DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s election filed on 11/11/25.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 2, claims 33-40 in the reply filed on 11/11/25 is acknowledged.
Applicant also mentioned that new claims 41-52 also falls in the elected invention. The examiner acknowledges the statement and claims 33-52 are found to be drawn to the election made by the applicant.
Claim Objections
Claims 39 and 40 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 39 line 1, change the phrase “the driving member” to -a driving member- in order to provide proper antecedent of basis for the limitation (since claim 33 does not require the limitation).
Claim 40 line 1, change the phrase “the driving member” to -a driving member- in order to provide proper antecedent of basis for the limitation (since claim 33 does not require the limitation).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 34-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 34 requires that a manual actuator is provided to actuate the locking mechanism between a locked position and an unlocked position.
At the instant, it is unclear if this actuator is the same or a different actuator as the one already claimed in claim 33.
Therefore, a broad interpretation will be given. Correction is required.
Claim 35 requires a first position sensor coupled to and moveable with the at least one driving member and a second position sensor coupled to and moveable with the manual actuator. At the instant, the limitation is indefinite.
As described, the driving member, the gear 610, and the manual actuator, cam 620, each are provided with first and second “wiper” contacts 605 and 606.
As well known in the art, a wiper contact is a small, flexible metal component, often part of a sliding electrical mechanism, that slides along conductive or resistive tracks to transmit signals. A sensor is a device that detects physical, chemical, or biological changes in its environment. Those are two different things.
Therefore, a broad interpretation will be given. Correction is required.
Claim 39 requires that a driving member is operable to apply force to the manual actuator, and wherein the manual actuator is moveable without applying force to the driving member.
At the instant, it is unclear how that it possible. When the driving member applies a force to the manual actuator, a counter force is being applied from the manual actuator to the driving member. If the intention is to claim an instant of that happening, i.e. not in contact, then proper correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 33, 34, and 48 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Pat No 8,621,900 to Wu et al (Wu) in view of US Pat No 9,512,644 to Lambrou et al (Lambrou).
Regarding claims 33 and 48, Wu discloses a door lock that comprises a locking mechanism (2) configured to move in a locking direction and an unlocking direction via an actuator (manual, not shown, or electrical by motor 131, col 3 line 35).
Wu fails to discloses that the door lock further comprises an encoder that includes a plurality of circuits, states of said plurality of circuits varying based on a position of the locking mechanism; wherein a first set of states of the plurality of circuits of the encoder designates a first position of the locking mechanism corresponding to a left handed lock configuration of the door lock; and wherein a second set of states of the plurality of circuits of the encoder designates a second position of the locking mechanism corresponding to a right handed lock configuration of the door lock.
Wu discloses that the door lock comprises a first set of state of plurality of circuits corresponding to a right-handed lock configuration (via switches 171, 172) and a second set of state of plurality of circuits left-handed lock configuration (via switches 171, 173).
Lambrou teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an encoder (24 and 26, a sensor which converts a position into an electrical signal). The encoder will provide a signal depending on the orientation of the door lock, being left or right-handed door orientation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the door lock described by Wu with an encoder, as taught by Lambrou, in order to automatically allow the device to perform the corresponding function depending on the orientation of the door.
As to claim 34, Wu discloses that the locking mechanism is movable between a locked position and an unlocked position via at least one driving member; and wherein the door lock comprises a manual actuator operable to actuate the locking mechanism between a locked position and an unlocked position (col 3 line 35).
Claim 35-38, 41-44, 47, 49 and 50 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Pat No 8,621,900 to Wu et al (Wu) in view of US Pat No 9,512,644 to Lambrou et al (Lambrou) and further in view of US Pat No 4,452,058 to Noel.
As to claims 35, 47 and 49, Wu, as modified by Lambrou, fails to disclose that the encoder has a plurality of physical states that correspond to movement of a first position sensor coupled to and moveable with the at least one driving member; and a second position sensor coupled to and moveable with the manual actuator.
The combination teaches an encoder (Lambrou encoder 24, 26) that has a plurality of physical states that corresponds to the movement of the elements by means of a switch (Wu 171-173) and a protrusion (Wu 162).
Noel teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a connection to detect certain function of a movable member (levers 33 or 51), using a first position member (metal plate 39 or 55) and a second position member (metal plate at the PCB 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the connection between the members described by Wu, as modified by Lambrou, as one using metal plates, as taught by Noel, in order to detect the desired movement along the whole predetermined distance.
As to claim 36, Noel teaches that the first position member (39 or 55) comprises a first electrical contact, wherein the second position member (at 56) comprises a second electrical contact. The device defines a plurality of conductive traces for the position member(s).
Wu, as modified by Lambrou and Noel, will teach first and second sets of conductive traces, defining a plurality of closed circuit and open circuit conditions therebetween.
As to claim 37, Wu, as modified by Lambrou and Noel, teaches that the door lock further comprises a controller (Wu 17, Lambrou 24 or Noel central controller) operable to control an electronic actuator and to evaluate the position of the locking mechanism to determine whether the door lock is in the left handed lock configuration or the right handed lock configuration based on input from at least one of the first position sensor and the second position sensor.
As to claim 38, Wu, as modified by Lambrou and Noel, teaches that the controller is operable to evaluate whether the locking mechanism was last actuated automatically or manually based upon input from at least one of the first position member and the second position member (Wu shows movement from each actuator, which allows to differentiate each member movement).
As to claims 41-43 and 50, Wu dislcoses that the lock can be either manually or electrically operated, in combination with a control unit. Wu also discloses a first group of the plurality of circuits (to detect the location of the locking mechanism, being locked or unlocked). Lambrou teaches a second group of the plurality of circuits (to detect the door position). Noel teaches that the communication can provide an open and closed-circuit states (fig 31, shows one of the traces can be divided into two traces 88b and 88c, creating an open and a closed state).
As to claim 44, Noel teaches that the door lock comprises a common circuit (through the PCB 56) for different sets of circuits (39 or 55).
Claim 33, 34, 39, 40, 48, 51 and 52 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Pat No 5,896,769 to Elpern et al (Elpern) in view of US Pat No 8,621,900 to Wu et al (Wu) and US Pat No 9,512,644 to Lambrou et al (Lambrou).
Regarding claim 33 and 48, Elpern discloses a door lock that comprises a locking mechanism (14) configured to move in a locking direction and an unlocking direction via an electronic actuator (220).
Elpern fails to discloses that the door lock further comprises an encoder that includes a plurality of circuits, states of said plurality of circuits varying based on a position of the locking mechanism; wherein a first set of states of the plurality of circuits of the encoder designates a first position of the locking mechanism corresponding to a left handed lock configuration of the door lock; and wherein a second set of states of the plurality of circuits of the encoder designates a second position of the locking mechanism corresponding to a right handed lock configuration of the door lock.
Elpern only discloses the use of sensors (618, 620) to detect the locking and unlocking states of the device.
Wu discloses that the door lock comprises a first set of state of plurality of circuits corresponding to a right-handed lock configuration (via switches 171, 172) and a second set of state of plurality of circuits left-handed lock configuration (via switches 171, 173).
Lambrou teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an encoder (24 and 26, a sensor which converts a position into an electrical signal). The encoder will provide a signal to the control unit, depending on the orientation of the door lock, being left or right-handed door orientation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the door lock described by Elpern with a plurality of circuits corresponding to a right-handed or left-handed lock configurations, as taught by Wu, in order to provide corresponding circuits for each door configuration instead of reprograming the device each time the device is used with respect to a door configuration.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an encoder, as taught by Lambrou, in order to automatically allow the device to perform the corresponding function depending on the orientation of the door.
As to claim 34, Elpern discloses that the locking mechanism (14) is movable between a locked position and an unlocked position via at least one driving member (270); and wherein the door lock comprises a manual actuator (238) operable to actuate the locking mechanism between a locked position and an unlocked position.
As to claim 39, as shown above, Elpern discloses that the driving member (270) is operable to apply force to the manual actuator (238), and wherein the manual actuator is moveable without applying force to the driving member (by a knob).
As to claim 40, Elpern discloses that the driving member comprises a gear (270), wherein the manual actuator comprises a cam (238), and wherein the gear is in a lost motion driving relationship with the cam.
As to claim 51, Elpern discloses that the electronic actuator is in a lost motion driving relationship with the manual actuator (via the gear).
As to claim 52, Elpern discloses that the electronic actuator comprises a gear (270), wherein the manual actuator comprises a cam (238), and wherein the gear is in the lost motion driving relationship with the cam.
Claim 35-38, 41-47, 49 and 50 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Pat No 5,896,769 to Elpern et al (Elpern) in view of US Pat No 8,621,900 to Wu et al (Wu), US Pat No 9,512,644 to Lambrou et al (Lambrou) and further in view of US Pat No 4,452,058 to Noel.
As to claims 35, 47 and 49, Elpern, as modified by Wu and Lambrou, fails to disclose that the encoder has a plurality of physical states that correspond to movement of a first position sensor coupled to and moveable with the at least one driving member; and a second position sensor coupled to and moveable with the manual actuator.
The combination teaches an encoder (Lambrou encoder 24, 26) that has a plurality of physical states that corresponds to the movement of the elements by means of a switch (171-173) and a protrusion (162).
Noel teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a connection to detect certain function of a movable member (levers 33 or 51), using a first position member (metal plate 39 or 55) and a second position member (metal plate at the PCB 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the connection between the members described by Elpern, as modified by Wu and Lambrou, as one using metal plates, as taught by Noel, in order to detect the desired movement along the whole predetermined distance.
As to claim 36, Noel teaches that the first position member (39 or 55) comprises a first electrical contact, wherein the second position member (at 56) comprises a second electrical contact. The device defines a plurality of conductive traces for the position member(s).
Elpern, as modified by Wu, Lambrou and Noel, will teach first and second sets of conductive traces, defining a plurality of closed circuit and open circuit conditions therebetween.
As to claim 37, Elpern, as modified by Wu, Lambrou and Noel, teaches that the door lock further comprises a controller (Elpern 605, Wu 17, Lambrou 24 or Noel central controller) operable to control an electronic actuator and to evaluate the position of the locking mechanism to determine whether the door lock is in the left handed lock configuration or the right handed lock configuration based on input from at least one of the first position sensor and the second position sensor.
As to claim 38, Elpern, as modified by Wu, Lambrou and Noel, teaches that the controller is operable to evaluate whether the locking mechanism was last actuated automatically or manually based upon input from at least one of the first position member and the second position member (Elpern shows movement and a lost motion portion, which allows to differentiate each member movement).
As to claims 41-43 and 50, Elpen discloses that the lock can be either manually or electrically operated, in combination with a control unit. Wu teaches a first group of the plurality of circuits (to detect the location of the locking mechanism, being locked or unlocked). Lambrou teaches a second group of the plurality of circuits (to detect the door position). Noel teaches that the communication can provide an open and closed-circuit states (fig 31, shows one of the traces can be divided into two traces 88b and 88c, creating an open and a closed state).
As to claim 44, Noel teaches that the door lock comprises a common circuit (through the PCB 56) for different sets of circuits (39 or 55).
As to claim 45, Elpen discloses that the lock moves between a locked position (when the is moved into the 2nd rotational direction and is extended), an unlocked position and a fully locked position (after the 2nd rotational direction exposed the lock, the fully locked position is made when the motor rotates the cam back to home position).
As to claim 46 Elpen discloses a fully unlocked position (when motor is reversed after 1st rotational position), an almost unlocked position (1st rotational direction of the 2nd component), a fully locked position (after the 2nd rotational direction exposed the lock, the fully locked position is made when the motor rotates the cam back to home position) and an almost locked position (when the 2nd rotational direction exposed the lock).
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
February 2, 2026