DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the communication filed on 04/09/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement received on 03/05/2025 has been reviewed and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-12, 14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. (US 9996986 B2; hereinafter Tan) and Naka et al. (JP 2003276635 A; hereinafter Naka).
Regarding claim 1, Tan discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
A method for calibrating a sensor of a vehicle moving on a road section (see Tan at least pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a . . . sensor only if . . . the vehicle is travelling on a straight or substantially straight road . . .”), comprising:
determining a control condition variable indicative of a trajectory of the vehicle with respect to a straight line (see Tan at least pg. 8, col. 9, lines 22-41 “. . . some of the vehicle status data 110 is analyzed to determine whether the vehicle is driving straight . . . the analyzed vehicle status data 110 may include information obtained from the inertial measurement unit, the steering angle sensor, and/or at least some of the four wheel speed sensors [(i.e., control condition variables indicative of trajectory with respect to a straight line)].”; pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a . . . sensor only if: (1) the vehicle status data 110 [(i.e., control condition variables)] indicates that the vehicle is currently driving in a straight or substantially straight line . . .”);
determining a bank angle condition variable indicative of a motion of the vehicle with respect to the straight line based on a bank angle of the road section (see Tan at least pg. 9, col. 11, lines 49-67 “The bank of a road is usually expressed as a banking angle [(i.e., bank angle)] and, therefore, a one or two degree banking angle may be considered to be within tolerance for purposes of the process 300. If the navigation map data 114 indicates that the vehicle is travelling on, or will soon be travelling on, a road having more than a negligible amount of banking angle [(i.e., bank angle condition)] . . .”); . . .
determining a straight-line condition for the vehicle when at least one of the control condition variable, the bank angle condition variable and the torque condition variable indicates that the vehicle is moving in the straight line (see Tan at least pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a . . . sensor only if: (1) the vehicle status data 110 [(i.e., control condition variables)] indicates that the vehicle is currently driving in a straight or substantially straight line . . . (3) the navigation map data 114 indicates that the vehicle is travelling on a road having zero or substantially zero banking angle [(i.e., bank angle condition variable)] . . .”); and
calibrating the sensor when the vehicle is in the straight-line condition (see Tan at least pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a . . . sensor only if: (1) the vehicle status data 110 [(i.e., control condition variables)] indicates that the vehicle is currently driving in a straight or substantially straight line; . . . (3) the navigation map data 114 indicates that the vehicle is travelling on a road having zero or substantially zero banking angle [(i.e., bank angle condition variable)] . . .”).
While Tan discloses determining a control condition variable indicative of a trajectory of the vehicle with respect to a straight line, determining a bank angle condition variable indicative of a motion of the vehicle with respect to the straight line based on a bank angle of the road section, and determining a straight-line condition for the vehicle when at least one of the control condition variable and the bank angle condition variable indicates that the vehicle is moving in the straight line, it does not appear to explicitly disclose determining a torque condition variable indicative of the motion of the vehicle with respect to the straight line based on a torque applied to a steering wheel of the vehicle.
Naka teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . determining a torque condition variable indicative of the motion of the vehicle with respect to the straight line based on a torque applied to a steering wheel of the vehicle (see Naka at least pg. 3, paragraph 1 “When the vehicle is straight ahead, the operating member is not operated and the steering torque at this time is almost zero . . . If . . . the steering torque is substantially zero [(i.e., torque condition variable)], it is possible to determine that the vehicle is in a straight traveling state . . .”); . . .
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the determination various condition variables indicative of a trajectory or motion of a vehicle with respect to a straight line and subsequently determining a straight-line condition for the vehicle based on at least one of those variables of Tan with the determining a torque condition variable indicative of the motion of a vehicle with respect to a straight line based on a torque applied to a steering wheel of the vehicle as taught by Naka to determine a torque condition variable indicative of the motion of a vehicle with respect to a straight line based on a torque applied to a steering wheel of the vehicle. Doing so would provide an additional input means for later determining whether or not a vehicle is traveling in a straight line and subsequently enabling future calibration efforts, as recognized by Naka (see Naka at least pg. 3, paragraph 1 “If . . . the steering torque is substantially zero, it is possible to determine that the vehicle is in a straight traveling state and set the steering angle of the steering mechanism at this time to the neutral position.”).
Regarding claim 2, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 1 as recited in the claim and applied above. Additionally, Tan discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
. . . wherein the bank angle condition variable is determined based on at least one of: (i) map server data; (ii) a vehicle dynamics; and (iii) Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) data (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 5, lines 47-56 “The navigation map data 114 is linked to the GPS data 112 in that the current geographical position of the vehicle 102 influences the portion of the navigation map data 114 that is deemed relevant for purposes of sensor calibration.”; pg. 6, col. 6, lines 46-59 “. . . the communication module 208 is suitably configured to support data communication between the ECU 200 and other modules, ECUs, sensors, or devices onboard the host vehicle 102. The communication module 208 may also be designed to support data communication with external devices or sources. For example, the communication module 208 may be used to receive downloaded navigation map data 114 [(i.e., map data from a server)] . . .”; pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a lateral acceleration sensor only if . . . (3) the navigation map data 114 indicates that the vehicle is travelling on a road having zero or substantially zero banking angle [(i.e., bank angle condition)] . . .”).
Regarding claim 3, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 1 as recited in the claim and applied above. Additionally, Tan discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
. . . further comprising determining a pending driving straight condition variable based on at least one of: (i) a heading condition variable based on Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) heading data; (ii) a derived heading condition variable based on a latitude and a longitude of the vehicle obtained from GPS; (iii) a wheel velocity condition variable based on differences in wheel velocities; and (iv) a road curvature condition variable (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 5/6, lines 57-67/1-10 “. . . the navigation map data 114 includes enhanced data that defines, describes, and/or otherwise characterizes some or all of the following, without limitation: amount of road curvature [(i.e., road curvature condition variable)] . . .”; pg. 8, col. 9-10, lines 57-67/1-16 “If the navigation map data 114 indicates that the road is curved or that curves are approaching soon [(i.e., pending driving straight condition variable)] . . .”).
Regarding claim 4, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 3 as recited in the claim and applied above. Furthermore, the examiner notes that the additional claim limitations recited in claim 4 (see claim 4 “. . . wherein the wheel velocity condition variable is based on a difference between at least one of: (i) a right front wheel velocity and a left front wheel velocity; (ii) a right rear wheel velocity and a left rear wheel velocity: (iii) the right front wheel velocity and the left rear wheel velocity; and (iv) the left front wheel velocity and the right rear wheel velocity.”) serve to further characterize a claim limitation written in the alternative form in claim 3 (see claim 3 “. . . further comprising determining a pending driving straight condition variable based on at least one of: (i) a heading condition variable based on Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) heading data; (ii) a derived heading condition variable based on a latitude and a longitude of the vehicle obtained from GPS; (iii) a wheel velocity condition variable based on differences in wheel velocities; and (iv) a road curvature condition variable.”) that, for the purpose of examination, was not selected (selected criterium in claim 3: “. . . at least one of: . . . (iv) a road curvature condition variable.”). As such, the further characterization of this limitation is not given patentable weight, and the claim is subsequently rejected on the basis of its dependency.
Regarding claim 6, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 3 as recited in the claim and applied above. Additionally, Tan discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
. . . further comprising obtaining a plurality of the pending driving straight condition variables over a time window and determining a matured straight driving condition variable from the plurality of pending driving straight condition variables (see Tan at least pg. 7, col. 7, lines 17-29 “It should be appreciated that the process 300 may store historical data in an ongoing manner such that data collected over a period of time can be analyzed and considered [(i.e., matured straight driving condition variable determined from plurality of historical pending driving straight condition variables)].”; pg. 8, col. 9-10, lines 57-67/1-16 “If the navigation map data 114 indicates that the road is curved or that curves are approaching soon [(i.e., pending driving straight condition variable)] . . .”).
Regarding claim 7, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 6 as recited in the claim and applied above. Additionally, Tan discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
. . . further comprising learning a bias correction for the sensor using the matured driving straight condition (see Tan at least pg. 7, col. 7, lines 17-29 “It should be appreciated that the process 300 may store historical data in an ongoing manner such that data collected over a period of time can be analyzed and considered [(i.e., matured straight driving condition variable determined from plurality of historical pending driving straight condition variables)].”; pg. 7, col. 8, lines 4-24 “. . . task 310 computes the updated calibration value [(i.e., bias correction)] based on the current calibration factor and at least one previously calculated calibration value (e.g., one or more historical calibration values calculated during prior iterations of the process 300 [(i.e., using values that were computed using a matured straight driving condition)]).”).
Regarding claim 9, Tan discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
A system for calibrating a sensor of a vehicle (see Tan at least pg. 4, col. 2, lines 5-14 “. . . a control system having at least one processor device to . . . calculate a current sensor offset factor for the onboard sensor [(i.e., sensor calibration)] in response to determining that the calibration initiation conditions are satisfied.”), comprising:
a processor configured to (see Tan at least pg. 4, col. 2, lines 5-14 “. . . a control system having at least one processor device to . . .”):
determine a control condition variable indicative of a trajectory of the vehicle with respect to a straight line (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 6, lines 27-38 “The processor device 202 is capable of executing the processor-executable instructions stored in the computer-readable storage media 206, wherein the instructions cause the ECU 200 to perform the various processes, operations, and functions described herein.”; pg. 8, col. 9, lines 22-41 “. . . some of the vehicle status data 110 is analyzed to determine whether the vehicle is driving straight . . . the analyzed vehicle status data 110 may include information obtained from the inertial measurement unit, the steering angle sensor, and/or at least some of the four wheel speed sensors [(i.e., control condition variables indicative of trajectory with respect to a straight line)].”; pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a . . . sensor only if: (1) the vehicle status data 110 [(i.e., control condition variables)] indicates that the vehicle is currently driving in a straight or substantially straight line . . .”);
determine a bank angle condition variable indicative of a motion of the vehicle with respect to the straight line based on a bank angle of a road section (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 6, lines 27-38 “The processor device 202 is capable of executing the processor-executable instructions stored in the computer-readable storage media 206, wherein the instructions cause the ECU 200 to perform the various processes, operations, and functions described herein.”; pg. 9, col. 11, lines 49-67 “The bank of a road is usually expressed as a banking angle [(i.e., bank angle)] and, therefore, a one or two degree banking angle may be considered to be within tolerance for purposes of the process 300. If the navigation map data 114 indicates that the vehicle is travelling on, or will soon be travelling on, a road having more than a negligible amount of banking angle [(i.e., bank angle condition)] . . .”); . . .
determine a straight-line condition for the vehicle when at least one of the control condition variable, the bank angle condition variable and the torque condition variable indicates that the vehicle is moving in the straight line (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 6, lines 27-38 “The processor device 202 is capable of executing the processor-executable instructions stored in the computer-readable storage media 206, wherein the instructions cause the ECU 200 to perform the various processes, operations, and functions described herein.”; pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a . . . sensor only if: (1) the vehicle status data 110 [(i.e., control condition variables)] indicates that the vehicle is currently driving in a straight or substantially straight line . . . (3) the navigation map data 114 indicates that the vehicle is travelling on a road having zero or substantially zero banking angle [(i.e., bank angle condition variable)] . . .”); and
calibrate the sensor when the vehicle is in the straight-line condition (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 6, lines 27-38 “The processor device 202 is capable of executing the processor-executable instructions stored in the computer-readable storage media 206, wherein the instructions cause the ECU 200 to perform the various processes, operations, and functions described herein.”; pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a . . . sensor only if: (1) the vehicle status data 110 [(i.e., control condition variables)] indicates that the vehicle is currently driving in a straight or substantially straight line; . . . (3) the navigation map data 114 indicates that the vehicle is travelling on a road having zero or substantially zero banking angle [(i.e., bank angle condition variable)] . . .”).
While Tan discloses determining a control condition variable indicative of a trajectory of the vehicle with respect to a straight line, determining a bank angle condition variable indicative of a motion of the vehicle with respect to the straight line based on a bank angle of the road section, and determining a straight-line condition for the vehicle when at least one of the control condition variable and the bank angle condition variable indicates that the vehicle is moving in the straight line, it does not appear to explicitly disclose determining a torque condition variable indicative of the motion of the vehicle with respect to the straight line based on a torque applied to a steering wheel of the vehicle.
Naka teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . determining a torque condition variable indicative of the motion of the vehicle with respect to the straight line based on a torque applied to a steering wheel of the vehicle (see Naka at least pg. 3, paragraph 1 “When the vehicle is straight ahead, the operating member is not operated and the steering torque at this time is almost zero . . . If . . . the steering torque is substantially zero [(i.e., torque condition variable)], it is possible to determine that the vehicle is in a straight traveling state . . .”); . . .
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the determination various condition variables indicative of a trajectory or motion of a vehicle with respect to a straight line and subsequently determining a straight-line condition for the vehicle based on at least one of those variables of Tan with the determining a torque condition variable indicative of the motion of a vehicle with respect to a straight line based on a torque applied to a steering wheel of the vehicle as taught by Naka to determine a torque condition variable indicative of the motion of a vehicle with respect to a straight line based on a torque applied to a steering wheel of the vehicle. The examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of these references as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 9 as recited in the claim and applied above. Additionally, Tan discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
. . . wherein the processor is further configured to determine the bank angle condition variable based on at least one of: (i) map server data; (ii) a vehicle dynamics; and (iii) Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) data (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 5, lines 47-56 “The navigation map data 114 is linked to the GPS data 112 in that the current geographical position of the vehicle 102 influences the portion of the navigation map data 114 that is deemed relevant for purposes of sensor calibration.”; pg. 6, col. 6, lines 27-38 “The processor device 202 is capable of executing the processor-executable instructions stored in the computer-readable storage media 206, wherein the instructions cause the ECU 200 to perform the various processes, operations, and functions described herein.”; pg. 6, col. 6, lines 46-59 “. . . the communication module 208 is suitably configured to support data communication between the ECU 200 and other modules, ECUs, sensors, or devices onboard the host vehicle 102. The communication module 208 may also be designed to support data communication with external devices or sources. For example, the communication module 208 may be used to receive downloaded navigation map data 114 [(i.e., map data from a server)] . . .”; pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a lateral acceleration sensor only if . . . (3) the navigation map data 114 indicates that the vehicle is travelling on a road having zero or substantially zero banking angle [(i.e., bank angle condition)] . . .”).
Regarding claim 11, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 9 as recited in the claim and applied above. Additionally, Tan discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
. . . wherein the processor is further configured to determine a pending driving straight condition variable based on at least one of: (i) a heading condition variable based on Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) heading data; (ii) a derived heading condition variable based on a latitude and a longitude of the vehicle obtained from GPS; (iii) a wheel velocity condition variable based on differences in wheel velocities; and (iv) a road curvature condition variable (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 5/6, lines 57-67/1-10 “. . . the navigation map data 114 includes enhanced data that defines, describes, and/or otherwise characterizes some or all of the following, without limitation: amount of road curvature [(i.e., road curvature condition variable)] . . .”; pg. 6, col. 6, lines 27-38 “The processor device 202 is capable of executing the processor-executable instructions stored in the computer-readable storage media 206, wherein the instructions cause the ECU 200 to perform the various processes, operations, and functions described herein.”; pg. 8, col. 9-10, lines 57-67/1-16 “If the navigation map data 114 indicates that the road is curved or that curves are approaching soon [(i.e., pending driving straight condition variable)] . . .”).
Regarding claim 12, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 11 as recited in the claim and applied above. Furthermore, the examiner notes that the additional claim limitations recited in claim 12 (see claim 12 “. . . wherein the wheel velocity condition variable is based on a difference between at least one of: (i) a right front wheel velocity and a left front wheel velocity; (ii) a right rear wheel velocity and a left rear wheel velocity: (iii) the right front wheel velocity and the left rear wheel velocity; and (iv) the left front wheel velocity and the right rear wheel velocity.”) serve to further characterize a claim limitation written in the alternative form in claim 11 (see claim 11 “. . . wherein the processor is further configured to determine a pending driving straight condition variable based on at least one of: (i) a heading condition variable based on Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) heading data; (ii) a derived heading condition variable based on a latitude and a longitude of the vehicle obtained from GPS; (iii) a wheel velocity condition variable based on differences in wheel velocities; and (iv) a road curvature condition variable.”) that, for the purpose of examination, was not selected (selected criterium in claim 11: “. . . at least one of: . . . (iv) a road curvature condition variable.”). As such, the further characterization of this limitation is not given patentable weight, and the claim is subsequently rejected on the basis of its dependency.
Regarding claim 14, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 9 as recited in the claim and applied above. Additionally, Tan discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
. . . wherein the processor is further configured to obtain a plurality of the pending driving straight condition variables over a time window and determine a matured straight driving condition variable from the plurality of pending driving straight condition variables (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 6, lines 27-38 “The processor device 202 is capable of executing the processor-executable instructions stored in the computer-readable storage media 206, wherein the instructions cause the ECU 200 to perform the various processes, operations, and functions described herein.”; pg. 7, col. 7, lines 17-29 “It should be appreciated that the process 300 may store historical data in an ongoing manner such that data collected over a period of time can be analyzed and considered [(i.e., matured straight driving condition variable determined from plurality of historical pending driving straight condition variables)].”; pg. 8, col. 9-10, lines 57-67/1-16 “If the navigation map data 114 indicates that the road is curved or that curves are approaching soon [(i.e., pending driving straight condition variable)] . . .”).
Regarding claim 16, Tan discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
A vehicle (see Tan at least pg. 4, col. 2, lines 5-14 “Also presented here is a vehicle having: an onboard sensor configured to generate raw sensor values; and a control system having at least one processor device to . . . calculate a current sensor offset factor for the onboard sensor [(i.e., sensor calibration)] in response to determining that the calibration initiation conditions are satisfied.”), comprising:
a sensor (see Tan at least pg. 4, col. 2, lines 5-14 “Also presented here is a vehicle having: an onboard sensor . . .”); and
a processor configured to (see Tan at least pg. 4, col. 2, lines 5-14 “Also presented here is a vehicle having: . . . a control system having at least one processor device . . .”):
determine a control condition variable indicative of a trajectory of the vehicle with respect to a straight line (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 6, lines 27-38 “The processor device 202 is capable of executing the processor-executable instructions stored in the computer-readable storage media 206, wherein the instructions cause the ECU 200 to perform the various processes, operations, and functions described herein.”; pg. 8, col. 9, lines 22-41 “. . . some of the vehicle status data 110 is analyzed to determine whether the vehicle is driving straight . . . the analyzed vehicle status data 110 may include information obtained from the inertial measurement unit, the steering angle sensor, and/or at least some of the four wheel speed sensors [(i.e., control condition variables indicative of trajectory with respect to a straight line)].”; pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a . . . sensor only if: (1) the vehicle status data 110 [(i.e., control condition variables)] indicates that the vehicle is currently driving in a straight or substantially straight line . . .”);
determine a bank angle condition variable indicative of a motion of the vehicle with respect to the straight line based on a bank angle of the road section (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 6, lines 27-38 “The processor device 202 is capable of executing the processor-executable instructions stored in the computer-readable storage media 206, wherein the instructions cause the ECU 200 to perform the various processes, operations, and functions described herein.”; pg. 9, col. 11, lines 49-67 “The bank of a road is usually expressed as a banking angle [(i.e., bank angle)] and, therefore, a one or two degree banking angle may be considered to be within tolerance for purposes of the process 300. If the navigation map data 114 indicates that the vehicle is travelling on, or will soon be travelling on, a road having more than a negligible amount of banking angle [(i.e., bank angle condition)] . . .”); . . .
determine a straight-line condition for the vehicle when at least one of the control condition variable, the bank angle condition variable and the torque condition variable indicates that the vehicle is moving in the straight line (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 6, lines 27-38 “The processor device 202 is capable of executing the processor-executable instructions stored in the computer-readable storage media 206, wherein the instructions cause the ECU 200 to perform the various processes, operations, and functions described herein.”; pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a . . . sensor only if: (1) the vehicle status data 110 [(i.e., control condition variables)] indicates that the vehicle is currently driving in a straight or substantially straight line . . . (3) the navigation map data 114 indicates that the vehicle is travelling on a road having zero or substantially zero banking angle [(i.e., bank angle condition variable)] . . .”); and
calibrate the sensor when the vehicle is in the straight-line condition (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 6, lines 27-38 “The processor device 202 is capable of executing the processor-executable instructions stored in the computer-readable storage media 206, wherein the instructions cause the ECU 200 to perform the various processes, operations, and functions described herein.”; pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a . . . sensor only if: (1) the vehicle status data 110 [(i.e., control condition variables)] indicates that the vehicle is currently driving in a straight or substantially straight line; . . . (3) the navigation map data 114 indicates that the vehicle is travelling on a road having zero or substantially zero banking angle [(i.e., bank angle condition variable)] . . .”).
While Tan discloses determining a control condition variable indicative of a trajectory of the vehicle with respect to a straight line, determining a bank angle condition variable indicative of a motion of the vehicle with respect to the straight line based on a bank angle of the road section, and determining a straight-line condition for the vehicle when at least one of the control condition variable and the bank angle condition variable indicates that the vehicle is moving in the straight line, it does not appear to explicitly disclose determining a torque condition variable indicative of the motion of the vehicle with respect to the straight line based on a torque applied to a steering wheel of the vehicle.
Naka teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . determining a torque condition variable indicative of the motion of the vehicle with respect to the straight line based on a torque applied to a steering wheel of the vehicle (see Naka at least pg. 3, paragraph 1“When the vehicle is straight ahead, the operating member is not operated and the steering torque at this time is almost zero . . . If . . . the steering torque is substantially zero [(i.e., torque condition variable)], it is possible to determine that the vehicle is in a straight traveling state . . .”); . . .
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the determination various condition variables indicative of a trajectory or motion of a vehicle with respect to a straight line and subsequently determining a straight-line condition for the vehicle based on at least one of those variables of Tan with the determining a torque condition variable indicative of the motion of a vehicle with respect to a straight line based on a torque applied to a steering wheel of the vehicle as taught by Naka to determine a torque condition variable indicative of the motion of a vehicle with respect to a straight line based on a torque applied to a steering wheel of the vehicle. The examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of these references as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 17, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 16 as recited in the claim and applied above. Additionally, Tan discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
. . . wherein the processor is further configured to determine the bank angle condition variable based on at least one of: (i) map server data; (ii) a vehicle dynamics; and (iii) Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) data (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 5, lines 47-56 “The navigation map data 114 is linked to the GPS data 112 in that the current geographical position of the vehicle 102 influences the portion of the navigation map data 114 that is deemed relevant for purposes of sensor calibration.”; pg. 6, col. 6, lines 27-38 “The processor device 202 is capable of executing the processor-executable instructions stored in the computer-readable storage media 206, wherein the instructions cause the ECU 200 to perform the various processes, operations, and functions described herein.”; pg. 6, col. 6, lines 46-59 “. . . the communication module 208 is suitably configured to support data communication between the ECU 200 and other modules, ECUs, sensors, or devices onboard the host vehicle 102. The communication module 208 may also be designed to support data communication with external devices or sources. For example, the communication module 208 may be used to receive downloaded navigation map data 114 [(i.e., map data from a server)] . . .”; pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a lateral acceleration sensor only if . . . (3) the navigation map data 114 indicates that the vehicle is travelling on a road having zero or substantially zero banking angle [(i.e., bank angle condition)] . . .”).
Regarding claim 18, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 16 as recited in the claim and applied above. Additionally, Tan discloses the subject matter indicated in bold below:
. . . wherein the processor is further configured to determine a pending driving straight condition variable based on at least one of: (i) a heading condition variable based on Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) heading data; (ii) a derived heading condition variable based on a latitude and a longitude of the vehicle obtained from GPS; (iii) a wheel velocity condition variable based on differences in wheel velocities; and (iv) a road curvature condition variable (see Tan at least pg. 6, col. 5/6, lines 57-67/1-10 “. . . the navigation map data 114 includes enhanced data that defines, describes, and/or otherwise characterizes some or all of the following, without limitation: amount of road curvature [(i.e., road curvature condition variable)] . . .”; pg. 6, col. 6, lines 27-38 “The processor device 202 is capable of executing the processor-executable instructions stored in the computer-readable storage media 206, wherein the instructions cause the ECU 200 to perform the various processes, operations, and functions described herein.”; pg. 8, col. 9-10, lines 57-67/1-16 “If the navigation map data 114 indicates that the road is curved or that curves are approaching soon [(i.e., pending driving straight condition variable)] . . .”).
Regarding claim 19, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 18 as recited in the claim and applied above. Furthermore, the examiner notes that the additional claim limitations recited in claim 19 (see claim 19 “. . . wherein the wheel velocity condition variable is based on a difference between at least one of: (i) a right front wheel velocity and a left front wheel velocity; (ii) a right rear wheel velocity and a left rear wheel velocity: (iii) the right front wheel velocity and the left rear wheel velocity; and (iv) the left front wheel velocity and the right rear wheel velocity.”) serve to further characterize a claim limitation written in the alternative form in claim 18 (see claim 18 “. . . wherein the processor is further configured to determine a pending driving straight condition variable based on at least one of: (i) a heading condition variable based on Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) heading data; (ii) a derived heading condition variable based on a latitude and a longitude of the vehicle obtained from GPS; (iii) a wheel velocity condition variable based on differences in wheel velocities; and (iv) a road curvature condition variable.”) that, for the purpose of examination, was not selected (selected criterium in claim 18: “. . . at least one of: . . . (iv) a road curvature condition variable.”). As such, the further characterization of this limitation is not given patentable weight, and the claim is subsequently rejected on the basis of its dependency.
Claims 5, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan in view of Naka and further in view of Ota et al. (JP 2005301892 A; hereinafter Ota).
Regarding claim 5, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 3 as recited in the claim and applied above.
While Tan discloses determining a road curvature condition variable (see Tan at least pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a . . . sensor only if: (1) the vehicle status data 110 [(i.e., control condition variables)] indicates that the vehicle is currently driving in a straight or substantially straight line . . .”), it does not appear to explicitly disclose the road curvature condition variable being based on at least one of: (i) a left-side image obtained from a left-side camera of the vehicle; (ii) a right-side image obtained from a right-side camera of the vehicle; and (iii) a meaning of a road sign in at least one of the left-side image and the right-side image.
Ota teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . wherein the road curvature condition variable is based on at least one of: (i) a left-side image obtained from a left-side camera of the vehicle; (ii) a right-side image obtained from a right-side camera of the vehicle; and (iii) a meaning of a road sign in at least one of the left-side image and the right-side image (see Ota at least pg. 6, paragraph 1 “. . . the white lines to be recognized by the camera correspondence recognition units 2L and 2R are the left and right white lines that define the travel lane on which the host vehicle is traveling, and the positions of the white lines that can be obtained by the road white line recognition device 2[.] The information includes the position of the left road white line and the right road white line with respect to the shooting position of the left camera 1L [(i.e., left-side camera)], and the position of the left road white line and the right road white line of the driving lane with respect to the shooting position of the right camera 1R [(i.e., right-side camera)].”; pg. 6, paragraph 2“If the position information of the left and right white lines defining the travel lane can be obtained by the road white line recognition device 2, the computing device 3 uses the obtained white line position information as a parameter value indicating the characteristics of the travel lane. The lane curvature ρ . . . [is] calculated.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the determining a road curvature condition variable of Tan with the road curvature condition variable being based on at least one of: (i) a left-side image obtained from a left-side camera of the vehicle, and (ii) a right-side image obtained from a right-side camera of the vehicle as taught by Ota to have the road curvature condition variable be based on at least one of: (i) a left-side image obtained from a left-side camera of the vehicle, and (ii) a right-side image obtained from a right-side camera of the vehicle. Doing so would provide a means for obtaining the road curvature condition variable on-board the vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 11 as recited in the claim and applied above.
While Tan discloses determining a road curvature condition variable (see Tan at least pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a . . . sensor only if: (1) the vehicle status data 110 [(i.e., control condition variables)] indicates that the vehicle is currently driving in a straight or substantially straight line . . .”), it does not appear to explicitly disclose the road curvature condition variable being based on at least one of: (i) a left-side image obtained from a left-side camera of the vehicle; (ii) a right-side image obtained from a right-side camera of the vehicle; and (iii) a meaning of a road sign in at least one of the left-side image and the right-side image.
Ota teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . wherein the road curvature condition variable is based on at least one of: (i) a left-side image obtained from a left-side camera of the vehicle; (ii) a right-side image obtained from a right-side camera of the vehicle; and (iii) a meaning of a road sign in at least one of the left-side image and the right-side image (see Ota at least pg. 6, paragraph 1 “. . . the white lines to be recognized by the camera correspondence recognition units 2L and 2R are the left and right white lines that define the travel lane on which the host vehicle is traveling, and the positions of the white lines that can be obtained by the road white line recognition device 2[.] The information includes the position of the left road white line and the right road white line with respect to the shooting position of the left camera 1L [(i.e., left-side camera)], and the position of the left road white line and the right road white line of the driving lane with respect to the shooting position of the right camera 1R [(i.e., right-side camera)].”; pg. 6, paragraph 2 “If the position information of the left and right white lines defining the travel lane can be obtained by the road white line recognition device 2, the computing device 3 uses the obtained white line position information as a parameter value indicating the characteristics of the travel lane. The lane curvature ρ . . . [is] calculated.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the determining a road curvature condition variable of Tan with the road curvature condition variable being based on at least one of: (i) a left-side image obtained from a left-side camera of the vehicle, and (ii) a right-side image obtained from a right-side camera of the vehicle as taught by Ota to have the road curvature condition variable be based on at least one of: (i) a left-side image obtained from a left-side camera of the vehicle, and (ii) a right-side image obtained from a right-side camera of the vehicle. The examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of these references as claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 20, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 18 as recited in the claim and applied above.
While Tan discloses determining a road curvature condition variable (see Tan at least pg. 9, col. 12, lines 9-24 “. . . the process 300 initiates calibration of a . . . sensor only if: (1) the vehicle status data 110 [(i.e., control condition variables)] indicates that the vehicle is currently driving in a straight or substantially straight line . . .”), it does not appear to explicitly disclose the road curvature condition variable being based on at least one of: (i) a left-side image obtained from a left-side camera of the vehicle; (ii) a right-side image obtained from a right-side camera of the vehicle; and (iii) a meaning of a road sign in at least one of the left-side image and the right-side image.
Ota teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . wherein the road curvature condition variable is based on at least one of: (i) a left-side image obtained from a left-side camera of the vehicle; (ii) a right-side image obtained from a right-side camera of the vehicle; and (iii) a meaning of a road sign in at least one of the left-side image and the right-side image (see Ota at least pg. 6, paragraph 1 “. . . the white lines to be recognized by the camera correspondence recognition units 2L and 2R are the left and right white lines that define the travel lane on which the host vehicle is traveling, and the positions of the white lines that can be obtained by the road white line recognition device 2[.] The information includes the position of the left road white line and the right road white line with respect to the shooting position of the left camera 1L [(i.e., left-side camera)], and the position of the left road white line and the right road white line of the driving lane with respect to the shooting position of the right camera 1R [(i.e., right-side camera)].”; pg. 6, paragraph 2 “If the position information of the left and right white lines defining the travel lane can be obtained by the road white line recognition device 2, the computing device 3 uses the obtained white line position information as a parameter value indicating the characteristics of the travel lane. The lane curvature ρ . . . [is] calculated.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the determining a road curvature condition variable of Tan with the road curvature condition variable being based on at least one of: (i) a left-side image obtained from a left-side camera of the vehicle, and (ii) a right-side image obtained from a right-side camera of the vehicle as taught by Ota to have the road curvature condition variable be based on at least one of: (i) a left-side image obtained from a left-side camera of the vehicle, and (ii) a right-side image obtained from a right-side camera of the vehicle. The examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of these references as claim 5 above.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan in view of Naka and further in view of Ribbens (William B. Ribbens, Chapter 8 - Vehicle-Motion Controls, Understanding Automotive Electronics (Seventh Edition), Butterworth-Heinemann, 2013, Pages 381-457, ISBN 9780080970974.; hereinafter Ribbens).
Regarding claim 8, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 1 as recited in the claim and applied above.
While Tan discloses steering wheel angle as a control condition variable (see Tan at least “. . . some of the vehicle status data 110 is analyzed to determine whether the vehicle is driving straight . . . the analyzed vehicle status data 110 may include information obtained from the inertial measurement unit, the steering angle sensor, and/or at least some of the four wheel speed sensors [(i.e., control condition variables indicative of trajectory with respect to a straight line)].”), it does not appear to explicitly disclose a control condition variable being based on a commanded trajectory of the vehicle and an error between the commanded trajectory and the straight line.
Ribbens teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . wherein the control condition variable is based on a commanded trajectory of the vehicle and an error between the commanded trajectory and the straight line (see Ribbens at least pg. 454, paragraph 5 “In the illustration of Figure 8.32, the front wheels are steered to a steering angle δF by the driver's steering wheel input [(i.e., commanded trajectory)].”; Figure 8.32- steering angle δF is defined relative to the longitudinal axis of the vehicle x’ (i.e., error between commanded trajectory and the straight line)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the steering wheel angle as a control condition variable of Tan with the control condition variable being based on a commanded trajectory of the vehicle and an error between the commanded trajectory and the straight line as taught by Ribbens to have the control condition variable be based on a commanded trajectory of the vehicle and an error between the commanded trajectory and the straight line. Doing so would further define the steering wheel angle control condition variable input of Tan in a way that aligns with existing industry standards for defining vehicle steering input.
Regarding claim 15, Tan and Naka disclose the subject matter of claim 9 as recited in the claim and applied above.
While Tan discloses steering wheel angle as a control condition variable (see Tan at least “. . . some of the vehicle status data 110 is analyzed to determine whether the vehicle is driving straight . . . the analyzed vehicle status data 110 may include information obtained from the inertial measurement unit, the steering angle sensor, and/or at least some of the four wheel speed sensors [(i.e., control condition variables indicative of trajectory with respect to a straight line)].”), it does not appear to explicitly disclose a control condition variable being based on a commanded trajectory of the vehicle and an error between the commanded trajectory and the straight line.
Ribbens teaches the subject matter underlined below:
. . . wherein the control condition variable is based on a commanded trajectory of the vehicle and an error between the commanded trajectory and the straight line (see Ribbens at least pg. 454, paragraph 5 “In the illustration of Figure 8.32, the front wheels are steered to a steering angle δF by the driver's steering wheel input [(i.e., commanded trajectory)].”; Figure 8.32- steering angle δF is defined relative to the longitudinal axis of the vehicle x’ (i.e., error between commanded trajectory and the straight line)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the steering wheel angle as a control condition variable of Tan with the control condition variable being based on a commanded trajectory of the vehicle and an error between the commanded trajectory and the straight line as taught by Ribbens to have the control condition variable be based on a commanded trajectory of the vehicle and an error between the commanded trajectory and the straight line. The examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of these references as claim 8 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Song et al. (US 20160209211 A1) discloses calibration of on-board vehicle sensors while a vehicle is in motion.
/TABITHA KRESS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
5/4/26