DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 14-18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. (9167736) in view of Daniel et al. (2012/0261158).
Shah et al. discloses an apparatus (Fig. 13) comprising a strength member (1300) including a core (composed of 1310 & 1330) formed of a composite material (col. 11 lines 17-39), and a plurality of elongated conductive elements (1320) disposed in the core, at least about 75% (i.e., 100%) of the plurality of elongate conductive elements disposed within less than 20% of a radial distance from an outer surface of the core to a central axis of the core; and an encapsulation layer (1340) disposed around the core (re-claim 12).
Shah et al. does not disclose the apparatus comprising a conductor layer disposed around the strength member (re-claim 12).
Daniel et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a conductor layer (422) disposed around a strength member (400).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to dispose a conductor layer as taught by Daniel et al. around the strength member of Shah et al. to form an electrical cable suitable for overhead power transmission.
Shah et al., as modified, discloses the plurality of elongate conductive elements including conductive carbon nanotubes (CNTs) (re-claims 14-15); the carbon nanotubes including single walled or multiwalled CNTs (col. 8 lines 64-66) (re-claim 16); the quantity of the elongate conductive elements in the composite core being equal to or less than 5% by weight (see claim 12 of Shah) (re-claims 17-18); re-claim 20, it is noted that since the modified apparatus of Shah et al. includes at least one of the plurality of conductive elements as claimed, the ratio of a resistivity of the core to a resistivity of a core that does not include the plurality of conductive element would be equal to or less than 1:10; re-claim 21, Shah et al. discloses conductive fillers or conductive additives included in the core and being in electrical communication with the elongate conductive elements (col. 11 lines 38-40, conductive elongate elements embedded in an aluminum matrix).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. in view of Daniel et al. as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Sundaram et al. (9969619).
Shah et al. and Daniel et al. disclose the invention substantially as claimed except for the conductive elements having a specific conductivity of about 500 Sm²/kg to about 10,000 Sm²/kg. Sundaram et al. discloses a composite material comprising a plurality of conductive elements which have a specific conductivity of about 500 Sm²/kg to about 10,000 Sm²/kg (Table 5). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use conductive elements having a specific conductivity of about 500 Sm²/kg to about 10,000 Sm²/kg, as taught by Sundaram et al., for the conductive elements of Shah et al. to meet the required conductivity of the core.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-9, 11, 22, and 24-29 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 12 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841