DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on April 9, 2026 has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 17 and 18 have been amended. Claim 3 and 19 have been cancelled. Accordingly, Claims 1, 2, 4 – 18 and 20 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims and presented arguments have overcome the claim objection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed January 16, 2026. Accordingly, the objection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7 and 8, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 3 - 5, 10 - 12 and 17 - 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAN et al. (US 2021/0400460 A1) in view of Pandey et al. (US 2022/0014723 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the newly discovered reference to the first projector being configured to use a physical display of two or more changing colors to form a first pattern within a field of view of a first video camera, as claimed in the amended claims 1, 17 and 18.
Claim Objections
In Claim 20, it recites the limitation “The method of claim 19”. The Examiner has interpreted “The method of claim 19” to mean “The method of claim [[19]] 18”, as there appears to be is a typographical error and dependent claim 20 is intended to refer back to independent system Claim 18, instead of method Claim 19 which has been cancelled.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 2, 4 – 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Amended Claims 1, 17 and 18 recite the limitation “the first projector being configured to use a physical display of two or more changing colors to form a first pattern within a field of view of a first video camera”. Nowhere in the specification does it reference or describe using a physical display to form a first pattern. The specification merely states in Par. [0046] that “the projector 105 is not a source of light but instead modulates light reflected from it or transmitted through it to form the display pattern 120. For example, the projector 105 may include a plurality of disks each on a respective motor, each disk having a white front surface and a black back surface, the motors being driven by a circuit causing the white and black surfaces to be displayed to form a compression resistant pattern” with regards to the projector, not the physical display. The specification does not further describe or define how or where the pattern is displayed, merely that it is displayed. The only description of the “physical” display is found in Par. [0024] where it describes “cameras may be present for the purpose of, for example, enabling a display device (such as a computer monitor or a television set) to be used for video conferencing, gaming, etc.”, not for displaying the patterned formed by the projector. Nowhere in the specification does it further reference or describe the relationship of the projector configured to use the physical display to form a pattern. Hence, it is not found how, when or where, the physical display is used by the projector to form a pattern. The specification does not support the interpretation of the amended claim limitation. Claims 2, 4 - 16 and 20 are rejected for the reasons above by virtue of their respective dependencies.
Therefore, the claim language is not supported by the original disclosure and therefore constitutes new matter. (See also 37 C.F.R. 1.121(f), MPEP 608.04, 706.03(o)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 12 - 15, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAN et al. (US 2021/0400460 A1) referred to as HAN hereinafter, and in view of FARAGHER et al. (US 2021/0409665 A1) referred to as FARAGHER hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, HAN teaches a system (Abstract, Fig. 1A, Systems and methods are provided for detecting the presence of a hidden camera on a network), comprising:
a first device (Par. [0027], system or network 100A in which various wireless or mobile devices may include a hidden camera 102 (i.e. first device), data packet traffic from hidden camera 102 can be differentiated from data packet traffic either of smartphone 104 or laptop computer 106); and
a network traffic analyzer (Fig. 1A, Par. [0027], access point 110 can be used to analyze the data packet traffic),
the first device being configured to form a first pattern within a field of view of a first video camera (Par. [0034] FIG. 3A illustrates an example graph 300 that reflects video resolution (i.e. first pattern) as a function of uplink throughput of a hidden camera (i.e. first video camera) using I-P-B compression techniques. The difference between video of a stationary scene and video of a scene (i.e. field of view of first video camera) with motion tends to be on the order of 1-3× depending on resolution),
the network traffic analyzer being configured to monitor network traffic in a first network connection (Par. [0024], the captured video often traverses one or more wireless network (i.e. first network connection) elements, such as access points Aps. By monitoring data packet traffic that passes through access points, the existence of hidden cameras can be detected), and to determine, based on a data rate of the network traffic (Par. [0022], a camera detection model can be trained using data comprising captured video data packets from pinhole (or other types of hidden/digital wireless) cameras. These data packets may reflect particular uplink/downlink throughput, burst rate (i.e. data rate of network), etc. that are indicative of captured video being wirelessly transmitted from a hidden camera to a remote server, datastore, or other device), whether video data including images are included in the network traffic (Par. [0023], data packet traffic from such hidden cameras tends to result in spikes or peaks that correspond to certain fragments or segments of captured video (i.e. video data including images)).
HAN does not specifically teach a projector to form changing color patterns. Therefore, HAN fails to explicitly teach the projector being configured to use a physical display of two or more changing colors to form a first pattern within a field of view of a first video camera, wherein the first pattern is compression resistant.
However, FARAGHER teaches the first device projector being configured to use a physical display (Fig. 2, Par. [0031] a projector 207 and a camera 209 arranged relative to a physical object 211 onto which images are to be projected, as depicted the physical object 211 comprises a surface and/or a screen (i.e. use a physical display)) of two or more changing colors to form a first pattern (Fig. 5, Par. [0037] the projector 207 is generally configured to project predetermined alternating patterns using the alternating pattern data 198, which may comprise two or more first predetermined patterns (e.g. white images) alternating with second predetermined patterns (e.g. black images) projected one or more of before and after the structured light patterns, wherein “white” and “black” are understood to be colors within the scope of the present specification. Alternatively, patterns of different colors may be projected) within a field of view of a first video camera (Par. [0031] projector 207 and a camera 209 arranged relative to a physical object 211 onto which images are to be projected, Par. [0032] the field of view of the camera 209 overlaps with at least a portion of a field of view of the projector 207 such that the camera 209 may acquire frames (e.g. images) of images projected by the projector 207), wherein the first pattern is compression resistant (Par. [0037], the projector 207 is generally configured to project predetermined alternating patterns. Par. [0101] the projector frame rate is 60 fps, and 6 projector frames are used to project a pattern 905-1, 907-1, 909-1, the pattern duration is 1 second (i.e. compression resistant)).
References HAN and FARAGHER are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying the projector configured to use two or more changing colors to form a pattern as suggested by FARAGHER in the invention of HAN in order to determine which pixels and/or scan lines of frames acquired by the camera correspond to a color and/or RGB (red-green-blue) value of an alternating pattern (See FARAGHER, Par. [0037]).
Regarding Claim 2, HAN in view of FARAGHER teaches claim 1. FARAGHER further teaches wherein the first pattern has a duration of at least one second (Par. [0101], as the projector frame rate is 60 fps, and 6 projector frames are used to project a pattern 905-1, 907-1, 909-1, the pattern duration is 1 second).
Regarding Claim 3, it has been cancelled.
Regarding Claim 4, HAN in view of FARAGHER teaches claim 1. HAN further teaches wherein the first device is configured to cause a first video data rate of the first video camera to be modulated (Par. [0020], Digital wireless cameras allow users to leverage broadband wireless internet connectivity to provide video streaming, and can transmit analog video signals encoded as digital packets over, e.g., high-bandwidth radio frequencies, to remote storage, to a remote viewing device (i.e. modulated camera with view of scene) for viewing as a video stream). FARAGHER further teaches the first projector is configured to cause a first video data rate of the first video camera to be modulated according to a modulation of the first pattern (Par. [0093] relative phases may be controlled by adjusting the projector pattern (i.e. modulation) duration time and/or the camera frame rate (i.e. video data rate)).
Regarding Claim 5, HAN in view of FARAGHER teaches claim 4. HAN further teaches wherein the network traffic analyzer is configured to determine whether the data rate of the network traffic in the first network connection correlates to the modulation (Par. [0020], Digital wireless cameras allow users to leverage broadband wireless internet connectivity to provide video streaming, and can transmit analog video signals encoded as digital packets over, e.g., high-bandwidth radio frequencies, to remote storage, to a remote viewing device for viewing as a video stream (i.e. connection correlates to modulation)).
Regarding Claim 10, HAN in view of FARAGHER teaches claim 1. HAN further teaches the network traffic analyzer comprises a transparent bridge, and the first network connection is a connection to the transparent bridge (Par. [0028], access point 110 may act as a network sniffer (i.e. transparent bridge). That is, access point 110 may capture or intercept data packets from access point 108 for analysis, in this case, for analyzing data packet/data packet traffic characteristics to determine the existence of a hidden camera, such as hidden camera 102).
Regarding Claim 12, HAN in view of FARAGHER teaches claim 1. HAN teaches the first device is configured to transmit upon receiving an instruction from the network traffic analyzer (Fig. 1A, arrow illustrates both direction from access point 110 to hidden camera 102, Par. [0022] These data packets may reflect particular uplink/downlink throughput, burst rate, etc. that are indicative of captured video being wirelessly transmitted from a hidden camera to a remote server, datastore, or other device). FARAGHER further teaches a projector configured to transmit the first pattern (Par. [0021], the video input 112 is communicated to the projector 107 by the content player 103 where the video input 112 is used to control the projector 107 to project images. Par. [0026] control the projector 107 to project, while a camera acquires frames thereof, in a sequence: alternating patterns; and structured light patterns, the alternating patterns comprising first predetermined patterns and second predetermined patterns projected one or more of before and after the structured light patterns).
References HAN and FARAGHER are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying a projector that transmits patterns as suggested by FARAGHER in the invention of HAN in order to determine which pixels and/or scan lines of frames acquired by the camera correspond to a color and/or RGB (red-green-blue) value of an alternating pattern (See FARAGHER, Par. [0037]).
Regarding Claim 13, HAN in view of FARAGHER teaches claim 1. FARAGHER further teaches further comprising a second projector (Par. [0024] while only one the projector 107 is depicted, system 100 can comprise a plurality of projectors 107, each configured to project respective projection data. Par. [0031] While only one projector 207 and one camera 209 are depicted, the system 200 may comprise any number of projectors and camera including).
Regarding Claim 14, HAN in view of FARAGHER teaches claim 13. FARAGHER further teaches wherein the second projector is configured to form a second pattern within a field of view of a second video camera (Par. [0031] While only one projector 207 and one camera 209 are depicted, the system 200 may comprise any number of projectors and camera including).
Regarding Claim 15, HAN in view of FARAGHER teaches claim 14. FARAGHER further teaches wherein: the first pattern includes a change at a first point in time; and the second pattern includes a change at a second point in time, different from the first point in time (Par. [0087] FIG. 9 which depicts a timing diagram 800 showing timing for projected patterns of the projector 207 (e.g. for white and black alternating patterns, with a time period that a white pattern is being projected labelled as “A”)).
Regarding Claim 17, HAN teaches a camera detection system (Abstract, Fig. 1A, Systems and methods are provided for detecting the presence of a hidden camera on a network), comprising:
a device (Par. [0027], system or network 100A in which various wireless or mobile devices may include a hidden camera 102, data packet traffic from hidden camera 102 can be differentiated from data packet traffic either of smartphone 104 or laptop computer 106), and
a network traffic analyzer (Fig. 1A, Par. [0027], access point 110 can be used to analyze the data packet traffic),
the camera detection system being configured to detect the presence of an active camera on a network (Par. [0024], the captured video often traverses one or more wireless network elements, such as access points Aps. By monitoring data packet traffic that passes through access points, the existence of hidden cameras (i.e. presence of active camera) can be detected), by:
a scene observed by the camera (Par. [0034] FIG. 3A illustrates an example graph 300 that reflects video resolution as a function of uplink throughput of a hidden camera using I-P-B compression techniques. The difference between video of a stationary scene and video of a scene with motion tends to be on the order of 1-3× depending on resolution. As illustrated in FIG. 3A, as resolution increases, uplink throughput of motion video increases when considering all types of frames (I, P, and B). Thus, if data traffic stability/throughput fluctuation tends to reveal 1-3× variances, it may be assumed that a hidden camera is transmitting I-P-B-encoded video), and
detecting a change corresponding to the modification in an outgoing data rate of network data (Par. [0022], a camera detection model can be trained using data comprising captured video data packets from pinhole (or other types of hidden/digital wireless) cameras. These data packets may reflect particular uplink (i.e. outgoing data rate)/downlink throughput, burst rate (i.e. change in outgoing data rate), etc. that are indicative of captured video being wirelessly transmitted from a hidden camera to a remote server, datastore, or other device).
HAN does not specifically teach the camera with a projector to modify the scene. Therefore, HAN fails to explicitly teach a projector causing a modification of a scene observed by the camera, wherein the modification is projection of a compression resistant pattern using a physical display of two or more changing colors.
However, FARAGHER teaches a projector causing a modification of a scene observed by the camera (Par. [0034] the camera 209 is arranged and/or configured to acquire frames of the entirety of projected images projected onto the object 211 by the projector 207. Par. [0035] control the projector 207 to project images, alternating light patterns, structured light patterns, and the like, and further control the camera 209 to acquire frames of the alternating light patterns and the structured light patterns (i.e. modification of a scene)), wherein the modification is projection of a compression resistant pattern (Par. [0101] the projector frame rate is 60 fps, and 6 projector frames are used to project a pattern 905-1, 907-1, 909-1, the pattern duration is 1 second (i.e. compression resistant)) using a physical display (Fig. 2, Par. [0031] a projector 207 and a camera 209 arranged relative to a physical object 211 onto which images are to be projected, as depicted the physical object 211 comprises a surface and/or a screen (i.e. use a physical display)) of two or more changing colors (Fig. 5, Par. [0037] the projector 207 is generally configured to project predetermined alternating patterns using the alternating pattern data 198, which may comprise two or more first predetermined patterns (e.g. white images) alternating with second predetermined patterns (e.g. black images) projected one or more of before and after the structured light patterns, wherein “white” and “black” are understood to be colors within the scope of the present specification. Alternatively, patterns of different colors may be projected).
References HAN and FARAGHER are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying a camera with a projector to modify a scene as suggested by FARAGHER in the invention of HAN in order to determine which pixels and/or scan lines of frames acquired by the camera correspond to a color and/or RGB (red-green-blue) value of an alternating pattern (See FARAGHER, Par. [0037]).
Regarding Claim 18, HAN teaches a method, comprising:
detectable by a video camera (Par. [0034] FIG. 3A illustrates an example graph 300 that reflects video resolution as a function of uplink throughput of a hidden camera using I-P-B compression techniques. The difference between video of a stationary scene and video of a scene with motion tends to be on the order of 1-3× depending on resolution. As illustrated in FIG. 3A, as resolution increases, uplink throughput of motion video increases when considering all types of frames (I, P, and B). Thus, if data traffic stability/throughput fluctuation tends to reveal 1-3× variances, it may be assumed that a hidden camera (i.e. video camera) is transmitting I-P-B-encoded video (i.e. detectable)); and
analyzing a network data rate for network traffic (Par. [0024], the captured video often traverses one or more wireless network elements, such as access points Aps. By monitoring data packet traffic that passes through access points, the existence of hidden cameras (i.e. presence of active camera) can be detected) to determine whether the network data rate indicates that the network traffic includes images (Par. [0022], a camera detection model can be trained using data comprising captured video data packets (i.e. includes images) from pinhole (or other types of hidden/digital wireless) cameras. These data packets may reflect particular uplink/downlink throughput, burst rate (i.e. change in network data rate), etc. that are indicative of captured video being wirelessly transmitted from a hidden camera to a remote server, datastore, or other device).
HAN does not specifically teach a projector to form a pattern. Therefore, HAN fails to explicitly teach causing a projector to form a pattern detectable by a video camera, wherein the pattern uses a physical display of two or more changing colors and is compression resistant.
However, FARAGHER teaches causing a projector to form a pattern detectable by a video camera (Par. [0031] projector 207 and a camera 209 arranged relative to a physical object 211 onto which images are to be projected, Par. [0032] the field of view of the camera 209 overlaps with at least a portion of a field of view of the projector 207 such that the camera 209 may acquire frames (e.g. images) of images projected by the projector 207), wherein the pattern uses a physical display (Fig. 2, Par. [0031] a projector 207 and a camera 209 arranged relative to a physical object 211 onto which images are to be projected, as depicted the physical object 211 comprises a surface and/or a screen (i.e. use a physical display)) of two or more changing colors (Fig. 5, Par. [0037] the projector 207 is generally configured to project predetermined alternating patterns (i.e. forms a pattern) using the alternating pattern data 198, which may comprise two or more first predetermined patterns (e.g. white images) alternating with second predetermined patterns (e.g. black images) projected one or more of before and after the structured light patterns, wherein “white” and “black” are understood to be colors within the scope of the present specification. Alternatively, patterns of different colors may be projected) and is compression resistant (Par. [0037], the projector 207 is generally configured to project predetermined alternating patterns. Par. [0101] the projector frame rate is 60 fps, and 6 projector frames are used to project a pattern 905-1, 907-1, 909-1, the pattern duration is 1 second (i.e. compression resistant)).
References HAN and FARAGHER are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying the projector configured to use two or more changing colors to form a pattern as suggested by FARAGHER in the invention of HAN in order to determine which pixels and/or scan lines of frames acquired by the camera correspond to a color and/or RGB (red-green-blue) value of an alternating pattern (See FARAGHER, Par. [0037]).
Regarding Claim 19, it has been cancelled.
Regarding Claim 20, HAN in view of FARAGHER teaches claim 19. HAN further teaches wherein:
the changes at a first point in time (Par. [0040], standard autocorrelation functions may calculate correlation among all time serial samples of a data set, the given complexity being reflected by the function, o(N.sup.2), where N corresponds to the number of data packets during a specified time window. Thus, in some embodiments, an autocorrelation function utilized herein by calculate correlation at certain time points (i.e. first point in time), e.g., in a burst interval, such that complexity can be lowered to o(N)), and
the determining whether the network data rate indicates that the network traffic includes images (Par. [0022], a camera detection model can be trained using data comprising captured video data packets from pinhole (or other types of hidden/digital wireless) cameras. These data packets may reflect particular uplink/downlink throughput, burst rate (i.e. change in network data rate), etc. that are indicative of captured video being wirelessly transmitted from a hidden camera to a remote server, datastore, or other device) comprises determining whether the network traffic exhibits a corresponding change in the data rate at the first point in time (Par. [0039], FIG. 5B is a graph 520 that reflects the raw data packet traffic of FIG. 5A after processing through an autocorrelation function resulting in autocorrelation coefficients as a function of time (rather than raw throughput as a function of time as illustrated in FIG. 5A). It can be appreciated that the traffic periodicity (i.e. changes in data rate from point in time) associated with the transmission of I-frame encoded video is relatively easy to identify. In this example, the autocorrelation coefficients peak at, e.g., 2000 ms, 4000 ms, 6000 ms, and so on. Thus, the peak interval is approximately 2000 ms, which corresponds to/is the same as I-frame transmission interval for typical hidden cameras capturing static video scenes). HAN fails to explicitly teach pattern changes.
However, FARAGHER teaches pattern changes (Par. [0037] the projector 207 is generally configured to project predetermined alternating patterns using the alternating pattern data 198, which may comprise two or more first predetermined patterns (e.g. white images) alternating with second predetermined patterns (e.g. black images) (i.e. pattern changes) projected one or more of before and after the structured light patterns, wherein “white” and “black” are understood to be colors within the scope of the present specification. Alternatively, patterns of different colors may be projected).
References HAN and FARAGHER are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying the pattern changes as suggested by FARAGHER in the invention of HAN in order to determine which pixels and/or scan lines of frames acquired by the camera correspond to a color and/or RGB (red-green-blue) value of an alternating pattern (See FARAGHER, Par. [0037]).
Claims 6 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAN (US 2021/0400460 A1), in view of FARAGHER (US 2021/0409665 A1), and in further view of Kerzner et al. (US 10,706,699 B1) referred to as Kerzner hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 6, HAN in view of FARAGHER teaches claim 1. While HAN teaches in Par. [0027], each of these devices may use access point 110 to communicate data packets wirelessly to a target device (not shown), HAN in view of FARAGHER does not specifically teach wide-area-network connection. Therefore, HAN in view of FARAGHER fails to explicitly teach the first network connection is a network connection on a wide-area-network side of a router for a facility.
However, Kerzner teaches the first network connection is a network connection on a wide-area-network side of a router for a facility (Col. 4:43-51, The network 105 may include, for example, one or more of the Internet, Wide Area Networks (WANs), Local Area Networks (LANs), analog or digital wired and wireless telephone networks (e.g., a public switched telephone network (PSTN), Integrated Services Digital Network (ISDN), a cellular network, and Digital Subscriber Line (DSL)), radio, television, cable, satellite, or any other delivery or tunneling mechanism for carrying data).
References HAN, FARAGHER and Kerzner are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying Wide Area Networks as suggested by Kerzner in the inventions of HAN and FARAGHER in order to provide delivery or tunneling mechanism for carrying data (See Kerzner, Col. 4:50-51).
Regarding Claim 7, HAN in view of FARAGHER teaches claim 1. While HAN teaches in Par. [0027], each of these devices may use access point 110 to communicate data packets wirelessly to a target device (not shown), HAN in view of FARAGHER fails to explicitly teach the first network connection is a network connection on a local-area-network side of a router for a facility.
However, Kerzner teaches the first network connection is a network connection on a local-area-network side of a router for a facility (Col. 4:43-51, The network 105 may include, for example, one or more of the Internet, Wide Area Networks (WANs), Local Area Networks (LANs), analog or digital wired and wireless telephone networks (e.g., a public switched telephone network (PSTN), Integrated Services Digital Network (ISDN), a cellular network, and Digital Subscriber Line (DSL)), radio, television, cable, satellite, or any other delivery or tunneling mechanism for carrying data).
References HAN, FARAGHER and Kerzner are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying local-area-network as suggested by Kerzner in the inventions of HAN and FARAGHER in order provide delivery or tunneling mechanism for carrying data (See Kerzner, Col. 4:50-51).
Regarding Claim 8, HAN in combination of FARAGHER and Kerzner teaches claim 7. HAN further teaches the network traffic analyzer is further configured to monitor network traffic in a second network connection (Par. [0046] It should be also be understood that the aforementioned features/characteristics may be identified in samples of data packet traffic observed in one or more networks (i.e. second network connection)), and to determine whether video data including images is included in the network traffic of the second network connection (Par. [0022], a camera detection model can be trained using data comprising captured video data packets from pinhole (or other types of hidden/digital wireless) cameras. These data packets may reflect particular uplink/downlink throughput, burst rate (i.e. data rate of network), etc. that are indicative of captured video being wirelessly transmitted from a hidden camera to a remote server, datastore, or other device. Par. [0023], data packet traffic from such hidden cameras tends to result in spikes or peaks that correspond to certain fragments or segments of captured video (i.e. video data including images)). FARAGHER further teaches images of the first pattern (Par. [0037] the projector 207 is generally configured to project predetermined alternating patterns using the alternating pattern data 198, which may comprise two or more first predetermined patterns (e.g. white images) alternating with second predetermined patterns (e.g. black images) projected one or more of before and after the structured light patterns, wherein “white” and “black” are understood to be colors within the scope of the present specification. Alternatively, patterns of different colors may be projected).
Regarding Claim 9, HAN in combination of FARAGHER and Kerzner teaches claim 8. Kerzner further teaches wherein the second network connection is a network connection on a wide-area-network side of the router (Col. 4:43-51, The network 105 may include, for example, one or more of the Internet, Wide Area Networks (WANs), Local Area Networks (LANs), analog or digital wired and wireless telephone networks (e.g., a public switched telephone network (PSTN), Integrated Services Digital Network (ISDN), a cellular network, and Digital Subscriber Line (DSL)), radio, television, cable, satellite, or any other delivery or tunneling mechanism for carrying data).
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAN (US 2021/0400460 A1), in view of FARAGHER (US 2021/0409665 A1), and in further view of Pandey et al. (US 2022/0014723 A1) referred to as Pandey hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 11, HAN in view of FARAGHER teaches claim 1. HAN does not specifically teach an interface. FARAGHER further teaches the first projector comprises an interface (Par. [0028] communication interface for each of the rendering device 101, the content player 103, the alignment system 105, and the projector 107). However, HAN in view of FARAGHER does not specifically teach the projector receives an activation instruction.
However, Pandey teaches the first projector comprises an interface for receiving an activation instruction, and the first projector is configured to transmit the first pattern upon receiving the activation instruction (Par. [0142], display (i.e. activation instruction) graphical information for a GUI on an external input/output device, such as display 2416 coupled to high speed interface 2408 (i.e. interface)).
References HAN, FARAGHER and Pandey are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying an interface as suggested by Pandey in the inventions of HAN and FARAGHER in order to display graphical information for input/output devices (See Pandey, Par. [0142]).
Regarding Claim 16, HAN in view of FARAGHER teaches claim 15. HAN further teaches wherein the network traffic analyzer is configured: to detect a change, at a third point in time, in the data rate of the network traffic; and to determine: that the third point in time correlates to the first point in time (Par. [0040], standard autocorrelation functions may calculate correlation among all time serial samples of a data set, the given complexity being reflected by the function, o(N.sup.2), where N corresponds to the number of data packets during a specified time window. Thus, in some embodiments, an autocorrelation function utilized herein by calculate correlation at certain time points (i.e. change in points in time), e.g., in a burst interval, such that complexity can be lowered to o(N)). HAN in view of FARAGHER does not specifically teach change in data rate corresponds to change in pattern.
However, Pandey teaches the change in the data rate corresponds to the change in the first pattern (Par. [0168], A striped pattern of light can be distributed (i.e. pattern changes) onto the scene at a relatively high frame rate. For example, the frame rate can be considered high when the light signals are temporally sufficiently close to each other that the scene is not expected to change in a significant way in between consecutive signals, even if people or objects are in motion).
References HAN, FARAGHER and Pandey are considered to be analogous art because they relate to imaging systems that capture a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying pattern changes as suggested by Pandey in the inventions of HAN and FARAGHER in order to determine people or objects are in motion (See Pandey, Par. [0168]).
Conclusion
The prior art references made of record are not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nayshtut et al. (US 2018/0130168 A1) teaches optical feedback for visual recognition authentication.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425