DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant submits that Imanari and Joo solve the same problem of identifying wash additives by use of conductivity and turbidity, respectively, suggesting no motivation to combine the references.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, combining Imanari and Joo to identify wash additives using conductivity and turbidity is generally known in the art as evidenced by Snook (US 2024/0209556).
Snook is directed towards a laundry washing machine. Snook teaches a fluid property sensor 68 may be used to measure various properties of the fluid in the wash tub, e.g., conductivity and/or turbidity, e.g., to sense the presence or relative amount of various wash-related products such as detergents or fabric softeners.[0036]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imanari (CN 112144225 A machine translation), and in further view of Joo (US 2024/0392487).
Regarding claim 1, Imanari figures 1-4 and 12 teach a method for operating a washing machine appliance, the washing machine appliance comprising a wash tub (2 outer drum) positioned within a cabinet (1 housing), a dispensing assembly (301 automatic detergent injection unit) for selectively adding wash fluid to the wash tub, a conductivity sensor (4) positioned within the wash fluid.
Figure 12 teaches the control device 90 in step S1 receives the drum-type washing drier 100 of the operation step of the program selection of the input (program selection). Here, the user opens the door9, into the roller 3 into the clothes to be washed, and closing the door 9. Then, the user operates the operation switch 12, 13, so as to select and input the program of the operation step. By operating the operation switches 12, 13, the program of the selected operation step is input to the control device 90.control device 90 based on the program of the input operation step, reading the corresponding operation mode from the operation mode database 111 thereby reading on initiating an operating cycle of the washing machine appliance.[page 12]
Steps S4 through S7 teach operating the dispensing assembly to dispense wash fluid into the wash tub.[pages 13-14]
Step S7 teaches the conductivity sensor 4 (judging unit) located in the water holding part 54 (judging unit) for detecting the conductivity, the conductivity database when the high concentration detergent water solution and the conductivity database of the softener water solution when the control. Thus, it is possible to determine whether the liquid supplied from the detergent automatic feeding unit 301 is a detergent or a softener thereby reading on obtaining an electrical conductivity of the wash fluid using the conductivity sensor and identifying a wash additive within the wash fluid based at least in part on the electrical conductivity.[page 13]
Imanari teaches if it is determined that the detergent is not a detergent, the user is notified by causing the notification portion (not shown) of the operation panel 6to be illuminated or displayed in the liquid crystal panel or the like thereby reading on determining that the wash additive does not match a target wash additive; and implementing a responsive action in response to determining that the wash additive does not match the target wash additive.[page 13]
Imanari is silent to a turbidity sensor positioned within the wash fluid and obtaining a wash fluid turbidity of the wash fluid using the turbidity sensor; identifying a wash additive within the wash fluid based at least in part on the wash fluid turbidity of the wash fluid.
Joo is directed towards a laundry treatment device wherein figure 1 teaches the detergent sensing sensor unit 130 may sense turbidity of the washing water and the rinsing water.[0072] Joo teaches the laundry treatment device according to example embodiments sensing turbidity of the washing water into which the detergent is primarily introduced in operation 802 and determines the type of the detergent.[0121, 0139]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a turbidity sensor as taught in Joo so that a laundry treatment device that identifies a type of detergent and correspondingly adjusts a washing stroke according to the identified type of the detergent and a control method therefor.[0001]
Regarding claim 2, Imanari teaches using conductivity sensor 4 (judging unit) for detecting conductivity, control device 90 for the conductivity database and the conductivity database when the softener aqueous solution and high concentration detergent water solution of the comparison. Thus, it is possible to recognize and confirm whether the liquid supplied from the detergent automatic feeding unit 301 is a detergent or a softener. If it is determined that the compliance agent is not a compliant agent, the user is notified by causing the notification portion (not shown) of the operation panel 6 to be illuminated or displayed in the liquid crystal panel thereby suggesting wherein determining that the wash additive does not match the target wash additive comprises: determining that the electrical conductivity is different than a target conductivity or the wash fluid turbidity is different than a target turbidity.[page 16]
Regarding claim 3, Imanari teaches using conductivity sensor 4 (judging unit) for detecting conductivity, control device 90 for the conductivity database and the conductivity database when the softener aqueous solution and high concentration detergent water solution of the comparison.[page 16] Joo teaches type of the detergent may be determined based on an artificial neural network that receives an input on at least one of the turbidity value and the variation in the turbidity value and outputs the type of the detergent thereby suggesting the target conductivity and the target turbidity are obtained from a lookup table based on the target wash additive.[0017]
Regarding claim 4, Imanari in view of Joo suggests determining that the wash additive does not match the target wash additive comprises: determining a target conductivity range and a target turbidity range associated with the wash fluid containing the target wash additive; and determining that at least one of the electrical conductivity and the wash fluid turbidity of the wash fluid fall outside the target conductivity range and the target turbidity range, respectively as Imanari teaches using conductivity sensor 4 (judging unit) for detecting conductivity, control device 90 for the conductivity database and the conductivity database when the softener aqueous solution and high concentration detergent water solution of the comparison.[page 16]
Regarding claim 5, Imanari figure 4 teaches the dispensing assembly comprises a plurality of additive chambers (303A-303D cartridges) and a plurality of water valves (313a—313d check valve) for dispensing the wash fluid into the wash tub, and wherein operating the dispensing assembly comprises: opening one or more of the plurality of water valves to dispense the wash fluid with the wash additive.[page 7-9]
Regarding claim 6, Imanari Steps S8, S9, and S12 teach the operating cycle is one of a pre-wash cycle, a main wash cycle, or a rinse cycle.
Regarding claim 7, Imanari teaches the control device 90 for the conductivity database determines whether the correct additive is supplied.[page 16] Joo teaches the user terminal 300 exemplified as a smartphone thereby reading on wherein the user notification is provided to a remote device using an external network thereby reading on receiving the target wash additive from a software application on a remote device.[0052]
Regarding claim 8, Imanari teaches the user is notified by causing the notification portion (not shown) of the operation panel 6 to be illuminated or displayed in the liquid crystal panel if it is determined that the compliance agent is not a compliant agent thereby suggesting determining that the wash additive matches the target wash additive; and performing the operating cycle.[page 16]
Regarding claim 9, Imanari teaches the user is notified by causing the notification portion (not shown) of the operation panel 6 to be illuminated or displayed in the liquid crystal panel if it is determined that the compliance agent is not a compliant agent thereby reading on wherein implementing the responsive action in response to determining that the wash additive does not match the target wash additive comprises: providing a user notification that the wash additive does not match the target wash additive.
Regarding claim 10, Imanari teaches the user is notified by causing the notification portion (not shown) of the operation panel 6 to be illuminated or displayed in the liquid crystal panel if it is determined that the compliance agent is not a compliant agent thereby reading on wherein the user notification is provided through a user interface panel of the washing machine appliance.
Regarding claim 11, Joo teaches the user terminal 300 exemplified as a smartphone thereby reading on wherein the user notification is provided to a remote device using an external network.[0052]
Regarding claim 12, Imanari figures 1-4 and 12, teach a washing machine appliance, comprising:
a wash tub (2 outer drum) positioned within a cabinet (1 housing);
a wash basket (3 drum) rotatably mounted within the wash tub and defining a wash chamber configured for receiving a load of clothes;
a dispensing assembly (301 automatic detergent injection unit) for selectively adding a wash fluid to the wash tub, the wash fluid comprising at least one of water or a wash additive;
a sump (54 water holding part) positioned proximate a bottom of the wash tub for collecting the wash fluid;
a conductivity sensor (4) for measuring an electrical conductivity of the wash fluid collected in the wash tub; and
a controller (90 control device) operably coupled to the dispensing assembly and the conductivity sensor.[page 3-4][page 10]
Figure 12 teaches the control device 90 in step S1 receives the drum-type washing drier 100 of the operation step of the program selection of the input (program selection). Here, the user opens the door9, into the roller 3 into the clothes to be washed, and closing the door 9. Then, the user operates the operation switch 12, 13, so as to select and input the program of the operation step. By operating the operation switches 12, 13, the program of the selected operation step is input to the control device 90.control device 90 based on the program of the input operation step, reading the corresponding operation mode from the operation mode database 111 thereby reading on initiating an operating cycle of the washing machine appliance.[page 12]
Steps S4 through S7 teach operating the dispensing assembly to dispense wash fluid into the wash tub.[pages 13-14]
Step S7 teaches the conductivity sensor 4 (judging unit) located in the water holding part 54 (judging unit) for detecting the conductivity, the conductivity database when the high concentration detergent water solution and the conductivity database of the softener water solution when the control. Thus, it is possible to determine whether the liquid supplied from the detergent automatic feeding unit 301 is a detergent or a softener thereby reading on obtaining an electrical conductivity of the wash fluid using the conductivity sensor and identifying a wash additive within the wash fluid based at least in part on the electrical conductivity.[page 13]
Imanari teaches if it is determined that the detergent is not a detergent, the user is notified by causing the notification portion (not shown) of the operation panel 6to be illuminated or displayed in the liquid crystal panel or the like thereby reading on determining that the wash additive does not match a target wash additive; and implementing a responsive action in response to determining that the wash additive does not match the target wash additive.[page 13]
Imanari is silent to a turbidity sensor positioned within the wash fluid and obtaining a wash fluid turbidity of the wash fluid using the turbidity sensor; identifying a wash additive within the wash fluid based at least in part on the wash fluid turbidity of the wash fluid.
Joo is directed towards a laundry treatment device wherein figure 1 teaches the detergent sensing sensor unit 130 may sense turbidity of the washing water and the rinsing water.[0072] Joo teaches the laundry treatment device according to example embodiments sensing turbidity of the washing water into which the detergent is primarily introduced in operation 802 and determines the type of the detergent.[0121, 0139]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a turbidity sensor as taught in Joo so that a laundry treatment device that identifies a type of detergent and correspondingly adjusts a washing stroke according to the identified type of the detergent and a control method therefor.[0001]
Regarding claim 13, Imanari teaches using conductivity sensor 4 (judging unit) for detecting conductivity, control device 90 for the conductivity database and the conductivity database when the softener aqueous solution and high concentration detergent water solution of the comparison. Thus, it is possible to recognize and confirm whether the liquid supplied from the detergent automatic feeding unit 301 is a detergent or a softener. If it is determined that the compliance agent is not a compliant agent, the user is notified by causing the notification portion (not shown) of the operation panel 6 to be illuminated or displayed in the liquid crystal panel thereby suggesting wherein determining that the wash additive does not match the target wash additive comprises: determining that the electrical conductivity is different than a target conductivity or the wash fluid turbidity is different than a target turbidity.[page 16]
Regarding claim 14, Imanari teaches using conductivity sensor 4 (judging unit) for detecting conductivity, control device 90 for the conductivity database and the conductivity database when the softener aqueous solution and high concentration detergent water solution of the comparison.[page 16] Joo teaches type of the detergent may be determined based on an artificial neural network that receives an input on at least one of the turbidity value and the variation in the turbidity value and outputs the type of the detergent thereby suggesting the target conductivity and the target turbidity are obtained from a lookup table based on the target wash additive.[0017]
Regarding claim 15, Imanari in view of Joo suggests determining that the wash additive does not match the target wash additive comprises: determining a target conductivity range and a target turbidity range associated with the wash fluid containing the target wash additive; and determining that at least one of the electrical conductivity and the wash fluid turbidity of the wash fluid fall outside the target conductivity range and the target turbidity range, respectively as Imanari teaches using conductivity sensor 4 (judging unit) for detecting conductivity, control device 90 for the conductivity database and the conductivity database when the softener aqueous solution and high concentration detergent water solution of the comparison.[page 16]
Regarding claim 16, Imanari figure 4 teaches the dispensing assembly comprises a plurality of additive chambers (303A-303D cartridges) and a plurality of water valves (313a—313d check valve) for dispensing the wash fluid into the wash tub, and wherein operating the dispensing assembly comprises: opening one or more of the plurality of water valves to dispense the wash fluid with the wash additive.[page 7-9]
Regarding claim 17, Imanari teaches the user is notified by causing the notification portion (not shown) of the operation panel 6 to be illuminated or displayed in the liquid crystal panel if it is determined that the compliance agent is not a compliant agent thereby suggesting determining that the wash additive matches the target wash additive; and performing the operating cycle.[page 16]
Regarding claim 18, Imanari teaches the control device 90 for the conductivity database determines whether the correct additive is supplied.[page 16] Joo teaches the user terminal 300 exemplified as a smartphone thereby reading on wherein the user notification is provided to a remote device using an external network thereby reading on receiving the target wash additive from a software application on a remote device.[0052]
Regarding claim 19, Imanari teaches the user is notified by causing the notification portion (not shown) of the operation panel 6 to be illuminated or displayed in the liquid crystal panel if it is determined that the compliance agent is not a compliant agent thereby reading on wherein implementing the responsive action in response to determining that the wash additive does not match the target wash additive comprises: providing a user notification that the wash additive does not match the target wash additive.
Regarding claim 20, Joo teaches detergent sensing sensor unit 130 may penetrate the second tub 140, touch the washing water in the second tub 140, and sense a physical characteristic of the washing water, for example, electric conductivity, turbidity, a temperature, or like of the washing water thereby suggesting the conductivity sensor and the turbidity sensor are embodied in a single sensor unit positioned within the sump of the wash tub.[0071]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711