DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiriet et al. (US 2022/0185489 A1) in view of Shipley et al (US 2012/0086266 A1).
Re Claim 1: Thiriet teaches a power generation and distribution system for an electric aircraft (see 10, fig.1 para 0021-0023), the power generation and distribution system comprising: a plurality of generators driven by a turbine engine to produce electrical power (see 12, 14 fig.1 para 0021-0023); a plurality of motors configured to drive a plurality of propellers of the electric aircraft (see 20, 22, 24, 26 and 202, 242, 262, fig.1 para 0021-0023); one or more of the junction boxes (see 34, fig.3 para 0037-0038), one or more of the junction boxes comprising contactors transitionable between an open position and a closed position (see contractors in 34 fig.3 para 0037-0038), the junction box configured to selectively provide electrical power from at least one of the plurality of generators to at least one of the plurality of motors (see 34 fig.1 para 0025: 34 directing the best adapted energy source); and a plurality of backup batteries (see 16, 18, 38 fig.1 para 0029) the plurality of backup batteries configured to provide electrical power to the plurality of motors (see 16, 18, 38 fig.1, 3 para 0025, 0029: 34 directing the best adapted energy source); through the junction box to power the plurality of motors during at least a remedial procedure or emergency procedure when the produced electrical power is not supplied by one or more of the plurality of generators (see “faulty turbo generator” para 0032, 34, 16, 18, para 0021, 0032, 0035 0038).
Thiriet doesn’t expressly teach a plurality of junction boxes.
In an analogous art Shipley teaches a plurality of junction boxes (see 13/100, 18/140 fig.1/3 para 0018, 0021, 0023) Shows multiple distribution boxes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to implement the contactors-based routing functions of Thiriet in multiple power distribution boxes of Shipley to provide plurality of junction box enclosures across the aircraft each containing contractors distribution hardware to achieve known benefits of redundancy, localized distribution and reduce wiring weight.
Re Claim 15: Thiriet teaches method for generating and distributing power for an electric aircraft (see 10, fig.1 para 0021-0023), the method comprising: providing a power generation and distribution system including a plurality of generators driven by a turbine engine to produce electrical power (see 12, 14 fig.1 para 0021-0023); a plurality of motors configured to drive a plurality of propellers (see 20, 22, 24, 26 and 202, 242, 262, fig.1 para 0021-0023); a junction box (see 34, 28, fig.3 para 0037-0038), configured to direct power from at least one of the plurality of generators to at least one of the plurality of motors (see 34 fig.1 para 0025: 34 directing the best adapted energy source);, and a plurality of backup batteries (see 16, 18, 38 fig.1 para 0029); starting the power generation and distribution system (see 120/140, 122/1142, 222/242 para 0022, 0032; engines and generators power the thrusters via 28); responsive to increased demand for power at one or more of the plurality of motors (see para 0009, 0010, 0025-0029 electrical energy storage assemblies smooth the power supply) , discharge energy from at least one of the plurality of backup batteries to supplement the electrical power produced by the plurality of generators to meet the increased demand at the one or more of the plurality of motors (see 16, 18, 38 fig.1, 3 para 0025, 0029: 34 directing the best adapted energy source para 0009, also see best adapted energy resources based on available energy and fuel resource para 0025); and responsive to failure of at least one of the generators, discharge power from the plurality of backup batteries to the plurality of motors to perform a remedial procedure or emergency procedure with the electric aircraft (see “faulty turbo generator” para 0032, 34, 16, 18, para 0021, 0032, 0035, 0038).
Thiriet doesn’t expressly teach a plurality of junction boxes.
In an analogous art Shipley teaches a plurality of junction boxes (see 13/100, 18/140 fig.1/3 para 0018, 0021, 0023) Shows multiple distribution boxes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to implement the contactors-based routing functions of Thiriet in multiple power distribution boxes of Shipley to provide plurality of junction box enclosures across the aircraft each containing contractors distribution hardware to achieve known benefits of redundancy, localized distribution and reduce wiring weight.
Regarding claim 2, combination of Thiriet and Shipley teaches invention set forth above, Combination further teaches wherein the plurality of junction boxes comprise Thiriet: (electrical power and distribution unit 28 from electricity generators, (28, 34, para 0024)) and Shipley: (PPDB 13 receives… from engines, 18 (13, 18 para 0016-0018)); a first junction box configured to receive electrical power from a first of the plurality of generators Thiriet: (turbo‑generator 12 (first branch); generator 122 (12, 122 para 0021-0022)); Shipley: (PPDB 13 receives electrical power from engines (13, para 0016)) the first junction box configured to direct power from the first of the plurality of generators to at least one of a first motor or a second motor of the plurality of motors Thiriet: (contactor array 34 directing generators to electric thrusters 20, 22 (see, 28+34, 20. 22 para 0025)); Shipley: (SPDBs supply aircraft components/loads (para 0018)); and a second junction box configured to receive electrical power from a second of the plurality of generators Thiriet: (turbo‑generator 14A, 14N (para 0021); generator 142 (14, 142, para 0021-0022)); Shipley: (various SPDB 18 (para 0018)); the second junction box configured to direct power from the second of the plurality of generators to at least one of the first motor or the second motor of the plurality of motors Thiriet: (B2 B2A B3N… substitution of one energy branch by another (para 0038)); Shipley: (SPDBs supply loads, (140/150, para 0022)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to implement the contactors-based routing functions of Thiriet in multiple power distribution boxes of Shipley to provide plurality of junction box enclosures across the aircraft each containing contractors distribution hardware to achieve known benefits of redundancy, localized distribution and reduce wiring weight.
Regarding claim 3, combination of Thiriet and Moore teaches invention set forth above, combination further teaches wherein the plurality of junction boxes further comprise Thiriet: (electrical power and distribution unit 28 from electricity generators, (28, 34, para 0024)) and Shipley: (PPDB 13 receives… from engines, 18 (13, 18 para 0016-0018)); a third junction box configured to receive and sum electrical power from both the first junction box and the second junction box Thiriet: (Unit 28+34 supplies motors from generator 122, 142 and/or storage) (para 0024-0025)); Shipley: (PPDB 100 supply power to bus 110; SPDBs receive from bus 110 (para 0021-0022)); the third junction box configured to direct power from the first junction box and the second junction box to at least one of the first motor or the second motor of the plurality of motors Thiriet: (Unit 28 supplies power to motors 202, 222 from generator 122, 142 (para 0024)); Shipley: (SPDBs 140/150 supply power to loads from bus 110 (para 0022-0023)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to implement the contactors-based routing functions of Thiriet in multiple power distribution boxes of Shipley to provide plurality of junction box enclosures across the aircraft each containing contractors distribution hardware to achieve known benefits of redundancy, localized distribution and reduce wiring weight.
Regarding claim 4, combination of Thiriet and Shipley teaches invention set forth above, combination further teaches wherein the first junction box, the second junction box, and the third junction box provide a plurality of different paths to provide electrical power from the plurality of generators to each of the plurality of motors Thiriet: (N energy branches supplying power selectively to thrusters (para 0021); (contactor array 34 directing generator or electrical energy storage or both (para 0025);Shipley: (two or more power distribution systems (claim 20); (PPDB to bus 110 to multiple SPDBs (para 0021); the plurality of different paths providing redundancy Thiriet: (in the event of a breakdown of one of the two turbo‑generators, electric storage supplying power (para 0027)) Shipley: (Multiple SPDBs/bus systems provide alternate feeds (claim 20)); such that the electrical power can be provided from at least one of the plurality of generators to the plurality of motors responsive to failure of one of the plurality of generators Thiriet: (isolating the faulty turbo‑generator 12, before restarting from assembly 38 (para 0032)); or a short circuit or open circuit in a cable of the power generation and distribution system Thiriet: (P1A, P2A, P2N once open, to isolate each of the turbo‑generators (para 0038)); Shipley: (Multiple SPDBs mitigate wiring failures (para 0007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to implement the contactors-based routing functions of Thiriet in multi‑box/bus distribution for aircraft wiring redundancy of Shipley to provide plurality of junction box enclosures across the aircraft each containing contractors distribution hardware to provide fault tolerance.
Regarding claim 18, combination of Thiriet and Shipley teaches invention set forth above, combination further teaches wherein the plurality of junction boxes provide a plurality of different paths for the transfer of electrical power from the plurality of generators to the plurality of motors Thiriet: (N energy branches supplying power selectively to thrusters (para 0021); (contactor array 34 directing generator or electrical energy storage or both (para 0025);Shipley: (two or more power distribution systems (claim 20); (PPDB to bus 110 to multiple SPDBs (para 0021);, the plurality of junction boxes each comprising contactors Thiriet: (contactor array 34, P1A P2A P2N, B2 B2A B3N (para 0025, 0038)); Shipley: Distribution boxes contain converters/contactors (para 0022); wherein the method includes, responsive to failure of a component, operating the contactors of the plurality of junction boxes to provide electrical power from the plurality of generators to the plurality of motors bypassing the component Thiriet: (in the event of a breakdown of one of the two turbo‑generators, electric storage supplying power; isolating the faulty turbo‑generator (para 0032); open/close contactors and isolating generators (para 0027, 0032, 0038)) Shipley: (Multiple SPDBs/bus systems provide alternate feeds (claim 20)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to implement the contactors-based routing functions of Thiriet in multi‑box/bus distribution for aircraft wiring redundancy of Shipley to provide plurality of junction box enclosures across the aircraft each containing contractors distribution hardware to provide fault tolerance.
Regarding claim 19, combination of Thiriet and Shipley teaches invention set forth above, Combination further teaches wherein the plurality of junction boxes comprise Thiriet: (electrical power and distribution unit 28 from electricity generators, (28, 34, para 0024)) and Shipley: (PPDB 13 receives… from engines, 18 (13, 18 para 0016-0018)); a first junction box configured to receive electrical power from a first of the plurality of generators Thiriet: (turbo‑generator 12 (first branch); generator 122 (12, 122 para 0021-0022)); Shipley: (PPDB 13 receives electrical power from engines (13, para 0016)) the first junction box configured to direct power from the first of the plurality of generators to at least one of a first motor or a second motor of the plurality of motors Thiriet: (contactor array 34 directing generators to electric thrusters 20, 22 (see, 28+34, 20. 22 para 0025)); Shipley: (SPDBs supply aircraft components/loads (para 0018)); and a second junction box configured to receive electrical power from a second of the plurality of generators Thiriet: (turbo‑generator 14A, 14N (para 0021); generator 142 (14, 142, para 0021-0022)); Shipley: (various SPDB 18 (para 0018)); the second junction box configured to direct power from the second of the plurality of generators to at least one of the first motor or the second motor of the plurality of motors Thiriet: (B2 B2A B3N… substitution of one energy branch by another (para 0038)); Shipley: (SPDBs supply loads, (140/150, para 0022)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to implement the contactors-based routing functions of Thiriet in multiple power distribution boxes of Shipley to provide plurality of junction box enclosures across the aircraft each containing contractors distribution hardware to achieve known benefits of redundancy, localized distribution and reduce wiring weight.
Regarding claim 20, combination of Thiriet and Moore teaches invention set forth above, combination further teaches wherein the plurality of junction boxes further comprise Thiriet: (electrical power and distribution unit 28 from electricity generators, (28, 34, para 0024)) and Shipley: (PPDB 13 receives… from engines, 18 (13, 18 para 0016-0018)); a third junction box configured to receive and sum electrical power from both the first junction box and the second junction box Thiriet: (Unit 28+34 supplies motors from generator 122, 142 and/or storage) (para 0024-0025)); Shipley: (PPDB 100 supply power to bus 110; SPDBs receive from bus 110 (para 0021-0022)); the third junction box configured to direct power from the first junction box and the second junction box to at least one of the first motor or the second motor of the plurality of motors Thiriet: (Unit 28 supplies power to motors 202, 222 from generator 122, 142 (para 0024)); Shipley: (SPDBs 140/150 supply power to loads from bus 110 (para 0022-0023)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to implement the contactors-based routing functions of Thiriet in multiple power distribution boxes of Shipley to provide plurality of junction box enclosures across the aircraft each containing contractors distribution hardware to achieve known benefits of redundancy, localized distribution and reduce wiring weight.
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiriet et al. (US 2022/0185489 A1) in view of Shipley et al (US 2012/0086266 A1) further in view of Zhan et al. (US 20200321649 A1).
Regarding claim 5, combination of Thiriet and Shipley teaches invention set forth above, combination further teaches wherein each of the plurality of backup batteries are configured to receive electrical power from one or more of the plurality of generators through a corresponding one of the plurality of junction boxes Shipley: (PPDB 13 receives generator power; SPDBs 18 (corresponding JBs) supply loads (para 0016-0018); Thiriet: (storage assembly from generators via unit 28 (para 0024).
Combination doesn’t expressly teach the plurality of backup batteries electrically coupled with each other in parallel and comprising a first plurality of contactors transitionable into an open position to electrically de-couple one or more of the plurality of backup batteries from the parallel arrangement, and a second plurality of contactors transitionable into an open position to electrically de-couple any of the plurality of backup batteries from the corresponding one of the plurality of junction boxes.
In an analogous art Zhan teaches the plurality of backup batteries electrically coupled with each other in parallel (see 102, 103 fig.3 para 0036-0037)and comprising a first plurality of contactors transitionable into an open position to electrically de-couple one or more of the plurality of backup batteries from the parallel arrangement (See 1011 fig.5 para 0037, 0046) , and a second plurality of contactors transitionable into an open position to electrically de-couple any of the plurality of backup batteries from the corresponding one of the plurality of junction boxes (see 1012/1013 output nodes p+/p- fig.6 para 0038) Thiriet and Shipley teaches the plurality of junction boxes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Zhan's parallel batteries with dual-plurality switching for de-coupling individual batteries from parallel arrangement and from output in the invention of Thiriet and Shipley to enable fault-isolated parallel backup batteries per junction box while maintaining redundancy.
Regarding claim 6, combination of Thiriet, Shipley and Zhan teach invention set forth above, Zhan further teaches wherein the first plurality of contactors of the plurality of backup batteries and the second plurality of contactors of the plurality of backup batteries are solid state switches configured to transition between the open position and a closed position (See MOS transisitors, open close via control para 0040, 0048)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ Zhan's MOS transistor solid-state switches for the first/second pluralities isolating backup batteries in the invention of Thiriet and Shipley to provide fast, reliable open/closed transitions in redundant power systems.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiriet et al. (US 2022/0185489 A1) in view of Shipley et al (US 2012/0086266 A1) further in view of Weiss et al. (US 2015/0256112 A1).
Regarding claim 7, combination of Thiriet and Shipley teaches invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach further comprising a pre-charge circuit provided for at least one of the plurality of junction boxes, the pre-charge circuit comprising: a main cable and a first contactor; a bypass cable and a second contactor; and a resistor positioned along the bypass cable; wherein when the power generation and distribution system is powered on, the first contactor is maintained in an open position and the second contactor is transitioned into a closed position so that electrical power passes through the bypass cable and the resistor, the first contactor maintained in the open position and the second contactor maintained in the closed position until a plurality of capacitors downstream of the pre-charge circuit are charged, wherein in response to the plurality of capacitors being charged, the first contactor is transitioned into the closed position and the second contactor is transitioned into the open position so that the electrical power flows through the main cable and the first contactor. In an analogous art Weiss teaches further comprising a pre-charge circuit provided for at least one of the plurality of junction boxes, the pre-charge circuit comprising: a main cable and a first contactor; a bypass cable and a second contactor (see Para 0004-0005); and a resistor positioned along the bypass cable; wherein when the power generation and distribution system is powered on, the first contactor is maintained in an open position and the second contactor is transitioned into a closed position so that electrical power passes through the bypass cable and the resistor (see Para 0018-0019);, the first contactor maintained in the open position and the second contactor maintained in the closed position until a plurality of capacitors downstream of the pre-charge circuit are charged, wherein in response to the plurality of capacitors being charged, the first contactor is transitioned into the closed position and the second contactor is transitioned into the open position so that the electrical power flows through the main cable and the first contactor (See fig.1, fig.2 para 0004-0005, 0018-0019, 0021-0025, 0027-0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use standard pre charge circuit of Weiss in the invention of Thiriet and Shipley to improve reliability with Minium design risk.
Regarding claim 16, combination of Thiriet and Shipley teaches invention set forth above, Thiriet further teaches wherein starting the power generation and distribution system comprises: initiating operation of the turbine engine and the plurality of generators to produce electrical power (See 120, 140, 122, 142 fig.1 para 0007, 0021-0025); Combination doesn’t expressly teach operating a first contactor of a bypass cable of a pre-charge circuit to transition into a closed position such that the electrical power flows through the bypass cable, the first contactor, and a resistor, the first contactor of the pre-charge circuit maintained in the closed position until capacitors downstream at a plurality of motor inverters are balanced with voltage at a plurality of converters; and responsive to the capacitor at the plurality of motor inverters are balanced with the voltage at the plurality of converters, operating the first contactor into an open position and operating a second contactor of a main cable from an open position into a closed position such that electrical power generated by the plurality of generators flows through the main cable to the plurality of junction boxes and the plurality of motors.
In an analogous art Weiss teaches operating a first contactor of a bypass cable of a pre-charge circuit to transition into a closed position such that the electrical power flows through the bypass cable, the first contactor, and a resistor, the first contactor of the pre-charge circuit maintained in the closed position until capacitors downstream at a plurality of motor inverters are balanced with voltage at a plurality of converters; and responsive to the capacitor at the plurality of motor inverters are balanced with the voltage at the plurality of converters, operating the first contactor into an open position and operating a second contactor of a main cable from an open position into a closed position such that electrical power generated by the plurality of generators flows through the main cable to the plurality of junction boxes and the plurality of motors(See fig.1, fig.2 0014, 0019, 0024-0025, 0027-0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use standard pre charge circuit of Weiss in the invention of Thiriet and Shipley to improve reliability with Minium design risk.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiriet et al. (US 2022/0185489 A1) in view of Shipley et al (US 2012/0086266 A1) further in view of Kumar et al (US 2023/0182908 A1).
Regarding claim 17, combination of Thiriet and Shipley teaches invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach further comprising: responsive to the plurality of motors being back-driven by the propellers and generating electrical power, at least one of charging the plurality of backup batteries or dissipating the electrical power generated by the back-driving of the plurality of motors.
In an analogous art Kumar teaches further comprising: responsive to the plurality of motors being back-driven by the propellers and generating electrical power, at least one of charging the plurality of backup batteries or dissipating the electrical power generated by the back-driving of the plurality of motors (see para 0021-0024, 0034, 0072, 0082)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use regenerative propulsors of Kumar in the invention of Thiriet and Moore to improve reliability, safety and voltage control on Dc Bus.
Claim(s) 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiriet et al. (US 2022/0185489 A1) in view of Shipley et al (US 2012/0086266 A1) further in view of Pan et al. (US2025/0202230 A1).
Re Claim 8: Thiriet teaches an electric aircraft (see VTOL aircraft with hybrid propulsion, para 0005) comprising: a fuselage (see body of VTOL aircraft with hybrid propulsion, para 0005); a power generation and distribution system comprising: a plurality of generators driven by a turbine engine to produce electrical power (see 12, 14 fig.1 para 0021-0023);; a plurality of motors configured to drive the plurality of propellers of the electric aircraft (see 10, fig.1 para 0021-0023),; one or more of the junction boxes (see 34, fig.3 para 0037-0038), each of the junction boxes comprising contactors transitionable between an open position and a closed position (see contractors in 34 fig.3 para 0037-0038), the junction boxes each configured to selectively provide electrical power from at least one of the plurality of generators to at least one of the plurality of motors (see 34 fig.1 para 0025: 34 directing the best adapted energy source); and a plurality of backup batteries (see 16, 18, 38 fig.1,3 para 0029) , the plurality of backup batteries configured to provide electrical power to the plurality of motors (see 16, 18, 38 fig.1, 3 para 0025, 0029: 34 directing the best adapted energy source); through the plurality of junction boxes to power the plurality of motors during at least a remedial procedure or emergency procedure (see “faulty turbo generator” para 0032, 34, 16, 18, para 0021, 0032, 0035 0038).
Thiriet doesn’t expressly teach wings rotatably coupled with the fuselage and configured to be driven to rotate relative to the fuselage; and a plurality of junction boxes.
In an analogous art Shipley teaches a fuselage; a plurality of junction boxes (see 13/100, 18/140 fig.1/3 para 0018, 0021, 0023) Shows multiple distribution boxes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to implement the contactors-based routing functions of Thiriet in multiple power distribution boxes of Shipley to provide plurality of junction box enclosures across the aircraft each containing contractors distribution hardware to achieve known benefits of redundancy, localized distribution and reduce wiring weight.
Combination doesn’t expressly teach wings rotatably coupled with the fuselage and configured to be driven to rotate relative to the fuselage
In an analogous art Pan teaches wings rotatably coupled with the fuselage and configured to be driven to rotate relative to the fuselage (see tilt-wing/ rotary wing aircraft fig.1 para 0024, 0036);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use rotatable wings in aircraft configuration of Pan in the aircraft power generation and distribution of Thiriet and Shipley to transition between Vertical lift and traditional takeoff.
Regarding claim 9, combination of Thiriet, Shipley and Pan teaches invention set forth above, Thiriet and Shipley further teaches wherein the plurality of junction boxes Thiriet: (unit 28 supply power to motors from generators (para 0024)): Shipley: (PPDB 13; SPDB 18 (para 0016–0018)); comprise: a first junction box configured to receive electrical power from a first of the plurality of generators; the first junction box configured to direct power from the first of the plurality of generators to at least one of a first motor or a second motor of the plurality of motors Thiriet: (turbo‑generator 12; array 34 directing the best adapted energy source to thrusters) (para 0021, 0025)); Shipley: (PPDB 13; SPDBs supply loads (para 0016-0018)); and a second junction box configured to receive electrical power from a second of the plurality of generators; the second junction box configured to direct power from the second of the plurality of generators to at least one of the first motor or the second motor of the plurality of motors Thiriet: (turbo‑generator 14A; B2 B2A B3 substitution of energy branch (para 0021, 0038)); Shipley: (various SPDB 18 para 0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to implement the contactors-based routing functions of Thiriet in multiple power distribution boxes of Shipley to provide plurality of junction box enclosures across the aircraft each containing contractors distribution hardware to achieve known benefits of redundancy, localized distribution and reduce wiring weight.
Regarding claim 10, combination of Thiriet, Shipley and Pan teaches invention set forth above, Thiriet and Shipley further teaches wherein the plurality of junction boxes further comprise Thiriet: (electrical power and distribution unit 28 from electricity generators, (28, 34, para 0024)) and Shipley: (PPDB 13 receives… from engines, 18 (13, 18 para 0016-0018)); a third junction box configured to receive and sum electrical power from both the first junction box and the second junction box Thiriet: (Unit 28+34 supplies motors from generator 122, 142 and/or storage) (para 0024-0025)); Shipley: (PPDB 100 supply power to bus 110; SPDBs receive from bus 110 (para 0021-0022)); the third junction box configured to direct power from the first junction box and the second junction box to at least one of the first motor or the second motor of the plurality of motors Thiriet: (Unit 28 supplies power to motors 202, 222 from generator 122, 142 (para 0024)); Shipley: (SPDBs 140/150 supply power to loads from bus 110 (para 0022-0023)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to implement the contactors-based routing functions of Thiriet in multiple power distribution boxes of Shipley to provide plurality of junction box enclosures across the aircraft each containing contractors distribution hardware to achieve known benefits of redundancy, localized distribution and reduce wiring weight.
Regarding claim 11, combination of Thiriet, Shipley and Pan teaches invention set forth above, Thiriet and Shipley further teaches wherein the first junction box, the second junction box, and the third junction box provide a plurality of different paths to provide electrical power from the plurality of generators to each of the plurality of motors Thiriet: (N energy branches supplying power selectively to thrusters (para 0021); (contactor array 34 directing generator or electrical energy storage or both (para 0025);Shipley: (two or more power distribution systems (claim 20); (PPDB to bus 110 to multiple SPDBs (para 0021); the plurality of different paths providing redundancy Thiriet: (in the event of a breakdown of one of the two turbo‑generators, electric storage supplying power (para 0027)) Shipley: (Multiple SPDBs/bus systems provide alternate feeds (claim 20)); such that the electrical power can be provided from at least one of the plurality of generators to the plurality of motors responsive to failure of one of the plurality of generators Thiriet: (isolating the faulty turbo‑generator 12, before restarting from assembly 38 (para 0032)); or a short circuit or open circuit in a cable of the power generation and distribution system Thiriet: (P1A, P2A, P2N once open, to isolate each of the turbo‑generators (para 0038)); Shipley: (Multiple SPDBs mitigate wiring failures (para 0007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to implement the contactors-based routing functions of Thiriet in multi‑box/bus distribution for aircraft wiring redundancy of Shipley to provide plurality of junction box enclosures across the aircraft each containing contractors distribution hardware to provide fault tolerance.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiriet et al. (US 2022/0185489 A1) in view of Shipley et al (US 2012/0086266 A1) further in view of Pan et al. (US2025/0202230 A1) further in view of Zhan et al. (US 20200321649 A1).
Regarding claim 12, combination of Thiriet, Shipley and Pan teaches invention set forth above, Thiriet and Shipley further teaches wherein each of the plurality of backup batteries are configured to receive electrical power from one or more of the plurality of generators through a corresponding one of the plurality of junction boxes Shipley: (PPDB 13 receives generator power; SPDBs 18 (corresponding JBs) supply loads (para 0016-0018); Thiriet: (storage assembly from generators via unit 28 (para 0024).
Combination doesn’t expressly teach the plurality of backup batteries electrically coupled with each other in parallel and comprising a first plurality of contactors transitionable into an open position to electrically de-couple one or more of the plurality of backup batteries from the parallel arrangement, and a second plurality of contactors transitionable into an open position to electrically de-couple any of the plurality of backup batteries from the corresponding one of the plurality of junction boxes.
In an analogous art Zhan teaches the plurality of backup batteries electrically coupled with each other in parallel (see 102, 103 fig.3 para 0036-0037)and comprising a first plurality of contactors transitionable into an open position to electrically de-couple one or more of the plurality of backup batteries from the parallel arrangement (See 1011 fig.5 para 0037, 0046) , and a second plurality of contactors transitionable into an open position to electrically de-couple any of the plurality of backup batteries from the corresponding one of the plurality of junction boxes (see 1012/1013 output nodes p+/p- fig.6 para 0038) Thiriet and Shipley teaches the plurality of junction boxes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Zhan's parallel batteries with dual-plurality switching for de-coupling individual batteries from parallel arrangement and from output in the invention of Thiriet, Shipley and Pan to enable fault-isolated parallel backup batteries per junction box while maintaining redundancy.
Regarding claim 13, combination of Thiriet, Shipley, Thiriet, Pan and Zhan teaches invention set forth above, Zhan further teaches wherein the first plurality of contactors of the plurality of backup batteries and the second plurality of contactors of the plurality of backup batteries are solid state switches configured to transition between the open position and a closed position (See MOS transistors, open close via control para 0040, 0048)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ Zhan's MOS transistor solid-state switches for the first/second pluralities isolating backup batteries in the invention of Thiriet, Shipley and Pan to provide fast, reliable open/closed transitions in redundant power systems.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiriet et al. (US 2022/0185489 A1) in view of Shipley et al (US 2012/0086266 A1) further in view of Pan et al. (US2025/0202230 A1) further in view of Weiss et al. (US 2015/0256112 A1).
Regarding claim 14, combination of Thiriet, Shipley and Pan teaches invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach further comprising a pre-charge circuit provided for at least one of the plurality of junction boxes, the pre-charge circuit comprising: a main cable and a first contactor; a bypass cable and a second contactor; and a resistor positioned along the bypass cable; wherein when the power generation and distribution system is powered on, the first contactor is maintained in an open position and the second contactor is transitioned into a closed position so that electrical power passes through the bypass cable and the resistor, the first contactor maintained in the open position and the second contactor maintained in the closed position until a capacitor downstream of the pre-charge circuit is charged, wherein in response to the capacitor being charged, the first contactor is transitioned into the closed position and the second contactor is transitioned into the open position so that the electrical power flows through the main cable and the first contactor.
In an analogous art Weiss teaches further comprising a pre-charge circuit provided for at least one of the plurality of junction boxes, the pre-charge circuit comprising: a main cable and a first contactor; a bypass cable and a second contactor (see Para 0004-0005); and a resistor positioned along the bypass cable; wherein when the power generation and distribution system is powered on, the first contactor is maintained in an open position and the second contactor is transitioned into a closed position so that electrical power passes through the bypass cable and the resistor (see Para 0018-0019); the first contactor maintained in the open position and the second contactor maintained in the closed position until a capacitor downstream of the pre-charge circuit is charged, wherein in response to the capacitor being charged, the first contactor is transitioned into the closed position and the second contactor is transitioned into the open position so that the electrical power flows through the main cable and the first contactor (See fig.1, fig.2 para 0004-0005, 0018-0019, 0021-0025, 0027-0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use standard pre charge circuit of Weiss in the invention of Thiriet, Shipley and Pan to improve reliability with Minium design risk.
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/RYAN JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849