DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 6, and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2023/0118008 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a base station (gNB) comprising: a transmitter (16-30) configured to transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information for configuring a secondary cell group to a terminal device (paragraph [0315]-[0317]; and so on, illustrating the transmission of RRC message comprising configuration of a SCG); and controller circuitry (16-50) configured to, when the secondary cell group that is configured for the terminal through the RRC message is in a deactivated state, control to refrain the terminal from performing a first processing that is re-associating a Quality of service (QoS) flow that is associated with a first Data Radio Bearer (DRB) configured for the secondary cell group with a second DRB (paragraph [0315]-[0317]; [0140]-[0143]; and etc., explaining the terminal is refrain to remapping or mapping or reconfigure the QoS flow to a DRB).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a terminal (UE) comprising: a receiver (fig. 15) configured to receive, from a base station (gNB), transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information for configuring a secondary cell group from a base station device (paragraph [0315]-[0317]; and so on); and controller circuitry configured to control to, when the secondary cell group configured through the RRC message is in a deactivated state, refrain from transmitting a control Protocol Data Unit (PDU) by refraining from performing a first processing that is re-associating a Quality of service (QoS) flow that is associated with a first Data Radio Bearer (DRB) configured for the secondary cell group with a second DRB (paragraph [0315]-[0317]; [0140]-[0143]; and etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kanamarlapudi et al. (US 2023/0079972 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the controller circuitry is configured to control so that the terminal does not transmit data (paragraph [0315]). However, Kim does not disclose the data is a control Protocol Data Unit (PDU) through the secondary cell group by refraining from performing the first processing.
Kanamarlapudi teaches the data is a control Protocol Data Unit (PDU) through the secondary cell group by refraining from performing the first processing (paragraph [0091]; [0115]; [0141]; [0162]; [0175]; [0190]; [0212]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the data is a control Protocol Data Unit (PDU) through the secondary cell group by refraining from performing the first processing as taught by Kanamarlapudi into Kim in order to reduce dropping of packets and congestion.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a radio communication system comprising: a base station (gNB) configured to transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information for configuring a secondary cell group (paragraph [0315]-[0317]; and so on); and a terminal (UE) configured to receive the RRC message (paragraph [0315]-[0317]; and so on), wherein the base station device is configured to, when the secondary cell group that is configured for the terminal through the RRC message is in a deactivated state, control to refrain the terminal from performing a first processing that is re-associating a Quality of service (QoS) flow that is associated with a first Data Radio Bearer (DRB) configured for the secondary cell group with a second DRB (paragraph [0315]-[0317]; [0140]-[0143]; and etc.), and configured to control so that the terminal does not transmit data (paragraph [0315]). However, Kim does not disclose the data is a control Protocol Data Unit (PDU) through the secondary cell group by refraining from performing the first processing.
Kanamarlapudi teaches the data is a control Protocol Data Unit (PDU) through the secondary cell group by refraining from performing the first processing (paragraph [0091]; [0115]; [0141]; [0162]; [0175]; [0190]; [0212]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the data is a control Protocol Data Unit (PDU) through the secondary cell group by refraining from performing the first processing as taught by Kanamarlapudi into Kim in order to reduce dropping of packets and congestion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461