subscribed service reaches a predetermined threshold (e.g., maximum activations allowed on a particular service), processing logic may optionally display the existing products that have been associated with the subscribed service to allow the user to select one or more of them to be deactivated in order to make room for the newly registered product.]
As to claim 5, Tuchman teaches wherein the subscriber data comprises at least one of the following: UICC type subscriber data; non-UICC type subscriber data; or subscriber data stored on the terminal device; or, wherein the device identity comprises one of the following: a device identity dedicated to non-UICC type subscriber data; or a generic device identity for non-UICC subscriber data and UICC type subscriber data; wherein the type of device identity comprises at least one of the following: permanent equipment identifier (PEI); international mobile equipment identity (IMEI); or international mobile equipment identity and software version (IMEISv) (Tuchman Pa. [0006]) [a consumer has to individually contact the wireless carrier and provide all the necessary information (e.g., serial number, international mobile subscriber identity or IMSI) about the device]
As to claim 6, Tuchman teaches wherein the performing, by the terminal, a related operation for activating and/or deactivating subscriber data based on the number of device identities of the terminal comprises at least one of the following (Tuchman Pa. [0050]) [service activation module 201 is configured to determine, based on information obtained from product asset store 205 and service subscription store 206, whether the number of existing devices that have been activated with that particular subscribed service reaches a predetermined level allowed by the subscription. If so, service activation module 201 is configured to notify the user and to ask whether the user wishes to deactivate one of the existing devices in order to activate the same service on the new device]: the terminal performs a related operation for activating and/or deactivating subscriber data based on the number of device identities under a first condition being satisfied (Tuchman Pa. [0055]) [if it is determined that the number of products that have been activated with a selected subscribed service reaches a predetermined threshold (e.g., maximum activations allowed on a particular service)]; wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: the network requires device identity verification of the terminal; or the number of subscriber data saved and/or inserted in the terminal exceeds the number of device identities of the terminal (Tuchman Pa. [0034]) [service center 102 further includes a security system 125 to authenticate a user of mobile device 101 in order to allow the user accessing services provided by any of systems 105-108. Security system 125 is configured to provide multiple login and authentication options to a mobile device to allow a user to select one or more of the options to access service center 102]
As to claim 7, Tuchman teaches wherein the method further comprises at least one of the following: receiving first indication information from the network, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating one of the following: a need for device identity verification of the terminal; or no need for device identity verification of the terminal; receiving a registration denial reason from the network, wherein the registration denial reason is used for indicating that the terminal device is not invalid; or receiving an identity request from the network, wherein the identity request is used for requesting the device identity of the terminal (Tuchman Pa. [0036]) [Once the service center has successfully authenticated the user, the user can obtain support services or access resources available from the service center as described above regarding one or more products or services that have been registered by the user.]
As to claim 8, Tuchman teaches wherein: activating subscriber data or subscriber data being activated comprises at least one of the following: the state of the subscriber data is valid or enabled; the subscriber data is able to trigger the terminal to search for a network corresponding to the subscriber data; the terminal is able to access or register on the network using the subscriber data; the terminal accesses the network using the subscriber data and is in a registered state on the network; the terminal accesses the network using the subscriber data and is in a state on the network other than a deregistered state caused by invalid subscriber data; or a subscriber corresponding to the subscriber data is in a deregistered state on the network and the deregistered state excludes a deregistered state caused by invalid subscriber data; and/or deactivating subscriber data or subscriber data being deactivated comprises at least one of the following: the state of the subscriber data is invalid; the subscriber data is unable to trigger the terminal to search for a network corresponding to the subscriber data; the terminal accesses the network using the subscriber data and is in a deregistered state on the network or in a deregistered state caused by invalid subscriber data; or the subscriber corresponding to the subscriber data is in a deregistered state on the network, or the subscriber corresponding to the subscriber data is in a deregistered state on the network caused by invalid subscriber data (Tuchman Pa. [0049]) [A user can also elect to terminate a subscribed service (e.g. Pandora) thus removing any or all credential information about the service from service center 102. In the case that a selected service (e.g. Pandora) is terminated (deleted) from service center 102, a user will have to reregister the service information with service center 102 to enable the service on any device.]
As to claim 9, Tuchman teaches wherein: the subscriber data further comprises at least one of the following: terminal subscriber identity, or information about a network corresponding to the subscriber data (Tuchman Pa. [0006]) [mobile subscriber identity]
As to claim 10, Tuchman teaches wherein the performing, by the terminal, a related operation for activating and/or deactivating subscriber data based on the number of device identities of the terminal comprises at least one of the following: the terminal performs a related operation for activating and/or deactivating non-UICC type subscriber data based on the number of non-UICC type device identities of the terminal; or the terminal performs a related operation for activating and/or deactivating UICC type subscriber data based on the number of UICC type device identities of the terminal (Tuchman Pa. [0050]) [service activation module 201 is configured to determine, based on information obtained from product asset store 205 and service subscription store 206, whether the number of existing devices that have been activated with that particular subscribed service reaches a predetermined level allowed by the subscription. If so, service activation module 201 is configured to notify the user and to ask whether the user wishes to deactivate one of the existing devices in order to activate the same service on the new device]
As to claims 11-13, claims 11-13 recite the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claims 1-3; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
As to claims 116-18, claims 16-18 recite the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claims 1-3; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
As to claims 14 & 19, claims 14 and 19 recite the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claim 6; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
As to claims 15 & 20, claims 15 and 20 recite the claimed that contain respectively similar limitations as claim 8; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
/EVANS DESROSIERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2491