Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments that the office action is only pointing to the electrode in Itou is not persuasive. Each electrode has gaps in between the other, therefore there are slits in between them. Therefore, all the arrows are pointing to the different angles the slits have. Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Itou (US 8294864)
Regarding Claim 1,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) liquid crystals (3); a source electrode (12); and a transparent common electrode layer (16), wherein the liquid crystals (3) are configured to change an alignment of the liquid crystals in response to a voltage applied across the source electrode and the transparent common electrode layer (“…, an application of voltage between the pixel electrode and the common electrode applies a lateral electric field that is directed to be orthogonal to the stretching direction of the slits (x direction) to the liquid crystal layer…”), wherein a slit in the transparent common electrode layer (16) includes at least five angled sections (shown with arrows in pasted drawing below).
Regarding Claim 2,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein a main section of the five angled sections (shown in pasted drawing above) has a main angle (the longer part that’s horizontal) configured to decrease a response time of the liquid crystal pixel.
Regarding Claim 3,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein a main section (the longer part that’s horizontal) of the five angled sections (shown in pasted drawing above) has a main angle between 5 degrees and 35 degrees, wherein the five angled sections include a first section, a second section, the main section, a fourth section, and a fifth section, arranged in that order (shown in the pasted drawing above, go left to right or right to left).
Regarding Claim 4,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein the main angle (shown in pasted drawing above) of the main section is between 10 degrees and 22.5 degrees.
Regarding Claim 5,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein the main angle (shown in pasted drawing above) of the main section is between 13 degrees and 17 degrees.
Regarding Claim 6,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein the main angle (shown in pasted drawing above) is configured to reduce a response time of the liquid crystals.
Regarding Claim 7,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein the five angled sections (shown in pasted figure above) of the slit in the transparent common electrode layer (16) include: a first section having a first angle; a second section having a second angle; a main section having a main angle with respect to an initial alignment of the liquid crystals; a fourth section having a fourth angle; and a fifth section having a fifth angle, wherein the main angle is greater than the second angle and greater than the fourth angle, and wherein the main angle is less than the first angle and less than the fifth angle (shown in the pasted drawing above, go left to right or right to left).
Regarding Claim 8,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein the first angle is substantially the same as the fifth angle, and wherein the second angle is substantially the same as the fourth angle (as shown in Fig. 14).
Regarding Claim 9,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein the second angle and the fourth angle are configured to hide rotated liquid crystals under black matrix (19) or opaque electrodes of the liquid crystal pixel.
Regarding Claim 10,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein the second angle and the fourth angle are between 8 degrees and 12 degrees.
Regarding Claim 11,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein a data line (9) of the liquid crystal pixel (3) is tilted at a tilt angle between 5 degrees and 35 degrees with respect to the main section.
Regarding Claim 12,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein a zig-zag data line (9) of the liquid crystal pixel (3) is generally tilted at a general tilt angle between 5 degrees and 35 degrees, and wherein a middle section of the zig-zag data line is tilted at a zig-zag angle that exceeds the general tilt angle.
Regarding Claim 13,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein the second angle is less than the main angle, and wherein the fourth angle is less than the main angle (as shown in the drawings), and wherein the decrease in the second angle and the fourth angle with respect to the main angle reduces optical crosstalk between adjacent pixels that are adjacent to the liquid crystal pixel by keeping the slit in the transparent common electrode layer farther from the adjacent pixels.
Regarding Claim 14,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) a lens configured to focus display light; and an array of display pixels configured to generate display light, wherein the display pixels in the array include: liquid crystals (3); a source electrode (12); and a transparent common electrode layer, (16) wherein the liquid crystals are configured to change an alignment of the liquid crystals in response to an electric field, wherein a slit in the transparent common electrode layer (15) includes multiple angled sections (as shown in the figure).
Regarding Claim 15,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein a main section (shown in pasted figure above) of the multiple angled sections has a main angle configured to decrease a response time of the display pixels.
Regarding Claim 16,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein the multiple angled section of the slit in the transparent common electrode layer (16) include: a first section having a first angle; a second section having a second angle; a main section having a main angle; a fourth section having a fourth angle; and a fifth section having a fifth angle (as shown in pasted figure above), wherein the main angle is greater than the second angle and greater than the fourth angle, and wherein the main angle is less than the first angle and less than the fifth angle (as shown bent the way described in the figure).
Regarding Claim 17,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein the second angle is less than the main angle (as shown in the figure), and wherein the fourth angle is less than the main angle, and wherein the decrease in the second angle and the fourth angle with respect to the main angle reduces optical crosstalk between adjacent pixels of the display pixels by keeping the slit in the transparent common electrode layer farther from the adjacent pixels.
Regarding Claim 18,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) a backlight unit to generate illumination light; and an array of display pixels configured to receive the illumination light and modulate the illumination light to generate display light, wherein the display pixels include: liquid crystals (3); a source electrode (12); and a transparent common electrode layer (16), wherein the liquid crystals are configured to change an alignment of the liquid crystals in response to an electric field, wherein a slit in the transparent common electrode layer (16) includes multiple angled sections.
Regarding Claim 19,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein a main section (as shown in pasted figure above) of the multiple angled sections has a main angle configured to decrease a response time of the display pixels.
Regarding Claim 20,
Itou discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 16) wherein a main section of the multiple angled sections has a main angle between 10 degrees and 22.5 degrees, wherein the multiple angled sections include a first section, a second section, the main section, a fourth section, and a fifth section, arranged in that order (as shown in pasted figure above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871