Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The previous made objections to the Drawings are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot in regard to newly found and applied art presented in the rejection below.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim limitation “wherein thickness of the countertop is reduced proximate the indicator line” fails to further limit claim 17 as said limitation is already present in Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. US 2017/0280513 in view of Hakla US 2020/0235597 in view of Wakabayashi US 2014/0300315.
Nam teaches:
1. A wireless charging device (ie 130b embodiment, @ [0061, 0068]), comprising:
a transmitting coil (134, FIGs 4-6 ) that defines a charging surface located at an upper surface of a tabletop (104, FIG3 and FIG2);
a light source (150, FIG4) provided below the tabletop (110, FIGs 2 and 4) and configured to provide an indicator line (line(s) of 151, FIG7A) that circumscribes an outer limit of the transmitting coil (134, FIG7A); and
a controller (200, FIGs 1-4, Specification @ [0049])) electrically that is coupled to the light source (108) and configured to control light emissions by the light source (see Specification @ [0023, 0051]);
wherein thickness of the tabletop (said tabletop comprising said cover 110 and plate 120, FIGF and reduced at said tabletop plate 120 level, see ie. FIG4) is reduced proximate the indicator line (see FIGs 4-5).
Nam fails to teach: wherein said charging coil comprises a plurality of charging coils arranged in a pattern that defines said charging surface.
Wakabayashi teaches a wireless charging device comprising a plurality of charging coils arranged in a pattern that defines a charging surface (See FIGURES 1 and 2).
It would have bene obvious to incorporate the plurality of coils as taught by Wakabayashi into the system of Hakla with the motivation of providing a superior charging surface capable of more flexible charging via greater surface coverage and more flexible as to placement than a single charging coil.
Nam fails to teach: Wherein said tabletop is a countertop.
Hakla teaches a wireless charging device integrated into a countertop (@ [0044]) noting alternative mounting in any one of “Accordingly, the wireless charging assemblies and devices of the present disclosure may be mass-produced as modular fittings or installation kits for any type of structure, monument, seating arrangement, table, desk, alcove, surface, interface, furniture, workbench, chamber, kiosk, suite, cockpit, platform, panel, base, cab, compartment, box, podium, case, crate, lavatory, galley, bay, carriage, counter, etc.” @ [0044].
It would have been obvious to incorporate the wireless charging device of Nam into a countertop with the motivation of providing desirable charging at a desirable charging space, such as in a kitchen counter to assist a chef or a counter at a retail space to charge one of products sold, costumer devices, or devices used in the retail process.
Nam further teaches:
2. The wireless charging device of claim 1, wherein the indicator line appears on the upper surface of the countertop (@ [0078-0079]).
3. The wireless charging device of claim 1, wherein light emitted by the light source travels through the countertop to illuminate the indicator line (ie through 110, FIG4 and/or through plate 120 via holes 121, FIG4).
4. The wireless charging device of claim 1, wherein light emitted by the light source travels through a hole (hole 121, FIG4) formed in a lower surface (lower surface = plate 120) of the countertop to illuminate the indicator line (“indicator line” formed as 150 lines, FIG5, line as seen from above).
5. The wireless charging device of claim 4, wherein the hole terminates short of the upper surface of the countertop (ie FIG9, see d2).
6. The wireless charging device of claim 4, wherein the hole is a through-hole (See ie 121, FIG8).
7. The wireless charging device of claim 4, wherein the hole is at least partially filled with a transparent, semitransparent, translucent or diaphanous material (see 129, FIG10).
8. The wireless charging device of claim 4, wherein a light pipe, a light guide or light diffuser is inserted in the hole (ie embodiment of FIG7A,7B, with lightguide 151 and hole formed by place will lightguide is provided; or Embodiment of FIG18 or FIG19).
9. The wireless charging device of claim 8, wherein a portion of the light source is inserted in the hole (ie see FIG19 wherein “hole” is read on by space where light 250 is positioned or Embodiment of FIG18 wherein light source 250A is placed in said hole formed by said light guide).
21. The wireless charging device of claim 1, wherein the thickness of the countertop is reduced by a hole or channel that penetrates a lower surface of the countertop (ie 121, FIG4, FIG8, FIG9, FIG10, FIG11, or FIG13 etc. Embodiments).
22. The wireless charging device of claim 21, wherein the hole or channel does not reach an upper surface of the countertop (ie 121, FIG4, FIG8, FIG9, FIG10, FIG11, or FIG13 etc. Embodiments; noting taught by each of said embodiments wherein upper service read on by upper service 110).
23. The wireless charging device of claim 21, wherein the light source is embedded in the hole or channel (ie embodiment of FIG15A, 15B, 16, 17, 18).
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. US 2017/0280513 in view of Hakla US 2020/0235597 in view of Wakabayashi US 2014/0300315 and Mohammadabadi et al. (Moha) US 2024/0128998.
Nam teaches:
means for providing an indicator line that circumscribes an outer limit of a plurality of transmitting coils (see 150 as produced by means of ie FIGs 8, 9, 10, 11, or 19) the plurality of power transmitting coils being arranged in a pattern that defines a charging surface located at an upper surface of a countertop (see combination of claim 1 above); and means for identifying presence of a receiving coil in proximity to at least one of the power transmitting coils (See detection sensor 32 and/or pressure senor 33, FIG20).
Nam fails to teach:
17. The wireless charging device of claim 1, further comprising:
Wherein said means for identifying presence of a receiving coil in proximity to at least one of the power transmitting coils includes a resonant circuit that is configured to produce a magnetic flux and a controller that is configured to control the operation of a driver circuit that provides an alternating current to the resonant circuit ; and
a power source configured to provide a charging current to one or more power transmitting coils that are selected from the plurality of transmitting coils when the chargeable device has been placed on the charging surface.
Moha teaches: a means for identifying presence of a receiving coil in proximity to at least one of the power transmitting coils includes a resonant circuit that is configured to produce a magnetic flux and a controller that is configured to control the operation of a driver circuit that provides an alternating current to the resonant circuit (See FIG6 and @ [0241]); and
a power source (ie 127E, FIG8) configured to provide a charging current to one or more power transmitting coils that are selected from the plurality of transmitting coils when the chargeable device has been placed on the charging surface.
It would have been obvious to incorporate the presence detection means and power source as taught by Moha into the system of Nam with the motivation of providing desirable functionality of receiver detection and indication means with a means of charging as desired by a user to facilitate the intended use of the device as acting as a power supply/charging source.
Nam fails to teach:
18. The wireless charging device of claim 17, wherein the controller is further configured to: respond to detection of presence of the object by causing one or more indicators to be illuminated through the upper surface of the countertop, the one or more indicators being selected to indicate a physical location of a charging area available to wirelessly charge the chargeable device.
Wakabayashi teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: respond to detection of presence of the object by causing one or more indicators to be illuminated through the upper surface of the countertop, the one or more indicators being selected to indicate a physical location of a charging area available to wirelessly charge the chargeable device (see spec. @ [0037], emphasis on lamp 7 of each individual coil being turned on during power feeding, see FIG3).
It would have been obvious to further include the individual lamps for each coil as taught by Wakabayashi into the system of Nam with the motivation of providing indication of the area in use.
Nam fails to teach:
19. The wireless charging device of claim 18, wherein the controller is further configured to: provide a charging current to one or more power transmitting coils after the location of the chargeable device is detected on the charging surface and within the charging area.
Wakabayashi teaches: wherein the controller is further configured to provide a charging current to one or more power transmitting coils after the location of the chargeable device is detected on the charging surface and within the charging area (See step S5, emphasis on above steps after the location of the device discovered and clusters formed, Steps S1-S4).
It would have been obvious to incorporate the desired functionality as taught by Wakabayashi into the system of Nam with the motivation of providing desirable and user friendly interface for the consumer for the devices intended purpose of providing charging.
Nam further teaches:
20. The wireless charging device of claim 18, wherein the indicators comprise a transparent or translucent inlay (ie inlays of 129, FIG10 embodiment; or inlay of 121, FIG11 embodiment; or inlay of light guide 251, FIG15A embodiment; or inlay of 256, FIG19 embodiment).
Conclusion
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836