DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because line 1 contains legal phraseology "The present invention discloses". A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 2, line 6 "the trajectory groove" should be changed to --the inclined trajectory groove--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: linkage driving apparatus in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3, lines 1-2 the limitation “an included angle is present between each of the linkage rods and each of the movable sheets” is unclear. It is confusing if the angle is between each of the linkage rods, between each of the movable sheets, or between the linkage rod and a movable sheet.
In claim 10, lines 7-9 and 11 (four instances) the limitation “a pipeline” is unclear if the limitation is referring to the same pipeline in line 5 or are they additional and different pipelines.
In claim 11, line 12 the limitation “a rotary shaft” is unclear if the shaft is the same or in addition to the shaft in line 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo (11,806,306).
With respect to claim 1, Guo discloses a hand-held massager (fig 1), comprising a housing (100, fig 1); two opposite movable sheets (410/420, fig 3) arranged at intervals (see sheets spaced apart in fig 5), each of the movable sheets being at least partially located in an inner cavity of the housing (see col. 9, lines 34-40), so that rotary connection parts of the movable sheets (421, fig 5) are rotatably connected to an inner wall of the housing (connected via 510, fig 3 and 8); and flexible massage sleeves (110, fig 4) covering the movable sheets (see col. 7, lines 15-18), and wherein a driving mechanism (480/470/430/440, fig 8) for driving the two movable sheets to move oppositely is arranged in the inner cavity of the housing (see fig 3 and col. 8, lines 10-32), the driving mechanism comprises a linkage driving apparatus (470, fig 8) and a linear motion piece (430/440, fig 10; see linear arrows of movement), motion control parts (412, fig 8; two instances) of the two movable sheets are respectively in transmission connection with a motion output part of the linear motion piece (433, fig 8; two instances), and the linkage driving apparatus drives the linear motion piece to do a linear reciprocating motion to drive the motion control parts of the movable sheets to swing back and forth (see col. 10, lines 8-16 and 28-60), thereby driving the two movable sheets to swing in opposite directions (‘approaching or moving away from each other, so as to realize the pinching’ col. 7, lines 52-53), so that two opposite side walls of the flexible massage sleeves have a state of being close to each other (approaching) and a state of being away from each other (moving away), thereby performing a pinch type massage (see col. 7, lines 52-53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Leng (CN108743300).
With respect to claim 10, Guo discloses the housing is internally provided with a suction pump (310, fig 4) and a suction channel (air pipe) communicating with a suction hole in the flexible massage sleeve (with bell shaped cap; col. 14, lines 4-15) but is silent regarding the housing is internally provided with a three-way electromagnetic valve, and a three-way connector.
However, Leng teaches a massage device (fig 1) with a housing (20, fig 1) is internally provided with a three-way electromagnetic valve (15, fig 1), a suction pump (14, fig 1) and a three-way connector (13, fig 1), the housing is provided with an air channel communicating with the outside and a suction channel communicating with a suction hole (cavity of seal cover 2, fig 1), a suction port of the suction pump is connected to a first port of the three-way electromagnetic valve through a pipeline, a first branch pipe of the three-way connector is mounted on the air channel or connected to the air channel through a pipeline, a second port of the three-way electromagnetic valve is connected to the suction channel through a pipeline, an air outlet of the suction pump is connected to a second branch pipe of the three-way connector through a pipeline, and a third port of the three-way electromagnetic valve is connected to a third branch pipe of the three-way connector through a pipeline (see fig 1 and translation of Leng pg. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pump and suction of Guo to include an electromagnetic valve with a 3-way connector as taught by Leng so as to control the air pressure within the suction device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record, Guo, does not specifically disclose the claimed device as presented in claim 2. Guo fails to disclose an inclined trajectory groove is formed in a peripheral wall of the rotating shaft, the linear motion piece is parallelly arranged at a side of the rotating shaft, a guide protrusion part is arranged on one side of the linear motion piece facing the rotating shaft, the guide protrusion part is arranged in the trajectory groove and to modify would be improper hindsight.
The closest prior art of record, Guo, does not specifically disclose the claimed device as presented in claim 11. Guo fails to disclose the rotating shaft being spirally provided with a trajectory groove, the linkage rod being drivingly connected to the movable sheets, the linkage rod being provided with an elongated hole, and the linear motion piece being constrained to be movably arranged in the first direction and in a reciprocating manner and to pass through the trajectory groove and the elongated hole and to modify would be improper hindsight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen (2025/0090412), Wang (12,161,598), and He (11,369,545) are cited to show additional swinging and pinching massagers.
/KELSEY E BALLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TU A VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785