DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Species I, corresponding to claims 2-6 and 12-14, in the reply filed on September 17, 2026, is acknowledged. Claims 1, 11 and 18-20 are generic. No claims were amended. No new claims were added. Claims 7-10 and 15-17 are withdrawn as the nonelected species. As a result, claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (US 4909909 A) “Florjancic et al.”.
With Regard to Independent Claim 1, Florjancic et al. Figs. 1-2 discloses, an integrated circuit (IC) (“integrated high- and ultra-high-frequency circuits” Abstract; “an ultra-high-frequency circuit 3” Column 1, Lines 60-61), comprising:
a photoimageable dielectric (PID) (“The inner cavity of the signal lines 1, 2 and the space 9 between the signal lines 1 and 2 and other circuit components are filled with a dielectric material, for example, epoxy or polyimide, These areas filled with dielectric, as will be explained with reference to FIG. 2, are fabricated from a photosensitive material” ¶ Column 2, Lines 3-8; “A photosensitive film 11” Column 2, Line 23);
a transmission line disposed within the PID (“the inner conductor 6” Column 2, Line 54); and
at least one continuous conductive shield disposed within the PID (“an external shield 7” Column 1, Line 68; walls of outer conductor 7, electroplated into photo-defined gaps 12 and 19; “the portions of the film which correspond to the location of the outer conductor 7 of the finished signal line 1 or 2, are removed to thereby form a lower set of gaps 12” Column 2, Lines 35-38; “The film 18 is removed by an additional photoprocess in upper gap areas 19, which correspond to the upper part of the outer conductor 7” Column 3, Lines 8-10),
wherein the at least one continuous conductive shield is positioned to reduce leakage of a signal transmitted along the transmission line beyond a space defined by the at least one continuous conductive shield (“fully shielded signal lines in high- and ultra-high-frequency circuits, whereby crosstalk between signal lines may be reduced or eliminated in a reliable manner.” ¶ Column 1, Lines 41-44; the space is the rectangular coaxial cavity bounded by shield 7).
With Regard to Claim 2, Florjancic et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Florjancic et al. Figs. 1-2 further discloses wherein: the transmission line 6 comprises a horizontal transmission line substantially in parallel (Figs. 1-2 show inner conductor 6 is on PID film 11; over and parallel to planar copper layer 10) with a ground plane (“a support material 10 coated or metallized with copper” Column 2, Lines 23-24).
With Regard to Claim 3, Florjancic et al. discloses the limitations of claim 2. Florjancic et al. Figs. 1-2 further discloses wherein: the at least one continuous conductive shield comprises a first continuous conductive shield disposed along a first side of the horizontal transmission line (the left side wall of outer conductor 7; “the location of the outer conductor 7 of the finished signal line 1 or 2, are removed to thereby form a lower set of gaps 12….The lower gaps 12 in the with the film removed are filled with copper by electrodeposition.” Column 2, Lines 36-41; “an additional photoprocess in upper gap areas 19, which correspond to the upper part of the outer conductor 7……. The upper gaps 19 in the film 18 are filled with copper by electrodeposition.” Column 3, Lines 8-13) and a second continuous conductive shield disposed along a second side opposite the first side of the horizontal transmission line (the right side wall of outer conductor 7; “the location of the outer conductor 7 of the finished signal line 1 or 2, are removed to thereby form a lower set of gaps 12….The lower gaps 12 in the with the film removed are filled with copper by electrodeposition.” Column 2, Lines 36-41; “an additional photoprocess in upper gap areas 19, which correspond to the upper part of the outer conductor 7……. The upper gaps 19 in the film 18 are filled with copper by electrodeposition.” Column 3, Lines 8-13).
With Regard to Claim 4, Florjancic et al. discloses the limitations of claim 3. Florjancic et al. Figs. 1-2 further discloses wherein: the first and second continuous conductive shields are substantially parallel to the horizontal transmission line (“FIG. 1 shows coaxial cables having a rectangular cross-section” Column 1, Lines 51-52; “The signal lines 1 and 2 are formed as rectangular coaxial lines” Column 1, Lines 62-63. The walls of conductor 7 are parallel to the conductor 6).
With Regard to Claim 5, Florjancic et al. discloses the limitations of claim 4. Florjancic et al. Figs. 1-2 further discloses wherein: the first and second continuous conductive shields are disposed along substantially an entire length of the horizontal transmission line 6 (“inner conductor surrounded by an outer conductor” Column 3, Lines 35-36).
With Regard to Claim 6, Florjancic et al. discloses the limitations of claim 3. Florjancic et al. Figs. 1-2 further discloses wherein: the first and second continuous conductive shields are formed by first and second conductor-filled trenches along the first and second sides of the horizontal transmission line, respectively (First trench in left hand lower gap 12 and left hand upper gap 19 in Figs. 2B and 2J, the second trench is right-hand gaps 12 and 19; “” Column 2, Lines 40-41; “upper gaps 19 in the film 18 are filled with copper by electrodeposition” Column 3, Lines 12-13).
With Regard to Independent Claim 11, Florjancic et al. Figs. 1-2 discloses, a method of manufacturing (“process steps (a) through (m) of a preferred embodiment” Column 2, Lines 17-18) an integrated circuit (IC) (“integrated high- and ultra-high-frequency circuits” Abstract; “an ultra-high-frequency circuit 3” Column 1, Lines 60-61), comprising:
forming (“regions 16 correspond to the location of the inner conductor 6 of the signal line 1 or 2.” Column 2, Lines 54-55; “the inner conductor 6 is galvanically isolated from the other conductive areas” Column 2, Lines 66-67) a transmission line (“the inner conductor 6” Column 2, Line 54) within a photoimageable dielectric (PID) (“The inner cavity of the signal lines 1, 2 and the space 9 between the signal lines 1 and 2 and other circuit components are filled with a dielectric material, for example, epoxy or polyimide, These areas filled with dielectric, as will be explained with reference to FIG. 2, are fabricated from a photosensitive material” ¶ Column 2, Lines 3-8; “A photosensitive film 11” Column 2, Line 23); and
forming at least one continuous conductive shield within the PID (“an external shield 7” Column 1, Line 68; walls of outer conductor 7, electroplated into photo-defined gaps 12 and 19; “the portions of the film which correspond to the location of the outer conductor 7 of the finished signal line 1 or 2, are removed to thereby form a lower set of gaps 12” Column 2, Lines 35-38; “The film 18 is removed by an additional photoprocess in upper gap areas 19, which correspond to the upper part of the outer conductor 7” Column 3, Lines 8-10),
wherein the at least one continuous conductive shield is positioned to reduce leakage of a signal transmitted along the transmission line beyond a space defined by the at least one continuous conductive shield (“fully shielded signal lines in high- and ultra-high-frequency circuits, whereby crosstalk between signal lines may be reduced or eliminated in a reliable manner.” ¶ Column 1, Lines 41-44; the space is the rectangular coaxial cavity bounded by shield 7).
With Regard to Claim 12, Florjancic et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Florjancic et al. Figs. 1-2 further discloses wherein: forming the transmission line 6 comprises forming a horizontal transmission line substantially in parallel (Figs. 1-2 show inner conductor 6 is on PID film 11; over and parallel to planar copper layer 10) with a ground plane (“a support material 10 coated or metallized with copper” Column 2, Lines 23-24).
With Regard to Claim 13, Florjancic et al. discloses the limitations of claim 2. Florjancic et al. Figs. 1-2 further discloses wherein: forming the at least one continuous conductive shield comprises forming a first continuous conductive shield along a first side of the horizontal transmission line (the left side wall of outer conductor 7; “the location of the outer conductor 7 of the finished signal line 1 or 2, are removed to thereby form a lower set of gaps 12….The lower gaps 12 in the with the film removed are filled with copper by electrodeposition.” Column 2, Lines 36-41; “an additional photoprocess in upper gap areas 19, which correspond to the upper part of the outer conductor 7……. The upper gaps 19 in the film 18 are filled with copper by electrodeposition.” Column 3, Lines 8-13) and a second continuous conductive shield along a second side opposite the first side of the horizontal transmission line (the right side wall of outer conductor 7; “the location of the outer conductor 7 of the finished signal line 1 or 2, are removed to thereby form a lower set of gaps 12….The lower gaps 12 in the with the film removed are filled with copper by electrodeposition.” Column 2, Lines 36-41; “an additional photoprocess in upper gap areas 19, which correspond to the upper part of the outer conductor 7……. The upper gaps 19 in the film 18 are filled with copper by electrodeposition.” Column 3, Lines 8-13)
With Regard to Claim 14, Florjancic et al. discloses the limitations of claim 3. Florjancic et al. Figs. 1-2 further discloses wherein: forming the first continuous conductive shield and the second continuous conductive shield comprises forming first and second conductor-filled trenches along the first and second sides of the horizontal transmission line, respectively (First trench in left hand lower gap 12 and left hand upper gap 19 in Figs. 2B and 2J, the second trench is right-hand gaps 12 and 19; “” Column 2, Lines 40-41; “upper gaps 19 in the film 18 are filled with copper by electrodeposition” Column 3, Lines 12-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 4909909 A) “Florjancic et al.” in view of (US 20190206781 A1) “ALEKSOV et al.”.
With Regard to Independent Claim 18, Florjancic et al. Figs. 1-2 discloses,
an integrated circuit (IC) (“integrated high- and ultra-high-frequency circuits” Abstract; “an ultra-high-frequency circuit 3” Column 1, Lines 60-61), comprising:
a photoimageable dielectric (PID) (“The inner cavity of the signal lines 1, 2 and the space 9 between the signal lines 1 and 2 and other circuit components are filled with a dielectric material, for example, epoxy or polyimide, These areas filled with dielectric, as will be explained with reference to FIG. 2, are fabricated from a photosensitive material” ¶ Column 2, Lines 3-8; “A photosensitive film 11” Column 2, Line 23);
a transmission line disposed within the PID (“the inner conductor 6” Column 2, Line 54); and
at least one continuous conductive shield disposed within the PID (“an external shield 7” Column 1, Line 68; walls of outer conductor 7, electroplated into photo-defined gaps 12 and 19; “the portions of the film which correspond to the location of the outer conductor 7 of the finished signal line 1 or 2, are removed to thereby form a lower set of gaps 12” Column 2, Lines 35-38; “The film 18 is removed by an additional photoprocess in upper gap areas 19, which correspond to the upper part of the outer conductor 7” Column 3, Lines 8-10),
wherein the at least one continuous conductive shield is positioned to reduce leakage of a signal transmitted along the transmission line beyond a space defined by the at least one continuous conductive shield (“fully shielded signal lines in high- and ultra-high-frequency circuits, whereby crosstalk between signal lines may be reduced or eliminated in a reliable manner.” ¶ Column 1, Lines 41-44; the space is the rectangular coaxial cavity bounded by shield 7).
However, Florjancic et al. does not disclose an electronic device.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, ALEKSOV et al. Fig. 28 discloses, an electronic device comprising IC circuit (“computer device 2800 may include a number of components, such as one or more processor(s) 2804 (one shown) and at least one communication chip 2806. In various embodiments, the one or more processor(s) 2804 each may include one or more processor cores. In various embodiments, the at least one communication chip 2806 may be physically and electrically coupled to the one or more processor(s) 2804.” ¶ [0141]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to incorporate IC device of Florjancic et al. with ALEKSOV et al. in order to provide a simple and inexpensive process for fabrication of fully shielded signal lines in high- and ultra-high-frequency circuits, whereby crosstalk between signal lines may be reduced or eliminated in a reliable manner (Florjancic et al., Column 1, Lines 40-44).
With Regard to Claim 19, Florjancic et al. as modified by ALEKSOV et al. discloses the limitations of claim 18. Florjancic et al. Figs. 1-2 further discloses wherein: the at least one continuous conductive shield comprises a first continuous conductive shield disposed along a first side of the transmission line (the left side wall of outer conductor 7; “the location of the outer conductor 7 of the finished signal line 1 or 2, are removed to thereby form a lower set of gaps 12….The lower gaps 12 in the with the film removed are filled with copper by electrodeposition.” Column 2, Lines 36-41; “an additional photoprocess in upper gap areas 19, which correspond to the upper part of the outer conductor 7……. The upper gaps 19 in the film 18 are filled with copper by electrodeposition.” Column 3, Lines 8-13) and a second continuous conductive shield disposed along a second side opposite the first side of the transmission line (the right side wall of outer conductor 7; “the location of the outer conductor 7 of the finished signal line 1 or 2, are removed to thereby form a lower set of gaps 12….The lower gaps 12 in the with the film removed are filled with copper by electrodeposition.” Column 2, Lines 36-41; “an additional photoprocess in upper gap areas 19, which correspond to the upper part of the outer conductor 7……. The upper gaps 19 in the film 18 are filled with copper by electrodeposition.” Column 3, Lines 8-13).
With Regard to Claim 20, Florjancic et al. as modified by ALEKSOV et al. discloses the limitations of claim 18. However, Florjancic et al. does not disclose wherein the electronic device comprises at least one of:
a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit;
a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, or a device in an automotive vehicle.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, ALEKSOV et al. Fig. 28 discloses, wherein the electronic device comprises at least one of:
a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit;
a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, or a device in an automotive vehicle (“the computer device 2800 may be a laptop, a netbook, a notebook, an ultrabook, a smartphone, a computer tablet, a personal digital assistant (PDA), an ultra-mobile PC, a mobile phone, a desktop computer, a server, a printer, a scanner, a monitor, a set-top box, an entertainment control unit (e.g., a gaming console or automotive entertainment unit), a digital camera, an appliance, a portable music player, or a digital video recorder. In further implementations, the computer device 2800 may be any other electronic device that processes data.” ¶ [0141]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to incorporate IC device of Florjancic et al. with ALEKSOV et al. in order to provide a simple and inexpensive process for fabrication of fully shielded signal lines in high- and ultra-high-frequency circuits, whereby crosstalk between signal lines may be reduced or eliminated in a reliable manner (Florjancic et al., Column 1, Lines 40-44).
Conclusion
The prior art (US 20190148807 A1) “Sikina et al.”, filing date 2018-11-07 made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
/AKHEE SARKER-NAG/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893