Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 and 17-20 in the reply filed on 7/15/2025 is acknowledged.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim limitation(s):
Means for detecting presence of an object = pings/processor (spec. @ [0041-0042]); and
Means for detecting location of a chargeable device on the charging surface = capacitive, resistive, inductive, touch, pressure (spec. @ [0027]).
have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim(s) limitations invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, the claim(s) have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Means for detecting presence of an object = pings/processor (spec. @ [0041-0042]); and
Means for detecting location of a chargeable device on the charging surface = capacitive, resistive, inductive, touch, pressure (spec. @ [0027]).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Means for detecting presence of an object = pings/processor (spec. @ [0041-0042] but noting said processor does not appear to be shown or is not clearly tied to disclosed structure if it is shown); and
Means for detecting location of a chargeable device on the charging surface = capacitive, resistive, inductive, touch, pressure (spec. @ [0027] noting said means do not appear to be shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakla US 2020/0235597 in view of Wakabayashi US 2014/0300315.
Hakla teaches:
1. A wireless charging device, comprising:
a transmitting coil(106, FIG3) that defines a charging surface located at an upper surface of a countertop (104, FIG3 and FIG2);
a light source (108, FIG3) provided below the countertop (104) and configured to illuminate an indicator line (line(s) of 102, FIG3 and FIG2) that identifies a physical location of the charging surface (see FIG2); and a controller (FIG3) electrically that is coupled to the light source (108) and configured to control light emissions by the light source (see Specification @ [0023, 0051]).
Hakla fails to teach wherein said charging coil comprises a plurality of charging coils arranged in a pattern that defines said charging surface.
Wakabayashi teaches a wireless charging device comprising a plurality of charging coils arranged in a pattern that defines a charging surface (See FIGURES 1 and 2).
It would have bene obvious to incorporate the plurality of coils as taught by Wakabayashi into the system of Hakla with the motivation of providing a superior charging surface capable of more flexible charging via greater surface coverage and more flexible as to placement than a single charging coil.
Hakla further teaches:
2. The wireless charging device of claim 1, wherein the indicator line appears on the upper surface of the countertop (See 102, FIG2).
3. The wireless charging device of claim 1, wherein light emitted by the light source travels through the countertop to illuminate the indicator line (see FIG3 noting the light source is underneath and therefore needs to travel through in some fashion to be seen).
Hakla fails to teach the specifics of the countertop construction in relation to said light source comprising:
4. The wireless charging device of claim 1, wherein light emitted by the light source travels through a hole formed in a lower surface of the countertop to illuminate the indicator line.
5. The wireless charging device of claim 4, wherein the hole terminates short of the upper surface of the countertop.
6. The wireless charging device of claim 4, wherein the hole is a through-hole.
7. The wireless charging device of claim 4, wherein the hole is at least partially filled with a transparent, semitransparent, translucent or diaphanous material.
8. The wireless charging device of claim 4, wherein a light pipe, a light guide or light diffuser is inserted in the hole.
9. The wireless charging device of claim 8, wherein a portion of the light source is inserted in the hole.
Official Notice is taken that both the concept and advantages of providing for the above means of providing light from a light source below to and/or through a surface including holes, terminating short of said surface, through-hole and partially filling with a material as provided above in surfaces with under light illumination are well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to have included the above means of construction in Hakla as these construction means are known to provide realized construction via known and desirable means to provide said light as desired while protecting the light source.
Hakla fails to teach:
The wireless charging device of claim 1, further comprising: means for detecting presence of an object; means for detecting location of a chargeable device on the charging surface; and a power source configured to provide a charging current to one or more power transmitting coils that are selected from the plurality of transmitting coils when the chargeable device that has been placed on the charging surface.
Wakabayashi teaches:
17. The wireless charging device of claim 1, further comprising:
means for detecting presence of an object (controller configured to detect the power transmission coils, see spec. @ [0011]);
means for detecting location of a chargeable device on the charging surface (pressure sensor, FIG2); and
a power source (42, FIG2) configured to provide a charging current to one or more power transmitting coils that are selected (via switching circuit 5, FIG2) from the plurality of transmitting coils when the chargeable device that has been placed on the charging surface (See spec @ [0031] and process of FIG6 with emphasis on S3 “Determine each power transmission coil cluster”).
It would have been obvious to include both of said plurality of coils as taught by Wakabayashi and said means for detecting presence and location of an object (ie the device being charged) with the motivation of superior and extended coverage as opposed to a single coil system as well as power efficiency to maximize power efficiency by supplying power to inly those coils in the presence of the device to be charged.
Hakla fails to teach:
18. The wireless charging device of claim 17, wherein the controller is further configured to: respond to detection of presence of the object by causing one or more indicators to be illuminated through the upper surface of the countertop, the one or more indicators being selected to indicate a physical location of a charging area available to wirelessly charge the chargeable device.
Wakabayashi teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: respond to detection of presence of the object by causing one or more indicators to be illuminated through the upper surface of the countertop, the one or more indicators being selected to indicate a physical location of a charging area available to wirelessly charge the chargeable device (see spec. @ [0037], emphasis on lamp 7 of each individual coil being turned on during power feeding, see FIG3).
It would have been obvious to further include the individual lamps for each coil as taught by Wakabayashi into the system of Hakla with the motivation of providing indication of the area in use.
Wakabayashi further teaches:
19. The wireless charging device of claim 18, wherein the controller is further configured to provide a charging current to one or more power transmitting coils after the location of the chargeable device is detected on the charging surface and within the charging area (See step S5, emphasis on above steps after the location of the device discovered and clusters formed, Steps S1-S4). Motivation of the system integration provided with and for claim 17 noting the integration of the structure of claim 17 including the function of the controller claimed in claim 19.
Hakla and Wakabayashi fail to teach:
20. The wireless charging device of claim 18, wherein the indicators comprise a transparent or translucent inlay.
Official Notice is taken that both the concept and advantages of providing for the above means of transparent or translucent inlays in surfaces with under light illumination are well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to have included the above means of construction as these construction means are known to provide realized construction via known and desirable means to provide said light as desired.
Conclusion
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836