DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on November 20, 2025 has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 17 and 18 have been amended. Claim 3 and 19 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 2, 4 – 18 and 20 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7 and 8, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 3 - 5, 10 - 12 and 17 - 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAN et al. (US 2021/0400460 A1) in view of Pandey et al. (US 2022/0014723 A1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Examiner’s response to the presented arguments follows below:
Applicant argues on page 8 that “the cited portion of Pandey merely discloses that the pattern can be distributed onto the scene "at a relatively high frame rate." The Office alleges that this teaches being compression resistant, but provides no support for the assertion that the pattern of light distributed at a relatively high frame rate is compression resistant. Furthermore, there is no disclosure or suggestion in Pandey regarding any effects of the pattern on compression, bandwidth, or data rate. Instead, Pandey simply discloses that video feeds can be compressed or decompressed as needed. Thus, Pandey fails to disclose or suggest the claimed pattern”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not further describe, define or limit the term “compression resistant”. The claim merely recites “the first pattern is compression resistant”. The specification further describes in Par. [0028], “a display pattern is “compression resistant”, if the presence of the display pattern in a camera field of view increases the compressed video data rate by an average of at least 5%, or at least 10%, or at least 20%, or at least 30%, at least 50%, or at least 100% versus the compressed video data rate of the same camera field of view without the display pattern” and in Par. [0046] “ the motors being driven by a circuit causing the white and black surfaces to be displayed to form a compression resistant pattern”. It should be noted that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, as broadly interpreted, it would be understood by those skilled in the art, that the pattern of Pandey as described in Par. [0168] A striped pattern of light can be distributed onto the scene at a relatively high frame rate could be interpreted as compression resistant. It would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying a camera with a projector that forms patterns as suggested by Pandey in the invention of HAN in order to determine people or objects are in motion (See Pandey, Par. [0168]). Therefore, HAN in view of Pandey teaches the limitation as amended.
Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Objections
In Claim 17, it recites the limitation “wherein the modification is projection if a compression resistant pattern”. The Examiner has interpreted “wherein the modification is projection if a compression resistant pattern” to mean “wherein the modification is projection [[if]] of a compression resistant pattern”, as there appears to be is a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 10 – 12, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAN et al. (US 2021/0400460 A1) referred to as HAN hereinafter, and in view of Pandey et al. (US 2022/0014723 A1) referred to as Pandey hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, HAN teaches a system (Abstract, Fig. 1A, Systems and methods are provided for detecting the presence of a hidden camera on a network), comprising:
a first device (Par. [0027], system or network 100A in which various wireless or mobile devices may include a hidden camera 102 (i.e. first device), data packet traffic from hidden camera 102 can be differentiated from data packet traffic either of smartphone 104 or laptop computer 106); and
a network traffic analyzer (Fig. 1A, Par. [0027], access point 110 can be used to analyze the data packet traffic),
the first device being configured to form a first pattern within a field of view of a first video camera (Par. [0034] FIG. 3A illustrates an example graph 300 that reflects video resolution (i.e. first pattern) as a function of uplink throughput of a hidden camera (i.e. first video camera) using I-P-B compression techniques. The difference between video of a stationary scene and video of a scene (i.e. field of view of first video camera) with motion tends to be on the order of 1-3× depending on resolution),
the network traffic analyzer being configured to monitor network traffic in a first network connection (Par. [0024], the captured video often traverses one or more wireless network (i.e. first network connection) elements, such as access points Aps. By monitoring data packet traffic that passes through access points, the existence of hidden cameras can be detected), and to determine, based on a data rate of the network traffic (Par. [0022], a camera detection model can be trained using data comprising captured video data packets from pinhole (or other types of hidden/digital wireless) cameras. These data packets may reflect particular uplink/downlink throughput, burst rate (i.e. data rate of network), etc. that are indicative of captured video being wirelessly transmitted from a hidden camera to a remote server, datastore, or other device), whether video data including images are included in the network traffic (Par. [0023], data packet traffic from such hidden cameras tends to result in spikes or peaks that correspond to certain fragments or segments of captured video (i.e. video data including images)).
HAN does not specifically teach the camera with a projector that forms patterns. Therefore, HAN fails to explicitly teach a projector causing a modification of a scene observed by the camera, wherein the first pattern is compression resistant.
However, Pandey teaches the first device projector being configured to form a first pattern (Par. [0168], depth capturing can include an approach that is based on structured light or coded light (i.e. projector). A striped pattern of light (i.e. form first pattern)can be distributed onto the scene at a relatively high frame rate. For example, the frame rate can be considered high when the light signals are temporally sufficiently close to each other that the scene is not expected to change in a significant way in between consecutive signals, even if people or objects are in motion) within a field of view of a first video camera (Fig. 26, Par. [0165], The pod 2606 and/or 2608 can include multiple components relating to the capture, processing, transmission or reception of 3D information, and/or to the presentation of 3D content. The pods 2606 and 2608 can include one or more cameras 2616 and/or2618 (i.e. first video camera) for capturing image content for images to be included in a 3D presentation. Par. [0166] The pod 2606 and/or 2608 can include one or more depth sensors 2624 to capture depth data to be used in a 3D presentation, where the scene (i.e. in field of view of camera) can be illuminated using dots of lights (i.e. projector)), wherein the first pattern is compression resistant (Par. [0168], A striped pattern of light can be distributed onto the scene at a relatively high frame rate (i.e. compression resistant)).
References HAN and Pandey are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying a camera with a projector that forms patterns as suggested by Pandey in the invention of HAN in order to determine people or objects are in motion (See Pandey, Par. [0168]).
Regarding Claim 3, it has been cancelled.
Regarding Claim 4, HAN in view of Pandey teaches claim 1. HAN further teaches wherein the first device is configured to cause a first video data rate of the first video camera to be modulated (Par. [0020], Digital wireless cameras allow users to leverage broadband wireless internet connectivity to provide video streaming, and can transmit analog video signals encoded as digital packets over, e.g., high-bandwidth radio frequencies, to remote storage, to a remote viewing device (i.e. modulated camera with view of scene) for viewing as a video stream). Pandey further teaches the first projector is configured to cause a first video data rate of the first video camera to be modulated according to a modulation of the first pattern (Par. [0166] The pod 2606 and/or 2608 can include one or more depth sensors to capture depth data to be used in a 3D presentation. Such depth sensors can be considered part of a depth capturing component in the 3D content system 2600 to be used for characterizing the scenes captured by the pods 2606 and/or 2608 in order to correctly represent (i.e. modulation of pattern with first camera data rate) them on a 3D display).
Regarding Claim 5, HAN in view of Pandey teaches claim 4. HAN further teaches wherein the network traffic analyzer is configured to determine whether the data rate of the network traffic in the first network connection correlates to the modulation (Par. [0020], Digital wireless cameras allow users to leverage broadband wireless internet connectivity to provide video streaming, and can transmit analog video signals encoded as digital packets over, e.g., high-bandwidth radio frequencies, to remote storage, to a remote viewing device for viewing as a video stream (i.e. connection correlates to modulation)).
Regarding Claim 10, HAN in view of Pandey teaches claim 1. HAN further teaches the network traffic analyzer comprises a transparent bridge, and the first network connection is a connection to the transparent bridge (Par. [0028], access point 110 may act as a network sniffer (i.e. transparent bridge). That is, access point 110 may capture or intercept data packets from access point 108 for analysis, in this case, for analyzing data packet/data packet traffic characteristics to determine the existence of a hidden camera, such as hidden camera 102).
Regarding Claim 11, HAN in view of Pandey teaches claim 1. HAN does not specifically teach an interface. However, Pandey teaches the first projector comprises an interface for receiving an activation instruction, and the first projector is configured to transmit the first pattern upon receiving the activation instruction (Par. [0142], display (i.e. activation instruction) graphical information for a GUI on an external input/output device, such as display 2416 coupled to high speed interface 2408 (i.e. interface)).
References HAN and Pandey are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying an interface as suggested by Pandey in the invention of HAN in order to display graphical information for input/output devices (See Pandey, Par. [0142]).
Regarding Claim 12, HAN in view of Pandey teaches claim 1. HAN teaches the first device is configured to transmit upon receiving an instruction from the network traffic analyzer (Fig. 1A, arrow illustrates both direction from access point 110 to hidden camera 102).
HAN does not specifically teach a projector that forms patterns. Therefore, HAN fails to explicitly teach a projector that transmits the first pattern.
However, Pandey teaches a projector that transmits the first pattern (Par. [0168], depth capturing can include an approach that is based on structured light or coded light (i.e. projector). A striped pattern of light (i.e. form first pattern) can be distributed (transmits)onto the scene at a relatively high frame rate. For example, the frame rate can be considered high when the light signals are temporally sufficiently close to each other that the scene is not expected to change in a significant way in between consecutive signals, even if people or objects are in motion).
References HAN and Pandey are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying a projector that forms patterns as suggested by Pandey in the invention of HAN in order to determine people or objects are in motion (See Pandey, Par. [0168]).
Regarding Claim 17, HAN teaches a camera detection system (Abstract, Fig. 1A, Systems and methods are provided for detecting the presence of a hidden camera on a network), comprising:
a device (Par. [0027], system or network 100A in which various wireless or mobile devices may include a hidden camera 102, data packet traffic from hidden camera 102 can be differentiated from data packet traffic either of smartphone 104 or laptop computer 106), and
a network traffic analyzer (Fig. 1A, Par. [0027], access point 110 can be used to analyze the data packet traffic),
the camera detection system being configured to detect the presence of an active camera on a network (Par. [0024], the captured video often traverses one or more wireless network elements, such as access points Aps. By monitoring data packet traffic that passes through access points, the existence of hidden cameras (i.e. presence of active camera) can be detected), by:
a scene observed by the camera (Par. [0034] FIG. 3A illustrates an example graph 300 that reflects video resolution as a function of uplink throughput of a hidden camera using I-P-B compression techniques. The difference between video of a stationary scene and video of a scene with motion tends to be on the order of 1-3× depending on resolution. As illustrated in FIG. 3A, as resolution increases, uplink throughput of motion video increases when considering all types of frames (I, P, and B). Thus, if data traffic stability/throughput fluctuation tends to reveal 1-3× variances, it may be assumed that a hidden camera is transmitting I-P-B-encoded video), and
detecting a change corresponding to the modification in an outgoing data rate of network data (Par. [0022], a camera detection model can be trained using data comprising captured video data packets from pinhole (or other types of hidden/digital wireless) cameras. These data packets may reflect particular uplink (i.e. outgoing data rate)/downlink throughput, burst rate (i.e. change in outgoing data rate), etc. that are indicative of captured video being wirelessly transmitted from a hidden camera to a remote server, datastore, or other device).
HAN does not specifically teach the camera with a projector to modify the scene. Therefore, HAN fails to explicitly teach a projector causing a modification of a scene observed by the camera, wherein the modification is projection if a compression resistant pattern.
However, Pandey teaches a projector causing a modification of a scene observed by the camera (Par. [0168], depth capturing can include an approach that is based on structured light or coded light. A striped pattern of light can be distributed onto the scene at a relatively high frame rate. For example, the frame rate can be considered high when the light signals are temporally sufficiently close to each other that the scene is not expected to change in a significant way in between consecutive signals, even if people or objects are in motion), wherein the modification is projection if a compression resistant pattern (Par. [0168], A striped pattern of light can be distributed onto the scene at a relatively high frame rate (i.e. compression resistant pattern)).
References HAN and Pandey are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying a projector with a camera as suggested by Pandey in the invention of HAN in order to determine people or objects are in motion (See Pandey, Par. [0168]).
Regarding Claim 18, HAN teaches a method, comprising:
detectable by a video camera (Par. [0034] FIG. 3A illustrates an example graph 300 that reflects video resolution as a function of uplink throughput of a hidden camera using I-P-B compression techniques. The difference between video of a stationary scene and video of a scene with motion tends to be on the order of 1-3× depending on resolution. As illustrated in FIG. 3A, as resolution increases, uplink throughput of motion video increases when considering all types of frames (I, P, and B). Thus, if data traffic stability/throughput fluctuation tends to reveal 1-3× variances, it may be assumed that a hidden camera (i.e. video camera) is transmitting I-P-B-encoded video (i.e. detectable)); and
analyzing a network data rate for network traffic (Par. [0024], the captured video often traverses one or more wireless network elements, such as access points Aps. By monitoring data packet traffic that passes through access points, the existence of hidden cameras (i.e. presence of active camera) can be detected) to determine whether the network data rate indicates that the network traffic includes images (Par. [0022], a camera detection model can be trained using data comprising captured video data packets (i.e. includes images) from pinhole (or other types of hidden/digital wireless) cameras. These data packets may reflect particular uplink/downlink throughput, burst rate (i.e. change in network data rate), etc. that are indicative of captured video being wirelessly transmitted from a hidden camera to a remote server, datastore, or other device).
HAN does not specifically teach the camera with a projector to modify the scene. Therefore, HAN fails to explicitly teach a projector causing a modification of a scene observed by the camera, wherein the pattern is compression resistant.
However, Pandey teaches causing a projector to form a pattern (Par. [0168], depth capturing can include an approach that is based on structured light or coded light. A striped pattern of light can be distributed onto the scene at a relatively high frame rate. For example, the frame rate can be considered high when the light signals are temporally sufficiently close to each other that the scene is not expected to change in a significant way in between consecutive signals, even if people or objects are in motion), wherein the pattern is compression resistant (Par. [0168], A striped pattern of light can be distributed onto the scene at a relatively high frame rate (i.e. compression resistant)).
References HAN and Pandey are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying a projector with a camera as suggested by Pandey in the invention of HAN in order to determine people or objects are in motion (See Pandey, Par. [0168]).
Regarding Claim 19, it has been cancelled.
Regarding Claim 20, HAN in view of Pandey teaches claim 19. HAN further teaches wherein:
the changes at a first point in time (Par. [0040], standard autocorrelation functions may calculate correlation among all time serial samples of a data set, the given complexity being reflected by the function, o(N.sup.2), where N corresponds to the number of data packets during a specified time window. Thus, in some embodiments, an autocorrelation function utilized herein by calculate correlation at certain time points (i.e. first point in time), e.g., in a burst interval, such that complexity can be lowered to o(N)), and
the determining whether the network data rate indicates that the network traffic includes images (Par. [0022], a camera detection model can be trained using data comprising captured video data packets from pinhole (or other types of hidden/digital wireless) cameras. These data packets may reflect particular uplink/downlink throughput, burst rate (i.e. change in network data rate), etc. that are indicative of captured video being wirelessly transmitted from a hidden camera to a remote server, datastore, or other device) comprises determining whether the network traffic exhibits a corresponding change in the data rate at the first point in time (Par. [0039], FIG. 5B is a graph 520 that reflects the raw data packet traffic of FIG. 5A after processing through an autocorrelation function resulting in autocorrelation coefficients as a function of time (rather than raw throughput as a function of time as illustrated in FIG. 5A). It can be appreciated that the traffic periodicity (i.e. changes in data rate from point in time) associated with the transmission of I-frame encoded video is relatively easy to identify. In this example, the autocorrelation coefficients peak at, e.g., 2000 ms, 4000 ms, 6000 ms, and so on. Thus, the peak interval is approximately 2000 ms, which corresponds to/is the same as I-frame transmission interval for typical hidden cameras capturing static video scenes).
HAN does not specifically teach pattern changes. Therefore, HAN fails to explicitly teach a projector causing a modification of a scene observed by the camera.
However, Pandey teaches pattern changes (Par. [0168], A striped pattern of light can be distributed (i.e. pattern changes) onto the scene at a relatively high frame rate. For example, the frame rate can be considered high when the light signals are temporally sufficiently close to each other that the scene is not expected to change in a significant way in between consecutive signals, even if people or objects are in motion).
References HAN and Pandey are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying pattern changes as suggested by Pandey in the invention of HAN in order to determine people or objects are in motion (See Pandey, Par. [0168]).
Claims 2, 6 - 9 and 13 - 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAN (US 2021/0400460 A1), in view of Pandey (US 2022/0014723 A1), and in further view of Kerzner et al. (US 10,706,699 B1) referred to as Kerzner hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 2, HAN in view of Pandey teaches claim 1. Pandey further teaches wherein the first pattern has a duration (Par. [0166], This illumination can be done using waves of a selected wavelength or range of wavelengths).
HAN in view of Pandey does not specifically teach duration of pattern projection. Therefore, HAN in view of Pandey fails to explicitly teach the first pattern has a duration of at least one second.
However, Kerzner teaches the first pattern has a duration of at least one second (Col. 4:23-26, the projected light may be more focused onto the moving object 50 with a higher intensity in blinking shapes during the day as the moving object 50 approaches (i.e. duration of at least one second) closer to the property 101).
References HAN, Pandey and Kerzner are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying projection of pattern duration as suggested by Kerzner in the inventions of HAN and Pandey in order to track the moving object that has been identified as a potential threat (See Kerzner, Col. 4:5-6).
Regarding Claim 6, HAN in view of Pandey teaches claim 1. While HAN teaches in Par. [0027], each of these devices may use access point 110 to communicate data packets wirelessly to a target device (not shown), HAN in view of Pandey does not specifically teach wide-area-network connection. Therefore, HAN in view of Pandey fails to explicitly teach the first network connection is a network connection on a wide-area-network side of a router for a facility.
However, Kerzner teaches the first network connection is a network connection on a wide-area-network side of a router for a facility (Col. 4:43-51, The network 105 may include, for example, one or more of the Internet, Wide Area Networks (WANs), Local Area Networks (LANs), analog or digital wired and wireless telephone networks (e.g., a public switched telephone network (PSTN), Integrated Services Digital Network (ISDN), a cellular network, and Digital Subscriber Line (DSL)), radio, television, cable, satellite, or any other delivery or tunneling mechanism for carrying data).
References HAN, Pandey and Kerzner are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying Wide Area Networks as suggested by Kerzner in the inventions of HAN and Pandey in order to provide delivery or tunneling mechanism for carrying data (See Kerzner, Col. 4:50-51).
Regarding Claim 7, HAN in view of Pandey teaches claim 1. While HAN teaches in Par. [0027], each of these devices may use access point 110 to communicate data packets wirelessly to a target device (not shown), HAN in view of Pandey does not specifically teach local-area-network connection. Therefore, HAN in view of Pandey fails to explicitly teach the first network connection is a network connection on a local-area-network side of a router for a facility.
However, Kerzner teaches the first network connection is a network connection on a local-area-network side of a router for a facility (Col. 4:43-51, The network 105 may include, for example, one or more of the Internet, Wide Area Networks (WANs), Local Area Networks (LANs), analog or digital wired and wireless telephone networks (e.g., a public switched telephone network (PSTN), Integrated Services Digital Network (ISDN), a cellular network, and Digital Subscriber Line (DSL)), radio, television, cable, satellite, or any other delivery or tunneling mechanism for carrying data).
References HAN, Pandey and Kerzner are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying local-area-network as suggested by Kerzner in the inventions of HAN and Pandey in order provide delivery or tunneling mechanism for carrying data (See Kerzner, Col. 4:50-51).
Regarding Claim 8, HAN in combination of Pandey and Kerzner teaches claim 7. HAN further teaches the network traffic analyzer is further configured to monitor network traffic in a second network connection (Par. [0046] It should be also be understood that the aforementioned features/characteristics may be identified in samples of data packet traffic observed in one or more networks (i.e. second network connection)), and to determine whether video data including images is included in the network traffic of the second network connection (Par. [0022], a camera detection model can be trained using data comprising captured video data packets from pinhole (or other types of hidden/digital wireless) cameras. These data packets may reflect particular uplink/downlink throughput, burst rate (i.e. data rate of network), etc. that are indicative of captured video being wirelessly transmitted from a hidden camera to a remote server, datastore, or other device. Par. [0023], data packet traffic from such hidden cameras tends to result in spikes or peaks that correspond to certain fragments or segments of captured video (i.e. video data including images)). Pandey further teaches images of the first pattern (Par. [0168], depth capturing can include an approach that is based on structured light or coded light (i.e. projector). A striped pattern of light (i.e. form first pattern)can be distributed onto the scene at a relatively high frame rate. For example, the frame rate can be considered high when the light signals are temporally sufficiently close to each other that the scene is not expected to change in a significant way in between consecutive signals, even if people or objects are in motion).
Regarding Claim 9, HAN in combination of Pandey and Kerzner teaches claim 8. Kerzner further teaches wherein the second network connection is a network connection on a wide-area-network side of the router (Col. 4:43-51, The network 105 may include, for example, one or more of the Internet, Wide Area Networks (WANs), Local Area Networks (LANs), analog or digital wired and wireless telephone networks (e.g., a public switched telephone network (PSTN), Integrated Services Digital Network (ISDN), a cellular network, and Digital Subscriber Line (DSL)), radio, television, cable, satellite, or any other delivery or tunneling mechanism for carrying data).
Regarding Claim 13, HAN in view of Pandey teaches claim 1. HAN in view of Pandey do not specifically teach a second projector. Therefore, HAN in view of Pandey fails to explicitly teach a second projector.
However, Kerzner teaches further comprising a second projector (Col. 2:2-8, a monitoring system can detect a moving object or an alarm event by analyzing images or videos captured through cameras of the monitoring system and may instruct one or more projectors (i.e. second projector) to project optical patterns (e.g., points, shapes, texts, graphics, etc.) onto a surface such as a ground of the property or onto the object).
References HAN, Pandey and Kerzner are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying multiple projectors as suggested by Kerzner in the inventions of HAN and Pandey in order to collect images of the grid patterns from the multiple directions. (See Kerzner, Col. 16:61-63).
Regarding Claim 14, HAN in combination of Pandey and Kerzner teaches claim 13. Kerzner further teaches wherein the second projector is configured to form a second pattern (Fig. 3, Col. 11:60-63, the projector 182 can project multiple different types of optical patterns (i.e. second patterns) such as graphics and texts at the indoor area of the property 101) within a field of view of a second video camera (Col. 11:52-54, The monitoring server 30 communicates with the cameras 130 (i.e. first and second video camera) and the projectors 182 (i.e. first and second projectors) through a communication link 40).
Regarding Claim 15, HAN in combination of Pandey and Kerzner teaches claim 14. Kerzner further teaches wherein: the first pattern includes a change at a first point in time; and the second pattern includes a change at a second point in time, different from the first point in time (Col. 18:15-19, the multiple cameras may have different capturing speeds, different processing speeds, and different transmission time so that the video being received from one camera may not match in time (i.e. different first point in time and second point in time) with a video received at the same time from another camera).
Regarding Claim 16, HAN in combination of Pandey and Kerzner teaches claim 15. HAN further teaches wherein the network traffic analyzer is configured: to detect a change, at a third point in time, in the data rate of the network traffic; and to determine: that the third point in time correlates to the first point in time (Par. [0040], standard autocorrelation functions may calculate correlation among all time serial samples of a data set, the given complexity being reflected by the function, o(N.sup.2), where N corresponds to the number of data packets during a specified time window. Thus, in some embodiments, an autocorrelation function utilized herein by calculate correlation at certain time points (i.e. change in points in time), e.g., in a burst interval, such that complexity can be lowered to o(N)).
However, Pandey teaches the change in the data rate corresponds to the change in the first pattern (Par. [0168], A striped pattern of light can be distributed (i.e. pattern changes) onto the scene at a relatively high frame rate. For example, the frame rate can be considered high when the light signals are temporally sufficiently close to each other that the scene is not expected to change in a significant way in between consecutive signals, even if people or objects are in motion).
References HAN and Pandey are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying pattern changes as suggested by Pandey in the invention of HAN in order to determine people or objects are in motion (See Pandey, Par. [0168]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) 272-7527. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425