DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication filed on July 07, 2025. Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a data collector that includes a spider manager and distributed spidering servers, the data collector configured to retrieve identity data records associated with an individual from a plurality of disparate public data sources including social networking platforms and other identity-related databases” in claim 1.
“an identity resolution engine including a validator and information associator, the identify resolution engine configured to analyze the retrieved identity data records using pattern recognition to determine whether different records correspond to the same individual and to merge matching records into a unified personal profile for that individual” in claim 1.
“a data storage subsystem comprising an identity database configured to store each unified personal profile and link multiple identifiers associated with the individual within the unified personal profile” in claim 1.
“an integration interface configured to provide access to the unified personal profile data to external systems including marketing technology platforms or search engines, thereby enabling use of the unified personal profile in identity-based marketing, search, or identity applications” in claim 1.
“wherein the identity resolution engine comprises a machine-learning model trained on identity data to recognize matching patterns among identity attributes, the machine learning model being configured to automatically predict a match between identity data records that belong to the same individual” in claim 3.
“wherein the identity resolution engine is configured to apply a heuristic matching algorithm that assigns weighted scores to a plurality of identity attributes in the identity data records and determines a match confidence based on the weighted scores to decide whether to merge the records into the unified personal profile” in claim 4.
“further comprising an analytics module configured to analyze data from a plurality of the unified personal profiles stored in the identity database using an artificial intelligence algorithm to generate aggregated market intelligence insights regarding public social behaviors and trends” in claim 6.
“wherein the identity database is configured to maintain, for each unified personal profile, a set of linked identity attributes selected from names, usernames, email addresses, demographic information, or social media identifiers, thereby representing the individual as a single node in an identity that bridges data from the disparate public sources” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation “a data collector that includes a spider manager and distributed spidering servers, the data collector configured to retrieve identity data records associated with an individual from a plurality of disparate public data sources including social networking platforms and other identity-related databases” in independent claim 1 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “a data collector”, “identify data records”, and “a plurality of disparate public data sources including social networking platforms and other identity-related databases” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “an identity resolution engine including a validator and information associator, the identify resolution engine configured to analyze the retrieved identity data records using pattern recognition to determine whether different records correspond to the same individual and to merge matching records into a unified personal profile for that individual” in independent claim 1 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “an identity resolution engine”, “the identify resolution engine configured to analyze the retrieved identity data records using pattern recognition”, and “merge matching records into a unified personal profile” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “a data storage subsystem comprising an identity database configured to store each unified personal profile and link multiple identifiers associated with the individual within the unified personal profile” in independent claim 1 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “a data storage subsystem” “an identity database”, “unified personal profile” and “link multiple identifiers associated with the individual within the unified personal profile” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “an integration interface configured to provide access to the unified personal profile data to external systems including marketing technology platforms or search engines, thereby enabling use of the unified personal profile in identity-based marketing, search, or identity applications” in independent claim 1 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “an integration interface”, “unified personal profile data”, “to external systems including marketing technology platforms or search engines”, and “enabling use of the unified personal profile in identity-based marketing, search, or identity applications” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “analyzing the identity data records by applying an identity resolution algorithm that evaluates similarities among identity attributes in the records to determine whether two or more of the records correspond to the same individual” in independent claim 2 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “identity data records”, and “by applying an identity resolution algorithm that evaluates similarities among identity attributes in the records to determine whether two or more of the records correspond to the same individual” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “merging, in response to determining that the records correspond to the same individual, the two or more matching identity data records into a unified personal profile for that individual” in independent claim 2 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “merging…the two or more matching identity data records into a unified personal profile for that individual” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “storing the unified personal profile in a data store as part of an identity that links together identity attributes associated with the individual” in independent claim 2 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “unified personal profile” and “as part of an identity that links together identity attributes associated with the individual” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “providing access to the unified personal profile via an electronic interface to an external system selected from a marketing technology platform or a search engine, thereby enabling the external system to utilize the unified personal profile for identity-based applications” in independent claim 2 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “unified personal profile”, “via an electronic interface to an external system selected from a marketing technology platform or a search engine”, and “thereby enabling the external system to utilize the unified personal profile for identity-based applications” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “wherein the identity resolution engine comprises a machine-learning model trained on identity data to recognize matching patterns among identity attributes, the machine learning model being configured to automatically predict a match between identity data records that belong to the same individual” in dependent claim 3 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “identity resolution engine comprises a machine-learning model trained on identity data to recognize matching patterns among identity attributes, the machine learning model being configured to automatically predict a match between identity data records that belong to the same individual” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “wherein the identity resolution engine is configured to apply a heuristic matching algorithm that assigns weighted scores to a plurality of identity attributes in the identity data records and determines a match confidence based on the weighted scores to decide whether to merge the records into the unified personal profile” in dependent claim 4 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “identity resolution engine is configured to apply a heuristic matching algorithm that assigns weighted scores to a plurality of identity attributes in the identity data records and determines a match confidence based on the weighted scores to decide whether to merge the records into the unified personal profile” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “wherein the plurality of public data sources comprises at least one social media or social networking site, at least one professional or business directory, and one or more additional publicly accessible data sources containing identity-related information, such that the data collector aggregates identity data spanning personal, social, and professional domains for the individual” in dependent claim 5 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “wherein the plurality of public data sources comprises at least one social media or social networking site, at least one professional or business directory, and one or more additional publicly accessible data sources containing identity-related information, such that the data collector aggregates identity data spanning personal, social, and professional domains for the individual” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “further comprising an analytics module configured to analyze data from a plurality of the unified personal profiles stored in the identity database using an artificial intelligence algorithm to generate aggregated market intelligence insights regarding public social behaviors and trends” in dependent claim 6 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “an analytics module configured to analyze data from a plurality of the unified personal profiles stored in the identity database using an artificial intelligence algorithm to generate aggregated market intelligence insights regarding public social behaviors and trends” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “wherein the identity database is configured to maintain, for each unified personal profile, a set of linked identity attributes selected from names, usernames, email addresses, demographic information, or social media identifiers, thereby representing the individual as a single node in an identity that bridges data from the disparate public sources” in dependent claim 7 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “identity database is configured to maintain, for each unified personal profile, a set of linked identity attributes selected from names, usernames, email addresses, demographic information, or social media identifiers, thereby representing the individual as a single node in an identity that bridges data from the disparate public sources” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “wherein analyzing the identity data records comprises using a machine learning-based pattern recognition model that has been trained on previously- linked identity record pairs to predict a likelihood that two identity data records belong to the same individual, and treating the two identity data records as a match when the predicted likelihood exceeds a predefined threshold” in dependent claim 8 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “analyzing the identity data records comprises using a machine learning-based pattern recognition model that has been trained on previously- linked identity record pairs to predict a likelihood that two identity data records belong to the same individual, and treating the two identity data records as a match when the predicted likelihood exceeds a predefined threshold” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “wherein analyzing the identity data records comprises applying a set of heuristic matching rules that weight multiple identity attributes in each record and calculate a composite similarity score, the method further comprising determining that the given individual's records match when the composite similarity score satisfies a match criterion, and merging those records based on that determination” in dependent claim 9 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “analyzing the identity data records comprises applying a set of heuristic matching rules that weight multiple identity attributes in each record and calculate a composite similarity score, the method further comprising determining that the given individual's records match when the composite similarity score satisfies a match criterion, and merging those records based on that determination” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “further comprising aggregating a plurality of unified personal profiles and analyzing the aggregated profiles using an artificial intelligence algorithm to extract market intelligence insights about public social behavior, including identifying trends or patterns across the individuals' public social data, wherein the insights are provided to an external market intelligence or artificial intelligence data platform” in dependent claim 10 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “aggregating a plurality of unified personal profiles and analyzing the aggregated profiles using an artificial intelligence algorithm to extract market intelligence insights about public social behavior, including identifying trends or patterns across the individuals' public social data, wherein the insights are provided to an external market intelligence or artificial intelligence data platform” are not described in the specification as claimed.
The limitation “wherein the multiple public data sources from which identity data records are retrieved include a combination of social media networks, online professional profiles, public web directories, and other publicly available data sources, such that the retrieved identity data encompass diverse facets of the individual's public presence for more robust identity resolution” in dependent claim 11 fails to comply with the written description requirement because the features “wherein the multiple public data sources from which identity data records are retrieved include a combination of social media networks, online professional profiles, public web directories, and other publicly available data sources, such that the retrieved identity data encompass diverse facets of the individual's public presence for more robust identity resolution” are not described in the specification as claimed.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 2 recite the limitation "the same individual”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Independent claim 1 recites a system for indexing and disambiguating identity information available from public sources, however, it is not clear how any of the subsequent steps in the claim relates to indexing and/or disambiguating information.
Independent claim 2 recites a computer-implemented method for indexing public web data to create a unified identity profile, however, it is not clear how any of the subsequent steps in the claim relates to indexing public web data.
Dependent claims 3-11 inherit the same deficiencies of their base claims, therefore, they are also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
At step 1:
Independent claims 1 and 2 respectively recite a system and a method, which are directed to a statutory category such as a process, machine, or an article of manufacture.
At step 2A, prong one:
Independent claim 1 recites the limitations:
“analyze the retrieved identity data records using pattern recognition to determine whether different records correspond to the same individual and to merge matching records into a unified personal profile for that individual”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper analyze retrieved identity data records using pattern recognition to mentally or using a pen and paper determine whether different records correspond to a same individual, and the person can mentally or using a pen and paper merge matching records into a unified personal profile for that individual.
The limitations, as recited above in claim 1, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover steps that can be performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper, but for recitation of generic computer components.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Independent claim 2 recites the limitations:
“analyzing the identity data records by applying an identity resolution algorithm that evaluates similarities among identity attributes in the records to determine whether two or more of the records correspond to the same individual”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper analyze identity data records by applying an identity resolution algorithm that evaluates similarities among identity attributes in the records to mentally or using a pen and paper determine whether two or more of the records correspond to the same individual.
“merging, in response to determining that the records correspond to the same individual, the two or more matching identity data records into a unified personal profile for that individual”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine that records correspond to a same individual merge two or more matching identity data records into a unified personal profile for that individual.
The limitations, as recited above in claim 1, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover steps that can be performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper, but for recitation of generic computer components.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
At step 2A, prong two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitations:
“a data collector that includes a spider manager and distributed spidering servers, the data collector configured to retrieve identity data records associated with an individual from a plurality of disparate public data sources including social networking platforms and other identity-related databases”, which is a step of retrieving data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“a data storage subsystem comprising an identity database configured to store each unified personal profile and link multiple identifiers associated with the individual within the unified personal profile”, which is a step of storing data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“an integration interface configured to provide access to the unified personal profile data to external systems including marketing technology platforms or search engines, thereby enabling use of the unified personal profile in identity-based marketing, search, or identity applications”, which is a step of providing data for access or selection. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data selection and manipulation, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The additional elements “a system for indexing and disambiguating identity information available from public sources, comprising:”, “a data collector that includes a spider manager and distributed spidering servers, the data collector configured to retrieve”, “a plurality of disparate public data sources including social networking platforms and other identity-related databases”, “an identity resolution engine including a validator and information associator, the identify resolution engine configured to analyze”, “a data storage subsystem comprising an identity database configured to store”, “an integration interface configured to provide access”, external systems including marketing technology platforms or search engines”, and “in identity-based marketing, search, or identity applications” in the steps in claim 1 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Independent claim 2 recites the limitations:
“retrieving, via one or more computing devices, identity data records for a given individual from multiple public data sources including social networking platforms and other publicly available identity data repositories”, which is a step of retrieving data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“storing the unified personal profile in a data store as part of an identity that links together identity attributes associated with the individual”, which is a step of storing data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“providing access to the unified personal profile via an electronic interface to an external system selected from a marketing technology platform or a search engine, thereby enabling the external system to utilize the unified personal profile for identity-based applications”, which is a step of providing data for access or selection. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data selection and manipulation, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The additional elements “a computer-implemented method of indexing public web data to create a unified identity profile, comprising:”, “via one or more computing devices”, “multiple public data sources including social networking platforms and other publicly available identity data repositories”, “a data store”, “via an electronic interface”, “to an external system selected from a marketing technology platform or a search engine”, and “for identity-based applications” in the steps in claim 2 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
At step 2B:
Independent claims 1 and 2 recite the same additional elements as identified in step 2A prong two above. These additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitations:
“a data collector that includes a spider manager and distributed spidering servers, the data collector configured to retrieve identity data records associated with an individual from a plurality of disparate public data sources including social networking platforms and other identity-related databases”, which is a step of retrieving data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“a data storage subsystem comprising an identity database configured to store each unified personal profile and link multiple identifiers associated with the individual within the unified personal profile”, which is a step of storing data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“an integration interface configured to provide access to the unified personal profile data to external systems including marketing technology platforms or search engines, thereby enabling use of the unified personal profile in identity-based marketing, search, or identity applications”, which is a step of providing data for access or selection, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional limitations are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Independent claim 2 recites the limitations:
“retrieving, via one or more computing devices, identity data records for a given individual from multiple public data sources including social networking platforms and other publicly available identity data repositories”, which is a step of retrieving data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“storing the unified personal profile in a data store as part of an identity that links together identity attributes associated with the individual”, which is a step of storing data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“providing access to the unified personal profile via an electronic interface to an external system selected from a marketing technology platform or a search engine, thereby enabling the external system to utilize the unified personal profile for identity-based applications”, which is a step of providing data for access or selection, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional limitations are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 3 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the identity resolution engine comprises a machine-learning model trained on identity data to recognize matching patterns among identity attributes, the machine learning model being configured to automatically predict a match between identity data records that belong to the same individual”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper recognize matching patterns among identity attributes and the person can mentally or using a pen and paper automatically predict a match between identity data records that belong to a same individual, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “wherein the identity resolution engine comprises a machine-learning model trained on identity data to recognize” and “the machine learning model being configured to automatically predict” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 4 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the identity resolution engine is configured to apply a heuristic matching algorithm that assigns weighted scores to a plurality of identity attributes in the identity data records and determines a match confidence based on the weighted scores to decide whether to merge the records into the unified personal profile”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper apply a heuristic matching algorithm that assigns weighted scores to a plurality of identity attributes in identity data records and the person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a match confidence based on the weighted scores to decide whether to merge the records into a unified personal profile, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “wherein the identity resolution engine is configured to apply” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 5 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the plurality of public data sources comprises at least one social media or social networking site, at least one professional or business directory, and one or more additional publicly accessible data sources containing identity-related information, such that the data collector aggregates identity data spanning personal, social, and professional domains for the individual”, which is a step of retrieving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 6 recites additional limitations, such as:
“further comprising an analytics module configured to analyze data from a plurality of the unified personal profiles stored in the identity database using an artificial intelligence algorithm to generate aggregated market intelligence insights regarding public social behaviors and trends”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper analyze data from a plurality of the unified personal profiles stored in an identity database to generate aggregated market intelligence insights regarding public social behaviors and trends, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “using an artificial intelligence algorithm” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 7 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the identity database is configured to maintain, for each unified personal profile, a set of linked identity attributes selected from names, usernames, email addresses, demographic information, or social media identifiers, thereby representing the individual as a single node in an identity that bridges data from the disparate public sources”, which is a step of storing data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 8 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein analyzing the identity data records comprises using a machine learning-based pattern recognition model that has been trained on previously-linked identity record pairs to predict a likelihood that two identity data records belong to the same individual, and treating the two identity data records as a match when the predicted likelihood exceeds a predefined threshold”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 2, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper analyze identity data records using pattern recognition to mentally or using a pen and paper predict a likelihood that two identity data records belong to a same individual, and the person can mentally or using a pen and paper treat the two identity data records as a match when the predicted likelihood exceeds a predefined threshold, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “using a machine learning-based pattern recognition model that has been trained on previously-linked identity record pairs to predict” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 9 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein analyzing the identity data records comprises applying a set of heuristic matching rules that weight multiple identity attributes in each record and calculate a composite similarity score, the method further comprising determining that the given individual's records match when the composite similarity score satisfies a match criterion, and merging those records based on that determination”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 2, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper analyze identity data records by mentally or using a pen and paper applying a set of heuristic matching rules that weight multiple identity attributes in each record to calculate a composite similarity score, and the person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine that a given individual's records match when the composite similarity score satisfies a match criterion, and the person can mentally or using a pen and paper merge records based on that determination, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 10 recites additional limitations, such as:
“further comprising aggregating a plurality of unified personal profiles and analyzing the aggregated profiles using an artificial intelligence algorithm to extract market intelligence insights about public social behavior, including identifying trends or patterns across the individuals' public social data”,
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 2, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper aggregate a plurality of unified personal profiles and the person can mentally or using a pen and paper analyze the aggregated profiles to extract market intelligence insights about public social behavior, including identifying trends or patterns across a individuals' public social data, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“wherein the insights are provided to an external market intelligence or artificial intelligence data platform”, which is a step of providing or sending data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
The additional elements “using an artificial intelligence algorithm” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 11 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the multiple public data sources from which identity data records are retrieved include a combination of social media networks, online professional profiles, public web directories, and other publicly available data sources, such that the retrieved identity data encompass diverse facets of the individual's public presence for more robust identity resolution”, which is a step of retrieving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, dependent claims 3-11 are also directed to abstract idea without significantly more and are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, and 9-11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Vanasco (US Pub 2010/0274815).
With respect to claim 1, Vanasco discloses a system for indexing and disambiguating identity information available from public sources (Vanasco in [0003] and [0042] discloses discovering and indexing identity information of members of one or more social networks, customizing content), comprising:
a data collector that includes a spider manager and distributed spidering servers, the data collector configured to retrieve identity data records associated with an individual from a plurality of disparate public data sources including social networking platforms and other identity-related databases (Vanasco in [0003], [0028], and [0042] discloses discovering and indexing identity information of members of one or more social network websites; Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes, display trends; Vanasco in [0036] and [0598] discloses creating an aggregated profile of information, producing a profile from multiple identities belonging to a single individual by aggregating the information; Vanasco in [0181], [0560], and [0821] discloses utilizing aggregated trends of validated inter-network identities, return identity records based on validity of identity, proving validity);
an identity resolution engine including a validator and information associator, the identify resolution engine configured to analyze the retrieved identity data records using pattern recognition to determine whether different records correspond to the same individual and to merge matching records into a unified personal profile for that individual (Vanasco in [0003], [0028], and [0042] discloses discovering and indexing identity information of members of one or more social network websites; Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes, display trends; Vanasco in [0036] and [0598] discloses creating an aggregated profile of information, producing a profile from multiple identities belonging to a single individual by aggregating the information; Vanasco in [0181], [0560], and [0821] discloses utilizing aggregated trends of validated inter-network identities, return identity records based on validity of identity, proving validity);
a data storage subsystem comprising an identity database configured to store each unified personal profile and link multiple identifiers associated with the individual within the unified personal profile (Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes, display trends; Vanasco in [0120] and [0192] discloses relationships recorded in a datastore, storing information in a database; Vanasco in [0201] and [0465] discloses storing identity information and relationships in database, datastore for identity data such as profile information; storing, editing, and aggregating profile information and metadata); and
an integration interface configured to provide access to the unified personal profile data to external systems including marketing technology platforms or search engines, thereby enabling use of the unified personal profile in identity-based marketing, search, or identity applications (Vanasco in [0017], [0837], and [0848] discloses identities correlated with entities such as an organization, campaign, group, artificial intelligence etc., system intelligently assembling pieces of multiple profiles into a comprehensive consumer profile, system including consumer intelligence systems and content customization systems; Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes, display trends; Vanasco in [0156] and [0191] discloses parsing publicly available web pages for information about identity, profile information, metadata, associations, relations etc.; Vanasco in [0035], [0597], and [0676] discloses statistical models discerning patterns of information, analyzing patterns to determine market trends; Vanasco in [0036] and [0598] discloses creating an aggregated profile of information, producing a profile from multiple identities belonging to a single individual by aggregating the information; Vanasco in [0403] and [0404] discloses social networking sources; Vanasco in [0837] and [0841] discloses aggregated profiles used for marketing purposes).
With respect to claim 2, Vanasco discloses a computer-implemented method of indexing public web data to create a unified identity profile (Vanasco in [0003], [0028], and [0042] and in Claim 1 discloses a computer-implemented method for discovering and indexing identity information of members of one or more social network websites; Vanasco in [0029] and [0031] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data; Vanasco in [0036] and [0598] discloses creating an aggregated profile of information, producing a profile from multiple identities belonging to a single individual by aggregating the information), comprising:
retrieving, via one or more computing devices, identity data records for a given individual from multiple public data sources including social networking platforms and other publicly available identity data repositories (Vanasco in [0003], [0028], and [0042] discloses discovering and indexing identity information of members of one or more social network websites; Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes, display trends; Vanasco in [0036] and [0598] discloses creating an aggregated profile of information, producing a profile from multiple identities belonging to a single individual by aggregating the information; Vanasco in [0181], [0560], and [0821] discloses utilizing aggregated trends of validated inter-network identities, return identity records based on validity of identity, proving validity);
analyzing the identity data records by applying an identity resolution algorithm that evaluates similarities among identity attributes in the records to determine whether two or more of the records correspond to the same individual (Vanasco in [0003], [0028], and [0042] discloses discovering and indexing identity information of members of one or more social network websites; Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes, display trends; Vanasco in [0036] and [0598] discloses creating an aggregated profile of information, producing a profile from multiple identities belonging to a single individual by aggregating the information; Vanasco in [0181], [0560], and [0821] discloses utilizing aggregated trends of validated inter-network identities, return identity records based on validity of identity, proving validity);
merging, in response to determining that the records correspond to the same individual, the two or more matching identity data records into a unified personal profile for that individual (Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes, display trends);
storing the unified personal profile in a data store as part of an identity that links together identity attributes associated with the individual (Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes, display trends; Vanasco in [0120] and [0192] discloses relationships recorded in a datastore, storing information in a database; Vanasco in [0201] and [0465] discloses storing identity information and relationships in database, datastore for identity data such as profile information; storing, editing, and aggregating profile information and metadata); and
providing access to the unified personal profile via an electronic interface to an external system selected from a marketing technology platform or a search engine, thereby enabling the external system to utilize the unified personal profile for identity-based applications (Vanasco in [0017], [0837], and [0848] discloses identities correlated with entities such as an organization, campaign, group, artificial intelligence etc., system intelligently assembling pieces of multiple profiles into a comprehensive consumer profile, system including consumer intelligence systems and content customization systems; Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes, display trends; Vanasco in [0156] and [0191] discloses parsing publicly available web pages for information about identity, profile information, metadata, associations, relations etc.; Vanasco in [0035], [0597], and [0676] discloses statistical models discerning patterns of information, analyzing patterns to determine market trends; Vanasco in [0036] and [0598] discloses creating an aggregated profile of information, producing a profile from multiple identities belonging to a single individual by aggregating the information; Vanasco in [0403] and [0404] discloses social networking sources; Vanasco in [0837] and [0841] discloses aggregated profiles used for marketing purposes).
With respect to claim 4, Vanasco discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the identity resolution engine is configured to apply a heuristic matching algorithm that assigns weighted scores to a plurality of identity attributes in the identity data records and determines a match confidence based on the weighted scores to decide whether to merge the records into the unified personal profile (Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes; Vanasco in [0036] and [0598] discloses creating an aggregated profile of information, producing a profile from multiple identities belonging to a single individual by aggregating the information; Vanasco in [0039] and [0178] discloses a score reflecting likelihood of identities being related to one another and the likelihood of them representing the same identity, calculating a weighted point value for a relationship utilizing scoring/matching techniques; Vanasco in [0291] and [0729] discloses grouping identities using verified links or high probability confidence scores, calculating probabilities of identities being related to one another, the result is scored with a probability; Vanasco in [0604] discloses amplifying profile when a particular type/field of data is present in one or more profiles, having same information associated with more than one profile gives added weight to its relevance).
With respect to claim 5, Vanasco discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of public data sources comprises at least one social media or social networking site, at least one professional or business directory, and one or more additional publicly accessible data sources containing identity-related information, such that the data collector aggregates identity data spanning personal, social, and professional domains for the individual (Vanasco in [0404], [0612], and [0706]-[0711] discloses profiles and accounts in social networks like myspace and Friendster, Facebook, YouTube, LinkedIn etc.; Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes, display trends).
With respect to claim 6, Vanasco discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising an analytics module configured to analyze data from a plurality of the unified personal profiles stored in the identity database using an artificial intelligence algorithm to generate aggregated market intelligence insights regarding public social behaviors and trends (Vanasco in [0017], [0837], and [0848] discloses identities correlated with entities such as an organization, campaign, group, artificial intelligence etc., system intelligently assembling pieces of multiple profiles into a comprehensive consumer profile, system including consumer intelligence systems and content customization systems; Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes, display trends; Vanasco in [0156] and [0191] discloses parsing publicly available web pages for information about identity, profile information, metadata, associations, relations etc.; Vanasco in [0035], [0597], and [0676] discloses statistical models discerning patterns of information, analyzing patterns to determine market trends; Vanasco in [0036] and [0598] discloses creating an aggregated profile of information, producing a profile from multiple identities belonging to a single individual by aggregating the information; Vanasco in [0403] and [0404] discloses social networking sources; Vanasco in [0837] and [0841] discloses aggregated profiles used for marketing purposes).
With respect to claim 7, Vanasco discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the identity database is configured to maintain, for each unified personal profile, a set of linked identity attributes selected from names, usernames, email addresses, demographic information, or social media identifiers, thereby representing the individual as a single node in an identity that bridges data from the disparate public sources (Vanasco in [0018] and [0022] discloses identity information including email address, account name, URL, real name, screen name, social profile id, domain information etc.; Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes; Vanasco in [0610] and [0650] discloses relating disparate identities from different sources to one another to form an aggregated identity).
With respect to claim 9, Vanasco discloses the method of claim 2, wherein analyzing the identity data records comprises applying a set of heuristic matching rules that weight multiple identity attributes in each record and calculate a composite similarity score, the method further comprising determining that the given individual's records match when the composite similarity score satisfies a match criterion, and merging those records based on that determination (Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes; Vanasco in [0036] and [0598] discloses creating an aggregated profile of information, producing a profile from multiple identities belonging to a single individual by aggregating the information; Vanasco in [0039] and [0178] discloses a score reflecting likelihood of identities being related to one another and the likelihood of them representing the same identity, calculating a weighted point value for a relationship utilizing scoring/matching techniques; Vanasco in [0291] and [0729] discloses grouping identities using verified links or high probability confidence scores, calculating probabilities of identities being related to one another, the result is scored with a probability; Vanasco in [0604] discloses amplifying profile when a particular type/field of data is present in one or more profiles, having same information associated with more than one profile gives added weight to its relevance).
With respect to claim 10, Vanasco discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising aggregating a plurality of unified personal profiles and analyzing the aggregated profiles using an artificial intelligence algorithm to extract market intelligence insights about public social behavior, including identifying trends or patterns across the individuals' public social data, wherein the insights are provided to an external market intelligence or artificial intelligence data platform (Vanasco in [0017], [0837], and [0848] discloses identities correlated with entities such as an organization, campaign, group, artificial intelligence etc., system intelligently assembling pieces of multiple profiles into a comprehensive consumer profile, system including consumer intelligence systems and content customization systems; Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes, display trends; Vanasco in [0156] and [0191] discloses parsing publicly available web pages for information about identity, profile information, metadata, associations, relations etc.; Vanasco in [0035], [0597], and [0676] discloses statistical models discerning patterns of information, analyzing patterns to determine market trends; Vanasco in [0036] and [0598] discloses creating an aggregated profile of information, producing a profile from multiple identities belonging to a single individual by aggregating the information; Vanasco in [0403] and [0404] discloses social networking sources; Vanasco in [0837] and [0841] discloses aggregated profiles used for marketing purposes).
With respect to claim 11, Vanasco discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the multiple public data sources from which identity data records are retrieved include a combination of social media networks, online professional profiles, public web directories, and other publicly available data sources, such that the retrieved identity data encompass diverse facets of the individual's public presence for more robust identity resolution (Vanasco in [0404], [0612], and [0706]-[0711] discloses profiles and accounts in social networks like myspace and Friendster, Facebook, YouTube, LinkedIn etc.; Vanasco in [0029], [0031], and [0174] discloses aggregating user identity information, aggregating user profile data, matching profiles and identities based on similar attributes, display trends; Vanasco in [0156] and [0191] discloses parsing publicly available web pages for information about identity, profile information, metadata, associations, relations etc.; Vanasco in [0035], [0597], and [0676] discloses statistical models discerning patterns of information, analyzing patterns to determine market trends; Vanasco in [0036] and [0598] discloses creating an aggregated profile of information, producing a profile from multiple identities belonging to a single individual by aggregating the information; Vanasco in [0403] and [0404] discloses social networking sources; Vanasco in [0837] and [0841] discloses aggregated profiles used for marketing purposes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 3 and 8 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Vanasco (US Pub 2010/0274815) in view of Davis (US Pub 2009/0150514).
With respect to claim 3, Vanasco discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the identity resolution engine comprises…model trained on identity data to recognize matching patterns among identity attributes, the…model being configured to automatically predict a match between identity data records that belong to the same individual (Vanasco in [0035] discloses verified identities are used as waypoints in calculating relationships, and help create statistical models discerning the kind, quality, and patterns of information sharing typical to users of networks or services, which is a model trained on identity data; Vanasco in [0178] discloses calculating a weighted point value for a relationship utilizing scoring/matching techniques, calculating a percentage of likelihood that two identities belong to the same identity; Vanasco in [0425] discloses threshold of probability needed for a matching identity; Vanasco in [0742] and [0745] discloses predicting a match between identities; Vanasco in [0850] discloses tracking users across networks for comparative profiling based on cross-site data, active profiling of social networks allows accurate identification of users across networks using a basis of verified and predicted identities).
Vanasco discloses using a statistical model to recognize patterns and predicting a match, however, Vanasco does not explicitly disclose:
a machine learning model…;
The Davis reference discloses a machine learning model (Davis in [0020] and [0035] discloses using a data modeling strategy for creating profiles users and any kind of user-defined data with user-specified conditions, using social, spatial, temporal, and logical data about a specific user to map an entity against all other known entities, user profile containing email address, telephone number, physical address, and other data associated with the user; Davis in [0075] and [0081] discloses relationship data includes user identity data, such as gender, age, race, name, social, and other information associated with the user’s identity, data used to model relationships between information objects; Davis in [0125] and [0128] discloses data processed and analyzed using data models, a variety of machine learning techniques applied to analyze the data, data modeled to account for context and patterns, to represent a probability of a feature being true; Davis in [0129] discloses applying a variety of statistical and machine learning techniques to data, learning algorithms populated with data models that contain features, contexts, and patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, having the teachings of Vanasco and Davis, to have combined Vanasco and Davis. The motivation to combine Vanasco and Davis would be to deliver useful information to users by using data collected and stored on a network (Davis: [0001] and [0002]).
With respect to claim 8, Vanasco discloses the method of claim 2, wherein analyzing the identity data records comprises using a…pattern recognition model that has been trained on previously-linked identity record pairs to predict a likelihood that two identity data records belong to the same individual, and treating the two identity data records as a match when the predicted likelihood exceeds a predefined threshold (Vanasco in [0035] discloses verified identities are used as waypoints in calculating relationships, and help create statistical models discerning the kind, quality, and patterns of information sharing typical to users of networks or services, which is a model trained on identity data; Vanasco in [0178] discloses calculating a weighted point value for a relationship utilizing scoring/matching techniques, calculating a percentage of likelihood that two identities belong to the same identity; Vanasco in [0425] discloses threshold of probability needed for a matching identity; Vanasco in [0742] and [0745] discloses predicting a match between identities; Vanasco in [0850] discloses tracking users across networks for comparative profiling based on cross-site data, active profiling of social networks allows accurate identification of users across networks using a basis of verified and predicted identities).
Vanasco discloses using a statistical model to recognize patterns and predicting a match, however, Vanasco does not explicitly disclose:
a machine learning-based model…;
The Davis reference discloses a machine learning-based model (Davis in [0020] and [0035] discloses using a data modeling strategy for creating profiles users and any kind of user-defined data with user-specified conditions, using social, spatial, temporal, and logical data about a specific user to map an entity against all other known entities, user profile containing email address, telephone number, physical address, and other data associated with the user; Davis in [0075] and [0081] discloses relationship data includes user identity data, such as gender, age, race, name, social, and other information associated with the user’s identity, data used to model relationships between information objects; Davis in [0125] and [0128] discloses data processed and analyzed using data models, a variety of machine learning techniques applied to analyze the data, data modeled to account for context and patterns, to represent a probability of a feature being true; Davis in [0129] discloses applying a variety of statistical and machine learning techniques to data, learning algorithms populated with data models that contain features, contexts, and patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, having the teachings of Vanasco and Davis, to have combined Vanasco and Davis. The motivation to combine Vanasco and Davis would be to deliver useful information to users by using data collected and stored on a network (Davis: [0001] and [0002]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/R.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2159
/ANN J LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2159