DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant has amended Claim 30 and added Claim 50. Claims 30 – 50 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered.
With regards to previous art rejections, applicant amended the independent claim to require the throttle disposed between the thermal storage medium and the heat receiving unit and comprising a pair of movable mechanical structures configured to move in opposing directions relative to one another between more open and more closed positions. While examiner believes that, under BRI, Ortega teaches this feature since in the closed position (see Figure 5), the tips of each shutter piece that touch to block heat transfer move in opposite directions relative to one another as they rotate about their respective axes to move to the open position (see Figure 6), for the sake of compact prosecution, the tertiary reference of Jubb is provided that clearly teaches moveable mechanical structures (shutters 100, Figure 2) configured to move in opposing directions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30 – 37, 39, and 45 – 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponec et al. (hereafter “Ponec” – US 2021/0143446) in view of Ortega (US 4424800), further in view of Jubb (US 4222367).
With regards to Claim 30:
Ponec discloses a system for storing energy (Figures 1 – 3, 9B) comprising:
an insulated container (steel shell 112 with insulating layer 114, see Paragraph 36) comprising a thermal storage medium (thermal storage medium 210);
a heating element (see Paragraph 35, which describes numerous forms of heat which may be used to heat the thermal storage medium 210) configured to heat the thermal storage medium, the thermal storage medium and the heating element configured such that the heating element can heat the thermal storage medium to a temperature of at least 1100 °C (Paragraph 35: “temperatures in the range of, e.g., 1000 degrees Celsius (0% state of charge, SoC) to 2500 degrees Celsius (100% SoC)”);
a heat receiving unit (heat engines 312) configured to receive power emitted from the thermal storage medium (Paragraphs 34, 37); and
a throttle (actuation system 450 in separate auxiliary chamber 400 including doors 812 as discussed in Paragraph 92 and shown in Figure 9B) disposed between the thermal storage medium and the heat receiving unit and configured to dynamically (Paragraph 11: “dynamically discharge different regions of the thermal storage medium”) control the power received by the heat receiving unit from the thermal storage medium (Paragraphs 92, 93) by adjusting a view factor between the thermal storage medium and the heat receiving unit (by opening and closing doors 812, see Figure 9B and Paragraphs 92, 93).
Ponec does not explicitly disclose the throttle is adjustable between a fully closed position, a fully open position, and one or more intermediate positions between the fully closed position and the fully open position. However, one intended outcome of Ponec is to “dynamically discharge different regions of the thermal storage medium” (Paragraph 11) and “a control system is configured to activate different subsets of insulated doors at different times to vary a region of discharge of the thermal storage medium over time” (Paragraph 10). In one embodiment “the actuation system 450, stored in an auxiliary chamber 400 located above the ancillary chamber 300, is configured to open or close insulated doors 812 disposed in the openings 810 in order to activate (i.e., door open) or deactivate (i.e., door closed) each corresponding heat engine 312 located behind the door 812” (Paragraph 92) such that “the heat engine 312 is fixed in the same position within the ancillary chamber 300 in both the open and closed configuration of the door 812. For example, the heat engines 312 can be attached to a ceiling of the ancillary chamber 300 such that the heat engines 312 do not move with the mechanism of the door 812” (Paragraph 93). All this to say that, structurally and intended-use-wise, the system of Ponec would be able to have an intermediate position between open and closed, i.e. partially open/not fully closed. Ortega (Figures 3 – 8) teaches a thermal mass (60) along with a heating element (sun, solar radiation) and a heat receiving unit (room 510). Ortega goes on to teach throttles (louvers 20, 530), which have a first configuration (wide open as seen in Figure 8), and a second configuration (partially open as seen in Figure 6), and “can be adjustably opened in various degrees to provide variable amounts of thermal energy release into the rooms 90 and/or 510” (Col. 6, Lines 40 – 42). MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results. In this case, Ponec is structurally capable of intermediate positions and deals with attempting to achieve a target temperature where intermediate positions would be desirable. Ortega, in a similar heat storage charging/discharging system, teaches louvers which are able to take on a multitude of positions based on the degree of heat transfer required. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Ponec to employ this same approach of a varied degree of opening in order to better reach their target temperatures and better achieve a dynamic discharge of the thermal storage medium as desired.
While Ortega appears to teach the throttles including a pair of movable mechanical structures configured to move in opposing directions relative to one another between more open and more closed positions (see Figures 3 – 8, adjacent pivotal slots 20 touch to block heat transfer / radiation – the contacting tips of adjacent slots move in opposing directions when each slot pivots from the closed configuration to the open configuration), for the sake of compact prosecution, Jubb (Figure 2) teaches a receiving unit (14, 16) and a throttle (shutters 100) that includes a pair of movable mechanical structures configured to move in opposing directions relative to one another between more open and more closed positions (see Figure 2 and Col. 2, Lines 12 – 21). MPEP 2143B teaches it is obvious to substitute known elements for one another in order to yield predictable results. In this case, pivoting shutters as shown in Ortega and translating shutters as shown in Jubb perform the same function of allowing/blocking heat/radiation at varying degrees to a receiving unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ponec as modified by substituting the pivoting shutters for the translating shutters and yield the same expected result of varying the degree of heat/radiation transfer to the receiving unit from the thermal storage medium.
With regards to Claim 31:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 teaches the heating element is configured to heat the thermal storage medium using thermal radiation (Paragraph 35 of Ponec: “Examples of non-electrical sources include high temperature waste heat from industrial facilities, combustion heat, or solar radiation”).
With regards to Claim 32:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 teaches the thermal storage medium and the heating element are configured such that the heating element can heat the thermal storage medium to a temperature of at least 1500 °C (Paragraph 35 of Ponec: “temperatures in the range of, e.g., 1000 degrees Celsius (0% state of charge, SoC) to 2500 degrees Celsius (100% SoC)”).
With regards to Claim 33:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 teaches the thermal storage medium and the heating element are configured such that the heating element can heat the thermal storage medium to a temperature of at least 2000 °C (Paragraph 35 of Ponec: “temperatures in the range of, e.g., 1000 degrees Celsius (0% state of charge, SoC) to 2500 degrees Celsius (100% SoC)”).
With regards to Claims 34 and 49:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 does not explicitly teach a shutter configured to shield the heating element from the thermal storage medium to prevent heat from the thermal storage medium from leaking out of the system through the heating element when the heating element is in an idle state or a binary shutter configured to be inserted between the heat receiving unit and the throttle and/or the thermal storage medium in order to stop the heat receiving unit from receiving additional heat. Ortega (Figures 5, 6) teaches a thermal mass (60) along with a heating element (sun, solar radiation) and a heat receiving unit (room 510). Ortega goes on to teach shutters (louvers 20, 530) on both sides of the thermal mass, such that they control the power received by the heat receiving unit from the thermal storage medium by adjusting a view factor between the thermal storage medium and the heat receiving unit (see Figures 5, 6, and Col. 6, Lines 40 – 42) in order to stop the heat receiving unit from receiving addition heat, and also shield the heating element from the thermal storage medium to prevent heat from the thermal storage medium from leaking out of the system through the heating element when the heating element is in an idle state (see Figures 5, 6, and Col. 6, Lines 12 – 52). Keeping the shutters closed on the heating element side shields the thermal mass such that “heat builds up in the dead air space and in the thermal mass 60” (ld). Keeping the shutters closed on the heat receiving unit side is necessary “if radiated heat 70 is not immediately required in the back room 510, thereby permitting even greater thermal storage in the wall 60 for subsequent use in the rooms 90 and 510” (ld). MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results. In this case, the addition of shutters to Ponec as modified on both the heating element side and heat receiving unit would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to yield the predictable benefits described above.
With regards to Claim 35:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 teaches the heat receiving unit is configured to transfer heat energy from the thermal storage medium to water, steam, oil and/or air to transport heat energy from the thermal storage medium into usable heat energy (Paragraph 39 of Ponec: “In some embodiments, the heated fluid used to cool the heat engines 312 can be used to generate steam and directed to a steam turbine so that at least a portion of the heat drawn off the heat engines 312 can be converted back into electricity by a generator coupled to the steam turbine. The electricity generated by the generator can be combined with the electricity produced by the heat engines 312 in the electrical output or fed back into the thermal storage medium to re-heat the blocks”).
With regards to Claim 36:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 teaches the heat receiving unit comprises a pipe system configured to transport a fluid medium, the pipe system comprising a length of pipe within radiative range of a surface of the thermal storage medium, the fluid medium configured to transport heat energy from the thermal storage medium to be converted into usable heat energy (Paragraph 39 of Ponec: “In an embodiment, the heat engines 312 are cooled to a temperature of less than 150 degrees Celsius to maintain efficient operation (e.g., air-cooled, liquid-cooled, or other suitable cooling solutions). It will be appreciated that the limit of 150 degrees Celsius is one exemplary temperature limit; however, in other embodiments, the temperature limit can be higher (e.g., 400 degrees Celsius) based on the structure and materials (or other design characteristics) of the heat engines 312. In a liquid-cooled embodiment, the coolant can be pumped to the TPV heat engines through the gantry structure, and the heated coolant can be fed out to a radiator or other heat exchanger. In some embodiments, the heated fluid used to cool the heat engines 312 can be used to generate steam and directed to a steam turbine so that at least a portion of the heat drawn off the heat engines 312 can be converted back into electricity by a generator coupled to the steam turbine. The electricity generated by the generator can be combined with the electricity produced by the heat engines 312 in the electrical output or fed back into the thermal storage medium to re-heat the blocks. Additionally, the heat from the coolant could be used in other ways, e.g., to supply heat to an industrial process or to provide heating (e.g., radiant heat) for a facility or district” – the cooling mentioned in this citation would inherently require some form of “pipe system” within a radiative range of the thermal mass).
With regards to Claim 37:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 teaches an electrode coupled to the heating element (electrodes 314, Figure 3 of Ponec).
With regards to Claim 39:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 teaches the electrode is permanently coupled to the heating element (see Figure 3 of Ponec, where electrode 314 is attached within the storage medium blocks 310).
With regards to Claim 45:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 teaches the heat receiving unit comprises a thermophotovoltaic (TPV) heat engine (Paragraph 32 of Ponec: “the heat engine is preferably a thermophotovoltaic (TPV) heat engine”).
With regards to Claim 46:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 teaches the heat receiving unit comprises a thermal receiver configured to use a heat transfer fluid (“coolant”, Paragraph 39 of Ponec) to move heat from the heat receiving unit to another, external process (Paragraph 39 of Ponec: cooling the TPV heat engine, wherein “the heat from the coolant could be used in other ways, e.g., to supply heat to an industrial process or to provide heating (e.g., radiant heat) for a facility or district”).
With regards to Claim 47:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 teaches the heat receiving unit resides on an inner side wall of the insulated container (see Figure 9B of Ponec, showing heat engines 312 fixed to an inner side wall of the shell, see also Paragraph 93 of Ponec: “the heat engine 312 is fixed in the same position within the ancillary chamber 300 in both the open and closed configuration of the door 812. For example, the heat engines 312 can be attached to a ceiling of the ancillary chamber 300 such that the heat engines 312 do not move with the mechanism of the door 812”, and also Paragraph 96: “heat engines 312 can be located behind openings in the floor or walls of the main chamber 200 in addition to or in lieu of the heat engines 312 located behind openings in the ceiling of the main chamber 200”).
With regards to Claim 48:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 teaches the throttle is configured to dynamically control the power transferred from the thermal storage medium to the heat receiving unit to control a power output of the system (Paragraph 86 of Ponec: “the control system 410 providing different sets of heat engine configurations and selectively actuating one of the heat engine configurations in accordance with different operating conditions or output properties/characteristics (e.g., load, current, etc.).”).
With regards to Claim 50:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 teaches the pair of movable mechanical structures comprises a pair of doors that slide in opposing directions (see shutters 100, Figure 2 of Jubb and Col. 2, Liens 12 – 21).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponec et al. (hereafter “Ponec” – US 2021/0143446) in view of Ortega (US 4424800), further in view of Jubb (US 4222367), further in view of Amy et al. (hereafter “Amy” - Amy, C., et al., "Thermal energy grid storage using multi-junction photovoltaics," Energy Environ. Sci., pp 334 – 343, 12, 2019).
With regards to Claim 36:
Alternatively, The Ponec modification of Claim 30 does not explicitly teach the heat receiving unit comprises a pipe system configured to transport a fluid medium, the pipe system comprising a length of pipe within radiative range of a surface of the thermal storage medium, the fluid medium configured to transport heat energy from the thermal storage medium to be converted into usable heat energy. However, Ponec teaches that the heat engines may be TVP heat engines. Amy (Figure 2, Page 337) teaches a TPV engine in a thermal storage system using liquid silicon, wherein the thermal storage medium is “pumped through an array of tubes which emit light. The light/heat is then converted back into electricity using multi-junction photovoltaic cells that convert the visible and near infrared light” (ld). Given that Ponec I silent as to any specific structure of the TPV heat engine, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ponec by using a TPV engine similar to that shown in Amy, which includes a plurality of pipes to transport the thermal storage medium, in order to yield the predictable result of converting the heat into light and then electricity.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponec et al. (hereafter “Ponec” – US 2021/0143446) in view of Ortega (US 4424800), further in view of Jubb (US 4222367), further in view of Smith (US 2142383).
With regards to Claim 38:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 does not explicitly teach the electrode is removable coupled to the heating element. Smith teaches an electrode which is removable in order to facilitate repair/replacement (Col. 1, Lines 4 – 7). It is noted that MPEP 2144 also teaches that the courts have ruled that making something separable is obvious if it were desirable for any reason to facilitate access. Given the teachings of Smith and MPEP 2144, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ponec by making the electrode removable from the heating element in order to repair and/or replace the electrode in the event it should become inoperative.
Claims 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponec et al. (hereafter “Ponec” – US 2021/0143446) in view of Ortega (US 4424800), further in view of Jubb (US 4222367), further in view of Chen et al. (hereafter “Chen” – CN 101303207).
With regards to Claims 39 and 40:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 does not explicitly teach a thermal insulating cap removably coupled to the electrode, wherein the electrode is permanently coupled to the heating element. Chen (Figures 1 – 3) teaches a thermal energy storage system including an electrode (2, 3) permanently coupled to a heating unit (spiral heat coils 8, as shown in Figure 3), wherein a thermal insulating cap is removably coupled to the electrode (see English translation: “the thermal pole and the cold pole are respectively provided with a heat insulating cap at both ends of the outdoor”). MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results. In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ponec by adding removable caps to portions of the electrodes which are sticking out beyond the heat storage material in order to insulate the electrodes. It is further noted that MPEP 2144 also teaches that the courts have ruled that making something separable is obvious if it were desirable for any reason to facilitate access, for example, to facilitate repair/replacement.
Claims 41 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponec et al. (hereafter “Ponec” – US 2021/0143446) in view of Ortega (US 4424800), further in view of Jubb (US 4222367), further in view of Kim et al. (hereafter “Kim” – KR 100709857).
With regards to Claim 41:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 does not explicitly teach a charging coupler removably coupled to the electrode. Kim teaches an energy storage system including an electrode (225) and a charging coupler (terminal 320) removably coupled to the electrode (see Figure 1 and see English translation: “The electrode terminal 320 is connected to the negative electrode tab 225 of the negative electrode plate 220 or the positive electrode tab 215 of the positive electrode plate 210 to serve as a negative terminal or a positive terminal”). MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results. In this case, it would have been obvious to modify the system of Ponec by adding a charging coupler removably coupled to the electrode in order to facilitate charging of the thermal storage material. It is further noted that MPEP 2144 also teaches that the courts have ruled that making something separable is obvious if it were desirable for any reason to facilitate access, for example, to facilitate repair/replacement.
With regards to Claim 42:
Under BRI when read in light of the specification, the Ponec modification of Claim 41 teaches a shield configured to thermally shield the electrode from other system components (see Figure 3, electrodes 314 are located in carbon blocks 310, the carbon acting as a de facto shield). For the sake of compact prosecution, Kim teaches electrodes (210) that are shielded from other components via separators (230). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Ponec by adding shields of some form, such as separators, to shield the electrodes from other components to prevent damage to the electrodes and electric current spread to undesired components.
Claims 43 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponec et al. (hereafter “Ponec” – US 2021/0143446) in view of Ortega (US 4424800), further in view of Jubb (US 4222367), further in view of Hamer et al. (hereafter “Hamer” – US 2007/0209365).
With regards to Claims 43 and 44:
The Ponec modification of Claim 30 does not explicitly teach the electrode is configured to be actively cooled and the electrode is configured for water cooling. Hamer (Figure 1) teaches a thermal storage system including an electrode (16) heating a thermal storage medium (12). Hamer goes on to teach that “[i]n order to ensure that the electrical connections to the electrodes are maintained at a relatively low temperature, the electrical connections may be cooled by means of water circulating through jackets provided around them” (Paragraph 87). MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results. In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the system of Ponec by adding active water cooling to the electrodes in order to ensure they stay at a temperature conducive to efficient operation.
Inquiries
/Laert Dounis/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
Saturday, May 2, 2026